Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims [1-2, 4-6, 9, 12-13, 15-17, 20, 23 and 27] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20200267701 A1)] in view of Wang (US 20200383062 A1) further in view of Mattias (US 2021092690 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 12, 23 and 27 Park a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, individually or collectively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to: [0051] FIG. 26 illustrates a wireless device which may be applied to the present disclosure, transmit, to a network node, a bitmap associated with a subset of a set of transmit precoding matrix indicators (TPMIs), [0505] In other words, in Proposal 4, the UE may transmit the information associated with the capability, which includes a subset of TPMI including at least one TPMI capable of performing the uplink transmission with the full transmission power by the UE while transmitting the information associated with the capability of the UE to the eNB., the set of TPMIs includes more TPMIs than the set subset of TPMIs; [0011] transmitting to a base station information associated with a capability of the UE, in which the information includes a subset including at least one transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) supported by the UE, the bitmap include. [0498] In other words, when the UE reports to the eNB the codebook subset as the capability of the UE, the eNB may determine that the uplink transmission of the corresponding TPMIs is available with the full power and use 1 as the power scaling value at the time of transmitting the PUSCH using the corresponding TPMI. Wireless communication [0005] An embodiment of the present disclosure provides a method and a device for transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system. Network node [0093] Network function: A network function is a logical node within a network infrastructure that has well-defined external interfaces and well-defined functional behavior.
Park does not teach wherein: each TPMI, of the set of TPMIs, supports a maximum transmit power for uplink communications according to a power class of the UE per band for a band- band combination supported by the UE, the bitmap includes one or more bits indicating one or more TPMIs of the subset of TPMIs that support the maximum transmit power.
However, Wang does teach wherein: each TPMI, of the set of TPMIs, [0047] In one set of embodiments, for Mode 2 operation, the legacy Rel-15 codebook and codebook subsets are used. And the UE reports which TPMIs can enable full power transmission. In order to enable the full power transmission, it should be allowed to use different scaling factor for the existing TPMI precoders, supports a maximum transmit power for uplink communications according to a power class [0032] For example for UE with power class 3, the full transmission power is 23 dBm. If the UE has two antenna ports and power amplifiers (PA) with the maximum transmission power of 20 dBm, the full Tx power could not be achieved for non-coherent capable UE, of the UE per band for a band- band combination supported by the UE, the bitmap includes one or more bits indicating one or more TPMIs of the subset of TPMIs that support the maximum transmit power, [0114] Example 5 includes the apparatus of example 1 or some other example herein, wherein the processing circuitry is further to receive a report from the UE that indicates one or more TPMIs capable of supporting full power transmission for the Mode 2 operation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park and Wang before him or her, to modify the method of Park to include TPMI as taught by Wang.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved network power conversion efficiency. (Paragraph 0092 by Wang)].
Park and Wong do not teach wherein the UE per band for a band- band combination supported by the UE.
However, Mattias does teach wherein the UE per band for a band- band combination supported by the UE [0048] Each set of power classes applies to a transmission band supported by the wireless device and each power class in each set of power classes applies to a specific operative condition of the wireless device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Wang and Mattias before him or her, to modify the method of Park and Wang to include TPMI as taught by Mattias.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved network configuration flexibility. (Paragraph 0010 by Mattias)].
In regards to claim 2 and 13 Park, Wang and Mattias teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Park also teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein the bitmap is 2 bits in length when the UE includes two transmit chains. [0502] For example, when the UE reports the capability to the eNB only with rank 1 and the non-coherent codebook, the UE may report to the eNB an available part with a 2-bit bitmap (TPMIs 0 and 1) for 2 ports and a 4-bit bitmap (TPMIs 0 to 3) for 4 ports.
In regards to claim 4 and 15 Park, Wang and Mattias teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Park also teaches wherein the at least one TPMI includes a TPMI in which all transmit chains of the UE are used. [0500] Alternatively, the UE may report to the eNB available TPMI among all available TPMIs with the 9-bit bitmap (6+3) in the case of 2 ports and report to the eNB whether to use full TPMI using the 62-bit bitmap (28+22+7+5) in the case of 4 ports.
