DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on December 8, 2025. Claims 1-4, 9, 11, 16-19, 24, 29, and 30 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Specification
2. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on December 8, 2025. These amendments to the title are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11, 16-19, 24, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0289244 A1) in view of Svennebring et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0303331 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. teach a first wireless communication device (WCD) for wireless communication (Fig(s).1, 2, and 4), comprising:
a memory one or more memories (Fig.1 @ 115 and 2 @ 210); and
one or more processors (Fig.1 @ 110 and 2 @ 110), coupled to the one or more memories (Fig.1 @ 115 and 2 @ 210), configured to:
communicate a first set of data packets (read as motion information) with a second WCD (read as target vehicle) via a wireless link (read as communication link is stable) using a first set of one or more parameters (read as an initial ego motion) (read as “the system 400 of FIG. 4 illustrates a communication link(s) using V2X between an ego vehicle i and a target vehicle j operating in a CAV environment.”(Paragraph [0031]) For example, “the control system 170 may monitor the communication link to determine initial ego motion using motion information from the target vehicle.”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0029]) For example, “the control system 170 may determine ego motion according to motion information estimated for the target vehicle, according to a model, received over a network while the communication link is stable.”(Paragraph [0029]));
obtain environmental information associated with an environment of the first WCD or the second WCD (read as “additional sensors such as cameras may be implemented to acquire information about the surrounding environment from which a system derives awareness about aspects of the surrounding environment.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120 and 4; Paragraph [0002]));
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step(s) to detect, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time,
the predicted increase degradation of communications comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications,
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications, or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications; and
communicate, during the subsequent period of time, a second set of data packets with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters,
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications.
Svennebring et al. teach a method to detect, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time (read as Link performance prediction (LPP) PDU comprising of a type (Fig.43 @ 4315)),
the predicted increase degradation of communications (Fig.42) comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications (read as predicted packet loss rate (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])),
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications (read as predicted latency (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])), or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications (read as prediction of any other measurement type (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])); and
communicate, during the subsequent period of time (read as a time shift (Paragraph [0315])), a second set of data packets (read as delay tolerant traffic) with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters (read as “the LPPS 2900 is capable of predicting link performance in time and space, …”(Fig.42 and Fig.43 @ 4325; Paragraph [0315]) For example, “UEs 1511, 1521, and/or network infrastructure able to shift delay tolerant traffic in time and/or space in order to smooth out peak demand and improve overall network resource utilization.”(Paragraph [0315])),
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications. (read as space (Fig.42; Paragraph [0315]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device (WCD) (Fig.4), comprising:
communicating a first set of data packets (read as motion information) with a second WCD (read as target vehicle) via a wireless link (read as communication link is stable) using a first set of one or more parameters (read as an initial ego motion) (read as “the system 400 of FIG. 4 illustrates a communication link(s) using V2X between an ego vehicle i and a target vehicle j operating in a CAV environment.”(Paragraph [0031]) For example, “the control system 170 may monitor the communication link to determine initial ego motion using motion information from the target vehicle.”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0029]) For example, “the control system 170 may determine ego motion according to motion information estimated for the target vehicle, according to a model, received over a network while the communication link is stable.”(Paragraph [0029]));
obtaining environmental information associated with an environment of the first WCD or the second WCD (read as “additional sensors such as cameras may be implemented to acquire information about the surrounding environment from which a system derives awareness about aspects of the surrounding environment.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120 and 4; Paragraph [0002]));
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step(s) for detecting, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time,
the predicted increase of degradation of communications comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications,
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications, or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications; and
communicating, during the subsequent period of time, a second set of data packets with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters,
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications.
