DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 11-13, and 19-20 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled and no claims have been added. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections and finds them unconvincing.
Applicant first contends Girtman does not disclose that a single carton unloader can contain multiple arms. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and finds that Applicant is misreading the previously presented mapping. The claimed language of a “plurality of robotic manipulators” remains taught by the plurality of vacuum end effectors in Girtman.
Applicant next contends that Girtman does not disclose the handling zones as claimed, however Examiner respectfully disagrees, and finds that Applicant is overstating the currently claimed language, which only requires the existence of handling zones, such as the altered speed zones described in at least col. 28, lines 44-49
central conveyors of the embodiment robotic carton unloaders (e.g., herringbone type central descramblers) may include a plurality of zones of powered rollers that are configured to move items at different rates such that the items are moved into narrow lines.
Applicant further contends that the vertical mount in Lei is not the same as the vertical mount in the instant application because “it is not a system-level vertical mount for robotic arms”. Applicant then states that Lei does not teach a vertical mount movable between a plurality of vertical positions. Applicant finally states that Lei does not teach 6 dof robot arms, however Examiner did not use Lee for this teaching, and finds this argument irrelevant as Applicant fails to make an argument regarding the proper combination of Lei. Lei, as a teaching reference, does not need to teach the exact robot manipulators that are already described extensively in the primary reference. Lei continues to teach the vertical mount as claimed in the instant application in at least [col. 14, lines 45-54]
The expandable body 474 drives movement of the gripping element 476 in the vertical direction (e.g., along the z-axis), allowing the gripping element 476 to be controllably raised and lowered. In some embodiments, each of the extendable gripping components 470 is independently controllable to extend and/or actuate the extendable gripping components 470, thereby allowing any suitable subset of the extendable gripping components 470 to be operated at a time.
Applicant finally argues that Lisso would not be obvious to combine with the instant application because it is directed to a vertical system for object picking and placement with robotic arms instead of a horizontal system with handling zones. Examiner finds this argument unconvincing, as Lisso provides an important understanding of the known capability of picking mechanisms to operate with 6 dof. As a teaching reference, Lisso does not need to include all of the elements already covered by the other primary and teaching reference, but merely needs to be from an analogous field of endeavor and contain a teaching that would have anticipated the instant application at the time of invention. 6 dof robotic picking is extensively used for conveyance systems, and cannot provide an inventive concept to the conveyance system in the instant application, as the Lisso reference shows.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for the following informalities. The claim reads “wherein each of the plurality of robotic manipulators having a first end mounted to the vertical mount and a second end having an end effector” but should instead read “wherein each of the plurality of robotic manipulators have a first end mounted to the vertical mount and a second end having an end effector”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to for the following informalities. The claim reads “a vision system, wherein the vision system comprising: a conveyor vision system” but should instead read “a vision system, wherein the vision system comprises: a conveyor vision system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girtman et al. (US9555982, referred to as Girtman) in view of Lei et al. (US12343871, referred to as Lei) and further in view of Lisso et al. (US10246258, referred to as Lisso).
