DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
No Claim has been amended or cancelled. Claim 31 has been newly added. The status of claims 1-3, 5-18 and 20-31 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Feb 05, 2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged that the combination of Li et al (US20190349960A1), Lauridsen et al (WO2023236004A1, Priority Date: Jun 06, 2022), and Dottling et al (US20110076964A1) fails to teach or suggest "wherein the KAS includes only a primary synchronization signal (PSS)" in Claim 1.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Lauridsen’004 discloses: FIG. 4 illustrates an example combination of a clustered paging window 400 and additional reference signals 405, according to certain example embodiments. In particular, the example of FIG. 4 illustrates that the UEs are clustered to monitor for paging within the NW-defined paging window. According to certain example embodiments, the window 400 may be complemented with associated additional reference signals 405 enabling the UE to obtain network synchronization prior to paging acquisition, while the SSB burst transmission periodicity for outside the paging window is extended for UEs to detect the cell or measurement other than for paging monitoring (par 0039); the additional reference signals may be a primary synchronization signal (PSS) or a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) , or any other reference signal (par 0041).
Therefore Lauridsen’004 teaches: additional reference signals 405 (PSS) enabling the UE to obtain network synchronization prior to paging acquisition (and thus additional reference signals 405 (PSS) acting as KAS for synchronization prior to paging, and additional reference signals includes only PSS), while the SSB burst transmission periodicity for outside the paging window is extended for UEs to detect the cell or measurement other than for paging monitoring (and thus SSB is not for KAS purpose).
Especially additional reference signals may be primary synchronization signal (PSS) itself without any other signal according to par 0041 and Fig. 4.
Therefore Lauridsen’004 discloses: "wherein the KAS includes only a primary synchronization signal (PSS)" in Claim 1.
As shown in Fig. 4 and par 0041, additional reference signals 405 (PSS) transmitted by itself (independently from SSB) on each of transmission occasions, and thus Lauridsen’004 teaches: wherein the KAS includes only the PSS, excluding any other reference signal (new claim 31).
Therefore, the cited references teach the claimed limitations in question with adequate reasons and suggestions of combining the teachings. The same conclusion applies to claims 16, 27 and 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-14, 16-18, 21-25 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20190349960A1) in view of Lauridsen et al (WO2023236004A1, Priority Date: Jun 06, 2022), and further in view of Dottling et al (US20110076964A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), comprising:
a memory (see, Fig. 47B, memories, par 0283); and
one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283), coupled to the memory (see, Fig. 47B, processor accesses information from memory, par 0293), configured to:
receive, from a network node via a cell (see, cell, par 0091), a keep alive signal (KAS) (see, Fig. 6, discovery signal (DS), par 0091) that is associated with an initial timing synchronization (see, SS (Synchronization signals) for cell reselection, par 0091, 0093) between the UE and the network node (see, Fig. 6 and 47A, WTRU receives DS (discovery signal) including SS (Synchronization signals) from gNB through small cell for cell search or cell reselection (initial access), par 0077, 0091, 0093);
receive, from the network node (see, Fig. 47A, gNB, par 0093) via the cell (see, cell, par 0091) and based at least in part on transmitting the uplink trigger indication (see, synchronization request from WTRU, par 0093), a minimum system information (MSI) message (see, minimum system information such as MIB and RMSI in PBCH, par 0106) that includes synchronization signal block (SSB) information (see, system information in PBCH conserves beam sweeping resources for SS burst, par 0106), initial access information (see, initial access information from timing index of SSB carried by system information in PBCH, PBCH indicates PRACH resource for initial access, par 0080, 0106, 0113. Noted, timing index of SSB should be part of beam sweeping resource for SS burst and thus carried by system information in PBCH), and scheduling information (see, WTRU receives minimum system information via gNB’s cell from PBCH multiplex with SS in discovery signal (DS) after synchronization request from WTRU, par 0091, 0093, 0095, 0106. Noted, system information in PBCH including resource indication of RMSI can be equated to scheduling information, par 0106).