Svennebring et al. teach a method to detect, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time (read as Link performance prediction (LPP) PDU comprising of a type (Fig.43 @ 4315)),
the predicted increase of degradation of communications (Fig.42) comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications (read as predicted packet loss rate (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])),
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications (read as predicted latency (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])), or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications (read as prediction of any other measurement type (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])); and
communicating, during the subsequent period of time (read as a time shift (Paragraph [0315])), a second set of data packets (read as delay tolerant traffic) with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters (read as “the LPPS 2900 is capable of predicting link performance in time and space, …”(Fig.42 and Fig.43 @ 4325; Paragraph [0315]) For example, “UEs 1511, 1521, and/or network infrastructure able to shift delay tolerant traffic in time and/or space in order to smooth out peak demand and improve overall network resource utilization.”(Paragraph [0315])),
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications. (read as space (Fig.42; Paragraph [0315]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 29, Wang et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig(s).1 @ 115 and 2 @ 210, 230) storing a set of instructions (read as computer-readable instructions (Paragraph [0023])) for wireless communication (Fig(s).1, 2, and 4), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions (read as computer-readable instructions (Paragraph [0023])) that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig(s).1 @ 110 and 2 @ 110) of a first wireless communication device (WCD) (Fig(s).1, 2, and 4), cause the WCD (Fig(s).1, 2, and 4) to:
communicate a first set of data packets (read as motion information) with a second WCD (read as target vehicle) via a wireless link (read as communication link is stable) using a first set of one or more parameters (read as an initial ego motion) (read as “the system 400 of FIG. 4 illustrates a communication link(s) using V2X between an ego vehicle i and a target vehicle j operating in a CAV environment.”(Paragraph [0031]) For example, “the control system 170 may monitor the communication link to determine initial ego motion using motion information from the target vehicle.”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0029]) For example, “the control system 170 may determine ego motion according to motion information estimated for the target vehicle, according to a model, received over a network while the communication link is stable.”(Paragraph [0029]))
obtain environmental information associated with an environment of the first WCD or the second WCD (read as “additional sensors such as cameras may be implemented to acquire information about the surrounding environment from which a system derives awareness about aspects of the surrounding environment.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120 and 4; Paragraph [0002]));
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to detect, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time,
the predicted increase of degradation of communications comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications,
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications, or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications; and
communicate, during the subsequent period of time, a second set of data packets with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters,
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications.
Svennebring et al. teach a method to detect, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time (read as Link performance prediction (LPP) PDU comprising of a type (Fig.43 @ 4315)),
the predicted increase of degradation of communications (Fig.42) comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications (read as predicted packet loss rate (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])),
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications (read as predicted latency (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])), or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications (read as prediction of any other measurement type (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])); and
communicate, during the subsequent period of time (read as a time shift (Paragraph [0315])), a second set of data packets (read as delay tolerant traffic) with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters (read as “the LPPS 2900 is capable of predicting link performance in time and space, …”(Fig.42 and Fig.43 @ 4325; Paragraph [0315]) For example, “UEs 1511, 1521, and/or network infrastructure able to shift delay tolerant traffic in time and/or space in order to smooth out peak demand and improve overall network resource utilization.”(Paragraph [0315])),
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications. (read as space (Fig.42; Paragraph [0315]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 30, Wang et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig(s).1-2 and 4), comprising:
means for communicating, from a first wireless communication device (WCD), a first set of data packets (read as motion information) with a second WCD (read as target vehicle) via a wireless link (read as communication link is stable) using a first set of one or more parameters (read as an initial ego motion) (read as “the system 400 of FIG. 4 illustrates a communication link(s) using V2X between an ego vehicle i and a target vehicle j operating in a CAV environment.”(Paragraph [0031]) For example, “the control system 170 may monitor the communication link to determine initial ego motion using motion information from the target vehicle.”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0029]) For example, “the control system 170 may determine ego motion according to motion information estimated for the target vehicle, according to a model, received over a network while the communication link is stable.”(Paragraph [0029]))
means for obtaining environmental information associated with an environment of the first WCD or the second WCD (read as “additional sensors such as cameras may be implemented to acquire information about the surrounding environment from which a system derives awareness about aspects of the surrounding environment.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120 and 4; Paragraph [0002]));
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach means for detecting, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time,
the predicted increase of degradation of communications comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications,
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications, or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications; and
means for communicating, during the subsequent period of time, a second set of data packets with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters,
the second set of one or more parameters based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications.
