DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 13 are amended. Claims 2-12 and 14-19 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on February 28, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7, filed on 02/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of applicant’s amendment regarding the placement of the grilling apparatus on the grill and newly found prior art regarding those features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers).
Regarding claim 1, Laprise discloses a device for use with a grilling apparatus having primary grilling grates positioned substantially directly above a heating source (Abstract, “An accessory plate, positionable onto an accessory support of a barbecue grill”, and Para. 0041, “Inside most of the barbecue grill 10, there is shown the main cooking grill 16, or lower grill”, where from Fig. 1, the main grill would contain the heating source below the grill), the device comprising:
a bottom panel (Para. 0043, “plate member 32 that mounts or lays down on the accessory support 18, and that has top 34 and bottom 36 surfaces.”, where the top 34 and bottom 36 are surfaces on the bottom panel);
a rear panel coupled to the bottom panel (Para. 0055, “The deflector section 44 may include at least one side flap 46”, and Para. 0047, “The anchoring member 48 could typically include a rigid tab extending away from the bottom surface 36 opposite the top surface 34, i.e. in first direction A”, where the rear panel includes an upper section of 46 and a lower section of 48); and
the rear panel comprising a rear engagement flap configured to substantially engage a back wall of the grilling apparatus (Para. 0011, “an anchoring member, usually provided adjacent a distal end of the accessory (when inserted in place into a barbecue grill by a user), to prevent any undesired/accidental sliding in at least one horizontal direction”, where Fig. 1 shows that the anchoring section 48 can be placed at the back wall of a grill).
Laprise does not disclose:
the bottom panel comprising a tapered or beveled leading edge;
a bottom panel configured to rest directly on and in contact with the primary grilling grates, the bottom panel further comprising a surface for receiving food products moved from the primary grilling grates onto the bottom panel.
However, Horn discloses, in the similar field of apparatuses used in grilling (Section 1, liens 12-13, “difficult to lift and remove from cooking surfaces such as frying pans, grills”), where a panel can include a beveled leading edge (Section 3, lines 3-6, “FIGS. 1-3 also show that the edges, preferably the upper surfaces adjacent the edges of blade 12 are beveled to facilitate insertion of the blade under a food item to be lifted from a cooking surface.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified any panel such as bottom panel in Laprise to include a beveled edge as taught by Horn.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the beveled edge to help lift food items from the cooking surface, where this can make it easier for the user to transfer food items from the grill onto the accessory from Laprise, as stated by Horn, Section 3, lines 3-6, “FIGS. 1-3 also show that the edges, preferably the upper surfaces adjacent the edges of blade 12 are beveled to facilitate insertion of the blade under a food item to be lifted from a cooking surface.”.
Beyers discloses, in the similar field of grilling apparatuses (Abstract, “outdoor grill”), where a grilling having primary grilling grates positioned substantially directly above a heating source (Section 2, lines 9-11, “grate 18 to provide a solid cooking surface 20 that is supported over the heat source beneath grate 18.”), where the bottom panel of the device for use with a grilling apparatus is configured to rest directly on and in contact with the primary grilling grates (Section 2, lines 9-11, “In this case, the griddle 10 is supported on the grate 18 to provide a solid cooking surface 20 that is supported over the heat source beneath grate 18.”, where the griddle has a bottom surface on the bottom of the cooking surface 20 that is directly in contact with the primary grilling grates or grate 18), the bottom panel further comprising a surface for receiving food products moved from the primary grilling grates onto the bottom panel (Section 2, lines 7-8, “a grate 18 that is normally used to support cooking food.”, and Section 2, lines 9-11, “In this case, the griddle 10 is supported on the grate 18 to provide a solid cooking surface 20 that is supported over the heat source beneath grate 18.”, where the grate 18 can support food and the cooking surface 20 of the device can also support food). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory in modified Laprise to be positioned over a primary grilling grate as taught by Beyers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a griddle in combination with a cooking grill, where the cooking grill only has one level of grates, as stated by Beyers, Section 1, lines 50-53, “Finally, it is an object of the present invention to provide a griddle for use in combination with a cooking grill that is safe and rugged in installation while being relatively easy to clean.”.
