DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
The remarks filed on 02/03/2026 are acknowledged. The remarks/amendments regarding Li et al. (CN-112531485-A) were found persuasive. However, in light of the amendments, a new search was conducted and new prior art was identified. Accordingly, the prior art rejection of record relying on Li has been withdrawn and replaced with the updated rejection over Wünsche et al. in view of Fernandes et al. The arguments directed to Li and the prior Wünsche/Li combination are therefore moot. Furthermore, applicant’s arguments regarding Wünsche were not found persuasive for the reasons set for below-.
Applicant argues that Wünsche fails to teach that each opening of the plurality of cold plate openings comprises a coolant inlet and a coolant outlet. This argument is not persuasive. Wünsche discloses sections 260, each receiving a respective cooling plate 270 (see e.g. FIGS. 3-6 and paragraphs [0060]-[0061]). Wünsche further discloses connection point 217 of the first frame profile 210, corresponding connection point 273 of the cooling plate 270, coolant passage 271, and gasket 280 sealing the fluid connection therebetween (see e.g. paragraphs [0062] and [0065]). Wünsche further discloses that the second frame profile 220 has the same structure and that the cooling plates 270 have respective connection points on the side facing the second frame profile 220 (see e.g. paragraph [0066]). Thus, each section/opening includes an inlet side fluid connection and an outlet side fluid connection for directing coolant into and out of the cooling plate accommodated in the section/opening.
Applicant argues that Wünsche does not disclose a wall separating adjacent cold plate openings. This argument is not persuasive. Wünsche discloses crossbars 250 subdividing the interior space into seven sections 260 (see e.g. paragraph [0060] and FIG. 3). The crossbars 250 therefore correspond to walls separating adjacent openings.
Applicant argues that Wünsche does not disclose the claimed cover of claim 4. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 4 does not require the cover to be separate or removable. Wünsche discloses that the coolant structure is fully embedded in the first frame profile 210 and forms an integral part (see e.g. paragraph [0064]). The surrounding frame profile structure therefore covers and seals the first fluid passage from the environment.
Applicant argues that Wünsche does not teach the amended limitation of claim 11. This argument is not persuasive. Wünsche discloses that cooling plates 270 are provided at the bottom side of the framework and that each cooling plate 270 acts as a supporting floor of a respective section 260, with the cooling plates being in thermal contact with the battery modules 100 (see e.g. paragraphs [0060]-[0061]). Thus, the battery modules/cells are positioned on the top face of the cooling plates at the respective cold plate openings.
For the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s arguments regarding Wünsche are not persuasive. Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Wünsche in view of Fernandes, and claim 12 is rejected over Wünsche in view of Fernandes and further in view of Kruszelnicki. See claims 1-6 and 9-12 rejections below.
Summary
This is a continued examination non-final office action for application 17/809,771 in response to the amendments filed on 02/03/2026. Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are under examination. Claim 13-20 remain withdrawn from consideration
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/29/2022 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wünsche et al. (US-20210119282-A1) and further in view of Fernandes et al. (US-20190339028-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wünsche discloses a battery cooling system for an electric vehicle (see e.g. "liquid cooling circuit in Abstract" and part number 200 in FIGS. 3-4 and 7-8), comprising:
a first support rail with a first coolant inlet (see e.g. "a connection point 223 is used as a coolant inlet at the first frame profile 210.2," in paragraph [0070] and part number 210.2 in FIG. 8);
a second support rail with a first coolant outlet (see e.g. "a connection point 224, which is in direct fluid communication with a second channel of the second frame profile 220.2, is used as outlet for the liquid coolant" in paragraph [0070] and part number 220.2 in FIG. 8); and
a plurality of cold plate openings arranged in parallel between the first support rail and the second support rail (see e.g. part number 260 in FIG. 3), wherein each opening of the plurality of cold plate openings is coupled to a first fluid passage of the first support rail (see e.g. "The first channel 215, the second channel 216, and the connection point 217 are elements of an integral coolant structure, which is part of the liquid cooling circuit of the battery pack 10." in paragraph [0062] and part numbers 215, 217, 273 and 271 of FIG. 8; it is shown that coolant moves from first channel 215 through connection points 217 and 273 and into passage 271; furthermore, see e.g. part number 280 on FIG. 6 which shows that each opening of the plurality of cold plate openings is coupled to a first fluid passage of the first support rail) and a second fluid passage of the second support rail (see e.g. paragraph [0066]; it is explained that the second frame profile 220 has the very same structure on the opposite side thus showing that cold plate openings are coupled to the second fluid passage), wherein each opening of the plurality of cold plate openings accommodates one cold plate (see e.g. "seven cooling plates 270" in paragraph [0069] and part number 270 in FIG. 4; there are seven cold plate openings for one cold plate each totaling seven cold plates in the disclosed system), and wherein a wall separates each adjacent opening of the plurality of cold plate openings (see e.g. "crossbars 250 subdivides the interior space encompassed by the frame profiles" in paragraph [0060] and part number 250 in FIG. 3).
