DETAILED ACTION
This Action addresses the communication received on 26 May 2026. Applicant has amended Claims 1, 5, 9, and 17; and cancelled Claims 2, 6, 10, 14, 18, and 22. The Office rejects pending Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17, 19-21, and 23 as detailed below.
Response to Amendments
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 17 remain objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims recite in error “wherein each detection unit comprises a plurality [>> of <<] photoelectric conversion microcomponents….”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf et al. - U.S. Pub. 20190271767 - in view of Deane - U.S. Pub. 20150285625 +_+_+
As for Claim 17, Keilaf teaches a laser radar, wherein the laser radar comprises a laser transmitter (Fig. 2B, 112, ¶60|5-11), a scanning-type reflection module (Fig. 2B, 104, ¶67|2), an array detector (Fig. 2B, 116, ¶67|7-9), a memory (¶66|13-16), and a processor (Fig. 2B, 118, ¶67|9-13), the laser transmitter is configured to transmit first laser light (Fig. 3D, 112), the array detector comprises at least two detection units (Fig. 4B, 410, ¶108|1-13), the memory stores a computer program (¶66|13-16), and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory (Fig. 2B, 118, ¶67|9-13),
to perform the following operations: reflecting the first laser light to a detection area at a first angle by using a scanning-type reflection module (Fig. 3D, 112, ¶60|5-11);
determining a first converged electrical signal based on at least two electrical signals from at least two detection units (Figure 3D, sensors 116, ¶99|5: “Alternatively, the motor (or other mechanism) may mechanically rotate a rigid structure of LIDAR system 100 on which one or more light sources 112 and one or more sensors 116 [at least two] are installed, thereby scanning the environment.”), wherein each detection unit comprises a plurality [of] photoelectric conversion microcomponents (¶104|1: “Sensor 116 includes a plurality of detection elements 402 for detecting photons of a photonic pulse reflected back from field of view 120. The detection elements may all be included in detector array 400, which may have a rectangular arrangement (e.g. as shown) or any other arrangement. Detection elements 402 may operate concurrently or partially concurrently with each other.” Further, (¶126|1) “In related embodiments, each detector may include a plurality of Single Photon Avalanche Diodes (SPADs) or a plurality of Avalanche Photo Diodes (APD) [i.e., a plurality of photoelectric conversion microcomponents].” The referenced detection components taught in Keilaf, including SPADs, ADPs, and SiMPs are explicitly defined as microcomponents by Applicant in the Spec. at ¶90|4: “For example, the photoelectric conversion microcomponent may be one of a photomultiplier tube (PMT), a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM), a semiconductor avalanche photodiode (APD), a single-photon avalanche diode (SP AD), or another photoelectric device.”), wherein the first converged electrical signal comprises at least one characteristic signal (Fig. 9A, 903, ¶202|5-8);
determining, based on time information of the at least one characteristic signal, at least one target distance corresponding to the detection area, wherein the at least one characteristic signal corresponds to the at least one target distance (¶205|7-12);
determining at least one detection unit group based on the at least one target distance and the first angle, [..1..] wherein a detection unit comprised in each of the at least one detection unit group belongs to the at least two detection units (Fig. 9A, 903, ¶201|1: “FIG. 9A includes an example flowchart representation of a method 900 for dynamically allocating groups of detection elements (e.g., SPADs) to different pixels.”); and
determining at least one piece of echo information in the detection area based on a first electrical signal obtained based on at least one electrical signal from a first detection unit group in the at least one detection unit group (Fig. 9B, 915), wherein the at least one characteristic signal comprises a first characteristic signal, the first characteristic signal is used to determine a first target distance, and the first target distance is used to determine the first detection unit group (¶220|1: “a. control activation of at least one light source for illuminating a field of view (FOY) portion which is at least 10 square degrees; b. receive from at least one sensor having a plurality of detection elements reflections signals indicative of light reflected from objects in the FOY portion; c. dynamically apply a first grouping scheme for the plurality of detection elements to provide a plurality of first detection elements group including a first number of groups; d. obtain from the at least one sensor a plurality of first output signals, each of the first output signals corresponding to another first detection elements group; e. process the plurality of first output signals to provide a first point cloud having a first point density across the FOY portion (each of the points of the first point cloud corresponds to another first detection elements group)”). Keilaf doesn’t explicitly teach the remaining limitations.
