DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
The applicant file a remark without amending the claims.
The specification’ objection in the action mailed on 4/7/2026 is withdrawn due to the argument in page 7 of the remark filed on 7/7/20026.
112 rejection is withdrawn due the argument in pages 7-8 of the remark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Caprio et al. (US. 20140276618A1)(“Di Caprio”) in view of Cottone (US. 20160121080A1).
Re claim 1, Di Caprio discloses a guide extension catheter (Fig. 1-21b, ¶0092) comprising: a flexible tube section (such as section 20 of 14, ¶0088) having a flexible, reinforced portion (mesh, ¶0088) comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a laser-cut tube a braid and at least two oppositely wound coils (braided mesh, ¶0088), wherein the flexible tube section has a polymer that defines a wall (¶0088), a proximal reinforcing section (section included 58a-b, 144, Fig. 21a-b) disposed proximal to the flexible, reinforced portion and disposed within the wall of the flexible tube section (Fig. 21a, ¶0101), the proximal reinforcing section comprising: a skived distal section that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction (58a-b, Fig. 21a), a middle non-tapered section (from lower portion of 58a-b to 144); a semi-circular section formed by the polymer defining the wall of the flexible tube section (section above 144 to left end of 40, Fig. 21a) and disposed proximal to the proximal reinforcing section (Fig. 21a) and comprising a flattened bottom section (bottom section of 40 is flat); a flat ribbon section (section between 16 and 40, Fig. 3a) connected with a proximal portion of the proximal reinforcing section portion (40) and extending proximally along the flattened bottom section of the semi- circular section (Fig. 21a); and a push rod (16) operatively connected with a proximal portion of the flat ribbon section, (Fig. 21a) the push rod comprising a proximal handle (32), and wherein the proximal reinforcing section (58a-b, 144) does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end of the semi-circular section, but it fails to disclose that the flexible tube section is coated with a polymer that defines a wall and the middle non-tapered section with a longitudinally open semi-circular shape and a proximal end that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 15a-d) and wherein the flexible tube section (¶0104) is coated with a polymer that defines a wall (filled with polymer, ¶0073 to form the wall 1800) and the middle non-tapered section (1820 section) with a longitudinally open semi-circular shape (1825) and a proximal end that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction (1825, Fig. 15d).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that the flexible tube section is coated with a polymer that defines a wall and the middle non-tapered section with a longitudinally open semi-circular shape and a proximal end that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction as taught by Cottone for the purpose of improving the flexibility and allowing for entire structure to be maneuvered through a tortuous path or anatomy (Cottone, ¶0104).
Re claim 3, Di Caprio discloses wherein the proximal reinforcing section comprises a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section( section at 144) and wherein the flat ribbon section is connected to the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (Fig. 21a).
Re claim 4, Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein a proximal end of flat or curvilinear bottom connector section defines a cutout that is complementary in shape with a shape of a distal end of the flat ribbon section, whereby the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout and thereby connected with the proximal reinforcing section.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 15a-d) and wherein a proximal end of flat (1825)or curvilinear bottom connector section defines a cutout (cutout in 1825) that is complementary in shape with a shape of a distal end of the flat ribbon section (1830), whereby the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout and thereby connected with the proximal reinforcing section (Fig, 15d).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that a proximal end of flat or curvilinear bottom connector section defines a cutout that is complementary in shape with a shape of a distal end of the flat ribbon section, whereby the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout and thereby connected with the proximal reinforcing section as taught by Cottone for the purpose of improving the flexibility and allowing for entire structure to be maneuvered through a tortuous path or anatomy (Cottone, ¶0102).
Re claim 5, Di Caprio discloses wherein the connected the flat ribbon section does not reduce an inner diameter of the flexible tube section (Di Caprio, Fig. 3a).
Re claim 6, Di Caprio discloses wherein the connected flat ribbon section does reduce an inner diameter of the flexible tube section (Di Caprio, Fig. 3a).
