DETAILED ACTION
The claims dated 6/8/2026 are under consideration.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 6/8/2026 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 3/16/2026 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The rejections of claim(s) 2-9, 11 and 14-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist (WO 2015/153283 A1) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
b) The rejections of claim(s) 2-9, 11, 13-18 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist (WO 2015/153283 A1) in view of Kisiel (US 2016/0090634 A1) are withdrawn as Kisiel is not eligible as prior art.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks regarding issues not listed above are detailed below in this Office action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below and this action is made FINAL.
Drawings
High resolution copies of the drawings may be accessed via PAIR/Patent Center Retrieval using the Supplemental Content tab.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 encompasses determining a methylation profile in any differentially methylation region (DMR) from ELOVL2 in a DNA sample obtained from a subject having or suspected of having a gastrointestinal neoplasm by treating the sample with a reagent that modifies DNA in a methylation-specific manner. The claim further requires at least one DMR from MAXchr7.25896389-25896501.
Claim 7 further limits the DMRs of claim 2 to those within ELOVL2 and also comprises an increased methylation percentage as compared to a control DNA sample from a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Claim 8 further limits the DMRs of claim 2 to those within ELOVL2 also comprises an increased hypermethylation ratio as compared to a control DNA sample from a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Claim 9 further limits the DMRs of claim 2 to those within ELOVL2 also are associated with an area under a ROC curve (AUC) greater than or equal to 0.5, and wherein the ROC curve discriminates between a subject having or suspected of having a gastrointestinal neoplasm and a control DNA sample.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9, 11, 14-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist (WO 2015/153283 A1; previously cited) in view of Aboelsoud (Hepatology. October 2014. 60(4 Suppl):798A-799A).
The following are new rejections necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Regarding claims 2, 17, 18 and 22, Ahlquist teaches treating DNA from subjects with gastrointestinal neoplasm with bisulfite (p. 55).
The treated DNA is amplified with primers specific for markers in an MSP assay (p. 57-58). The markers included ELOVL2 (Table 1A) that is amplified with a primer identified as SEQ ID NO: 26 (Table 1B), which has the identical sequence as presently claimed SEQ ID NO: 5. Ahlquist further teaches a primer for ELOVL2 identified as SEQ ID NO: 27 (Table 1B), which as the identical sequence as presently claimed SEQ ID NO: 6.
Ahlquist teaches that designing primer for DMRs was known and within the skill of the ordinary artisan (p. 55, lines 21-27; p. 57, lines 8-25 and lines 26-31).
Ahlquist does not teach primers specific for MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501.
However, Aboelsoud teaches MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501 is a known methylation marker (p. 799A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the use of the ELOVL2 primers of Ahlquist with primers for MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501 in view of Aboelsoud. One would be motivated to do so to detect the CRC of Ahlquist and/or the cholangiocarcinomas of Aboelsoud.
The modification has a reasonable expectation of success because it simply involves designing primers for a MSP PCR assay which Ahlquist clearly demonstrates is within the skill of the ordinary artisan. The claimed primer sequences of claim 22 for MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501 are obvious variants of those that may be designed for detecting hypermethylation of MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501. Absent unexpected results, the claimed primers are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Ahlquist teaches determining the presence or absence of methylation at one or more CpG sites using the primers and a MSP assay as noted above.
Regarding claim 4, Ahlquist teaches the above DMR, which overlap with those identified in the specification. The markers of Ahlquist also thus must be present in a coding region, a non-coding region or regulatory region of the ELOVL2 gene. Aboelsoud also teaches the above DMR, which overlap with those identified in the specification. The markers of Aboelsoud also thus must be present in a coding region, a non-coding region or regulatory region of the MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501 region.
Regarding claim 5, Ahlquist teaches determining the methylation frequency (p. 9 and 25).
Regarding claim 6, Ahlquist teaches determining the methylation pattern (p. 25).
Regarding claim 7, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A) has an increased methylation percentage as compared to a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Regarding claim 8, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A) has an increased hypermethylation ratio as compared to a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Regarding claim 9, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in the ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A and 4B) as a marker has an AUC greater than 0.5 (p. 31).
Regarding claim 11, Ahlquist further teaches performing methylation specific PCR using primers for QKI and PDGFD (Table 1A).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Ahlquist teaches the sample is a colon cancer tissue sample (p. 53-56).
Regarding claim 15, Ahlquist teaches the sample is from the upper gastrointestinal tract (p. 49).
Examiner’s response to the traversal of the 103 rejections
The Remarks argue Ahlquist alone and Ahlquist and Kisiel do not render the claim obvious (p. 5-8).
The arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive as they do not address the above rejections necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682