DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 05/26/2026 Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 3 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-2, 4-21 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Halac (US 2017/0188912, cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Halac teaches a physiological signal monitoring device (on-skin sensor assembly 600) adapted to be mounted to a skin surface of a host (“an adhesive 126 can couple the base 128 to the skin 130 of the host,” par. 272) and to be partially inserted underneath the skin surface for measuring at least one analyte of the host (“insert a sensor…into the skin of a host to place the transcutaneous, glucose analyte sensor 138,” par. 269), comprising:
a base (base 128) including at least one first alignment structure (the sidewall of glucose sensor module 134 comprising seal 192) that is disposed on a top portion of the base (Fig. 33);
a biosensor (glucose sensor 138 and springs 306) including a sensing section (first section 138a, Fig. 34) that is adapted to be inserted underneath the skin surface for measuring the at least one analyte (par. 269), and a signal output section that is disposed at the top portion of the base (second section 138b or springs 306, Fig. 34); and
a transmitter (electronics unit 500) selectively located at one of an initial position and an assembled position relative to the base in the direction of a first axis (Figs. 4-6, 33), the transmitter including
a connection part disposed at a bottom portion of the transmitter (electrical contacts 428c, 428d), the connection part and the signal output section of the biosensor being shaped to be complementary to each other (“electrically and/or mechanically couple the electrical contacts 428c, 428d to the springs 306, 306d, 306e (shown in FIGS. 34-38) and/or to any other type of electrical connection 426 (e.g., as shown in Fig. 67) between the sensor 138 (shown in FIG. 39) and the electronics unit 500,” par. 506), and cooperatively forming a connection portion after the transmitter moving from the initial position to the assembled position by a first travel distance in the direction of the first axis (the electrical connection between the sensor, springs, and the transmitter can be interpreted as a connection portion, pars. 505-506), and
at least one second alignment structure that is disposed at the bottom portion of the transmitter (recess in the bottom of the transmitter that holds contacts 428, Fig. 70) and that corresponds in position to the at least one first alignment structure of the base (Figs. 69-70), the at least one second alignment structure and the at least one first alignment structure being shaped to be complementary to each other, and cooperatively forming an alignment portion after the transmitter moving from the initial position to the assembled position by a second travel distance in the direction of the first axis (the housing of glucose sensor module 134 is complementary with the perimeter of the recess in the transmitter, as shown in Fig. 70, and can collectively define an alignment portion);
wherein, the first travel distance is greater than or equal to the second travel distance, and a safety gap is formed between the transmitter and the biosensor (“the proximal height of the seal 192 is greater than a proximal height of the leaf spring 306d such that the electronics unit 500 contacts the seal 192 prior to contacting the leaf spring 306d,” par. 378);
wherein, when the transmitter moves from the initial position toward the assembled position, the safety gap serves to prevent at least one of the connection part of the transmitter and the signal output section of the biosensor from collision with portions of the transmitter and the biosensor other than the connection portion (the sensor 138 and springs 306 being contained within the space of sensor module 134 prevents contact with any other surface of the transmitter).
wherein the signal output section of the biosensor protrudes from the top portion of the base (the springs protrude upwards from the base, Figs. 34-38, 65-68), the connection part of the transmitter having an insertion hole (the recess in the electronics unit 500 defines a hole, Fig. 70), the signal output section of the biosensor being inserted into the transmitter through the connection part to form an electric connection between the biosensor and the transmitter when the transmitter is at the assembled position (Fig. 70; “electrically and/or mechanically couple the electrical contacts 428c, 428d to the springs 306, 306d, 306e (shown in FIGS. 34-38) and/or to any other type of electrical connection 426 (e.g., as shown in Fig. 67) between the sensor 138 (shown in FIG. 39) and the electronics unit 500,” par. 506);
wherein, when the transmitter is at the assembled position, a distal end of the signal output section is spaced apart from a circuit board of the transmitter in the direction of the first axis to define the safety gap therebetween, the electric connection being formed at a location offset from the distal end of the signal output section in the direction of the first axis (Fig. 33-36; PCB is in the electronics unit 500 (thus PCB would have a gap between the transmitter and the signal output section); par. 246).
