DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takenaka et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2018/0054885).
Regarding Claim 1, Takenaka discloses a wiring substrate (i.e. wiring board 10), comprising:
an insulating layer (i.e. insulating resin layer 21/23 & solder resist layer 25) comprising resin (i.e. epoxy resin) and filler particles (i.e. inorganic fillers 29);
a via conductor (i.e. via conductors 23D) formed in the insulating layer such that the via conductor is formed in a through hole (i.e. via holes 23H) penetrating through the insulating layer; and
an embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24 w/ via conductors 23D & pads 26) comprising a plurality of wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) and embedded in the insulating layer such that the plurality of wirings is filling a plurality of grooves (i.e. such as via holes 23H and holes where pads 26 are located) formed to extend in parallel (i.e. as shown on the left side in Fig. 2) on a surface of the insulating layer, respectively, and that the embedded wiring layer includes a metal film layer (i.e. metal film 41 & the conductive layers of the wiring patterns, via conductors, & pads) covering entire inner surfaces of the grooves,
wherein the embedded wiring layer is formed such that a smallest line width (i.e. minimum width) of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer is in a range of 2 µm to 8 µm (i.e. 8 µm or less, as disclosed in Paragraph 0059 & Claim 5), and the insulating layer is formed such that a maximum particle size of the filler particles is 50% or less (i.e. 50% or less, as disclosed in Paragraph 0061) of the smallest line width of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer (Fig. 1-5B & 10; Abstract; Paragraphs 0019, 0022-0028, 0032-0035, 0039-0045, 0054-0063). The figures show that the inner surfaces of the groves occupied by the wiring are covered by the metal film layer. Furthermore, conductive circuit layers 22 & 24 are embedded in insulating resin layer 23 & solder resist layer 25, respectively. Fig. 10 also shows insulating resin layer 21 having an embedded conductive circuit layer that is not numbered.
Regarding Claim 2, Takenaka discloses that the insulating layer is formed such that a content rate of the filler particles in the insulating layer is in a range of 25 weight% to 70 weight% (i.e. 30 to 80 wt. %) (Paragraphs 0024-0025, 0051-0052).
Regarding Claim 3, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer includes a plating film layer (i.e. plating layers 30/31) formed on the metal film layer (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0022, 0032-0035, 0039-0045).
Regarding Claim 4, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that a smallest thickness of the wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is in a range of 5 µm to 10 µm (i.e. 5-15 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size (i.e. 0.5 µm or less) of the filler particles is 40% or less (i.e.
0.5
µ
m
o
r
l
e
s
s
5
µ
m
×
100
%
=
10
%
o
r
l
e
s
s
) of the smallest thickness of the wirings in the embedded wiring layer (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0061).
Regarding Claim 5, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that the smallest line width (i.e. minimum width) of the plurality of wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm) and that a smallest thickness of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size of the filler particles is 1 µm (i.e. 2 µm or less) (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0061).
Regarding Claim 6, Takenaka discloses that the insulating layer is formed such that a ratio of the filler particles having particle sizes of 25% or greater of the smallest line width (i.e. sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width) in the filler particles is 75% or less (Paragraph 0061). Takenaka states that it is possible for some particles of the inorganic filler 29 to sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width (W), but that substantially all of the particles of the inorganic filler 29 contained in the insulating resin layers (21, 23) are 15% or less of the minimum width (W) of the wiring patterns (P). Takenaka explicitly says that these larger fillers are exceptions. Therefore, one would conclude that the ratio of these larger particles within the total filler particles would be within the range of 75% or less.
Regarding Claim 7, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer includes a plating film layer (i.e. plating layers 30/31) formed on the metal film layer (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0022, 0032-0035, 0039-0045). The figures show that the inner surfaces of the groves occupied by the wiring are covered by the metal film layer and a plating layer is formed.
Regarding Claim 8, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that a smallest thickness of the wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is in a range of 5 µm to 10 µm (i.e. 5-15 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size (i.e. 0.5 µm or less) of the filler particles is 40% or less (i.e.
0.5
µ
m
o
r
l
e
s
s
5
µ
m
×
100
%
=
10
%
o
r
l
e
s
s
) of the smallest thickness of the wirings in the embedded wiring layer (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0061).
Regarding Claim 9, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that the smallest line width (i.e. minimum width) of the plurality of wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm) and that a smallest thickness of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size of the filler particles is 1 µm (i.e. 2 µm or less) (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0061).
Regarding Claim 10, Takenaka discloses that the insulating layer is formed such that a ratio of the filler particles having particle sizes of 25% or greater of the smallest line width (i.e. sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width) in the filler particles is 75% or less (Paragraph 0061). Takenaka states that it is possible for some particles of the inorganic filler 29 to sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width (W), but that substantially all of the particles of the inorganic filler 29 contained in the insulating resin layers (21, 23) are 15% or less of the minimum width (W) of the wiring patterns (P). Takenaka explicitly says that these larger fillers are exceptions. Therefore, one would conclude that the ratio of these larger particles within the total filler particles would be within the range of 75% or less.