Regarding Beyers, it is the Examiner’s position that Beyers could also be used as the primary reference and Laprise’s rear panel with rear engagement flap could be added into the griddle of Beyers in order to prevent movement of the griddle. The current configuration of references has been kept for continuity purposes with previous rejections.
Regarding claim 2, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein a side horizontal dimension of the bottom panel is less than a side horizontal dimension of the grill grate, and a side horizontal dimension of the back panel is less than the side horizontal dimension of the grill grate (Laprise, Fig. 1, where the side horizontal dimension of the bottom panel is the same as the side horizontal dimension of the back panel, where the accessory that has the panels is shown placed on the grill grate with the grill grate’s side horizontal dimension being larger than that of the accessory).
Regarding claim 3, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above, discloses wherein a forward horizontal dimension of the bottom panel is less than a forward horizontal dimension of the grill grate (Laprise, Fig. 1, where the grill includes two tiers and the forward horizontal dimension or the dimension that spans from a user’s grilling position to the back of the grill would include both grill tier sections, where the accessory is shown to have a forward horizontal dimension that is smaller than that of the full grill).
Regarding claim 5, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further comprising:
a left side wall and a right side wall, each coupled to the bottom panel and the rear panel (Laprise, Para. 0056, “plate member 32 includes at least one side flap 46', preferably one side flap on each side and one end flap, extending in the opposite direction from the first direction A from a side edge and the first end 38. The side flaps 46' also help in the rigidity of the plate 30b.”, where the structure 46’ includes left and right side walls as well as a rear side wall), and each extending vertically the same or less than the vertical dimension of the rear panel (Laprise, Fig. 5, where the side walls 46’ is shown to a vertical extension that is less than the rear panel 48 which extends vertically downwards) and extending forwardly horizontally the same or less than the forward horizontal dimension of the bottom panel (Laprise, Fig. 5, where the side walls 46’ extend the same forward horizontal dimension as the bottom panel 34); and
wherein the left side wall is positioned at a first distal horizontal edge of the bottom panel and a first distal horizontal edge of the rear panel so as to engage the bottom panel and rear panel (Laprise, Fig. 5, where the left side wall is 46’ that is positioned near the viewer, where the left side wall connects to the bottom panel 34 and the rear panel that includes 46’ with 48 along a first distal horizontal edge which is the edge nearest the viewer); and
wherein the right side wall is positioned at a second opposite distal horizontal edge of the bottom panel and a second opposite distal horizontal edge of the rear panel so as to engage the bottom panel and rear panel (Laprise, Fig. 5, where the right side wall is 46’ that is positioned farthest from the viewer, where the right side wall connects to the bottom panel 34 and the rear panel that includes 46’ with 48 along a second distal horizontal edge which is the edge farthest the viewer).
Regarding claim 10, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the bottom panel and the rear panel are formed unitarily as a single device from a heat resistant material (Laprise, Para. 0047, “The anchoring member 48 could typically include a rigid tab extending away from the bottom surface 36 opposite the top surface 34, i.e. in first direction A, along at least a portion of an edge defining the first end 38.”, where the anchoring member or rear panel and the bottom panel that includes the bottom surface are connected rigidly together, as the anchoring member extends from the bottom panel; where the material for both must be heat resistant in order to survive being placed on a grill, Para. 0047, “anchoring tab 48, 48' is adapted to depend downwardly behind the back edge of the upper grill 18 to prevent any forward displacement thereof.”, and Para. 0052, “Such material could be, without being limited to, aluminum or preferably stainless steel.”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the device consists of one of the following: a heat resistant metal, a plastic, a carbon based material, silicon, and aluminum (Laprise, Para. 0052, “Such material
could be, without being limited to, aluminum or preferably stainless steel.”).
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Hale (US 20120067228 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the rear panel comprises a vertically downward portion along a bottom edge of the rear panel (Laprise, Para. 0046, “Optionally, the accessory 30 further includes an anchoring member 48 (shown in stippled lines in Figures 2 and 3) adapted to securely and releasably engage at least a portion of the accessory support, or upper grill 18 to prevent horizontal displacement of the accessory at least in the second direction B toward a user of the barbecue grill 10.”, where the anchoring member 48 is construed to the be rear panel that is vertically downward).
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
where the rear panel is collapsible.