Regarding claim 2, Halac teaches when the transmitter is at the initial position, a distance between the first alignment structure and the bottom portion of the transmitter in the direction of the first axis (a distance between the lower surface of the transmitter and the seal 192 of sensor module 134) is smaller than or equal to a distance between the bottom portion of the transmitter and the signal output section of the biosensor in the direction of the first axis (a distance between the contacts 428 and the springs 306; since the seal 192 has a greater height than the springs 306, a distance between the transmitter and seal will be less than a distance between the transmitter and the springs).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Halac teaches the first alignment structure protrudes from the top portion of the base (sensor module 134 protrudes from the base 128, Fig. 69), the second alignment structure being configured as a groove that is indented from the bottom portion of the transmitter (Fig. 70), relative movement between the first alignment structure and the second alignment structure as the first alignment structure is limited by the second alignment structure guiding movement of the transmitter with respect to the base in at least one of the directions of a second axis and a third axis that are different from the first axis for aligning the signal output section of the biosensor and the connection part of the transmitter with each other (movement in directions perpendicular to the arrow in Fig. 70 are limited once the sensor module 134 is seated within the recess; while, some motion may still occur, it is limited by the cooperation between the sensor module 134 and the transmitter recess, which falls under the interpretation of “guiding movement” as indicated under the Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 7, Halac teaches transmitter further includes a top portion that cooperates with the bottom portion to define an inner space therebetween (upper and lower surfaces of the electronics unit 500 as shown in Figs. 69-70; “the battery 314 can be located inside the electronics unit 500,” par. 494; this suggests an internal space within electronics unit 500, see also paras. 245-246), a distance between the connection part and the top portion of the transmitter (distance between contacts 428 and the top surface of the electronics unit 500) is smaller than a distance between an opening of the second alignment structure and the top portion of the transmitter (the distance between the base of the recess and the top surface of the electronics unit 500 must be less than the distance between the opening of the recess and electronics unit 500).
Regarding claim 9, Halac teaches the first alignment structure of the base includes a first engaging part (seal 192), and the second alignment structure of the transmitter includes a second engaging part (the base of the recess shown in Fig. 70), the first engaging part of the first alignment structure and the second engaging part of the second alignment structure being engaged with each other when the transmitter is at the assembled position (the base surface of the recess of electronics unit 500 compresses the seal, which can be interpreted as the two components engaging: “seal 192 can prevent fluid ingress as the electronics unit 500 is pressed onto the glucose sensor module 134,” par. 450).
Regarding claim 12, Halac teaches the base further includes a bottom plate (Fig. 4) that is adapted to be mounted to the skin surface of the host (“an adhesive 126 can couple the base 128 to the skin 130 of the host,” par. 272), and an outer surrounding wall that extends upwardly from a periphery of the bottom plate, the transmitter being limited by the outer surrounding wall when the transmitter is at the assembled position (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 13, Halac teaches the base further includes a third alignment structure that is disposed at the periphery of the base, and the transmitter further includes a fourth alignment structure that is disposed at a periphery of the transmitter, and that corresponds in shape to the third alignment structure (see modified Fig. 4 below).
Modified Halac Fig. 4
Regarding claim 14, Halac teaches a method for mounting a physiological signal monitoring device onto the skin surface of the host comprising steps of:
a) providing the physiological signal monitoring device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1);
b) executing a first transmitter mounting process, in which the transmitter is moved relative to the base in the direction of the first axis from the initial position toward the assembled position with the bottom portion of the transmitter facing the top portion of the base, and the safety gap prevent at least one of the signal output section of the biosensor and the connection part from collision (see arrow indicating direction of movement in Fig. 4; “the proximal height of the seal 192 is greater than a proximal height of the leaf spring 306d such that the electronics unit 500 contacts the seal 192 prior to contacting the leaf spring 306d,” par. 378; the sensor 138 and springs 306 being contained within the space of sensor module 134 prevents contact with any other surface of the transmitter) ;
c) executing an alignment process, in which the relative movement between the first alignment structure and the second alignment structure as the first alignment structure and the second alignment structure are limited with each other guides movement between the transmitter and the base for aligning the signal output section of the biosensor and the connection part of the transmitter with each other (movement in directions perpendicular to the arrow in Fig. 70 are limited once the sensor module 134 is seated within the recess, and the electronics unit 500 is guided in the direction of the arrows shown in Figs. 4 and 70); and
d) executing a second transmitter mounting process, in which the transmitter is moved relative to the base in the direction of the first axis to be mounted on to the base, and the signal output section of the biosensor is connected to the connection part of the transmitter to form an electric connection between the biosensor and the transmitter (“coupling the electronics unit 500 to the base 128 can compress the seal 192 to…compress an interconnect (e.g., springs 306) to create an electrical connection 310 between the glucose sensor 138 and the electronics unit 500,” par. 456).