With regards to the limitation "wherein each opening of the plurality of cold plate openings comprises a coolant inlet and a coolant outlet", Wünsche discloses that each opening of the plurality of cold plate openings comprises a coolant inlet and a coolant outlet. In particular, Wünsche discloses sections 260 defined between the first and second frame profiles, wherein each section receives a respective cooling plate 270 (see e.g. FIGS. 3-6 and paragraphs [0060]-[0061]). Wünsche further discloses that the first frame profile 210 includes a first channel 215 and connection point 217, and that the cooling plate 270 includes a corresponding connection point 273 and coolant passage 271, with gasket 280 ensuring tightness of the fluid connection between the frame profile and the cooling plate (see e.g. paragraphs [0062] and [0065]). Wünsche further discloses that the second frame profile 220 has the same structure as the first frame profile 210, and that the cooling plates 270 have respective connection points on the side facing the second frame profile 220 (see e.g. paragraph [0066]). Thus, each section/opening includes an inlet side fluid connection to the first frame profile and an outlet side fluid connection to the second frame profile for directing coolant into and out of the cooling plate accommodated in the section/opening.
Wünsche does not disclose that the coolant inlet comprises a channel within a first environmental grommet, wherein the first environmental grommet includes a first seal that circumferentially surrounds the channel and is configured to seal the first environmental grommet to an inlet of the cold plate, and a second seal that circumferentially surrounds the first environmental grommet and is configured to seal the first environmental grommet to the first fluid passage and to restrict coolant from traveling along an exterior of the first environmental grommet and pooling in the cold plate opening.
Fernandes, however, in the same field of endeavor, manifolds for thermal regulation of battery packs, discloses a fluid inlet/outlet manifold for a battery pack heat exchanger (see e.g. "manifold 10" in paragraph [0049] and FIG. 1 of Fernandes) which comprises a channel within a first environmental grommet (see e.g. "central section 14A" in paragraph [0059] part number 14A in FIGs. 3 and 4 of Fernandes), wherein the first environmental grommet includes a first seal that circumferentially surrounds the channel and is configured to seal the first environmental grommet to an inlet of the cold plate (see e.g. "the connector body 22 is provided with at least one throat 32 for receiving a sealing O-ring gasket 34 in order to achieve sealing during quick fitting of the connector body 22 with the outer portion" in paragraph [0057] and part number 34 in FIG. 4 of Fernandes), and a second seal that circumferentially surrounds the first environmental grommet and is configured to seal the first environmental grommet to the first fluid passage and to restrict coolant from traveling along an exterior of the first environmental grommet and pooling in the cold plate opening (see e.g. "sealing gasket 48" in paragraph [0066] and part number 48 in FIGs. 3 and 4 of Fernandes).
Fernandes also teaches that the manifold provides a compact fluid connection structure and accommodates dimensional variations in the spacing of the heat exchanger channels (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Fernandes). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gasketed fluid connection between the frame profile connection point 217 and cooling plate connection point 273 of Wünsche et al. such that the coolant inlet comprises a channel within a first environmental grommet, wherein the first environmental grommet includes a first seal that circumferentially surrounds the channel and is configured to seal the first environmental grommet to an inlet of the cold plate, and a second seal that circumferentially surrounds the first environmental grommet and is configured to seal the first environmental grommet to the first fluid passage and to restrict coolant from traveling along an exterior of the first environmental grommet and pooling in the cold plate opening as taught by Fernandes et al. in order to provide a compact fluid connection structure and accommodate dimensional variations in the spacing of the heat exchanger channels as suggested by Fernandes.
Regarding Claim 2, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that the first support rail is positioned along a first length of the plurality of cold plate openings and the second support rail is positioned along a second length of the plurality of cold plate openings, opposite the first length (see e.g. part numbers 210 and 220 in FIG. 7; the first support rail 210 is along a first length of the plurality of cold plate openings and the second support rail 220 is position along a second length of the plurality of cold plate openings, which i8s opposite of the first length).
Regarding Claim 3, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that each of the first fluid passage and the second fluid passage is positioned inside an extruded aluminum profile of the first support rail and the second support rail, respectively (see e.g. "As shown, the coolant structure is fully embedded into the first frame profile 210.4 and thus forms an integral part thereof. In other words, all constructive elements shown in the cross-sectional views of FIGS. 12 through 13 are made of one single piece of extruded aluminum" in paragraph [0077] and "The first and second frame profiles are preferably made of (extruded) aluminum" in paragraph [0025] and " the first frame profile 210 and the second frame profile 220 are made of extruded aluminum." in paragraph [0060]).