Li’960 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the KAS includes only a primary synchronization signal (PSS);
transmit an uplink trigger indication via the cell based at least in part on receiving the KAS.
However Lauridsen’004 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, UE communicates with BS through clustered paging mode, par 0049) discloses:
receive, from a network node (see, Fig. 8, BS, par 0029, 0049) via a cell (see, cell, par 0039), a keep alive signal (KAS) (see, additional reference signal, par 0038) that is associated with an initial timing synchronization (see, synchronization before paging, par 0038) between the UE and the network node (see, Fig. 8, RRC idle/inactive UEs in cluster receives from BS through cell the additional reference signals for synchronization in/before clustered paging window and enabling UE’s paging acquisition, par 0038-0039), wherein the KAS includes only a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (see, Fig. 4, additional reference signals may be a primary synchronization signal (PSS), par 0041).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Lauridsen’004 into that of Li’960. The motivation would have been to avoid the early wakeup by using additional reference signals for synchronization (par 0041).
The combination of Li’960 and Lauridsen’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
transmit an uplink trigger indication via the cell based at least in part on receiving the KAS.
However Dottling’964 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE communicates with base stations in LTE system, par 0047) discloses: transmit an uplink trigger indication (see, activation information, par 0060) via the cell (see, cell, par 0060) based at least in part on receiving the KAS (see, terminal transmits activation information to waking up disabled BS after receiving capability information with lifetime information or cell disable capability information, par 0059-0060. Noted, capability information with lifetime information from BS can be equated to KAS, par 0059. Noted further, capability information, lifetime information, attempt information and related system information broadcasted by BS on BCCH, system information contains information about an existence of sleeping base stations, par 0055).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Dottling’964 into that of Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004. The motivation would have been to reduce a power consumption without requiring a special formed UL signal or specific receiver (par 0010).
Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the SSB information includes at least one of cell barred status information, cell identifier information, beam identifier information, or system frame number information (see, beam ID indicated by SS timing index from SS burst block, par 0106), the initial access information includes information associated with an initial access procedure between the UE and the network node (see, UE obtains initial access information from timing index of SSB carried by system information in PBCH, PBCH indicates PRACH resource for initial access, par 0080, 0106, 0113. Noted, timing index of SSB should be part of beam sweeping resource for SS burst and thus carried by system information in PBCH), and the scheduling information includes scheduling information for a system information block that is different than the system information block (see, RMSI, par 0106) associated with the MSI message (see, PBCH carries resource indication of RMSI, par 0106).
Regarding claim 3 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283), to receive the MSI message (see, Fig. 6-7 and 47A, WTRU receives minimum system information such as MIB and RMSI from PBCH multiplex with SS in discovery signal (DS) (and thus based on DS), par 0091, 0095, 0106), are configured to:
periodically receive the MSI message (see, minimum system information such as MIB and RMSI in PBCH, par 0106) in accordance with an interval (see, Fig. 6, NR-DS occasion for a cell consists of a period with duration and thus WTRU receives minimum system information from PBCH multiplex with SS in discovery signal (DS) with periodicity, par 0091, 0095, 0106).
Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the MSI message (see, minimum system information such as MIB and RMSI in PBCH, par 0106) is associated with two or more beams of a plurality of beams used for communications between the UE and the network node (see, Fig. 6-7 and 47A, WTRU receives from gNB the minimum system information in PBCH multiplex with SS in discovery signal (DS) and SS symbols are transmitted with different beams, par 0078, 0091, 0095, 0106).
Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein each beam, of a plurality of beams (see, beam in beam sweeping, par 0106) used for communication between the UE and the network node, is associated with the MSI message (see, Fig. 47A, PBCH carries minimum system information including beam sweeping resources between UE and gNB (and thus each beam in beam sweep are associated with minimum system information), par 0106. Noted, beam sweeping procedure can be considered as communication between UE and gNB).
Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283) are further configured to:
receive one or more reference signals (see, SS burst, par 0111) to be used for timing offset adjustment, frequency offset adjustment, or beam refinement (see, SS burst for beam sweeping in beam training, par 0009, 0111. Noted, beamforming training requires single stage (beam sweeping) instead of two phases (sector level sweeping and beam refinement phase), par 0009. Noted further, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 8 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283), to receive the one or more reference signals (see, UE receives Cell-specific reference signals, par 0091), are configured to:
receive the one or more reference signals based at least in part on receiving the KAS (see, UE receives Cell-specific reference signals including SS (Synchronization signals) on NR-DS occasion, par 0091), wherein receiving the MSI message (see, minimum system information including MIB and RMSI carried by PBCH multiplexed with SS, par 0095, 0106) comprises receiving the MSI message based at least in part on receiving the one or more reference signals (see, PBCH multiplexed with SS within same OFDM symbol of SS block, and thus receiving minimum system information in PBCH based on SS or SS block in DS occasion, par 0091, 0095. Noted, SS or SS block can be equated to reference signal), and wherein the one or more reference signals (see, Cell-specific reference signals including SS (Synchronization signals) on NR-DS occasion, par 0091) includes a channel state information reference signal (see, Cell-specific reference signals including CSI, par 0092).
Regarding claim 10 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 8 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283), to receive the MSI message (see, UE receives minimum system information, par 0106), are configured to:
receive the MSI message via a physical broadcast channel (see, UE receives minimum system information carried by PBCH, par 0106);
receive the MSI message via a physical downlink control channel; or
receive the MSI message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283) are further configured to:
obtain at least one of an MSI message configuration or a reference signal configuration (see, configuration of ports and sequences of demodulation reference signals, par 0110) based at least in part on the KAS or based at least in part on the uplink trigger indication (see, UE obtains configuration of ports and sequences of demodulation reference signals from NR-PBCH (with minimum SI and MIB) multiplexed with SS in discovery signal (DS), and DS can be on-demand by UE (and thus based at least in part on the KAS or based at least in part on an uplink trigger indication), par 0093, 0095, 0110. Noted, synchronization request from a UE for on-demand DS can be equated to uplink trigger indication, par 0093).
Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283) are further configured to:
obtain only a portion of an MSI message configuration or a reference signal configuration (see, DMRS port, par 0106) based at least in part on the KAS (see, obtains DMRS port by DMRS and PBCH share the same port and thus obtained after detecting discovery signal, par 0091, 0106. Noted, DMRS ID can be obtained via Cell ID, beam ID, and port ID for a SS burst block while SS configuration can be configured by RRC and thus not from discovery signal, here DMRS ID and port are both considered as DMRS configuration, par 0089).
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (see, Fig. 47A and 47F, RAN node in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0320), comprising:
a memory (see, Fig. 47F, memories, par 0322); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see, Fig. 47F, processor accesses data or software in the memories, par 0322), configured to:
transmit, at the network node via a cell (see, cell, par 0091), a keep alive signal (KAS) (see, Fig. 6, discovery signal (DS), par 0091) that is associated with an initial timing synchronization (see, SS (Synchronization signals) for cell reselection, par 0091, 0093) between a user equipment (UE) and the network node (see, Fig. 6 and 47A, gNB transmits through small cell to WTRU the DS (discovery signal) including SS (Synchronization signals) for cell search or cell reselection (initial access), par 0077, 0091, 0093);
transmit, to the UE via the cell (see, cell, par 0091) and based at least in part on receiving the uplink trigger indication (see, synchronization request from WTRU, par 0093), a minimum system information (MSI) message (see, minimum system information such as MIB and RMSI in PBCH, par 0106) that includes synchronization signal block (SSB) information (see, system information in PBCH conserves beam sweeping resources for SS burst, par 0106), initial access information (see, initial access information from timing index of SSB carried by system information in PBCH, PBCH indicates PRACH resource for initial access, par 0080, 0106, 0113. Noted, timing index of SSB should be part of beam sweeping resource for SS burst and thus carried by system information in PBCH), and scheduling information (see, WTRU receives minimum system information via gNB’s cell from PBCH multiplex with SS in discovery signal (DS) after synchronization request from WTRU, par 0091, 0093, 0095, 0106. Noted, system information in PBCH including resource indication of RMSI can be equated to scheduling information, par 0106).