Regarding claim 15, Halac teaches a step of: e) executing a biosensor-mounting process, in which the biosensor is mounted to the top portion of the base (Figs. 4, 7-11).
Regarding claim 16, Halac teaches the signal output section of the biosensor protruding from the top portion of the base (the springs protrude upwards from the base, Figs. 34-38, 65-68), the connection part of the transmitter having an insertion hole (the recess in the electronics unit 500 defines a hole, Fig. 70), the method further comprising a step of: f) inserting the signal output section of the biosensor protruding into the transmitter via the connection part (Fig. 70; “electrically and/or mechanically couple the electrical contacts 428c, 428d to the springs 306, 306d, 306e (shown in FIGS. 34-38) and/or to any other type of electrical connection 426 (e.g., as shown in Fig. 67) between the sensor 138 (shown in FIG. 39) and the electronics unit 500,” par. 506).
Regarding claim 17, Halac teaches the first alignment structure protruding from the top portion of the base (sensor module 134 protrudes from the base 128, Fig. 69), the second alignment structure being configured as a groove that is indented from the bottom portion of the transmitter (Fig. 70), step c) further comprising a sub- step of: g) guiding the transmitter relative to the base in at least one of the directions of a second axis and a third axis that are different from the direction of first axis (movement in directions perpendicular to the arrow in Fig. 70 are limited once the sensor module 134 is seated within the recess; while, some motion may still occur, it is limited by the cooperation between the sensor module 134 and the transmitter recess, which falls under the interpretation of “guiding movement” as indicated under the Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 18, Halac teaches the first alignment structure having a first engaging part (seal 192), the second alignment structure having a second engaging part (the base of the recess shown in Fig. 70), step d) further comprising a sub-step of: h) engaging the first engaging part of the first alignment structure with the second engaging part of the second alignment structure to assemble the transmitter onto the base (the base surface of the recess of electronics unit 500 compresses the seal, which can be interpreted as the two components engaging: “seal 192 can prevent fluid ingress as the electronics unit 500 is pressed onto the glucose sensor module 134,” par. 450).
Regarding claim 19, Halac teaches the base further includes an outer surrounding wall that extends upwardly from a bottom plate thereof (Figs. 4-6), step c) further comprising a sub-step of: i) guiding the transmitter relative to the base in at least one of the directions of a second axis and a third axis that are different from the direction of first axis (movement in directions perpendicular to the arrow in Fig. 70 are limited once the sensor module 134 is seated within the recess; while, some motion may still occur, it is limited by the cooperation between the sensor module 134 and the transmitter recess, which falls under the interpretation of “guiding” as indicated under the Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 20, Halac teaches the base further including a third alignment structure that is disposed at the periphery of the base, the transmitter further including a fourth alignment structure that is disposed at a periphery of the transmitter and that corresponds in shape to the third alignment structure (see modified Fig. 4 above), step c) further comprising a sub-step of: j) guiding the transmitter relative to the base in at least one of the directions of a second axis and a third axis that are different from the direction of first axis (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 21, Halac teaches wherein the transmitter further includes at least one conductive medium, the at least one conductive medium being in contact with the signal output section of the biosensor at an end thereof along a third axis which is different from the first axis when the transmitter is at the assembled position, so as to form the electric connection (Fig. 66; par. 499).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halac, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of US 2018/0271414, hereinafter Deck.
Regarding claim 4, Halac teaches a mounting seat (sensor module 134) and that the mounting seat and the base may be formed as one piece (“a combination sensor module and base,” par. 647; see embodiment in Figs. 123-124, 131). However, Halac does not teach that the first alignment component is separate from the mounting seat (see rejection of claim 1) nor that the biosensor comprises a sensing strip that has the sensing section and the signal output section.