Regarding Claim 4, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that the first fluid passage is positioned behind a cover that seals the first fluid passage from an environment (see e.g. " upper side 211...a lower side 212...a pair of longitudinal sides 213, 214" in paragraph [0062] and part numbers 211, 212, 213 and 214 in FIG. 5).
Wünsche in view of Fernandes does not explicitly disclose that the first fluid passage and the second fluid passage are sealed on a first end and a second end, opposite the first end. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to seal both sends of the first and second fluid passages in the battery cooling system, disclosed by Wünsche in order to prevent coolant leakage and ensure proper operation of the closed-loop liquid cooling system, particularly when pressure and coolant containment are critical to the functionality of the device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this from the general engineering principles of fluid containment in liquid cooling systems, as failure to seal both ends would render the cooling system in operable due to coolant leaks.
Regarding Claim 5, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that the first end of the first fluid passage is sealed by the first coolant inlet (see e.g. "Tightness of the fluid connection of the cooling plate 270 and the frame profile 210 is ensured by a gasket 280 provided between the corresponding connection points 217 and 273." in paragraph [0065] and part number 280 in FIG. 6) the first end of the second fluid passage is sealed by the first coolant outlet (see e.g. paragraph [0066]; it is explained that the second frame profile 220 has the very same structure on the opposite side thus showing that the first end of the second fluid passage is sealed by the same gasket 280 which is connected to the first coolant outlet).
Regarding Claim 6, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that the battery cooling system is fluidically coupled to an electric vehicle system via the first coolant inlet and the first coolant outlet (see e.g. "The integral coolant distribution structure of the first frame profile 210 includes a connection point 221 for a vehicle coolant circuit (not shown) at a narrow side of the first frame profile 210. Also, the second frame profile 220 includes such a connection point 222 being arranged on the same side of the framework 200 as the connection point 221 of the first frame profile 210." in paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claim 9, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that a second coolant inlet of a cold plate opening of the plurality of cold plate openings couples the cold plate opening to the first fluid passage (see e.g. “The first channel 215, the second channel 216, and the connection point 217 are elements of an integral coolant structure, which is part of the liquid cooling circuit of the battery pack 10.” in paragraph [0062] and part numbers 215 and 217 in FIGS. 5-6 and “the cooling plate 270 comprises a passage 271 for a cooling liquid. On an upper side 272 of the cooling plate 270 there is provided a connection point 273 which corresponds in size and position with the connection point 217 of the frame profile 210. Tightness of the fluid connection of the cooling plate 270 and the frame profile 210 is ensured by a gasket 280 provided between the corresponding connection points 217 and 273.” in paragraph [0065] and part numbers 271, 273, and 280 in FIG. 6).
Wünsche does not disclose that the second coolant inlet comprises a channel within an environmental grommet, and wherein coolant flows through the channel into a cold plate positioned in the cold plate opening.
Fernandes, however, discloses that the second coolant inlet comprises a channel within an environmental grommet (see e.g. “the connector body 22 internally delimits a fluid flow passage 24” in paragraph [0055] and part numbers 22 and 24 in FIGS. 3 and 4 of Fernandes), and wherein coolant flows through the channel into a cold plate positioned in the cold plate opening (see e.g. “the connector body 22 is provided with at least one throat 32 for receiving a sealing O-ring gasket 34 in order to achieve sealing during quick fitting of the connector body 22 with the outer portion” in paragraph [0057] and part number 34 in FIG. 4 of Fernandes).
Fernandes also teaches that the manifold provides a compact fluid connection structure and accommodates dimensional variations in the spacing of the heat exchanger channels (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Fernandes). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second coolant inlet of Wünsche et al. such that the second coolant inlet a channel within an environmental grommet, and wherein coolant flows through the channel into a cold plate positioned in the cold plate opening as taught by Fernandes et al. in order to provide a compact fluid connection structure and accommodate dimensional variations in the spacing of the heat exchanger channels as suggested by Fernandes.
