DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s Amendment dated June 17, 2025. Applicant amended claims 2, 3, 5, 16, 17, and 19. Claims 2-30 are pending.
Applicant's arguments have been considered and are persuasive as previously discussed during the interview conducted on January 6, 2026. Upon further search and consideration of Harris, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as discussed below in view of the new grounds of rejection over Kanno et al. (U.S. Patent 5,111,306) as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Upton et al. (U.S. Patent 6,141,037, hereinafter “Upton”) and in further views of Lu (U.S. Publication 2007/0142703), Kanno et al. (U.S. Patent 5,111,306, hereinafter “Kanno”), Harris et al. (U.S. Publication 2009/0189972, hereinafter “Harris”), and Yamanaka et al. (U.S. Patent 7,324,673, hereinafter “Yamanaka”).
As to Claim 2, Upton discloses method of transmitting endoscopic image data from an endoscopic camera head (3) in 5/60 to a computing system (32a) and (201, 210, 203, 205) in 5/66-67 and 6/17-18 with (1) in 6/14 comprising:
receiving light from a scene at one or more imaging sensors “solid state imager” in 5/63-64 and 1/18-22 the endoscopic camera head;
generating digital image data “electronic images” in 6/21-22 via (32) and (32a) in 5/65-67 as described in 5/24-29 based on the light received at the one or more imaging sensors;
transmitting the compressed digital image data via (203, 205) in 6/16-17 from the endoscopic camera head to the computing system.
As to Claims 2-30, Upton does not specifically disclose at least one user input selecting an image quality. Lu and Kanno are applied as secondary teachings to evidence the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention as to compression rate adjustment. Lu in particular teaches that compression rate adjustment utilizes at least one user input “microwave control commands” in [0019] and [0043]. Kanno teaches compression rate adjustment utilizes at least one user input selecting an image quality via “selecting” in 14/65 to 15/17 and 15/40-45. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the camera system and method of wirelessly conveying endoscopic images taught by Upton with compression processing and adjustment means as taught by Lu in order to achieve the same function of data compression and transmission with predictable results of advantageously adjusting image quality (Lu, [0015]-[0016]) while advantageously preserving image quality (Kanno, 14/50-64).
In order to expedite prosecution, Kanmo teaches selecting image compression as noted above. Harris and Yamanaka are additionally applied as a secondary teaching in the art in the analogous field of endoscopy explicitly noting that selecting type of compression and changing the quality of the image are adjustable preferences in [0218]. Yamanaka teaches that image quality explicitly is also a selectable parameter in Fig. 22. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that receiving at least one user input selecting an image quality explicitly can be provided as an adjustable preference as taught by Harris and Yamanaka as alternative and/or equivalent preferences in order to fulfill the same function with predictable results.
As to Claim 3, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein compressing the digital image data in accordance with the selected image quality comprises: compressing the digital image data at a higher compression rate in accordance with the user input selecting a lower image quality; and compressing the digital image data at a lower compression rate in accordance with the user input selecting a higher image quality.
Kanno teaches user input selecting an explicitly image quality is not disclosed. It is additionally noted that Harris teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein user input is associated with image quality in [0218]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that user input of image compression as disclosed by Upton in view of Lu and Kanno has effects on image quality, and therefore specifically providing user input associated with image quality as taught by Harris would fulfill the same function of choosing desired image compression in order to fulfill the same function of providing image transmission at desired image quality.
As to Claim 4, Upton discloses the method of claim 2, however does not specifically disclose lossy or lossless image compression algorithm. Lu teaches dynamic image compression in [0015]-[0020] including JPEG2000 are known in the art in [0018] wherein JPEG is a dynamic compression as well as capably both a lossy and lossless compression with image cutting in [0048] and compression rate adjustment in [0049]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the camera system and method of wirelessly conveying endoscopic images taught by Upton with compression processing means as taught by Lu that utilizes a lossy image compression algorithm and a lossless image compression algorithm as taught by Lu in order to achieve the same function of data compression and transmission with predictable results of advantageously adjusting image quality (Lu, [0015]-[0016]).
As to Claim 5, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein compressing the digital image data based on the selected image quality and transmitting the compressed digital image data from the endoscopic camera head to the computing system comprises: compressing digital image data of a first image using a first image compression algorithm and transmitting compressed digital image data of the first image to the computing system; receiving a user input; and compressing digital image data of a second image using a second image compression algorithm that has a lower compression rate than the first image compression algorithm and transmitting compressed digital image data of the second image to the computing system as discussed above.