However, Hale discloses, in the similar field of grilling apparatuses (Abstract, “collapsible grill”), where panels can be collapsible (Para. 0030, “In this embodiment, to short sides 100 are hinged 212 to one long side 200. Thus, the disassembly process generally involves removing or detaching one long side 200, and folding the two short sides 100 onto the other long side 200.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear panel in modified Laprise to be collapsible as taught by Hale.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to more easily move and transport the grill accessory, as stated by Hale, Para. 0030, “such that once the side members are folded down and secured together, they may be picked up and easily moved or transported by one or more people.”.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Fischenich (DE 102012017121 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
wherein the left side wall and the right side wall are each curved in an arc from a point of engagement with the rear panel to a point of engagement with the bottom panel.
However, Fischenich discloses, in the similar field of apparatuses for use with grills (Page 1, last Para., “In particular, when grilling on a balcony”), where a hood structure can be any shape (Page 3, Para. 4, “geometry of the cooker hood system along a cross section parallel to a footprint for the cooker hood system angular, preferably polygonal such as triangular, square, octahedral or the like, as well as be bent. Also different geometry shapes can be used, for example, angular shapes go into curved shapes.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the side walls in modified Laprise to have a curved shape as taught by Fischenich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to adjust the side wall geometry to allow for different shielding effects, where the specific degree of shielding needed can be adjusted with the shape geometry depending on a user’s design needs, as stated by Fischenich, Page 3, Para. 4, “The other pages, however, are at least partially shielded. The shield extends, for example, to the suction. However, the shield may also extend from the suction down towards a footprint. Here, the shield can widen or taper or have a different geometry.”.
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Fischenich (DE 102012017121 A1) and Perella et al. (US 20180244424 A1, hereinafter Perella).
Regarding claim 7, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
wherein: the left side wall comprises a left side collapsible portion configured to allow the left side wall to fold and collapse inwardly; and
the right side wall comprises a right side collapsible portion configured to allow the right side wall to fold and collapse inwardly.
However, Perella discloses, in the similar field of holding apparatuses (Para. 0004, “Boxes are used every day for many purposes such as storage and shipping.”), where a left and right side wall can be collapsible to fold and collapse inwardly (Para. 0068, “The foldable box 300 is shown in FIG. 12 in an expanded, flat layout configuration. The foldable box 300 has a first set of panels including a first front panel 302, a second front panel 310, a bottom panel 304, and a top panel 308, which are irreversibly connected along the foldable connectors 316, 318, 320, 322.”, and Fig. 13 where the side walls 312 and 314 are shown to be capable of collapsing inward to the position shown in Fig. 12). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the food holder in modified Laprise to include the collapsing feature as taught by Perella.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to ship the grill accessory without having it be damaged, as the collapsing walls allow for easier storage, as stated by Perella, Para. 0004, “Additionally, the boxes are also more susceptible to damage when shipped in this fashion. To overcome the high shipping cost and inefficient shipping of such boxes, box designers have made collapsible boxes.”.
Regarding claim 8, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
wherein: the rear panel and the bottom panel are engaged with an edge collapsible portion along a bottom edge of the rear panel and a back edge of the bottom panel;
the edge collapsible portion is configured to allow the rear panel to fold from a vertical position to a horizontal position; and
the left side panel and the right side panel are configured to collapse inwardly as the rear panel is being moved to a horizontal position.
However, Perella discloses where a rear panel and bottom panel have an edge that is collapsible (Fig. 0068, “foldable connectors 316, 318, 320, 322. The foldable box 300”, and Fig. 12-13, where 320 is shown as a collapsible portion that allows the rear panel to fold from an upright position to a horizontal position), and where the left and right side panels collapse inwardly as the rear panel is moved to a horizontal position (Para. 0068, “The foldable box 300 is shown in FIG. 12 in an expanded, flat layout configuration. The foldable box 300 has a first set of panels including a first front panel 302, a second front panel 310, a bottom panel 304, and a top panel 308, which are irreversibly connected along the foldable connectors 316, 318, 320, 322.”, and Fig. 12, where the rear panel with the connection 320 is shown to be horizontal and the left and right side walls are collapsed inwardly). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the food holder in modified Laprise to include the features as taught by Perella.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to ship the grill accessory without having it be damaged, as the collapsing walls allow for easier storage, as stated by Perella, Para. 0004, “Additionally, the boxes are also more susceptible to damage when shipped in this fashion. To overcome the high shipping cost and inefficient shipping of such boxes, box designers have made collapsible boxes.”.
