DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-30 are pending in this application. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-30 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejections of Claims 1, 7, 14-20, and 22-25 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) in view of Pais, et. al. (US 20190001325 A1) are withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejections of Claims 2, 5, and 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) and Pais, et. al. (US 20190001325 A1) in further view of Barany (US 2020003887 A1) are withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejections of Claims 21, 26-27, and 29-30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) and Pais, et. al. (US 20190001325 A1) in further view of Ball, et. al. (US 20180223353 A1) are withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejections of Claims 21, 26-27, and 29-30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1), Pais, et. al. (US 20190001325 A1), and Ball, et. al. (US 20180223353 A1), in further view of Sidley Chem (Physical Properties of Hydroxyethyl Cellulose) are withdrawn in view of amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 6-9, filed 12 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) in view of Pais, et. al. (US 20190001325 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) in view of Wang, et. al. (CN 111604098 A).
Applicant argues the waste chamber of Pias only operates to prevent backflow of fluid to other chambers/channels and not to preemptively capture the unwanted fluid before reaching the specified chamber/channel as recited in newly amended claim 1 (remarks pg. 8).
Applicant offers no further argument for claims 4, 5, and 7-30 aside from their dependence on independent claim 1.
Examiner further notes no arguments were made against Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) and therefore the use of Chiang in the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 14-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1; as recited in previous OA) in view of Wang, et. al. (CN 111604098 A; citations made with respect to provided English machine translation and original document).
Regarding claim 1, Chiang teaches a honeycomb tube defining a fluidic path leading to a well chamber (Abstract). Chiang teaches a honeycomb tube 100 comprising a planar frame 102 made up of first planar substrate 104 and second planar substrate 106 forming fluidic path 114 (a planar frame defining a fluidic path between a first planar substrate and a second planar substrate). Chiang teaches a fluidic interface 108 at one end of the planar frame (and a fluidic interface at one end of the planar frame). The fluidic interface 108 comprising a fluidic inlet 110 and fluidic outlet 112 joined by fluidic path 114 (Fig. 1D; par. 0059-0061). Chiang teaches the terms “inlet” and “outlet” do not limit function of the fluidic inlet 110 and fluidic outlet 112, and fluid can be introduced and evacuated from both or either (par. 0061). This allows fluidic outlet 112 to serve as the first fluidic port and fluidic inlet 110 to serve as the second fluidic port (the fluidic interface comprising a first fluidic port and a second fluidic port, wherein the fluidic path extends between the first and second fluidic ports).
Chiang teaches along the fluid path there is a well chamber 118 comprising well-substrate 120 having a plurality of wells embedded between the first and second substrate with a gap to allow fluid to flow (Fig. 1D; par. 0062, 0065). Chiang teaches fluidic outlet 112 (first fluidic port) is nearer to the well chamber 118 than fluidic inlet 110 (second fluidic port) because fluidic inlet first leads into a pre-amplification chamber 116 which increase the length of fluidic path 114 (Fig. 1D) (wherein the fluidic path further includes a well chamber having a plurality of wells, arranged in the planar frame between the first and second substrates, the well chamber disposed along the fluidic path nearer the first fluidic port than the second fluidic port). Chiang teaches along the fluid path there is a pre-amplification chamber 116 embedded in the planar frame (Fig. 1D; par. 0062). Chiang teaches pre-amplification chamber 116 is nearer the fluidic inlet 110 (second fluidic port) (Fig. 1D) (and a pre-amplification chamber arranged in the planar frame between the first and second substrate and disposed along the fluidic path nearer the second fluidic port than the first fluidic port).
Chiang teaches an embodiment of the honeycomb tube in which the fluidic path 114 has a serpentine passage between the pre-amplification chamber116 and well chamber 118 (Fig. 1D; par. 0067) (a serpentine passage between the pre-amplification chamber and the well chamber). Chiang teaches intermediate passage 126 as a part of fluidic path 114; this comes after the second turn in the serpentine passage as seen in Figure 1D and slopes down to the well chamber 118 (Fig. 1D; par. 0065, 0067) (an intermediate passage extending from the serpentine channel toward to the well chamber).
Chiang teaches an embodiment of the honeycomb tube where the planar frame defines an auxiliary chamber 132 that can be used as an oil chamber in fluid communication with any portion of the fluidic path 114 (par. 0066). Chiang teaches valves connecting the fluidic path 112 and oil chamber that open when pressure is applied to the valve from either within the chamber or outside the chamber from the adjacent portion of the fluidic path 112 (par. 0066). While not explicitly labeled, Figure 1D (reproduced below) has two arrow that indicate potential auxiliary chamber 132 that are capable of holding fluid/oil (an oil trap).