In regards to claim 5 and 16 Park, Wang and Mattias teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Park also teaches wherein each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a single-layer TPMI. [0503] As another example, when the UE reports the capability to the eNB only with rank 1 and the non-partial coherent codebook, the UE may report to the eNB information on available TPMI with the 2-bit bitmap for 2 ports as it is and a 12-bit bitmap (TPMIs 0 to 11) for 4 ports.
In regards to claim 6 and 17 Park, Wang and Mattias teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Park also teaches wherein the at least one TPMI includes a multi-layer TPMI [0482] <Proposal 2: When the UE reports UE capability 1, the power scaling value is calculated as a at the time of transmitting the PUSCH for active BWP and antenna ports of performing non-zero power PUSCH transmission of the UE evenly divide and transmit power. Here, the value of α may be determined by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC or MAC CE) or dynamic signaling (e.g., DCI).>
In regards to claim 9 and 20 Park, Wang and Mattias teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Park also teaches wherein the UE is required to support the maximum transmit power using only a first transmit chain of the UE if the UE has only two transmit chains and is capable of combining antenna ports to transmit uplink communications using the maximum transmit power. [0481 and Table 22] In this regard, for an SRS resource having one or more ports, in order to at least support UE capability 3, the UE may signal to the eNB a TPMI set of transferring the full power.
Claim [3, 7, 10,11,14, 18, 21-22, 25-26 and 29-34] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Wang further in view of Mattias further in view of Haghighat (US 20220109474 A1).
Regarding claim 3 and 14 Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias do not teach wherein the bitmap is 2 bits in length when the UE includes two transmit chains and when corresponding connections between transmit chains and transmit antennas are not reconfigurable.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein the bitmap is 2 bits in length when the UE includes two transmit chains and when corresponding connections between transmit chains and transmit antennas are not reconfigurable. [0082] In examples, a WTRU with N TX chains may use a bitmap with length N bits, for example, to indicate which TX chains are equipped with full rated PAs. Other (e.g., remaining) TX chains may be assumed, for example, to employ PAs with a lower power rating (e.g., P.sub.Amp=P.sub.Max/N). In examples (e.g., for a Power Class 3 WTRU with 4 TX antennas), a bitmap “0 0 1 1” may indicate utilization of PAs with ratings “17 dBm,17 dBm, 23 dBm,23 dBm,” while “0 0 0 0” may indicate an implementation based on “17 dBm,17 dBm, 17 dBm, 17 dBm” PA ratings.
xxxvii. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Saifur and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang, Haghighat and Mattias to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Regarding claim 7 and 18 Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias do not teach wherein the bitmap is 11 bits in length when the UE includes four transmit chains and when corresponding connections between transmit chains and transmit antennas are not reconfigurable.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein the bitmap is 11 bits in length when the UE includes four transmit chains and when corresponding connections between transmit chains and transmit antennas are not reconfigurable. [0086] In examples, a WTRU may (e.g., implicitly) indicate a coherence capability of the WTRU through indication of a PA rating. In an example (e.g., where a WTRU with N TX chains uses a bitmap with length N bits to indicate which TX chains are equipped with a full rated PA), the indicated chains with full rated PAs may be assumed to be coherent transmit chains. For example (e.g., for a Power Class 3 WTRU with 4 TX antennas), a bitmap “0 0 1 1” may indicate utilization of PAs with the ratings “17 dBm, 17 dBm, 23 dBm, 23 dBm.” Such a WTRU may (e.g., implicitly) indicate (e.g., in the foregoing PA ratings) that transmit chains 3 and 4 (e.g., 23 dBm and 23 dBm) are the coherent transmission units (e.g., panels).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Wang, Mattias and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Regarding claim 10 and Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias do not teach wherein the bitmap is 11 bits in length when the UE includes four transmit chains and when corresponding connections between transmit chains and transmit antennas are not reconfigurable.