Li’960 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the KAS includes only a primary synchronization signal (PSS);
receive an uplink trigger indication via the cell based at least in part on transmitting the KAS.
However Lauridsen’004 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, UE communicates with BS through clustered paging mode, par 0049) discloses:
transmit, at the network node (see, Fig. 8, BS, par 0029, 0049) via a cell (see, cell, par 0039), a keep alive signal (KAS) (see, additional reference signal, par 0038) that is associated with an initial timing synchronization (see, synchronization before paging, par 0038) between a user equipment (UE) and the network node (see, Fig. 8, BS transmits to RRC idle/inactive UEs in cluster through cell the additional reference signals for synchronization in/before clustered paging window and enabling UE’s paging acquisition, par 0038-0039, 0049), wherein the KAS includes only a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (see, Fig. 4, additional reference signals may be a primary synchronization signal (PSS), par 0041).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Lauridsen’004 into that of Li’960. The motivation would have been to avoid the early wakeup by using additional reference signals for synchronization (par 0041).
The combination of Li’960 and Lauridsen’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive an uplink trigger indication via the cell based at least in part on transmitting the KAS.
However Dottling’964 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE communicates with base stations in LTE system, par 0047) discloses: receive an uplink trigger indication (see, activation information, par 0060) via the cell (see, cell, par 0060) based at least in part on transmitting the KAS (see, BS receives from terminal through cell the activation information to waking up disabled BS after BS transmitted capability information with lifetime information or cell disable capability information, par 0059-0060. Noted, capability information with lifetime information from BS can be equated to KAS, par 0059. Noted further, capability information, lifetime information, attempt information and related system information broadcasted by BS on BCCH, system information contains information about an existence of sleeping base stations, par 0055).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Dottling’964 into that of Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004. The motivation would have been to reduce a power consumption without requiring a special formed UL signal or specific receiver (par 0010).
Regarding claim 17 (Previously Presented), Claim 17 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Claim 18 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 21 (Previously Presented), Claim 21 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 22 (Previously Presented), Claim 22 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 23 (Previously Presented), Claim 23 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 24 (Previously Presented), Claim 24 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 25 (Previously Presented), Claim 25 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 27 (Previously Presented), Claim 27 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 28 (Original), Claim 28 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 29 (Previously Presented), Claim 29 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a network node performing the steps recited in claim 16 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Regarding claim 30 (Original), Claim 30 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 31 (New), Li’960 modified by Dottling’964 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283).
The combination of Li’960 and Dottling’964 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the KAS includes only the PSS, excluding any other reference signal.
However Lauridsen’004 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, UE communicates with BS through clustered paging mode, par 0049) discloses:
wherein the KAS (see, additional reference signal associated with clustered paging window to enable UE to obtain network synchronization prior to paging acquisition can be equated to KAS, par 0038) includes only the PSS, excluding any other reference signal (see, Fig. 4, each of additional reference signal 405 may be a PSS and transmitted by itself on each of transmitting occasions, par 0041).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Lauridsen’004 into that of Li’960 modified by Dottling’964. The motivation would have been to avoid the early wakeup by using additional reference signals for synchronization (par 0041).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’960 in view of Lauridsen’004, and further in view of Dottling’964 as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Ma et al (US20240205829A1, PCT Foreign Priority Date: Aug 30, 2021).
Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283).