Re claim 7, the embodiment of Fig. 21 of Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein the semi-circular section comprises a partial cone-shaped flared shape.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 20c of Di Caprio discloses wherein the semi-circular section (44) comprises a partial cone-shaped flared shape ( closed to 130).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of embodiment of Fig, 21 of Di Caprio so that the semi-circular section comprises a partial cone-shaped flared shape as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 20c of Di Caprio for the purpose of facilitating movement of tools and medical devices along the axis of the boosting guide catheter (Di Caprio, ¶0122).
Re claim 8, Di Caprio discloses wherein the semi-circular section comprises a partial cylinder shape ( Fig. 1).
Re claim 9, Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts, wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis, wherein the spiral cuts comprise a pitch and an angle relative to the central axis, and wherein the pitch and angle are constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 15a-d) and wherein the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts (close to 1810, spiral cut, ¶0105), wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis (axis of 1810), wherein the spiral cuts comprise a pitch and an angle relative to the central axis (Fig. 15d), and wherein the pitch and angle are constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube (Fig, 15d, Note, the cut can be in any machinery such as laser ¶0097).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts, wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis, wherein the spiral cuts comprise a pitch and an angle relative to the central axis, and wherein the pitch and angle are constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube as taught by Cottone for the purpose of having specific cut pattern to improve the flexibility of the tube (Cottone, ¶0104).
Re claim 10, Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts, wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis, wherein the spiral cuts comprise a pitch and an angle relative to the central axis, and wherein the pitch and angle are not constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 15a-d) and wherein the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts (close to 1810, spiral cut, ¶0105), wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis (axis of 1810), and wherein the pitch and angle are not constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube (Fig. 15d, ¶0104, the width can be vary and not repetitive pattern), and wherein the pitch and angle are constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube (¶0104, the width can be vary and not repetitive pattern, Fig, 15d, Note, the cut can be in any machinery such as laser ¶0097).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts, wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis, wherein the spiral cuts comprise a pitch and an angle relative to the central axis, and wherein the pitch and angle are not constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube as taught by Cottone for the purpose of having specific cut pattern to improve the flexibility of the tube (Cottone, ¶0104).
Re claim 11, Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein the pitch of the spiral cuts becomes longer moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 15a-d) and wherein the laser-cut tube comprises spiral cuts (close to 1810, spiral cut, ¶0105), wherein the flexible tube section comprises a central longitudinal axis (axis of 1810), and wherein the pitch and angle are not constant moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube (Fig. 15d, ¶0104, the width can be vary and not repetitive pattern), and the pitch of the spiral cuts becomes longer moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube (¶0100, Fig, 15d, Note, the cut can be in any machinery such as laser ¶0097).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that the pitch of the spiral cuts becomes longer moving from a distal to a proximal direction along the laser-cut tube as taught by Cottone for the purpose of having specific cut pattern to improve the flexibility of the tube (Cottone, ¶0104).
Re claim 12, Di Caprio discloses a guide extension catheter (Fig. 1-21b, ¶0092) comprising: a flexible tube section (such as section 20 of 14, ¶0088) having a flexible, reinforced portion (mesh, ¶0088) comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a laser-cut tube, a braid and at least two oppositely wound coils (braided mesh, ¶0088), wherein the flexible tube section has a polymer that defines a wall (¶0088); a proximal reinforcing section disposed proximal to the flexible, reinforced portion (section included 58a-b, 144, Fig. 21a-b) and comprising: a skived distal section that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction (58a-b, Fig. 21a), a middle non-tapered section (from lower portion of 58a-b to 144) with a longitudinally open semi-circular shape (Fig.21b), a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (section 144), wherein the proximal reinforcing section is disposed within the wall of the flexible tube section ( Fig. 