Claims 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Fischenich (DE 102012017121 A1) and Perella et al. (US 20180244424 A1, hereinafter Perella) and Hale (US 20120067228 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
wherein the edge collapsible portion comprises a hinge, a heat resistant bendable material, or a flexible thin metal strip.
However, Hale discloses where panels can be collapsible through hinge connections (Para. 0030, “In this embodiment, to short sides 100 are hinged 212 to one long side 200. Thus, the disassembly process generally involves removing or detaching one long side 200, and folding the two short sides 100 onto the other long side 200.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear panel in modified Laprise to be collapsible with hinges as taught by Hale.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to more easily move and transport the grill accessory, as stated by Hale, Para. 0030, “such that once the side members are folded down and secured together, they may be picked up and easily moved or transported by one or more people.”.
Claims 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Choi (KR 201600201319 A).
Regarding claim 12, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses where the rear panel can be any shape, even those that have holes (Laprise, Para. 0047, “Obviously, depending on the shape of the accessory support 18 (such as in Figure 1 where the back edge of the upper grill has an upwardly extending side member), the anchoring member 48 could be of multiple shapes and sizes to properly anchor to the support 18.”).
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
comprising at least one hole in the rear panel configured to enable the device to be secured to the grilling apparatus.
However, Choi discloses, in the similar field of anchoring panels (Page 3, Para. 5 from end, “sound insulation panel”), where a panel can include a hole for allow for anchoring (Page 3, Para. 5 from end, “horizontal portion 19 and the penetration of the steel pillar (10) the hole 22 is composed of a vertical portion 20 formed, the L-beam 18, the slot hole 21, the fixing bolt 23 is inserted is welded to the web of the steel pillar (10) fixed.”, where the slot hole 21 is used to have a fixing bolt 23 inserted so that the panel or L-shape connector can be secured). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear panel in modified Laprise to include a hole as taught by Choi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use other fastener types to secure the grilling accessory in place, as stated by Choi, Page 3, Para. 5 from end, “horizontal portion 19 and the penetration of the steel pillar (10) the hole 22 is composed of a vertical portion 20 formed, the L-beam 18, the slot hole 21, the fixing bolt 23 is inserted is welded to the web of the steel pillar (10) fixed.”.
Claims 13-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Yang (FR 2800979 A3) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers).
Regarding claim 13, Laprise discloses a device for use with a grilling apparatus having primary grilling grates positioned substantially directly above a heating source (Abstract, “An accessory plate, positionable onto an accessory support of a barbecue grill”, and Para. 0041, “Inside most of the barbecue grill 10, there is shown the main cooking grill 16, or lower grill”, where from Fig. 1, the main grill would contain the heating source below the grill), the device comprising:
a rear panel (Para. 0043, “plate member 32 that mounts or lays down on the accessory support 18, and that has top 34 and bottom 36 surfaces.”, where the top 34 and bottom 36 are surfaces on the bottom panel);
the bottom panel coupled to the rear panel (Para. 0055, “The deflector section 44 may include at least one side flap 46”, and Para. 0047, “The anchoring member 48 could typically include a rigid tab extending away from the bottom surface 36 opposite the top surface 34, i.e. in first direction A”, where the rear panel includes an upper section of 46 and a lower section of 48); and
the rear panel comprising a rear engagement flap configured to substantially engage a wall of the grilling apparatus (Para. 0011, “an anchoring member, usually provided adjacent a distal end of the accessory (when inserted in place into a barbecue grill by a user), to prevent any undesired/accidental sliding in at least one horizontal direction”, where Fig. 1 shows that the anchoring section 48 can be placed at the back wall of a grill).
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
a bottom panel comprising a tapered or beveled leading edge;
a substantially curved rear panel, a bottom panel substantially curved along a common edge where the bottom panel is coupled to the rear panel;
a bottom panel configured to rest directly on and in contact with the primary grilling grates, the bottom panel further comprising a surface for receiving food products moved from the primary grilling grates onto the bottom panel.
