DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2022 and 3/3/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “a first high frequency , HF, coil” is grammatically incorrect, and should be amended to recite “a first high frequency (HF) coil.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pressurization and heating device in claim 15.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification defines the pressurisation and heating device 21 has a heating chamber 25 formed by the two parts 21a and 21b (paragraph 0114, lines 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakahasami et al (JPS61243680A) in view of Chapman et al (US2649527A).
With regards to claim 15, Nakahasami et al discloses a method of restoring an insulation system around a conductor of a power cable (heating method for crosslinking or extrusion molding a polyolefin insulator at a connecting portion for a crosslinked polyethylene insulated cable, paragraph 0001, lines 1-3), using an induction heating system for heating the conductor of the power cable to restore an insulation system of the power cable (at the same time, high-frequency induction heating coils 11 stacked and wound in multiple stages in the radial direction are provided at both ends of the metal mold 6 so as to supply a high circumferential provisional current from the oscillation power supply device 13 to heat the cable conductors, paragraph 0001, lines 26-29), wherein the induction heating system comprises: a first high frequency, HF, coil configured to receive the power cable (induction heating coil 11 to heat cable 12, Fig. 1), and a power supply system configured to power the first HF coil (oscillation power supply device 13 connected to induction heating coil 11, Fig. 1), the method comprising: a) placing a pressurisation and heating device around the power cable having a restoration insulation system layer arranged around the conductor (placing cable 12 into conductor connection tube with insulating layer 3 within a mold 6 and pressurized medium 5 and being heated by heating heater 7, Fig. 1),d) heating the restoration insulation system layer by outer heating of the restoration insulation system layer inside the pressurisation and heating device and by inner heating of the restoration insulation system layer provided by feeding the first HF coil with current from the power supply system inducing a current in the conductor (the metal mold 6 has a heater 7 for heating provided with a heating control device 10, and this heater 7 raises the temperature to a temperature necessary for crosslinking and at the same time, high-frequency induction heating coils 11 stacked and wound in multiple stages in the radial direction are provided at both ends of the metal mold 6 so as to supply a high circumferential provisional current from the oscillation power supply device 13 to heat the cable conductors, paragraph 0001, lines 30-36), wherein the method comprises performing steps a)-d) for each of a plurality of restoration insulation system layers (method can be repeated for cables after, Fig. 1).
Nakahasami et al does not disclose a water-cooling system configured to cool the first HF coil, wherein the first HF coil is configured to be openable or splitable into at least two parts, b) opening and placing the first HF coil around the power cable adjacent to the pressurisation and heating device, c) closing the first HF coil.
Chapman et al teaches a water-cooling system configured to cool the first HF coil (cooling sections 10 configured to cool conductor body C1 and C2, Fig. 2), wherein the first HF coil is configured to be openable or splitable into at least two parts (conductor body C1 and C2 are openable and closable and locked by bar 12, Fig. 2), b) opening and placing the first HF coil around the power cable adjacent to the pressurisation and heating device (metal tube B is placed inside conductor body C1 and C2 wherein coils reside , Fig. 2), c) closing the first HF coil (closing conductor body C1 and C2 around metal tube B, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakahasami et al and Chapman et al before him or her, to modify the mold of Nakahasami et al to include the cooling and opening/closing function taught by Chapman et al because the combination allows for increased heat efficiency and mechanical versatility for a wire heating apparatus.
With regards to claim 16, Chapman et al teaches comprising e) opening the first HF coil after the jointing operation has been performed, and removing the first HF coil from the power cable (opening conductor body C1 and C2 and removing metal tube B, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 17, Nakahasami et al discloses wherein in step d) the outer heating and the inner heating are performed simultaneously (the metal mold 6 has a heater 7 for heating provided with a heating control device 10, and this heater 7 raises the temperature to a temperature necessary for crosslinking and at the same time, high-frequency induction heating coils 11 stacked and wound in multiple stages in the radial direction are provided at both ends of the metal mold 6 so as to supply a high circumferential provisional current from the oscillation power supply device 13 to heat the cable conductors, paragraph 0001, lines 30-36).