21a); a semi-circular section formed by the polymer defining the wall of the flexible tube section and disposed proximal to the proximal reinforcing section (section above 144) and comprising a flattened bottom section (lower section of 40), and a flat ribbon section (connection between 40 and 38, Fig. 3a) extending along the flattened bottom section of the semi- circular section (Fig. 3a); and a push rod (16) operatively connected with a proximal portion of the flat ribbon section (Fig. 3a), the push rod comprising a proximal handle (32, Fig. 3a), and wherein the proximal reinforcing section does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end of the semi-circular section (Fig. 21a), but it fails to discloses that the flexible tube section is coated with a polymer that defines a wall and a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section with a proximal end that defines a cutout, a semi-circular support ring connected with the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section at a proximal end of the proximal reinforcing section, and wherein the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout defined by the flat or curvilinear bottom section.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 14a-d) and wherein the flexible tube section (¶0104) is coated with a polymer that defines a wall (filled with polymer, ¶0073 to form the wall 1700) and a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (section 1730) with a proximal end that defines a cutout (lower section of 1730), a semi-circular support ring connected with the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (1735) at a proximal end of the proximal reinforcing section (Fig. 14a-c), and wherein the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout defined by the flat or curvilinear bottom section (section of 1740 that inserted in 1731, see Fig 14c similar to Fig. 15c).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that the flexible tube section is coated with a polymer that defines a wall and a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section with a proximal end that defines a cutout, a semi-circular support ring connected with the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section at a proximal end of the proximal reinforcing section, and wherein the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout defined by the flat or curvilinear bottom section as taught by Cottone for the purpose of improving the flexibility and allowing for entire structure to be maneuvered through a tortuous path or anatomy (Cottone, ¶0102).
Re claim 13, the embodiment of Fig. 21 of Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein the proximal semi-circular section comprises a partial cone-shaped, flared shape.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 20c of Di Caprio discloses wherein the semi-circular section (44) comprises a partial cone-shaped flared shape ( closed to 130).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of embodiment of Fig, 21 of Di Caprio so that proximal semi-circular section comprises a partial cone-shaped, flared shape as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 20c of Di Caprio for the purpose of facilitating movement of tools and medical devices along the axis of the boosting guide catheter (Di Caprio, ¶0122).
Re claim 14, Di Caprio discloses wherein the proximal semi-circular section comprises a partial cylinder shape (Fig. 1).
Re claim 15, Di Caprio fails to disclose wherein the semi-circular support ring comprises an expansion member and further comprising an expansible portion, wherein the expansible portion is configured to achieve an undeformed unexpanded configuration and configured to expand to a larger deformed configuration when subjected to a radially outward force.
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 14a-d) and the semi-circular support ring (1720) comprises an expansion member (1731 and or 1733) and further comprising an expansible portion (outer end of 1731), wherein the expansible portion is configured to achieve an undeformed unexpanded configuration and configured to expand to a larger deformed configuration when subjected to a radially outward force (¶0102, ¶0103, it will expand as it is flexible and or the tube can be made from shape memory material ¶0073).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that the semi-circular support ring comprises an expansion member and further comprising an expansible portion, wherein the expansible portion is configured to achieve an undeformed unexpanded configuration and configured to expand to a larger deformed configuration when subjected to a radially outward force as taught by Cottone for the purpose of improving the flexibility and allowing for entire structure to be maneuvered through a tortuous path or anatomy (Cottone, ¶0102).
Re claim 16, the modified Di Caprio discloses wherein the expansible portion is biased to retain the undeformed configuration (Cottone, ¶0102).
Re claim 17, the modified Di Caprio discloses wherein the expansible portion comprises a shape memory material (Cottone ¶0073).
Re claim 18, the modified Di Caprio discloses wherein the expansion member comprises a z-shape in the undeformed configuration (Cottone is z-shape see 1731 and or 1733).
