DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 69-90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barker et al. (9,869,067) in view of Fey (2018/0238015) and Harris (2008/0073090).
Regarding claims 69, 76, 82 and 89, Barker discloses a snow plow mount assembly and method of use comprising:
A mount frame (30) adapted to be secured to a vehicle
A snow plow frame (20) having an a-frame (22) and a lift frame (24) pivotally connected relative to one another about a transverse horizontal axis
A plow blade pivotally connected relative to the a frame
A first actuator (70) associated with the a frame and lift frame powered by an electrical system of the vehicle
First and second arms (80) and first and second receivers (140) on the mount frame and lift frame for connection
The lift frame having a latch mechanism (100,102) for securing the arms in said receivers and an actuator for moving the latch mechanism between a latched an unlatched position
Wherein the assembly is operable such that the vehicle is driven toward the snow plow and the arms are received in the receivers and the first actuator is energized to pivot the lift frame relative to the a frame to align the arms with the receivers
While Barker discloses the invention as described above, it fails to disclose that the second actuator is also energized by the electrical system in response to sensor feedback. Like Barker, Fey also discloses a mounting mechanism for attaching a implement to a vehicle. Unlike Barker, Fey discloses that sensors can be utilized to monitor and control operation of actuators to pivot the lift frame vertically and control the latches (pgph 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize sensors and actuators powered by a vehicle electrical system in Barker as taught by Fey to allow for automatic connection of the implement to the vehicle without the operator having to exit the vehicle as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
While the combination of Barker and Fey discloses the invention as described above, it fails to specifically disclose that an automatic connection between the vehicle electrical system and the implement is achieved without manual interference. Like the combination of Barker and Fey, Harris also discloses a coupling system for a vehicle and an implement. Unlike the combination, Harris discloses that electrical connections in addition to mechanical connections can be automatically achieved without the operator having to exit the vehicle (abstract; pgph 0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the automatic electrical connection of Harris in the combination of Barker and Fey such that the operator does not have to leave the vehicle for either the mechanical or electrical connections to be made.
Regarding claim 71, the combination discloses that the first actuator is a hydraulic cylinder operably connected to said a-frame and to said lift frame, but fails to disclose that the second actuator is an electric linear actuator. It would have been an obvious matter of art recognized equivalence to utilize an electric linear actuator, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by the combination.
Regarding claims 70, 77-81, 83, 88 Fey discloses that the sensor/controller system functions such that the second sensor senses the latched/unlatched position of the latch pins and the first sensor senses the position of the lift frame in relation to the mount frame such that the latch pins are actuated when the lift frame is in the correct/aligned position and the correct/aligned position is achieved by the first actuator raising and lowering the lift frame by means of a support stand/jack (pgph 0060-0064). The combination would therefore disclose that the actuators are controlled by the sensor control system of Harris such that the latch pins can be connected without the operator exiting the vehicle.
Regarding claims 72-75, 84-87 the combination discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose the type of sensor utilized for the first and second sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize resistance sensors, potentiometers, linear encoders or any other type of sensor capable of sensing the condition of the alignment of position of the actuators as it would have been an obvious matter of art recognized equivalence to utilize different types of sensors as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by the combination of Barker and Fey.
Regarding claim 90, the combination discloses that the arms are on the lift frame and the receivers are on the mount frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 11/12/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 69-90 under Barker in view of Fey have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Harris. Upon closer review it was determined that the previous rejection did not clearly disclose that an electrical connection was made between the vehicle and the implement without the operator leaving the vehicle. Barker does disclose an electrical connection and Fey does disclose automatic connections between the mechanical components but it was not clearly disclosed that the combination would also disclose an automatic electrical connection. As such Harris was added to the combination to show that it is known in the art to provide automatic electrical connections and this action is made Non-Final.
Conclusion
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671