Regarding claim 1: Girtman discloses: A robotic system to load and unload a plurality of items in an environment in front of the robotic system, ([col. 29, lines 15-24] Such a robotic carton unloader may include … a descrambling conveyor (or conveyor system) mounted on the mobile body and configured to unload a row of cartons …) wherein the environment comprises a plurality of handling zones, ([col. 28, lines 44-49] central conveyors of the embodiment robotic carton unloaders (e.g., herringbone type central descramblers) may include a plurality of zones of powered rollers that are configured to move items at different rates such that the items are moved into narrow lines.) the robotic system comprising: a moveable base; ([col. 29, lines 13-15] a robotic carton unloader may be capable of unloading a carton pile and may be movable across a floor ( e.g., a truck trailer floor).) a conveyor system disposed on the movable base; ([col. 29, lines 15-24] Such a robotic carton unloader may include … a descrambling conveyor (or conveyor system) mounted on the mobile body and configured to unload a row of cartons …) [a vertical mount coupled to the movable base by one or more vertical actuation devices; wherein the vertical mount is movable between a plurality of vertical positions;] ([col. 16, lines 27-47] the vacuum manipulator 408 may include a moveable shelf, such as a sliding shelf 426, that may extend in the same direction as the banks of vacuum rods 416, 418, 420 (e.g., forward and reward when the vacuum manipulator 408 is parallel to the floor of the floor of the truck or trailer) by moving in and out of the manipulator frame 410. The sliding shelf 426 is illustrated retracted into the vacuum manipulator 408 in FIG. 15. In various embodiments, a moveable shelf, such as sliding shelf 426, may be moveable towards and away from the carton pile, such as by sliding towards and away from the carton pile.) and a plurality of robotic manipulators, [wherein each of the plurality of robotic manipulators having a first end mounted to the vertical mount and a second end having an end effector wherein each of the plurality of robotic manipulators comprises a six degrees of freedom robotic arm,] wherein the plurality of robotic manipulators comprises: a first robotic manipulator configured to independently transfer an item from a first handling zone of the plurality of handling zones to a corresponding section of a conveyor surface located below the first robotic manipulator; and a second robotic manipulator configured to independently transfer another item from a second handling zone of the plurality of handling zones to another corresponding section of the conveyor surface located below the second robotic manipulator. ([col. 17, lines 15-20] the vacuum manipulator may include at least one carton connector configured to extend out from a side of the manipulator perpendicular to the conformable face as one or more banks of vacuum rods disposed on one or both of the left and/or right sides of the manipulator frame 410. [col. 27, lines 39-45] FIGS. 35A-35B illustrate embodiment robotic carton unloaders that may include robotic arms (or robotic carton retrieval arms) that may be of a straddle design and include end effectors (e.g., vacuum manipulators) for retrieving items (e.g., cartons from a carton pile), conveyor systems (e.g., a descrambling conveyor), and mobile (or vehicle) bodies. [col. 28, lines 44-49] central conveyors of the embodiment robotic carton unloaders (e.g., herringbone type central descramblers) may include a plurality of zones of powered rollers that are configured to move items at different rates such that the items are moved into narrow lines.)
Girtman does not explicitly disclose: a vertical mount coupled to the movable base by one or more vertical actuation devices; wherein the vertical mount is movable between a plurality of vertical positions; wherein each of the plurality of robotic manipulators having a first end mounted to the vertical mount and a second end having an end effector wherein each of the plurality of robotic manipulators comprises a six degrees of freedom robotic arm,
Girtman does not disclose the following limitations, however Lei, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: a vertical mount coupled to the movable base by one or more vertical actuation devices; wherein the vertical mount is movable between a plurality of vertical positions; … each having a first end mounted to the vertical mount and a second end having an end effector; a vision system; and a processor circuitry configured to: identify one or more items in a field of view of the vision system based on at least an image captured by the vision system, cause the one or more vertical actuation devices to actuate the vertical mount to a vertical position of the plurality of vertical positions such that the plurality of robotic manipulators is positioned at a threshold distance from the conveyor system, and control the plurality of robotic manipulators to place the one or more items on the conveyor system in a singular line ([col. 9, lines 45-60] As described in further detail below, the robotic system 100 can process the digital image, the point cloud, or a combination thereof via the control unit 202 to identify the target object 112 of FIG. 1, a pose of the target object 112 of, or a combination thereof. For manipulating the target object 112, 50 the robotic system 100 can capture and analyze an image of a designated area, such as inside the truck, inside the container, or a pickup location for objects on the conveyor belt, to identify the target object 112 and the object source 114 of FIG. 1 thereof. Similarly, the robotic system 100 can capture and analyze an image of another designated area, such as a drop location for placing objects on the conveyor belt, a location for placing objects inside the container, or a location on the pallet for stacking purposes, to identify the task location 116 of FIG. 1 [col. 14, lines 45-54] The expandable body 474 drives movement of the gripping element 476 in the vertical direction (e.g., along the z-axis), allowing the gripping element 476 to be controllably raised and lowered. In some embodiments, each of the extendable gripping components 470 is independently controllable to extend and/or actuate the extendable gripping components 470, thereby allowing any suitable subset of the extendable gripping components 470 to be operated at a time.
Girtman and Lei are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the vertical mounts with individual gripping actuators taught in Lei. The motivation for modification would be to provide different common z axis conveyance methods for different types of boxes moved within different vertical levels of the same conveyor system.