Svennebring et al. teach a means for detecting, based at least in part on the environmental information, a predicted increase of degradation of communications for a subsequent period of time (read as Link performance prediction (LPP) PDU comprising of a type (Fig.43 @ 4315)),
the predicted increase of degradation of communications (Fig.42) comprising one or more of
a predicted increase of packet loss of communications (read as predicted packet loss rate (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])),
a predicted increase of latency to a multimedia layer of communications (read as predicted latency (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])), or
an increased latency to a codec layer of communications (read as prediction of any other measurement type (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])); and
means for communicating, during the subsequent period of time (read as a time shift (Paragraph [0315])), a second set of data packets (read as delay tolerant traffic) with the second WCD via the wireless link using a second set of one or more parameters (read as “the LPPS 2900 is capable of predicting link performance in time and space, …”(Fig.42 and Fig.43 @ 4325; Paragraph [0315]) For example, “UEs 1511, 1521, and/or network infrastructure able to shift delay tolerant traffic in time and/or space in order to smooth out peak demand and improve overall network resource utilization.”(Paragraph [0315])),
the second set of one or more parameters configured for the subsequent period of time based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications. (read as space (Fig.42; Paragraph [0315]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, and as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, Wang et al., as modified by Svennebring, teach a WCD and method (Fig(s).1, 2, and 4) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).1 @ 110 and 2 @ 110), to obtain the environmental information, are configured to:
obtain the environmental information via a sensor associated with the first WCD (read as “additional sensors such as cameras may be implemented to acquire information about the surrounding environment from which a system derives awareness about aspects of the surrounding environment.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120 and 4; Paragraph [0002])),
obtain the environmental information from the second WCD, obtain the environmental information from a third WCD, or
obtain the environmental information from a network node.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, and as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, Wang, as modified by Svennebring, teach a WCD and method (Fig(s).1, 2, and 4) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).1 @ 110 and 2 @ 110) are further configured to:
transmit, to the second WCD (Fig.4), an indication of the predicted increase of degradation of communications (Fig(s).1 @ 135),
the second WCD to configure the second WCD based at least in part on the predicted increase of degradation of communications,
the environmental information comprising blockage information, and
the predicted increase of degradation associated with a blockage prediction. (read as “the control system 170 determines whether packet losses and delay satisfy criteria 260 for the communication link. The criteria 260 may be related to packet loss for a certain time-step, a communication link disabled due to packet losses, the magnitude of a time-step, a delay below a time-step for a prediction, a duration of a time-step, and so on.”(Fig.3; Paragraph [0038])
Regarding claims 4 and 19, and as applied to claims 3 and 18 above, Wang et al. teach systems and methods comprising “a control system to improve estimating motion for an automated vehicle related to cooperative driving.”(Fig(s).1, 2, and 4; Abstract)
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the indication of the predicted increase of degradation of communications comprises one or more of:
an indication of a start of the subsequent period of time,
an indication of an end of the subsequent period of time,
one or more metrics associated with the predicted increase of degradation of communications, or
a requested data rate for the subsequent period of time.
Svennebring et al. teach a method wherein the indication of the predicted increase of degradation of communications (Fig(s).42-43) comprises one or more of:
an indication of a start of the subsequent period of time (read as timex field (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])),
an indication of an end of the subsequent period of time (read as timex field (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405])),
one or more metrics associated with the predicted increase of degradation of communications (read as typex field (Fig.42)), or
a requested data rate for the subsequent period of time. (read as typex field (Fig.42; Paragraph [0405]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, and as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, Wang et al. teach systems and methods comprising “a control system to improve estimating motion for an automated vehicle related to cooperative driving.”(Fig(s).1, 2, and 4; Abstract)
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the first WCD comprises a user equipment (UE) and the second WCD comprises a network node , or
wherein the second WCD comprises a UE and the first WCD comprises a network node.