However, Horn discloses, in the similar field of apparatuses used in grilling (Section 1, liens 12-13, “difficult to lift and remove from cooking surfaces such as frying pans, grills”), where a panel can include a beveled leading edge (Section 3, lines 3-6, “FIGS. 1-3 also show that the edges, preferably the upper surfaces adjacent the edges of blade 12 are beveled to facilitate insertion of the blade under a food item to be lifted from a cooking surface.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified any panel such as bottom panel in Laprise to include a beveled edge as taught by Horn.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the beveled edge to help lift food items from the cooking surface, where this can make it easier for the user to transfer food items from the grill onto the accessory from Laprise, as stated by Horn, Section 3, lines 3-6, “FIGS. 1-3 also show that the edges, preferably the upper surfaces adjacent the edges of blade 12 are beveled to facilitate insertion of the blade under a food item to be lifted from a cooking surface.”.
Further, Yang discloses, in the similar field of apparatuses used in grilling (Page 1, Para. 2, “The present invention relates to a removable barbecue-type grill cooking appliance”), where the bottom panel is curved where it coupled to a rear panel that is curved (Modified Fig. 2, where the curved parts are shown). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear and bottom panels in modified Laprise to be substantially curved as taught by Yang.
Regarding the specific shape of the panels, it has been held that mere changes in shape are obvious modifications to make. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It is the Examiner’s position that different grill shapes exist that can include rectangular like with Laprise and circular like with Yang. The panels could then have their shapes altered in order to better fit the specific grill shape that the accessory from Laprise is placed in without changing the overall function of the accessory of being able to hold food items. Thus, the shape of the panels being substantially curved would be a mere matter of user design choice.
Modified Figure 2, Yang
Beyers discloses, in the similar field of grilling apparatuses (Abstract, “outdoor grill”), where a grilling having primary grilling grates positioned substantially directly above a heating source (Section 2, lines 9-11, “grate 18 to provide a solid cooking surface 20 that is supported over the heat source beneath grate 18.”), where the bottom panel of the device for use with a grilling apparatus is configured to rest directly on and in contact with the primary grilling grates (Section 2, lines 9-11, “In this case, the griddle 10 is supported on the grate 18 to provide a solid cooking surface 20 that is supported over the heat source beneath grate 18.”, where the griddle has a bottom surface on the bottom of the cooking surface 20 that is directly in contact with the primary grilling grates or grate 18), the bottom panel further comprising a surface for receiving food products moved from the primary grilling grates onto the bottom panel (Section 2, lines 7-8, “a grate 18 that is normally used to support cooking food.”, and Section 2, lines 9-11, “In this case, the griddle 10 is supported on the grate 18 to provide a solid cooking surface 20 that is supported over the heat source beneath grate 18.”, where the grate 18 can support food and the cooking surface 20 of the device can also support food). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory in modified Laprise to be positioned over a primary grilling grate as taught by Beyers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a griddle in combination with a cooking grill, where the cooking grill only has one level of grates, as stated by Beyers, Section 1, lines 50-53, “Finally, it is an object of the present invention to provide a griddle for use in combination with a cooking grill that is safe and rugged in installation while being relatively easy to clean.”.
Regarding Beyers, it is the Examiner’s position that Beyers could also be used as the primary reference and Laprise’s rear panel with rear engagement flap could be added into the griddle of Beyers in order to prevent movement of the griddle. The current configuration of references has been kept for continuity purposes with previous rejections.
Regarding claim 14, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, as set forth above, discloses wherein a radius of the bottom panel is dimensioned less than a radius of the grill grate (Laprise, Fig. 1, where all the grill accessory’s dimensions are shown to be less than the dimensions of the grill; where in modified Laprise with the curved teaching from Yang, the dimensions of the accessory would still be less than the grill grate).
Regarding claim 15, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
wherein the rear panel is detachable from the bottom panel.
