DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-7 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by McKenzie et al. (US Pat# 4,662,349).
Regarding claim 2, McKenzie teaches a porous grill grate (figure 2, abstract) comprising: a front and back plate 98 (can also be one set of side support walls that are opposite one another enclosing 72/74), opposite to one another; at least one pair of supports (49, 50, 60: Figures 4-6 and col. 7, lines 10-25: sides form frame around ceramic plates 72/74) , opposite to one another; and at least one porous ceramic plate 72/74, wherein the at least one porous ceramic plate is held in place by retaining walls incorporated within each of the at least one pair of supports. (figures 4-6: 72/74 are held in place within shoulders and walls (65,66, 86, 82, 81).
Regarding claim 3, McKenzie teaches wherein one porous ceramic plate and pair of support combination and another porous ceramic plate and pair of support combination are staggered against one another at a fixed angle. (figures 4-6: Shows angled staggering)
Regarding claim 4, McKenzie teaches wherein a multiple of the at least one pair of supports, holding in place the at least one porous ceramic plate, are affixed unto and in between the front and back plate. (figures 4-6: Supports and plates surround 72/74 and are fixed to each other.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Barreto (PGPUB US2014/0261378).
Regarding claim 2, Barreto teaches a porous grill grate (figures 16-18) comprising: a front and back plate (see annotated figure 18 below)3, opposite to one another; at least one pair of supports 110, opposite to one another; and at least one porous ceramic plate (par. 50, item 130), wherein the at least one porous ceramic plate is held in place by retaining walls incorporated within each of the at least one pair of supports (see figure 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKenzie et al. (US Pat# 4,662,349) in view of Broerman (PGPub# US 2013/0192476).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, McKenzie teaches that an angle is provided between ceramic plates 72/74).
McKenzie does not explicitly teach wherein the fixed angle between the staggered combinations of porous ceramic plates and pair of supports is 90 degrees (claim 5), and wherein the fixed angle between the staggered combinations of porous ceramic plates and pair of supports is between 45 and 90 degrees.(claim 6)
However, Broerman teaches a similar grill apparatus. (figure 7) Broerman teaches that ceramic bricks/ stones can be positioned/staggered against each other with a 90o angle. (Figures 1-3 and 7, par. 23-24 Broerman teaches that such an arrangement allows for maximum uniformity in heat distribution. (par. 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the angled/staggered arrangement of Broerman, to the apparatus of McKenzie, in order to maximize uniformity in heat distribution as taught by Broerman.
Regarding claim 7, McKenzie does not explicitly teach wherein there are seven of the porous ceramic plate and pair of support combinations.
However, McKenzie teaches that the system can include at least two tiles. (col. 7, lines 25-31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the tile and support arrangement of McKenzie as many times as necessary in order to increase the grill area coverage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4413976, US 3847536, US 3013602.
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761