Regarding Claim 11, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that a smallest thickness of the wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is in a range of 5 µm to 10 µm (i.e. 5-15 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size (i.e. 0.5 µm or less) of the filler particles is 40% or less (i.e.
0.5
µ
m
o
r
l
e
s
s
5
µ
m
×
100
%
=
10
%
o
r
l
e
s
s
) of the smallest thickness of the wirings in the embedded wiring layer (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0061).
Regarding Claim 12, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that the smallest line width (i.e. minimum width) of the plurality of wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm) and that a smallest thickness of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size of the filler particles is 1 µm (i.e. 2 µm or less) (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0061).
Regarding Claim 13, Takenaka discloses that the insulating layer is formed such that a ratio of the filler particles having particle sizes of 25% or greater of the smallest line width (i.e. sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width) in the filler particles is 75% or less (Paragraph 0061). Takenaka states that it is possible for some particles of the inorganic filler 29 to sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width (W), but that substantially all of the particles of the inorganic filler 29 contained in the insulating resin layers (21, 23) are 15% or less of the minimum width (W) of the wiring patterns (P). Takenaka explicitly says that these larger fillers are exceptions. Therefore, one would conclude that the ratio of these larger particles within the total filler particles would be within the range of 75% or less.
Regarding Claim 14, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that the smallest line width (i.e. minimum width) of the plurality of wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm) and that a smallest thickness of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size of the filler particles is 1 µm (i.e. 2 µm or less) (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0061).
Regarding Claim 15, Takenaka discloses that the insulating layer is formed such that a ratio of the filler particles having particle sizes of 25% or greater of the smallest line width (i.e. sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width) in the filler particles is 75% or less (Paragraph 0061). Takenaka states that it is possible for some particles of the inorganic filler 29 to sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width (W), but that substantially all of the particles of the inorganic filler 29 contained in the insulating resin layers (21, 23) are 15% or less of the minimum width (W) of the wiring patterns (P). Takenaka explicitly says that these larger fillers are exceptions. Therefore, one would conclude that the ratio of these larger particles within the total filler particles would be within the range of 75% or less.
Regarding Claim 16, Takenaka discloses that the insulating layer is formed such that a ratio of the filler particles having particle sizes of 25% or greater of the smallest line width (i.e. sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width) in the filler particles is 75% or less (Paragraph 0061). Takenaka states that it is possible for some particles of the inorganic filler 29 to sizes larger than 15% of the minimum width (W), but that substantially all of the particles of the inorganic filler 29 contained in the insulating resin layers (21, 23) are 15% or less of the minimum width (W) of the wiring patterns (P). Takenaka explicitly says that these larger fillers are exceptions. Therefore, one would conclude that the ratio of these larger particles within the total filler particles would be within the range of 75% or less.
Regarding Claim 17, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that a smallest thickness of the wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is in a range of 5 µm to 10 µm (i.e. 5-15 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size (i.e. 0.5 µm or less) of the filler particles is 40% or less (i.e.
0.5
µ
m
o
r
l
e
s
s
5
µ
m
×
100
%
=
10
%
o
r
l
e
s
s
) of the smallest thickness of the wirings in the embedded wiring layer (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0061).
Regarding Claim 18, Takenaka discloses that the embedded wiring layer is formed such that the smallest line width (i.e. minimum width) of the plurality of wirings (i.e. wiring patterns (P)) in the embedded wiring layer (i.e. conductive circuit layers 22/24) is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm) and that a smallest thickness of the plurality of wirings in the embedded wiring layer is 5 µm (i.e. 5 µm), and the insulating layer is formed such that the maximum particle size of the filler particles is 1 µm (i.e. 2 µm or less) (Paragraphs 0022, 0023, 0050, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0061).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Takenaka does not teach or suggest “an embedded wiring layer comprising a plurality of wirings and embedded in the insulating layer such that the plurality of wirings is filling a plurality of grooves formed to extend in parallel on a surface of the insulating layer, respectively, and that the embedded wiring layer includes a metal film layer covering entire inner surfaces of the grooves” and “a via conductor formed in the insulating layer such that the via conductor is formed in a through hole penetrating through the insulating layer”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and has clarified the rejection above. Particularly, conductive circuit layers 22 & 24 of the wiring patterns, via conductors 23D, & pads 26 along with metal film 41 are embedded within via holes 23H & holes where pads 26 are located in insulating resin layer 23 & solder resist layer 25, respectively as shown in Fig. 10. Fig. 10 also shows insulating resin layer 21 having an embedded conductive circuit layer that is not numbered. Furthermore, Takenaka discloses via conductors 23D formed in via holes 23H and via holes 23H and holes where pads 26 are located are formed to extend in parallel as shown on the left side in Fig. 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847