Chiang is silent to an oil trap in fluid communication with a downstream portion of the intermediate passage, the oil trap dimensioned and configured for trapping oil flowing from the serpentine channel toward the well chamber when a fluid from the pre-amplification chamber is being transported from the pre-amplification chamber toward the well chamber.
Wang teaches a microfluidic chip with a series of channels and chambers for a chemical reaction (par. 0004). Want teaches the microfluidic chip comprises a sample inlet 202, a sample addition channel 211, sampling channel 204, quantitative channel 205, waste chamber 208, and reaction channel 207 (Fig. 6; par. 0037). Wang teaches the sample is introduced to the chip through the inlet 202 (first fluidic port), leading to sample addition channel 211 (fluidic path) and into sampling channel 204 (pre-amplification chamber). At the sampling channel 204, the sampling fluid turns down to quantitative channel 205 through inlet 212 and stopping at channel 206 that acts as a valve until actuated (par. 0036-0037). Once quantitative channels 205 are filled excess sample fluid enters waste chamber 208 (oil trap) (par. 0037). Once channel 206 is actuated, the unused fluid is stored in waste chamber 208, and the sample collected in quantitative channels 205 pass through channel 206 to reaction channel 207 (well chamber) (Fig. 6; par. 0037) (a… trap in fluid communication with a downstream portion of the intermediate passage, the… trap dimensioned and configured for trapping… flowing from the serpentine channel toward the well chamber when a fluid from the pre-amplification chamber is being transported from the pre-amplification chamber toward the well chamber). Wang teaches this orientation of a waste chamber, not at the end of the fluidic pathway (par. 0032), but before a reaction area to remove unwanted fluid from entering the reaction channels, ensure that all sample moves away from the inlet with no risk of sample spilling and risking cross-contamination (par. 0005, 0037).
Because Chiang teaches auxiliary chambers 132 are configured to provide fluid to the system, specifically to elements like the pre-amplification chamber 116 and well chamber 118 by use of a membrane or valve (Chaing, par. 0066), one can understand the device of Chiang has elements that hold a fluid that is not the sample fluid. It is not disclosed by Chiang if the auxiliary chambers 132 can collect/trap fluid instead of provide fluid. Wang, with the intention of ensuring excess fluid does not overflow/spill increasing contamination risks (Wang, par. 0005, 0037), teaches a microfluidic chip with a series of chambers and channels including a waste chamber to collect excess fluid before moving the needed sample fluid to the reaction chamber/channel (Wang, Fig. 6; par. 00037).
As seen in the provided Figure 1D above of Chaing, the platform is more than capable of accommodating extra chambers, those chamber are structurally in fluid communication with a downstream portion of the intermediate passage… dimensioned… (to access) from the serpentine channel toward the well chamber when a fluid from the pre-amplification chamber is being transported from the pre-amplification chamber toward the well chamber (Chiang, Fig. 1D). Chiang teaches one type of fluid the auxiliary chambers can hold is oil (Chiang, par. 0066) (an oil trap). Chiang, however, does not teach that those chambers can collect fluid. Wang teaches a microfluidic chip with a designated collection chamber that can collect unwanted fluid from entering the reaction area (Wang, par. 0037) (configured for trapping [fluid] flowing).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the auxiliary chamber of Chiang to capture unwanted fluid coming from a first chamber/channel through a second channel before it reaches a reaction chamber/channel as taught by Wang in order to prevent unwanted fluids from spilling from the microfluidic chip upon processing. Because both devices use microfluidic chip for processing chemical reactions, modifying holding chamber to contain/trap unwanted fluid a provided by Wang, provides likewise sought functionality with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chiang teaches a valve between auxiliary chamber 132 (oil trap) and the fluidic path 114 (par. 0066) (wherein the oil trap further includes an oil trap valve).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chiang teaches an embodiment in which the well- substrate can include 100-1500 wells (par. 0016, 0062) (wherein the well chamber comprises a well-substrate and the well-substrate comprises 100-2000 wells).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chiang teaches the well depth of about 100 µm (par. 0018, 0062) (wherein the well-substrate comprises the plurality of wells having a depth of about 100 to about 500 µm).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chiang teaches well diameter ranging from 50-500 µm (par. 0017, 0062) (wherein the well-substrate comprises the plurality of wells having a diameter of about 50 to about 500 µm).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chiang teaches a well volume of 1 nL (par. 0062) (each of the plurality of wells have a volume within a range of about 0.5 to about 2 nL).