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein the bitmap is 11 bits in length when the UE includes four transmit chains and when corresponding connections between transmit chains and transmit antennas are not reconfigurable. [0085] A WTRU may send a coherency indication. A WTRU may, for example, use a bitmap to indicate the coherence capability of its transmitter structure. A WTRU with N TX chains may, for example, use a bitmap with length N bits, e.g., to indicate which TX chains may be considered as coherent transmission units. In examples, “0” and “1” may indicate coherent and non-coherent transmission chains (e.g., panels). In examples (e.g., for a WTRU with 4 TX antennas), a bitmap “0 0 0 1” may indicate a PNC capable WTRU, for example, where the 4th transmit chain (e.g., panel) does not exhibit a coherent transmission behavior with respect to the first three transmit chains. A coherence capability may be indicated per pair of TX chains. For example (e.g., in a 4TX WTRU), the WTRU may use a 2-bit length bitmap to indicate the coherency of a (e.g., each) TX pair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Saif Park, Wang, Mattias and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Regarding claim 11 and 22 Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias do not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the network node, an indication of whether connections between transmit chains of the UE and transmit antennas of the UE are reconfigurable.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the network node, an indication of whether connections between transmit chains of the UE and transmit antennas of the UE are reconfigurable [0085] A WTRU may send a coherency indication. A WTRU may, for example, use a bitmap to indicate the coherence capability of its transmitter structure. A WTRU with N TX chains may, for example, use a bitmap with length N bits, e.g., to indicate which TX chains may be considered as coherent transmission units. In examples, “0” and “1” may indicate coherent and non-coherent transmission chains (e.g., panels).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Wang, Mattias and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Regarding claim 25 and 29, Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias does not teach wherein the at least one TPMI includes a TPMI in which all transmit chains of the UE are used.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein the at least one TPMI includes a TPMI in which all transmit chains of the UE are used, [0077] Uplink transmission may support one or more (e.g., all) ranks, for example, with full power capability (e.g., assuming FPNC capability). For example, for rank 1 transmission (e.g., as shown in Table 1), transmitted precoding matrix indicators (TPM Is) {0, 1, 2, 3} may enable antenna selection, while TPMIs {0, 4, 12} may be utilized for WTRU power saving (e.g., if needed). The power saving capability of a WTRU may be maintained (e.g., while antenna selection is supported), for example, by turning OFF/ON RF chains.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Wang, Mattias and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Regarding claim 26 and 30, Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias does not teach wherein each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a single-layer TPMI.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a single-layer TPMI, [0085] WTRU may, for example, use a bitmap to indicate the coherence capability of its transmitter structure. A WTRU with N TX chains may, for example, use a bitmap with length N bits, e.g., to indicate which TX chains may be considered as coherent transmission units. In examples, “0” and “1” may indicate coherent and non-coherent transmission chains (e.g., panels). In examples (e.g., for a WTRU with 4 TX antennas), a bitmap “0 0 0 1” may indicate a PNC capable WTRU.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Wang, Mattias and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Regarding claim 31, 32, 33 and 34 Park, Wang and Mattias teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Park, Wang and Mattias do not teach wherein the bitmap is two bits and includes a first bit and a second bit, wherein the first bit indicates support for the maximum transmit power using only a first antenna of the UE, and the second bit indicates support for the maximum transmit power using only a second antenna of the UE.
However, Haghighat does teach wherein the bitmap is two bits and includes a first bit and a second bit, wherein the first bit indicates support for the maximum transmit power using only a first antenna of the UE,) and the second bit indicates support for the maximum transmit power using only a second antenna of the UE. [0082] a WTRU with N TX chains may use a bitmap with length N bits, for example, to indicate which TX chains are equipped with full rated PAs. Other (e.g., remaining) TX chains may be assumed, for example, to employ PAs with a lower power rating (e.g., P.sub.Amp=P.sub.Max/N). In examples (e.g., for a Power Class 3 WTRU with 4 TX antennas
xxxvii. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Wang, Mattias and Haghighat before him or her, to modify the method of Park, Wang and Mattias to modify the method of Park and Saifur to include bitmap as taught by Haghighat.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved efficiency. (Paragraph 0088 by Haghighat)].
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new rejection stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466