But Deane teaches [1] including: determining, based on a first correspondence set, a detection unit group corresponding to the at least one target distance and the first angle, wherein the first correspondence set includes a prestored correspondence used to determine a detection unit group corresponding to a target distance and an angle (Fig. 4, showing a detection unit group based on a known target distance and scanning/reception (411/416) angle, ¶70|13: “In measurement scenarios where an approximate range to an interrogation object is known, accumulation of ambient photons (e.g., background noise) may be minimized by coordinating activation of the image sensor 115 with the expected combined TOF of the interrogation beam 425 and returned illumination 430, which is based [via prestored correspondence] on the known approximate range to the interrogation object.” Further, (¶71|1) “[t]he pulse window and the pixel window define one distance measurement period. In this manner, interrogation beam angle 411 can be correlated to returned angle 416, which, along with distance 120, provide distance determination to object 440. It is important that received photons at the image sensor 115 are unambiguous, such that photons received at angle 416 are properly attributed [i.e., determined to be in the correct detection unit group based on a prestored correspondence] to the interrogation source angle 411 from which the photons were emitted. Otherwise, desynchronization may occur between the interrogation beam angle 411 and the receive angle 416, resulting in erroneous distance calculation to object 440.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Keilaf and Deane because correlating a detection group with an object distance and scan angle allows the system to reduce the effects of ambient light and improve the S/N ratio.
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 17, Keilaf teaches wherein the characteristic signal comprises a peak signal, a front-edge signal, or a waveform centroid signal of the first converged electrical signal (¶77|1: “According to some embodiments, scanning the environment around LIDAR system 100 may include illuminating field of view 120 with light pulses. The light pulses may have parameters such as: pulse duration, pulse angular dispersion, wavelength, instantaneous power, photon density at different distances from light source 112, average power, pulse power intensity, pulse width, pulse repetition rate, pulse sequence, pulse duty cycle, wavelength, phase, polarization, and more.”); and the time information is used to indicate a receiving moment of the characteristic signal (¶77|11: “Characteristics of the reflected light may include, for example: time-of-flight (i.e., time from emission until detection), instantaneous power (e.g., power signature), average power across entire return pulse, and photon distribution/signal over return pulse period.”)
As for Claim 20 , which depends on Claim 17, Keilaf teaches […]wherein in determining the echo information in the detection area based on the first electrical signal, the processor is configured to: determine a first time period based on time information of the first characteristic signal, wherein the first characteristic signal is received within the first time period (Fig. 9B, 915, ¶212); and obtain an electrical sub-signal that is in the first time period and that is of one electrical signal from the first detection unit group, to obtain the first electrical signal (Fig. 9A, 905, ¶203); and determine the at least one piece of echo information in the detection area based on the first electrical signal (Fig. 9B, 915, ¶212).