Regarding claim 18, modified Chiang teaches an embodiment of the honeycomb tube wherein the second planar substrate is integrally formed within the planar frame (Fig. 2A, 2C; par. 0071, 0073) (the second planar substrate is integrally formed or molded with the planar frame).
Regarding claim 19, modified Chiang teaches in Figures 2A and 2C that the first planar substrate 104 is a thin film that is sealed against the planar frame (the first planar substrate comprises a thin film that fluidically seals against the planar frame).
Regarding claim 20, modified Chiang teaches the planar frame can be fluidically connected to a sample container at the fluidic interface (par. 0027) (the planar frame is fluidically connected to a sample container via the fluidic interface).
Regarding claim 22, modified Chiang teaches microspotting can be conducted to coat the well with a reagent or primer of choice, with up to each well having a different reagent or primer set (Fig. 3, par. 0130) (differing wells are spotted with differing reagents to facilitate detection of differing targets within the same reaction vessel).
Regarding claim 23, modified Chiang teaches microspotting can be conducted to coat the well with a reagent or primer of choice, with up to each well having a different reagent or primer set (Fig. 3, par. 0130). It is seen in Figure 3 that there are more than 10 well, making it possible to test 10 or more targets (the plurality of wells are spotted with a plurality of reagents to facilitate detection of 10 or more targets).
Regarding claim 24, modified Chiang teaches microspotting can be conducted to coat the well with a reagent or primer of choice, with up to each well having a different reagent or primer set (Fig. 3, par. 0130). Chiang teaches an example experiment of an8-probe, 8-replicate, 4-patch format in which the entire probe arrangement consisted of 4 patches of 8x8 predetermined spots (9A-C, 10A-C; par. 0117-0118) (the plurality of wells are spotted with a plurality of differing reagents in differing groups that are spatially separated to facilitate identification of differing reactions in the differing groups).
Regarding claim 25, as outlined in claim 24, modified Chiang teaches the groups are formed in repeating patterns forming 4 patches of 8x8 predetermined spots (9A-C, 10A-C; par. 0117-0118). Figure 12 shows the global spotting pattern (the differing groups are spotted in a repeating pattern to facilitate identification of the differing reactions in the differing groups).
Claims 2, 5, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) in view of Wang, et. al. (CN 111604098 A) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Barany (US 2020003887 A1; as cited in previous OA).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chiang teaches all the limitations as applied to claim 1 as outlined above.
Modified Chiang is silent to the fluidic path includes one or more valves disposed between the pre-amplification chamber and the well chamber.
Barany teaches multiple embodiments of the device that include different orientations of multiple valves to control fluid movement. One example is seen in Figure 50 where valves 1 and 2 are placed after chambers 126 (Fig. 3) but before array of micropores 202 (Fig. 50, par. 0299) (the fluidic path includes one or more valves disposed between the pre-amplification chamber and the well chamber). Barany teaches the use of valves allow for the selective introduction and removal of reagents and reactants throughout the microfluidic device (par. 0104-0105).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluidic path of Chiang to include valves between the pre- amplification chamber and the pores as taught by Barany in order to control the movement of fluid along the fluid path. Because both devices operate through moving a fluid along a path, through a chamber, and to pores, incorporating valves in the pathway as provided by Barany, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 5 modified Chiang teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 as outlined above.
Modified Chiang is silent to the fluidic path further includes a fluidic path valve between the serpentine passage and the well chamber.
Barany teaches multiple embodiments of the device that include different orientations of multiple valves to control fluid movement. One example is seen in Figure 50 where valves 1 and 2 are placed after curved fluid conduits 130 (Fig. 3) but before array of micropores 202 (Fig. 50, par. 0299) (the fluidic path further includes a fluidic path valve between the serpentine passage and the well chamber). Barany teaches the use of valves allow for the selective introduction and removal of reagents and reactants throughout the microfluidic device (par. 0104-0105).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluidic path of Chiang to include valves between the serpentine channel and the pores as taught by Barany in order to control the movement of fluid along the fluid path. Because both devices operate through moving a fluid along a path, through a chamber, and to pores, incorporating valves in the pathway as provided by Barany, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chiang teaches fluidic outlet 112 is the is the first fluidic port and the fluidic inlet 110 is the second fluidic port and the planar substates are vertically oriented (Fig. 1A, 1B, 1D; par. 0065). However, in this instance, the outlet 112 (first port) is on top and inlet 110 (second port) is on bottom. Rotating the device 180 degrees, as seen in the rotated Figure 1D below, will but outlet 112 (first port) will be on the bottom and inlet 110 (second port) will be on the top (when the first and second planar substrates are vertically orientated with the first fluidic port below the second fluidic port).