However, Yang discloses where the rear panel can be detached from a bottom panel (Page 1, Para. 2, “a removable barbecue-type grill cooking appliance and, in particular, to a removable barbecue-type grill cooking appliance, which not only can be assembled and dismantled easily, thus providing a great deal of convenience when storage and transport”, where modified Fig. 2 shows that the rear panel can be detached). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear panel in modified Laprise to be detachable from the bottom panel as taught by Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to improve the storage and transport of the grill accessory, as stated by Yang, Page 1, Para. 2, “a removable barbecue-type grill cooking appliance and, in particular, to a removable barbecue-type grill cooking appliance, which not only can be assembled and dismantled easily, thus providing a great deal of convenience when storage and transport”.
Regarding claim 17, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, as set forth above, discloses wherein the bottom panel and the rear panel are formed unitarily as a single device from a heat resistant material (Laprise, Para. 0047, “The anchoring member 48 could typically include a rigid tab extending away from the bottom surface 36 opposite the top surface 34, i.e. in first direction A, along at least a portion of an edge defining the first end 38.”, where the anchoring member or rear panel and the bottom panel that includes the bottom surface are connected rigidly together, as the anchoring member extends from the bottom panel; where the material for both must be heat resistant in order to survive being placed on a grill, Para. 0047, “anchoring tab 48, 48' is adapted to depend downwardly behind the back edge of the upper grill 18 to prevent any forward displacement thereof.”, and Para. 0052, “Such material could be, without being limited to, aluminum or preferably stainless steel.”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, as set forth above, discloses wherein the device consists of one of the following: a heat resistant metal, a plastic, a carbon based material, silicon, and aluminum (Laprise, Para. 0052, “Such material
could be, without being limited to, aluminum or preferably stainless steel.”).
Claims 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Yang (FR 2800979 A3) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Bach et al. (US 5960788 A1, hereinafter Bach).
Regarding claim 16, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
wherein the rear panel is flexible and configured to lay substantially flat when detached from the bottom panel.
However, Bach discloses, in the similar field of grilling apparatuses (Section 6, line 21, “a cooking grill.”), where a panel can be detachable (Section 6, lines 13-14, “This interior storage space accommodates the screen panels 60, their associated parts 72”), where it is flexible and lays substantially flat (Section 4, lines 16-20, “FIGS. 5-7, has a predetermined curvature having an arc length of C and each of the screen panels 60 are flexible enough so that they may be flexed to demonstrate a sharper curvature C1 when assembled with the other screen panels 60.”, where the predetermined curvature appears when the panel is laid flat and could be adjusted to be substantially flat). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear panel in modified Laprise to be detachable and flexible as taught by Bach.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to the flexibility feature of a panel to allow for easier storage, as stated by Bach, Section 2, lines 29-33, “The fire screen assembly includes a plurality of individual screen panels that detachably engage each other, and one of the screen panels includes a door hingedly mounted thereon. Each of the fire screen panels has a defined curvature that permits it to be stored between the top and bottom bowls of the fireplace.”.
Claims 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laprise et al. (CA 3141837 A1, hereinafter Laprise) in view of Horn (US 6024391 A1) and Yang (FR 2800979 A3) and Byers et al. (US 5678531 A1, hereinafter Byers) in further view of Choi (KR 201600201319 A).
Regarding claim 19, modified Laprise teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, as set forth above.
Modified Laprise does not disclose:
comprising at least one hole in the rear panel configured to enable the device to be secured to the grilling apparatus.
However, Choi discloses where a panel can include a hole for allow for anchoring (Page 3, Para. 5 from end, “horizontal portion 19 and the penetration of the steel pillar (10) the hole 22 is composed of a vertical portion 20 formed, the L-beam 18, the slot hole 21, the fixing bolt 23 is inserted is welded to the web of the steel pillar (10) fixed.”, where the slot hole 21 is used to have a fixing bolt 23 inserted so that the panel or L-shape connector can be secured). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear panel in modified Laprise to include a hole as taught by Choi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use other fastener types to secure the grilling accessory in place, as stated by Choi, Page 3, Para. 5 from end, “horizontal portion 19 and the penetration of the steel pillar (10) the hole 22 is composed of a vertical portion 20 formed, the L-beam 18, the slot hole 21, the fixing bolt 23 is inserted is welded to the web of the steel pillar (10) fixed.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mills, JR. (US 20210037838 A1) discloses a similar grill accessory that includes an edge that is tapered, where the reasoning to use such a shape is to allow the accessory to fit within a curved grill.
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
09/15/2026