The combination of Li’960, Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the MSI message is associated with only one beam of a plurality of beams used for communications between the UE and the network node.
However Ma’829 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, multi-carrier provided by same base station, par 0160) discloses: wherein the MSI message (see, Fig. 9 904, system information, par 0234) is associated with only one beam (see, beam of beams according to beam index, par 0173, 0201) of a plurality of beams used for communications between the UE and the network node (see, Fig. 9 901-905, first cell wake up and broadcasts system information to UE after receiving wake-up signal from UE according to beam index for beam in beams, par 0201, 0229, 0232-0234).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Ma’829 into that of Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964. The motivation would have been to resolve the foregoing problem of increased complexity of BS function and BS power consumption (par 0162).
Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), Claim 20 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claims 11, 15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’960 in view of Lauridsen’004, and further in view of Dottling’964 as applied to claims 1 and 16 above respectively, and further in view of Moon et al (US20220345257A1, Priority Date: Jul 6, 2022).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses the apparatus of claim 10 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283).
The combination of Li’960, Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the PDSCH is scheduled via a physical downlink control channel and using a grant for downlink control information.
However Moon’257 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, communication system comprises communication nodes and CN, par 0049) discloses: wherein the PDSCH (see, PDSCH, par 0077) is scheduled via a physical downlink control channel (see, PDCCH, par 0070) and using a grant for downlink control information (see, DCI in PDCCH scheduled PDSCH carrying SIB1, par 0070, 0077).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Moon’257 into that of Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964. The motivation would have been to transmit and receive a data channel for service requiring high reliability and low latency in a communication system (par 0005).
Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), Li’960 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 47B, processor, par 0283) are further configured to.
The combination of Li’960, Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receive downlink control information that includes an indication of an MSI message physical downlink shared channel configuration.
However Moon’257 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, communication system comprises communication nodes and CN, par 0049) discloses: receive downlink control information (see, DCI, par 0077) that includes an indication of an MSI message (see, SIB1, par 0077) physical downlink shared channel (see, PDSCH, par 0077) configuration (see, DCI indicates resource allocation information of a PDSCH for transmission of SIB1/system information, par 0077-0078).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Moon’257 into that of Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964. The motivation would have been to transmit and receive a data channel for service requiring high reliability and low latency in a communication system (par 0005).
Regarding claim 26 (Previously Presented), Claim 26 recites apparatus for wireless communication at a network node performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 15.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’960 Lauridsen’004, and further in view of in view of Dottling’964 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zhou et al (US20220330242A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 10, 2020).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses the apparatus of claim 10 (see, Fig. 47A-47B, WTRU in wireless communication system including WTRU, RANs, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0269, 0283).
The combination of Li’960, Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the PDSCH is an existing PDSCH that is scheduled without using a grant for downlink control information.
However Zhou’242 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, determining an access resource, par 0036) discloses: wherein the PDSCH (see, PDSCH carrying a RMSI, par 0015) is an existing PDSCH that is scheduled without using a grant for downlink control information (see, RMSI PDSCH scheduled by PDCCH which search space configured by MIB or RRC, and thus without using a grant for DCI, par 0015, 0017).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Zhou’242 into that of Li’960 modified by Lauridsen’004 and Dottling’964. The motivation would have been to obtain and configure a narrowband CORESET0 and/or a narrowband initial active downlink BWP (par 0012).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Irukulapati et al (US20220369252A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 31, 2018) discloses:
UE would then first use the additional synchronization signal to obtain time and frequency synchronization for NR-PDCCH reception, prior to demodulating the control information. Using a signal similar to NR-PSS for such flexible synchronization provision (par 0023)
transmitting to the one or more wireless devices an indication whether the additional synchronization signal is available for use (claim 88);
transmitting the additional synchronization signal to one or more of the wireless devices, wherein the additional synchronization signal comprises additional information that the one or more wireless devices can use for synchronization (Claim 92). This applies to Claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473