However, with this orientation, modified Chiang is silent to pre-amplification chamber exit is positioned at an upper-most portion of the pre-amplification chamber.
Barany teaches a microfluidic device for polymerase and sequencing reactions (par. 0002). Barany teaches after the microfluidic entrance 112 fluid flows through a series of microchambers 116 and 122 before finally reaching an array of micropores (Fig. 3; par. 0154). The microchambers are configured to have an exit at the top of the chamber, and within the chambers pre-PCR and implication reactions occur (Fig. 7A-|; par. 01610192) (a pre-amplification chamber exit is positioned at an upper-most portion of the pre-amplification chamber). Barany teaches this orientation of the chamber (exit port on top) allows for reactions to completely occur before moving further down the fluid pathway as well as allows for additions of oil to seal the chamber and prevent liquid from potentially drying out during a reaction (par. 0161).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pre-amplification chamber of Chiang to have an exit port at the top of the chamber as taught by Barany in order to ensure the reaction in the chamber proceeds correctly. Because both devices deal with the filling of a microfluidic chamber to allow a reaction to occur, incorporating an exit port at the top of the chamber as provided by Barany, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chiang teaches well chamber entrances positioned at a lower-most portion (unlabeled) and uppermost-most portion 124 of the well chamber 118 (Fig. 1D; par. 0011, 0065) (the fluidic path includes a well chamber entrance positioned at a lower-most portion of the well chamber).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chiang teaches just past fluidic outlet 112 (first port), the fluidic path 114 has an outlet passage 130 that leads to well chamber 118 (Fig. 1D, par. 0065) (the fluidic path includes an inlet passage extending from the first fluidic port toward the well chamber).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chiang teaches outlet passage 130 is substantially horizontal (Fig. 1D) (the inlet passage is substantially horizontal).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chiang teaches outlet passage 130 begins to slope upwards to meet well chamber 118 (Fig. 1D) (the well chamber entrance between the inlet passage and well chamber slopes upward toward the well chamber).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chiang teaches changes in pressure applied at the fluidic inlet 110 or outlet 112 by an external system move fluid within the fluidic path 114 (par. 0061) (fluid flow along the fluid path can be affected by varying pressure through either of the first and second fluidic ports).
Modified Chiang is silent to the fluidic path includes one or more valves that comprise constrictions.
Barany teaches fluid movement through valves in the microfluidic device is facilitated by apply positive pressure from one end and negative pressure from a second end (Par. 0156) (the fluidic path includes one or more valves that comprise constrictions). Barany teaches the use of valves allow for the selective introduction and removal of reagents and reactants throughout the microfluidic device (par. 0104-0105).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluidic path of Chiang to include valves along the path as taught by Barany in order to control the movement of fluid along the fluid path. Because both devices operate through moving a fluid along a path, through a chamber, and to pores, incorporating valves in the pathway as provided by Barany, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Claims 21, 26-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) in view of Wang, et. al. (CN 111604098 A) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Ball, et. al. (US 20180223353 A1; as cited in previous OA).
Regarding claim 21, modified Chiang teaches the wells are prefilled with a liquid reagent that is later dried leaving the reagent residue on the well wall (par. 0080) (the plurality of wells are spotted with one or more reagents... in liquid form).
Modified Chiang is silent to reagents being mixed with matrix material.
Ball teaches methods of loading molecules of interest into sample wells for large scale parallel analysis (Abstract, par. 0003). Ball teaches crowding agents can be mixed with molecule of interest and then loaded into the well (par. 0097). Ball teaches the crowding material can be one of many different polymers (par. 0005, 0069) (reagents mixed with a matrix material). Ball teaches mixing a crowding agent with the molecule of interest improves the dispersing abilities of the molecule of interest so that the molecule of interest is evenly distributed among all of the wells (par. 0040, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify spotted reagent of Chiang to include a matrix material as taught by Ball in order to evenly disperse the molecule of interest throughout the wells. Because both devices rely on chemical reaction occurring in pre-treated wells, incorporating a matrix material as provided by Ball, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 26, modified Chiang teaches the wells are prefilled with a liquid reagent that is later dried leaving the reagent residue on the well wall (par. 0080) (the plurality of wells are spotted with a plurality of reagents).