Re claim 19, Di Caprio discloses a guide extension catheter (Fig. 1-21b, ¶0092) comprising: a flexible tube section (such as section 20 of 14, ¶0088) having a flexible, reinforced portion (mesh, ¶0088) comprising one or more of the group consisting of: a laser-cut tube a braid and at least two oppositely wound coils (braided mesh, ¶0088), wherein the flexible tube section has a polymer that defines a wall (¶0088), a proximal reinforcing section (section included 58a-b, 144, Fig. 21a-b) disposed proximal to the proximal flexible tube portion (Fig. 21a, ¶0101) and comprising: a skived distal section that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction ( section include 58a-b), a middle non-tapered section with a longitudinally open semi-circular shape (section above 144), a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (144), wherein the proximal reinforcing section is disposed within the wall of the flexible tube section (Fig, 21a); a flat ribbon section (section that connected 16 t8, Fig. 3a) connected with a proximal portion of the flexible, reinforced portion of the flexible tube section (Fig, 21a); and a push rod (16) operatively connected with a proximal portion of the flat ribbon section (Fig. 21a), the push rod comprising a proximal handle (32, Fig. 3a), wherein the proximal reinforcing section does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end (Fig. 3a, 21a), but it fails to discloses that flexible section is coated with a polymer that define a wall, and the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section with a proximal end that defines a cutout, and a complete cone-shaped flared section formed by the polymer that defines the wall of the flexible tube section and disposed proximal to the proximal reinforcing section, the complete cone-shaped flared section comprising longitudinal cross sections that are completely circular so that the proximal reinforcing section does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end of the complete cone-shaped flared section.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 20c of Di Caprio discloses wherein a complete cone-shaped flared section (flared130, Fig. 20c) formed by the polymer that defines the wall of the flexible tube section (¶0122) and disposed proximal to the proximal reinforcing section (Fig. 20c), the complete cone-shaped flared section comprising longitudinal cross sections that are completely circular so that the proximal reinforcing section does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end of the complete cone-shaped flared section (Fig. 20c).
The modified Di Caprio fails to disclose that flexible section is coated with a polymer that define a wall, and the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section with a proximal end that defines a cutout.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of embodiment of Fig, 21 of Di Caprio so that a complete cone-shaped flared section formed by the polymer that defines the wall of the flexible tube section and disposed proximal to the proximal reinforcing section, the complete cone-shaped flared section comprising longitudinal cross sections that are completely circular so that the proximal reinforcing section does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end of the complete cone-shaped flared section as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 20c of Di Caprio for the purpose of facilitating movement of tools and medical devices along the axis of the boosting guide catheter (Di Caprio, ¶0122).
However, Cottone discloses a guide extension catheter (abstract, ¶0009, Fig. 14a-d) and wherein the flexible tube section (¶0104) is coated with a polymer that defines a wall (filled with polymer, ¶0073 to form the wall 1700) and a flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (section 1730) with a proximal end that defines a cutout (lower section of 1730), a semi-circular support ring connected with the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section (1735) at a proximal end of the proximal reinforcing section (Fig. 14a-c), and wherein the flat ribbon section is operatively connected within the cutout defined by the flat or curvilinear bottom section (section of 1740 that inserted in 1731, see Fig 14c similar to Fig. 15c).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify catheter of Di Caprio so that that flexible section is coated with a polymer that define a wall, and the flat or curvilinear bottom connector section with a proximal end that defines a cutout as taught by Cottone for the purpose of improving the flexibility and allowing for entire structure to be maneuvered through a tortuous path or anatomy (Cottone, ¶0102).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument with regards to claim 1 in page 9 that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The applicant argues with regards to claim 1 in page 9 and repeated for claim 12 in page 10 that Cottone disclose a metallic tube and not affirmably taches a proximal reinforcing section as claimed. This is found not persuasive as Cottone discloses a flexible tube section (¶0104) is coated with a polymer that defines a wall (filled with polymer, ¶0073 to form the wall 1800) and the middle non-tapered section (1820 section) with a longitudinally open semi-circular shape (1825) and a proximal end that tapers downwardly in the proximal direction (1825, Fig. 15d).
The applicant argues with regards to claim 6 that the Fig. 21 of Di Caprio has a rod shape and in Fig. 3a has a flat shape that contradict with Fig. 21b. This is found not persuasives as 16 may have different shape see Fig. 16a-I and Fig. 20c and wherein the rod shape is turn to flat shape as it connected to the guide member 14.
The applicant argues with regards to claim 19 in page 10 that of Di Caprio . however Cottone discloses in ¶0073 that the tube can be made with metallic cover by polymeric jacket see also, ¶0110 show the jacket called a coating.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783