Deck teaches an analogous analyte sensing device (sensing assembly 226) comprising a base (body mount 136) with a first alignment structure on the top of the base (protrusion 162, Fig. 2B); a sensing strip (Fig. 1 shows the sensor is planar and forms a strip) carried by the mounting seat (connector element 164, Fig. 2C) with a sensing section (126) adapted to be inserted underneath the skin surface for measuring the at least one analyte (“sensor 110 may extend…into a body tissue of the user. Specifically, the shaft 126 of the sensor 110 may extend,” par. 168) and a signal output section for transmitting the physiological signal (“electronics unit 188 further may comprise at least two electrical contacts 220 adapted for directly or indirectly contacting the sensor 110…via the sensor contacts 116,” par. 172; “electronics unit has at least one electronics component 200 for…transmitting measurement data,” par. 169) a transmitter comprising a connection part (electrical contacts 220, Fig. 3) complementary to the signal output section of the biosensor (par. 172) and a second alignment portion corresponding to the first alignment structure (bayonet screw 206, Fig. 3; together, protrusion 162 and bayonet screw 206 form bayonet connector 228, Fig. 4B). Furthermore, Deck shows that the bayonet screw 206 of the electronic unit 188 is disposed on a bottom surface of the electronics unit 188 (Fig. 3) such that it will contact protrusions 162 on the base plate (Fig. 2B) prior to electrical contact between the contacts 222 and rubber material 182 of the sensor, similarly to how a soda bottle cap first contacts the rim of the bottle opening before being screwed on fully. Even though Deck’s electronics unit is screwed on, the axial direction of the screw motion would be along the first axis, so the travel distances are along the first axis.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Halac to comprise an mounting seat separate from an alignment portion, similarly to Deck’s bayonet connector 228 and connector element 164 (Figs. 2C, 4B), and a sensor strip as the sensor, as shown in Deck Fig. 1. One would be motivated to do so because Deck teaches bayonet connectors have advantages such as being easy to clean, small, easy to open and close, and robust, as well as providing the same advantages provided by Halac’s seal 192 such as sealing and protecting the electronics components (pars. 55, 59). Modifying Halac base 128 to comprise a bayonet connector in addition to sensor module 134 allows Halac to have the same advantages. Furthermore, one may be motivated to use a sensor strip because different sensor shapes were known in the art, as shown by Deck Fig. 1. Deck also teaches that the sensor is inserted via a separate applicator (Figs. 5A-5B), thus making these modifications to Halac should not affect the insertion of the sensor or mounting of the base. Thus, Halac in view of Deck teaches or suggests all limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Halac in view of Deck teaches or suggests the at least one first alignment structure includes two first alignment structures, the first alignment structures are disposed adjacent to the biosensor, and are spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the first axis (Deck teaches two protrusions 162 adjacent to the sensor in the plane of the base, Fig. 2A, which is perpendicular to the axis of rotation).
Regarding claim 10, Halac teaches the first alignment structure protrudes from top portion of the base, the second alignment structure being configured as a groove that is indented from the bottom portion of the transmitter. Halac does not explicitly teach or suggest that the second engaging part of the second alignment structure being a recess that is formed in an inner surface of the second alignment structure, the first engaging part of the first alignment structure at least partially engaging the second engaging part of the second alignment structure when the transmitter is at the assembled position.
Deck teaches an analogous analyte sensing device (sensing assembly 226) comprising a base (body mount 136) with a first alignment structure (bayonet contour 140) comprising a first engaging part on the top of the base (protrusion 162, Fig. 2B); a transmitter comprising a second alignment portion corresponding to the first alignment structure (bayonet screw 206, Fig. 3; together, protrusion 162 and bayonet screw 206 form bayonet connector 228, Fig. 4B) comprising a second engaging part that is a recess formed in an inner surface of the second alignment structure (bayonet groove 212 or bayonet slot 214), the first engaging part of the first alignment structure at least partially engaging the second engaging part of the second alignment structure when the transmitter is at the assembled position (“the electronics unit bayonet contour 204 may be configured to interact with the patch bayonet contour 140 as described within FIGS. 2A to 2C,” par. 171).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Halac to comprise a Deck’s bayonet connector as an alignment portion. One would be motivated to do so because Deck teaches bayonet connectors have advantages such as being easy to clean, small, easy to open and close, and robust, as well as providing the same advantages provided by Halac’s seal 192 such as sealing and protecting the electronics components (pars. 55, 59). Modifying Halac base 128 to comprise a bayonet connector allows Halac to have the same advantages. Deck also teaches that the sensor is inserted via a separate applicator (Figs. 5A-5B), thus making these modifications to Halac should not affect the insertion of the sensor or mounting of the base. Even though the bayonet connector is screwed on, the axial direction of the screw motion would be along the first axis, so the travel distances are along the first axis. Thus, Halac in view of Deck teaches or suggests all limitations of claim 10.
