DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The claims dated 11/12/2025 are under consideration.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 11/12/2025 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 8/15/2025 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The rejections of claim(s) 2-11 and 13-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (PLOS ONE. 2012. 7(11):e49386) as evidenced by UCSC Genome Browser on Human, is withdrawn in view of the amendments requiring that amplifying of treated DNA using primers specific for a DMR from ELOVL2 and at least one additional DMR from PCBP3 and/or MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501.
b) The rejections of claim(s) 18 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (PLOS ONE. 2012. 7(11):e49386) as evidenced by UCSC Genome Browser on Human, are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks regarding issues not listed above are detailed below in this Office action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below.
Drawings
High resolution copies of the drawings may be accessed via PAIR/Patent Center Retrieval using the Supplemental Content tab.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 encompasses determining a methylation profile in any differentially methylation region (DMR) from ELOVL2 in a DNA sample obtained from a subject having or suspected of having a gastrointestinal neoplasm by treating the sample with a reagent that modifies DNA in a methylation-specific manner. The claim further requires at least one additional gene selected from PCBP3 and/or MAXchr7.25896389-25896501.
Claim 7 further limits the DMRs of claim 2 to those within ELOVL2 and also comprises an increased methylation percentage as compared to a control DNA sample from a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Claim 8 further limits the DMRs of claim 2 to those within ELOVL2 also comprises an increased hypermethylation ratio as compared to a control DNA sample from a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Claim 9 further limits the DMRs of claim 2 to those within ELOVL2 also are associated with an area under a ROC curve (AUC) greater than or equal to 0.5, and wherein the ROC curve discriminates between a subject having or suspected of having a gastrointestinal neoplasm and a control DNA sample.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9, 11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist (WO 2015/153283 A1; previously cited).
The following are new rejections necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Regarding claims 2, 17 and 18, Ahlquist teaches treating DNA from subjects with gastrointestinal neoplasm with bisulfite (p. 55).
The treated DNA is amplified with primers specific for markers in an MSP assay (p. 57-58). The markers included ELOVL2 (Table 1A) that is amplified with a primer identified as SEQ ID NO: 26 (Table 1B), which has the identical sequence as presently claimed SEQ ID NO: 5. Ahlquist further teaches a primer for ELOVL2 identified as SEQ ID NO: 27 (Table 1B), which as the identical sequence as presently claimed SEQ ID NO: 6.
Ahlquist further teaches a marker identified as “MAX.chr21.47063135-47064177” (Table 4A and 4B), which is overlaps with the PCBP3 marker identified in Table 1 of the present specification as being located on Chromosome 21, in region 47063793-47064177.
Ahlquist further teaches 244 candidate regions with sufficient methylation signatures for MSP design (p.57), which is understood to include “MAX.chr21.47063135-47064177”.
Ahlquist teaches that designing primer for DMRs was known and within the skill of the ordinary artisan (p. 55, lines 21-27; p. 57, lines 8-25 and lines 26-31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have designed primers for additional candidate regions, such as “MAX.chr21.47063135-47064177” to evaluate with the ELOVL2 primers of Ahlquist to identify combinations of primers that detect CRC, detect CRC and large adenomas and/or differentiate CRC from large adenomas.
The modification has a reasonable expectation of success because it simply involves designing primers for a MSP PCR assay which Ahlquist clearly demonstrates is within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Regarding claim 3, Ahlquist teaches determining the presence or absence of methylation at one or more CpG sites using the primers and a MSP assay as noted above.
Regarding claim 4, Ahlquist teaches the above DMRs, which overlap with those identified in the specification. The markers of Ahlquist thus must be present in a coding region, a non-coding region or regulatory region of the ELOVL2 and PCBP3 genes.
Regarding claim 5, Ahlquist teaches determining the methylation frequency (p. 9 and 25).
Regarding claim 6, Ahlquist teaches determining the methylation pattern (p. 25).
Regarding claim 7, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A) has an increased methylation percentage as compared to a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Regarding claim 8, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A) has an increased hypermethylation ratio as compared to a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Regarding claim 9, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in the ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A and 4B) as a marker has an AUC greater than 0.5 (p. 31).
Regarding claim 11, Ahlquist further teaches performing methylation specific PCR using primers for QKI and PDGFD (Table 1A).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Ahlquist teaches the sample is a colon cancer tissue sample (p. 53-56).
Regarding claim 15, Ahlquist teaches the sample is from the upper gastrointestinal tract (p. 49).
Claim(s) 2-9, 11, 13-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlquist (WO 2015/153283 A1; previously cited) in view of Kisiel (US 2016/0090634 A1).
The following are new rejections necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Regarding claims 2, 13, 17, 18 and 22, Ahlquist teaches treating DNA from subjects with gastrointestinal neoplasm with bisulfite (p. 55).
The treated DNA is amplified with primers specific for markers in an MSP assay (p. 57-58). The markers included ELOVL2 (Table 1A) that is amplified with a primer identified as SEQ ID NO: 26 (Table 1B), which has the identical sequence as presently claimed SEQ ID NO: 5. Ahlquist further teaches a primer for ELOVL2 identified as SEQ ID NO: 27 (Table 1B), which as the identical sequence as presently claimed SEQ ID NO: 6.
Ahlquist teaches that designing primer for DMRs was known and within the skill of the ordinary artisan (p. 55, lines 21-27; p. 57, lines 8-25 and lines 26-31).
Ahlquist does not teach primers specific for MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501.
However, Kisiel teaches MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501 is a known methylation marker (para. 10, 16, 24, 25 and 29) and is detected using primers identified as SEQ ID NOs: 11 and 12 (Table 1), which are identical to presently claimed SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 10.
Kisiel further teaches samples from upper and lower gastrointestinal tracts (para. 131).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the use of the ELOVL2 primers of Ahlquist with the MAX.chr7.25896389-25896501 primers of Kisiel. One would be motivated to do so to detect the CRC of Ahlquist and/or the cholangiocarcinomas of Kisiel.
The modification has a reasonable expectation of success because it simply involves designing primers for a MSP PCR assay which Ahlquist clearly demonstrates is within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Regarding claim 3, Ahlquist teaches determining the presence or absence of methylation at one or more CpG sites using the primers and a MSP assay as noted above.
Regarding claim 4, Ahlquist teaches the above DMRs, which overlap with those identified in the specification. The markers of Ahlquist also thus must be present in a coding region, a non-coding region or regulatory region of the ELOVL2 and PCBP3 genes.
Regarding claim 5, Ahlquist teaches determining the methylation frequency (p. 9 and 25).
Regarding claim 6, Ahlquist teaches determining the methylation pattern (p. 25).
Regarding claim 7, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A) has an increased methylation percentage as compared to a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Regarding claim 8, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A) has an increased hypermethylation ratio as compared to a subject that does not have a gastrointestinal neoplasm.
Regarding claim 9, Ahlquist teaches the DMR in the ELOVL2 gene (Table 1A and 4B) as a marker has an AUC greater than 0.5 (p. 31).
Regarding claim 11, Ahlquist further teaches performing methylation specific PCR using primers for QKI and PDGFD (Table 1A).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Ahlquist teaches the sample is a colon cancer tissue sample (p. 53-56).
Regarding claim 15, Ahlquist teaches the sample is from the upper gastrointestinal tract (p. 49).
Examiner’s response to the traversal of the 103 rejections
The Remarks argue Zhao and Ahlquist do not teach or suggest the amended steps of claim 2 (p. 6-7).
The arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive as they do not address the above rejections necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682