Svennebring et al. teaches a network architecture (Fig.1) wherein the first WCD comprises a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1 @ 110) and the second WCD comprises a network node (Fig.1 @ 120, 130, 140), or
wherein the second WCD comprises a UE and the first WCD comprises a network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the network architecture executing the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 1 above, Wang et al. teach systems and methods comprising “a control system to improve estimating motion for an automated vehicle related to cooperative driving.”(Fig(s).1, 2, and 4; Abstract)
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to detect an additional predicted increase of degradation of communications for an additional period of time for a third WCD associated with the environmental information,
wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the environmental information, are configured to receive an indication of the environmental information from the second WCD.
Svennebring et al. teach devices (Fig.25) wherein the one or more processors (Fig.25 @ 2502) are further configured to detect an additional predicted increase of degradation of communications for an additional period of time for a third WCD associated with the environmental information (Fig(s).25, 42, and 43),
wherein the one or more processors (Fig.25 @ 2502), to obtain the environmental information, are configured to receive an indication of the environmental information from the second WCD. (Fig(s).25, 42, and 43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, monitoring, and transmitting one or more link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) as taught by Svennebring et al. with the automated driving systems (e.g.: ego vehicle and/or target vehicle) as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving link health awareness by devices in a communication network.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on December 8, 2025 with respect to claims 1-4, 9, 11, 16-19, 24, 29, and 30 have been considered and are not persuasive. Upon further consideration, the cited prior art reference(s) Svennebring et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0303331 A1) does address the new amended limitation set forth within independent claim(s) 1,16, 29 and 30.
Svennebring et al. teach devices (e.g.: LLPS) capable of generating and transmitting Link performance prediction (LPP) PDU(s) to one or more devices in a network.(Fig(s).42-43) For instance, “the LPPS 2900 is capable of predicting link performance in time and space, …”(Fig.42 and Fig.43 @ 4325; Paragraph [0315]) For example, “UEs 1511, 1521, and/or network infrastructure able to shift delay tolerant traffic in time and/or space in order to smooth out peak demand and improve overall network resource utilization.”(Paragraph [0315])
Therefore, new rejections have been formulated to address the limitations as set forth in independent claim(s) 1,16, 29 and 30 rendering the applicant’s amendments filed on December 8, 2025 moot.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Yan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0264401 A1) teach “when an RLF occurs in the source cell, the UE may record one or more of the following information: a time period 1, where the time period 1 is a time period from a time point at which the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message to a time point at which the radio link failure occurs in the source cell, a time period 2, where the time period 2 is a time period from the time point at which the radio link failure occurs in the source cell to a time point at which the UE determines the second cell, and “the UE determines the second cell” may be replaced with “the UE performs re-establishment”, that is, the time period 2 may be a time period from the time point at which the radio link failure occurs in the source cell to the time point at which the UE performs re-establishment, a time period 3, where the time period 3 is a time period from the time point at which the UE determines the second cell to a time point at which the UE reports the time period 3, and “the UE determines the second cell” may be replaced with “the UE performs re-establishment”, that is, the time period 3 may be a time period from the time point at which the UE performs re-establishment to the time point at which the UE reports the time period 3, or a time period including any two or more consecutive time periods in the time period 1 to the time period 3.”(Paragraph [0231])
Tang (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0344802 A1) teaches “The first device determines that the channel sensing is failed when it is detected that the channel in the first direction is occupied, thereby determining that the second time domain resource for sending the first reference signal is unavailable. Then the first device does not send the first reference signal on the second time domain resource. Alternatively, the first device determines that the channel sensing is successful when it is detected that the channel in the first direction is idle, thereby determining that the second time domain resource for sending the first reference signal is available. Further, the first device may send the first reference signal on the second time domain resource.”(Paragraph [0144])
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
February 10, 2026