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halac, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Pryor (US 2013/0267811, cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 11, Halac does not explicitly teach or suggest the base further includes at least one opening that is formed through the base and that correspond in position to the first engaging part of the first alignment structure, an external force being permitted to be applied through the opening to separate the first engaging part of the first alignment structure and the second engaging part of the second alignment structure from each other so as to separate the transmitter from the base.
Pryor teaches an analogous analyte sensor (analyte sensor system 100) comprising a base (housing 480, Fig. 12A) and a transmitter (transmitter 500). Pryor teaches the base includes at least one opening (482) that is formed through the base (Fig. 12A-12D) that corresponds to a protrusion on the transmitter (510, Fig. 9F), an external force being permitted to be applied through the opening to separate the first engaging part of the first alignment structure and the second engaging part of the second alignment structure from each other so as to separate the transmitter from the base (application of force on a tab flexes the tab and allows the housing to disengage from the user and remove the transmitter from the housing, pars. 217-222; a screwdriver may be used to separate the transmitter from the housing once removed from the user, par. 221).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Halac to comprise a protrusion on the transmitter and an opening in the base, similar to elements 510 and 482 in Pryor Fig. 9F. One would be motivated to do so because Pryor teaches that this is a more secure hold between the base and transmitter (“a mechanism for securing the transmitter 500 to the housing 480 by engaging a second protrusion in the transmitter 500. The second protrusion engages the housing 480 at a cutout 493 so that the transmitter 500 may not or may not easily be released from the housing 480 until the system 600 is removed from the host even with the aid of a prying tool, such as a screwdriver,” par. 221). One would further be motivated to place the opening in a position that corresponds in position to the first engaging part of the first alignment structure because the space on the base 128 is limited, and different positions of the opening and protrusion on the base 128 would be obvious to try.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 with regards to the prior art rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the prior art rejection of claim 1. Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations, specifically arguing that the prior art of record does not teach or suggest “a distal end of the signal output section is spaced apart from a circuit board of the transmitter in the direction of the first axis to define the safety gap therebetween, the electric connection being formed at a location offset from the distal end of the signal output section in the direction of the first axis”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to the amended claim limitations, Halac teaches “wherein the signal output section of the biosensor protrudes from the top portion of the base (the springs protrude upwards from the base, Figs. 34-38, 65-68), the connection part of the transmitter having an insertion hole (the recess in the electronics unit 500 defines a hole, Fig. 70), the signal output section of the biosensor being inserted into the transmitter through the connection part to form an electric connection between the biosensor and the transmitter when the transmitter is at the assembled position (Fig. 70; “electrically and/or mechanically couple the electrical contacts 428c, 428d to the springs 306, 306d, 306e (shown in FIGS. 34-38) and/or to any other type of electrical connection 426 (e.g., as shown in Fig. 67) between the sensor 138 (shown in FIG. 39) and the electronics unit 500,” par. 506); and wherein, when the transmitter is at the assembled position, a distal end of the signal output section is spaced apart from a circuit board of the transmitter in the direction of the first axis to define the safety gap therebetween, the electric connection being formed at a location offset from the distal end of the signal output section in the direction of the first axis (Fig. 33-36; PCB is in the electronics unit 500 (thus PCB would have a gap between the transmitter and the signal output section); par. 246)”. Halac teaches that a PCB is located in the electronics unit 500 (the transmitter). Because the electronics unit is vertically above an output signal section, a distal end of the signal output section is spaced apart from a circuit board of the transmitter in the direction of the first axis to define the safety gap therebetween. As such Applicant’s argument is found to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791