Modified Chiang is silent to the reagent being mixed with a water-soluble matrix material.
Ball teaches methods of loading molecules of interest into sample wells for large scale parallel analysis (Abstract, par. 0003). Ball teaches crowding agents can be mixed with molecule of interest and then loaded into the well (par. 0097). Ball teaches the crowding material can be one of many different water-soluble polymers, including but not limited to hydroxyethyl cellulose (par. 0005, 0069). The instant application discloses hydroxyethyl cellulose is a water-soluble molecule (par. 0075); therefore, Ball inherently has the same water solubility as disclosed in the instant application (mixed with a water- soluble matrix material). Ball teaches mixing a crowding agent with the molecule of interest improves the dispersing abilities of the molecule of interest so that the molecule of interest is evenly distributed among all of the wells (par. 0040, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify spotted reagent of Chiang to include a water-soluble matrix material as taught by Ball in order to evenly disperse the molecule of interest throughout the wells. Because both devices rely on chemical reaction occurring in pre-treated wells, incorporating a water-soluble matrix material as provided by Ball, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 27, modified Chiang in view of Ball teaches the crowding material can be one of many different water-soluble polymers, including but not limited to hydroxyethyl cellulose (par. 0005, 0068-0069). The instant application discloses hydroxyethyl cellulose is a water-soluble molecule (par. 0075); therefore, Ball inherently has the same water solubility as disclosed in the instant application including a polymer that degrades or dissolves upon exposure to water for a minimum duration of time, wherein the polymer remains intact until that minimum duration of time.
Regarding claim 29, modified Chiang in view of Ball teaches the crowding agent can be provides as a crosslinked gel (par. 0006, 0077). Additionally, the instant application discloses hydroxyethyl cellulose cross-links when heated (par. 0152); therefore, Ball inherently has the same cross-linking abilities as disclosed in the instant application including a polymer that cross-links when heated so that heating of the matrix material facilitates prolongs the integrity of the polymer after exposure to water.
Regarding claim 30, modified Chiang teaches the wells are prefilled with a liquid reagent that is later dried leaving the reagent residue on the well wall (par. 0080).
Modified Chiang is silent to the matrix material comprises any of HEC, NIPAM and HPC.
Ball teaches methods of loading molecules of interest into sample wells for large scale parallel analysis (Abstract, par. 0003). Ball teaches crowding agents can be mixed with molecule of interest and then loaded into the well (par. 0097). Ball teaches the crowding material can be one of many different polymers, including but not limited to hydroxyethyl cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose (par. 0005, 0069) (the matrix material comprises any of HEC... and HPC). Ball teaches mixing a crowding agent with the molecule of interest improves the dispersing abilities of the molecule of interest so that the molecule of interest is evenly distributed among all of the wells (par. 0040, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify spotted reagent of Chiang to include a matrix material like hydroxyethyl cellulose or hydroxypropyl cellulose as taught by Ball in order to evenly disperse the molecule of interest throughout the wells. Because both devices rely on chemical reaction occurring in pre-treated wells, incorporating a matrix material as provided by Ball, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang, et. al. (US 20190211396 A1) in view of Wang, et. al. (CN 111604098 A) and Ball, et. al. (US 20180223353 A1) as applied to claim 27 above, in further view of view of Sidley Chem (Physical Properties of Hydroxyethyl Cellulose).
Regarding claim 28, modified Chiang in view of Ball teaches all of the limitations of claim 27 as disclosed above.
Modified Chiang is silent to the minimum duration of time is any of 10 seconds, 15, seconds, 20 seconds, 30 seconds, one minute or more.
Sidley Chem teaches physical properties of hydroxyethyl cellulose. Sidley Chem teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose is soluble in hot and cold water under neutral pH values and can take up to 30 minutes to dissolve in cold water, but less time when water is heated (last paragraph) (the minimum duration of time is... one minute or more). Sidley clarifies physical properties regarding water solubility to understand best practices when using the chemical. Additionally, the instant application discloses hydroxyethyl cellulose is a water-soluble molecule (par. 0075); therefore, Ball inherently has the same water solubility as disclosed in the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify spotted reagent of modified Chiang to consider the solubility properties of hydroxyethyl cellulose as taught by Sidley Chem in order to find a standard operating procedure. Because both procedures rely on the same polymer to form a matrix, incorporating a well understood property as provided by Sidley Chem, provides likewise sought functionality that would have reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
/M.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758