With regard to claim 18, Chapman et al teaches wherein the first HF coil comprises a first coil part having a first end and a second coil part having a first end (conductor body C1 and C2 make up the coil, Fig. 2), the first end of the first coil part being configured to be connected to the first end of the second coil part (conductor body C1 and C2 configured to be connected to each other, Fig. 2), and wherein the first end of the first coil part is mechanically disconnectable from the first end of the second coil part (conductor body C1 and C2 are disconnectable and opened or closed, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 19, Chapman et al teaches wherein the first coil part has a second end having a pivot connection to enable rotation of the first coil part away from the second coil part when the first ends of the first coil part and the second coil part have been disconnected from each other (the conductor coil halves Cl and C2 are separated at 12-13 and opened apart; and the two tubes A and B welded together at 44 are released from their clamp blocks (not shown) and withdrawn from the apparatus, col 7, lines 46-55).
With regards to claim 20, Chapman et al teaches wherein the first HF coil comprises a latch configured to lock the first end of the first coil part to the first end of the second coil part (conductor coil halves Cl and C2 comprises a bar and lock 13 to lock halves C1 and C2, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 21, Chapman et al teaches wherein the first coil part and the second coil part are hollow, wherein the water-cooling system comprises a first water pipe connected to the first coil part and a second water pipe connected to the second coil part for flowing water through the first coil part and the second coil part (cooling sections 10 configured to cool conductor body C1 and C2, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 22, Chapman et al teaches wherein the first coil part has a second end and the second coil part has a second end, and wherein the water-cooling system includes a first intermediate water pipe connecting the first water pipe with the second water pipe, the first intermediate water pipe extending between the second end of the first coil part and the second end of the second coil part connecting the hollow interior of the first coil part with the hollow interior of the second coil part as seen below:
With regards to claim 23, Nakahasami et al discloses wherein the induction heating system comprises a second HF coil configured to receive the power cable (induction heating coils 11 are split into two sets of coils, Fig. 1), wherein the power supply system is configured to power the second HF coil, and wherein the second HF coil is configured to be openable or splitable into at least two parts (oscillation power supply device 13 is configured to power the set of coils 11, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 24, Nakahasami et al does not disclose wherein the water-cooling system is configured to cool the second HF coil (each cooling section 10 configured to cool a first conductor body C1 and a second conductor body C2, Fig. 2), wherein the second HF coil has a third coil part and a fourth coil part (second conductor body C2 has parts, Fig. 2), each having a respective first end, the first end of the third coil part being configured to be connected to the first end of the fourth coil part, and wherein the first end of the third coil part is mechanically disconnectable from the first end of the fourth coil part (conductor body C1 and C2 are openable and closable, Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakahasami et al and Chapman et al before him or her, to modify the mold of Nakahasami et al to include the cooling and opening/closing function taught by Chapman et al because the combination allows for increased heat efficiency and mechanical versatility for a wire heating apparatus.
With regards to claim 25, Chapman et al teaches wherein the second HF coil comprises a latch configured to lock the first end of the third coil part to the first end of the fourth coil part (conductor coil halves Cl and C2 comprises a bar and lock 13 to lock halves C1 and C2, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 26, Chapman et al teaches wherein the first coil part and the second coil part are hollow, wherein the water-cooling system comprises a first water pipe connected to the first coil part and a second water pipe connected to the second coil part for flowing water through the first coil part and the second coil part (cooling sections 10 configured to cool conductor body C1 and C2, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 27, Nakahasami et al discloses placing the second HF coil around the power cable adjacent to the pressurisation and heating device (induction heating coils 11 are placed on a first side and second side of cable 12 and adjacent to heater 7, Fig. 1), wherein the first HF coil is placed at a first side of the conductor joint and the second HF joint is placed at a second side of the conductor joint (induction heating coils 11 are placed on a first side and second side of cable 12 and adjacent to heater 7, Fig. 1), wherein step d) involves feeding the second HF coil with current from the power supply system (oscillation power supply device 13 feeds induction heating coils 11, Fig. 1).
Nakahasami et al does not disclose a water-cooling system configured to cool the first HF coil, wherein the first HF coil is configured to be openable or splitable into at least two parts, b) opening and placing the first HF coil around the power cable adjacent to the pressurisation and heating device, c) closing the first HF coil.
Nakahasami et al does not disclose opening and closing the second HF coil.
Chapman et al teaches opening and closing the second HF coil (opening and closing conductor body C1 and C2 around metal tube B, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakahasami et al and Chapman et al before him or her, to modify the mold of Nakahasami et al to include opening/closing function taught by Chapman et al because the combination allows for increased heat efficiency and mechanical versatility for a wire heating apparatus.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761