Kanno teaches user input selecting an explicitly image quality is not disclosed. It is additionally noted that Harris teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein user input is associated with image quality in [0218]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that user input of image compression as disclosed by Upton in view of Lu and Kanno has effects on image quality, and therefore specifically providing user input associated with image quality as taught by Harris would fulfill the same function of choosing desired image compression in order to fulfill the same function of providing image transmission at desired image quality.
As to Claim 6, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 5, however does not specifically disclose lossy or lossless image compression algorithm. Lu teaches dynamic image compression in [0015]-[0020] including JPEG2000 are known in the art in [0018] wherein JPEG is a dynamic compression as well as capably both a lossy and lossless compression with image cutting in [0048] and compression rate adjustment in [0049]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the camera system and method of wirelessly conveying endoscopic images taught by Upton with compression processing means as taught by Lu that utilizes a lossy image compression algorithm and a lossless image compression algorithm as taught by Lu in order to achieve the same function of data compression and transmission with predictable results of advantageously adjusting image quality (Lu, [0015]-[0016]).
As to Claim 7, Upton discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the compressed digital image data is transmitted wirelessly from the endoscopic camera head to the computing system via antennas (203, 205) in 6/16-17.
As to Claim 8, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein Lu also discloses that the compressed digital image data is transmitted as a progressively encoded bit stream “data stream” in [0047].
As to Claim 9, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 8, wherein Lu also discloses that the computing system converting the progressively encoded bit stream into a first endoscopic image having a first resolution and a second endoscopic image equivalent to the first endoscopic image but having a second resolution that is different than the first resolution under normal operation when the second endoscopic image undergoes a different compression rate resulting in a different resolution as described in [0016] and [0049].
As to Claim 10, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein Lu also discloses that the digital image data is compressed one image frame at a time, with compression of each image frame occurring independently of any other image frames as described in [0016] and [0049] wherein image compression rate can be adjusted at any point in time.
As to Claim 11, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, Lu also discloses that for each frame of the digital image data, select digital image data representing a default quality image is first transmitted to the computing system, then additional digital image data is transmitted to the computing system to create a higher quality image as described in [0016] and [0049] wherein image compression rate can be adjusted at any point in time.
As to Claim 12, Upton discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, Lu also discloses that for any one frame of the digital image data, a first region of the frame is compressed at a first level and a second region of the frame is compressed at a second level different from the first level as described in [0048] wherein the regions can be cut and as described in [0016] and [0049] wherein image compression rate can be adjusted at any point in time.
As to Claim 13, Upton discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the computing system comprises a camera controller as described in 6/14.
As to Claim 14, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 13, wherein Lu also teaches that camera controller (2, 8) in [0044] decompresses the digital image data and transmits the decompressed digital image data to a video processor of display (16) in [0043].
As to Claim 15, Upton in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein Lu also teaches that the computing system decompresses the compressed digital image data and displays one or more image frames on display (16) in [0043] based on the decompressed digital image data.
As to Claim 16, Upton discloses an endoscopic camera system comprising:
an endoscopic camera head (3) in 5/60 configured to generate digital image data “electronic images” in 6/21-22 via (32) and (32a) in 5/65-67 as described in 5/24-29 based on light received from a scene at one or more imaging sensors “solid state imager” in 5/63-64 and 1/18-22 of the endoscopic camera head, compress the digital image data in accordance with the selected image quality, and transmit via (203, 205) in 6/16-17 the compressed digital image data from the endoscopic camera head to a computing system (32a) and (201, 210, 203, 205) in 5/66-67 and 6/17-18 with (1) in 6/14.
As to Claim 17, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein compressing the digital image data in accordance with the selected image quality comprises: compressing the digital image data at a higher compression rate in accordance with a user input; and compressing the digital image data at a lower compression rate in accordance with a user input as discussed above.
Kanno teaches user input selecting an explicitly image quality is not disclosed. It is additionally noted that Harris teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein user input is associated with image quality in [0218]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that user input of image compression as disclosed by Upton in view of Lu and Kanno has effects on image quality, and therefore specifically providing user input associated with image quality as taught by Harris would fulfill the same function of choosing desired image compression in order to fulfill the same function of providing image transmission at desired image quality.