Regarding Claim 10, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that a second coolant outlet of the cold plate opening couples the cold plate opening to the second fluid passage (see e.g. paragraph [0066]; it is explained that the second frame profile 220 may have the very same structure as the first frame profile 210 and includes a similar integral coolant structure and that the coolant plates 270 will also have respective connection points on the side facing the second frame profile 220). Wünsche further discloses that coolant is collected by the integral coolant structure of the second frame profile 220 after passing through the cooling plates 270 (see e.g. “the coolant is distributed by the integral coolant structure of the first frame profile 210 into the seven cooling plates 270 and after passing the cooling plates 270 collected by the integral coolant structure of the second frame profile 220” in paragraph [0069]). Thus, the connection point on the side of the cooling plate 270 facing the second frame profile 220 and the corresponding connection point of the second frame profile 220 form a second coolant outlet which couples the cold plate opening/section 260 to the second fluid passage of the second frame profile 220 such that coolant flows from the cooling plate 270 positioned in the cold plate opening/section 260 into the second fluid passage.
Regarding Claim 11, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Wünsche further discloses that the battery cooling system further comprises a battery assembly including at least one battery cell (see e.g. "The inventive battery pack 10 may include one or more such battery modules 100" and "Each of these sections 260 may accommodate up to eight battery modules 100 (not shown)" in paragraph [0060]) positioned on a top face of cold plates arranged in the plurality of cold plate openings (see e.g. "the liquid cooling circuit of the battery pack 10 includes cooling plates 270 being in thermal contact with the battery modules 100" in paragraph [0061]), wherein each cold plate extends a height above a height of a respective cold plate opening such that the at least one battery cell is positioned on the top face of the cold plate above the cold plate opening (see e.g. " each cooling plate 270 acts as the same time as a supporting floor of a respective section 260" in paragraph [0061] and part numbers 260 and 270 in FIG. 3; part 260 is the cold plate opening and part number 270 is the cold plates; once assembled each cold plate would naturally extend above the cold plate opening and the battery cells are position on the top face of the cold plate above the cold plate opening).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wünsche et al. (US-20210119282-A1) in view of Fernandes et al. (US-20190339028-A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kruszelnicki (US-20180294536-A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Wünsche in view of Fernandes discloses the battery cooling system of claim 11 (see e.g. claim 11 rejection above).
Wünsche in view of Fernandes does not disclose that the battery cooling system further comprises at least one battery coolant intake port and at least one battery coolant outlet port, wherein each of the at least one battery coolant intake port and the at least one battery coolant outlet port couples the battery assembly to a coolant circuit such that coolant flows into the battery assembly from the coolant circuit via the at least one battery coolant intake port and coolant flows out of the battery assembly to the coolant circuit via the at least one battery coolant outlet port.
Kruszelnicki, however, in the same field of endeavor, battery cooling systems for use in electric vehicles discloses a battery coolant intake port (see e.g. part number 46 in FIG. 6 of Kruszelnicki) and at least one battery coolant outlet port (see e.g. part number 48 in FIG. 6 of Kruszelnicki), wherein each of the at least one battery coolant intake port and the at least one battery coolant outlet port couples the battery assembly to a coolant circuit such that coolant flows into the battery assembly from the coolant circuit via the at least one battery coolant intake port and coolant flow out of the battery assembly to the coolant circuit via the at least one battery coolant outlet port (see e.g. FIG. 6 and "The main body 24 includes at least one port 46 that provides an inlet for liquid coolant (not shown) moving into the interior 34 of the main body 24 (i.e., an inlet port 46), and at least one port 48 that provides an outlet for coolant moving out from the interior 34 of the main body 24 (i.e., an outlet port 48)... The main body 24 includes at least one port 46 that provides an inlet for liquid coolant (not shown) moving into the interior 34 of the main body 24 (i.e., an inlet port 46), and at least one port 48 that provides an outlet for coolant moving out from the interior 34 of the main body 24 (i.e., an outlet port 48)." in paragraph [0046] and "Each hollow cylinder 36 has an inner diameter sized and shaped to friction-fit a generally cylindrical battery cell inserted within the interior 44 of the hollow cylinder 36." in paragraph [0045] of Kruszelnicki).
Kruszelnicki further teaches that using a battery pack module with this design provides useful advantages such as closed loop cooling which reduces pressure drop losses with regard to overall cooling system in a vehicle, rapid fluid migration and uniform heat transfer to keep all battery cells at an even temperature (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Kruszelnicki). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery cooling system of Wünsche et al. in view of Fernandes et al. such that it further comprises at least one battery coolant intake port and at least one battery coolant outlet port, wherein each of the at least one battery coolant intake port and the at least one battery coolant outlet port couples the battery assembly to a coolant circuit such that coolant flows into the battery assembly from the coolant circuit via the at least one battery coolant intake port and coolant flows out of the battery assembly to the coolant circuit via the at least one battery coolant outlet port as taught by Kruszelnicki in order to have closed loop cooling and keep battery cells at an even temperature as suggested by Kruszelnicki.
Conclusion
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723