As for Claim 21, which depends on Claim 17, Keilaf teaches wherein the at least one characteristic signal comprises a first characteristic signal used to determine a first target distance, and the first target distance is used to determine the first detection unit group (¶220|1: “a. control activation of at least one light source for illuminating a field of view (FOY) portion which is at least 10 square degrees; b. receive from at least one sensor having a plurality of detection elements reflections signals indicative of light reflected from objects in the FOY portion; c. dynamically apply a first grouping scheme for the plurality of detection elements to provide a plurality of first detection elements group including a first number of groups; d. obtain from the at least one sensor a plurality of first output signals, each of the first output signals corresponding to another first detection elements group; e. process the plurality of first output signals to provide a first point cloud having a first point density across the FOY portion (each of the points of the first point cloud corresponds to another first detection elements group)”); and wherein determining the echo information in the detection area based on the first electrical signal comprises: determining a first time period based on time information of the first characteristic signal, wherein the first characteristic signal is received within the first time period; and obtaining signals that are in the first time period and that are in a plurality of electrical signals from the first detection unit group to obtain a plurality of electrical sub-signals, and the first electrical signal obtained by converging the plurality of electrical sub-signals is used to determine the at least one piece of echo information in the detection area (¶77|1: “According to some embodiments, scanning the environment around LIDAR system 100 may include illuminating field of view 120 with light pulses. The light pulses may have parameters such as: pulse duration, pulse angular dispersion, wavelength, instantaneous power, photon density at different distances from light source 112, average power, pulse power intensity, pulse width, pulse repetition rate, pulse sequence, pulse duty cycle, wavelength, phase, polarization, and more. …Characteristics of the reflected light may include, for example: time-of-flight (i.e., time from emission until detection), instantaneous power (e.g., power signature), average power across entire return pulse, and photon distribution/signal over return pulse period.”)
As for Claim 23 , which depends on Claim 17, Keilaf teaches wherein the at least one piece of echo information in the detection area is used to represent at least one of reflection intensity or a distance of the detection area (¶77|1: “According to some embodiments, scanning the environment around LIDAR system 100 may include illuminating field of view 120 with light pulses. The light pulses may have parameters such as: pulse duration, pulse angular dispersion, wavelength, instantaneous power, photon density at different distances from light source 112, average power, pulse power intensity, pulse width, pulse repetition rate, pulse sequence, pulse duty cycle, wavelength, phase, polarization, and more. …Characteristics of the reflected light may include, for example: time-of-flight (i.e., time from emission until detection), instantaneous power (e.g., power signature), average power across entire return pulse, and photon distribution/signal over return pulse period.”)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 9 [Claim 9 is substantially the same a Claim 17 above], Keilaf teaches wherein the at least one characteristic signal comprises a first characteristic signal used to determine a first target distance (Fig. 9B, 912, ¶209), and the first target distance is used to determine the first detection unit group (¶205|7-12); and wherein in determining the echo information in the detection area based on the first electrical signal, the instructions further cause the apparatus to: determine a first time period based on time information of the first characteristic signal, wherein the first characteristic signal is received within the first time period (Fig. 9B, 915, ¶212); and obtain signals that are in the first time period and that are in a plurality of electrical signals from the first detection unit group to obtain a plurality of electrical sub signals(Fig. 9A, 905, ¶203), and the first electrical signal obtained by converging the plurality of electrical sub-signals is used to determine the at least one piece of echo information in the detection area (Fig. 9B, 915, ¶212).
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 9, Keilaf teaches wherein the at least one piece of echo information in the detection area is used to represent at least one of reflection intensity or a distance of the detection area (¶200|9: “System 100 may also include a plurality of decoders configured to decode reflections signals received from the plurality of detection elements.”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 9, Keilaf teaches further comprising a receiving lens, an array detector comprising the at least two detection units, and a diffusion device, and the diffusion device is disposed between the receiving lens and the array detector, and is configured to diffuse an optical signal passing through the receiving lens (¶121|1: “In the lens configuration illustrated with regards to the detection element on the right of Fig. 4E, an efficiency of photon absorption in the semiconductor material may be improved using a diffuser and reflective elements.”)
Claims 1 and 3-4 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 17 and 19-20 above, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claims 5 and 7-8 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 13 and 15-16 above, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claims 9 and 11-12 also recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 17-20 below, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 relate to newly amended claims and are not addressed in this section; the rejections above, however, address the latest version of the claims in detail.
Conclusion
Applicants should direct any inquiry concerning this or earlier communications to CLINT THATCHER at phone 571.270.3588. Examiner is normally available Mon-Fri, 9am to 5:30pm ET and generally keeps a daily 2:30pm timeslot open for interviews.
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645