As to Claim 18, Upton discloses the system of claim 16, however does not specifically disclose lossy or lossless image compression algorithm. Lu teaches dynamic image compression in [0015]-[0020] including JPEG2000 are known in the art in [0018] wherein JPEG is a dynamic compression as well as capably both a lossy and lossless compression with image cutting in [0048] and compression rate adjustment in [0049]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the camera system and method of wirelessly conveying endoscopic images taught by Upton with compression processing means as taught by Lu that utilizes a lossy image compression algorithm and a lossless image compression algorithm as taught by Lu in order to achieve the same function of data compression and transmission with predictable results of advantageously adjusting image quality (Lu, [0015]-[0016]).
As to Claim 19, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein compressing the digital image data in accordance with the selected image quality and transmitting the compressed digital image data from the endoscopic camera head to the computing system comprises: compressing digital image data of a first image using a first image compression algorithm and transmitting compressed digital image data of the first image to the computing system; receiving a user input; and compressing digital image data of a second image using a second image compression algorithm that has a lower compression rate than the first image compression algorithm and transmitting compressed digital image data of the second image to the computing system as discussed above.
Kanno teaches user input selecting an explicitly image quality is not disclosed. It is additionally noted that Harris teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein user input is associated with image quality in [0218]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that user input of image compression as disclosed by Upton in view of Lu and Kanno has effects on image quality, and therefore specifically providing user input associated with image quality as taught by Harris would fulfill the same function of choosing desired image compression in order to fulfill the same function of providing image transmission at desired image quality.
As to Claim 20, Upton discloses the system of claim 19, however does not specifically disclose lossy or lossless image compression algorithm. Lu teaches dynamic image compression in [0015]-[0020] including JPEG2000 are known in the art in [0018] wherein JPEG is a dynamic compression as well as capably both a lossy and lossless compression with image cutting in [0048] and compression rate adjustment in [0049]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the camera system and method of wirelessly conveying endoscopic images taught by Upton with compression processing means as taught by Lu that utilizes a lossy image compression algorithm and a lossless image compression algorithm as taught by Lu in order to achieve the same function of data compression and transmission with predictable results of advantageously adjusting image quality (Lu, [0015]-[0016]).
As to Claim 21, Upton discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the compressed digital image data is transmitted wirelessly from the endoscopic camera head to the computing system via antennas (203, 205) in 6/16-17.
As to Claim 22, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein Lu also discloses that the compressed digital image data is transmitted as a progressively encoded bit stream “data stream” in [0047].
As to Claim 23, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 22, wherein Lu also discloses that the computing system is configured to convert the progressively encoded bit stream into a first endoscopic image having a first resolution and a second endoscopic image equivalent to the first endoscopic image but having a second resolution that is different from the first resolution under normal operation when the second endoscopic image undergoes a different compression rate resulting in a different resolution as described in [0016] and [0049].
As to Claim 24, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein Lu also discloses that the digital image data is compressed one image frame at a time, with compression of each image frame occurring independently of any other image frames as described in [0016] and [0049] wherein image compression rate can be adjusted at any point in time.
As to Claim 25, Upton discloses the system of claim 16, wherein Lu also discloses that the endoscopic camera head is configured to, for each frame of the digital image data, transmit select digital image data representing a default quality image to the computing system, then transmit additional digital image data to the computing system to create a higher quality image as described in [0016] and [0049] wherein image compression rate can be adjusted at any point in time.
As to Claim 26, Upton discloses the system of claim 16, wherein Lu also discloses that the endoscopic camera head is configured to, for any one frame of the digital image data, compress a first region of the frame at a first level and compress a second region of the frame at a second level different from the first level as described in [0048] wherein the regions can be cut and as described in [0016] and [0049] wherein image compression rate can be adjusted at any point in time.
As to Claim 27, Upton discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the endoscopic camera system comprises the computing system as shown in Fig. 1.
As to Claim 28, Upton discloses the system of claim 27, wherein the computing system comprises a camera controller as described in 6/14.
As to Claim 29, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 28, wherein Lu also teaches that the camera controller (2, 8) in [0044] is configured to decompress the digital image data and transmit decompressed digital image data to a video processor of display (16) in [0043].
As to Claim 30, Upton in view of Lu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein Lu also teaches that the computing system is configured to decompress the compressed digital image data and display one or more image frames on display (16) in [0043] based on decompressed digital image data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the enclosed 892 form. 20070098379 is cited to show selection of image resolution in [0057] and [0063]. 20050075544 is cited to show selection of image quality management in [0198] and Fig. 11(c).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795