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Lisso, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches: wherein a robotic manipulator of the plurality of robotic manipulators comprises a six degrees of freedom robotic arm configured to move in a vertical plane. ([col. 4, lines 18-22] In various embodiments, the robotic arm 55 may provide six Degrees-Of-Freedom (6DoF). The robotic arm 55 may further include an end effector 68 capable of securing an item 25 and releasing the item 25 after movement along the Z-axis.)
Lisso, Lei, and Girtman are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of conveyor belt sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the 6DoF robotic arm in Lisso. The motivation for modification would have been to provide further rotation and translation capability to better perform container sorting.
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 1,
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Lisso, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches: wherein a robotic manipulator of the plurality of robotic manipulators comprises a six degrees of freedom robotic arm configured to move in a vertical plane. ([col. 4, lines 18-22] In various embodiments, the robotic arm 55 may provide six Degrees-Of-Freedom (6DoF). The robotic arm 55 may further include an end effector 68 capable of securing an item 25 and releasing the item 25 after movement along the Z-axis.)
As previously stated, Lisso, Lei, and Girtman are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of conveyor belt sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the 6DoF robotic arm in Lisso. The motivation for modification would have been to provide further rotation and translation capability to better perform container sorting.
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 1,
Girtman further discloses: wherein each respective vertical position is a respective distance from a conveyer surface. ([col. 5, lines 29-39] The rod of the piston 497 may be retracted pulling the pivoting shelf or tray 426b down. In an embodiment, the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down to drop cartons onto a conveyor system and/or to enable the vacuum cups to be positioned closer to cartons of a carton pile 11. As illustrated in FIG. 33A the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down when the manipulator is attached to the cartons of the carton pile 11. FIG. 33B illustrates the pivoting shelf or tray 426b rotated partially up through its range of motion between a rotated down state and a rotated up state.)
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 5,
Girtmann does not disclose the following limitations, however Lei, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: wherein the conveyor system is movable in a vertical direction simultaneously with the vertical mount such that the vertical mount is disposed the threshold distance above the conveyor surface at each of the plurality of vertical positions. [col. 14, lines 45-54] The expandable body 474 drives movement of the gripping element 476 in the vertical direction (e.g., along the z-axis), allowing the gripping element 476 to be controllably raised and lowered. In some embodiments, each of the extendable gripping components 470 is independently controllable to extend and/or actuate the extendable gripping components 470, thereby allowing any suitable subset of the extendable gripping components 470 to be operated at a time.
As previously stated, Girtman and Lei are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the vertical mounts with individual gripping actuators taught in Lei. The motivation for modification would be to provide different common z axis conveyance methods for different types of boxes moved within different vertical levels of the same conveyor system.
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 5,
Girtman further discloses: wherein the vertical position for the vertical mount is adjusted based on a height of a container or an item height of the one or more items disposed within the container. ([col. 5, lines 29-33] The rod of the piston 497 may be retracted pulling the pivoting shelf or tray 426b down. In an embodiment, the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down to drop cartons onto a conveyor system and/or to enable the vacuum cups to be positioned closer to cartons of a carton pile 11.)
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 7,
Girtman further discloses: wherein the vertical position is medial to the height of the container. ([col 25, lines 43-48] FIG. 33C illustrates the pivoting shelf or tray 426b rotated up parallel to the stationary shelf 426a. The rod of the piston 497 may be fully extended. In an embodiment, the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated up to support cartons and/or to place the bumper against the carton pile 11 to stabilize the carton pile 11.)
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 1,
Girtman further discloses: wherein the end effector comprises a vacuum effector. ([col. 25, lines 31-39] the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down to drop cartons onto a conveyor system and/or to enable the vacuum cups to be positioned closer to cartons of a carton pile 11. As illustrated in FIG. 33A the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down when the manipulator is attached to the cartons of the carton pile 11. FIG. 33B illustrates the pivoting shelf or tray 426b rotated partially up through its range of motion between a rotated down state and a rotated up state.)
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 1,
Girtman further discloses: wherein the conveyor system comprises one or more orientation mechanisms operable to adjust a position of an item placed on a conveyor surface of the conveyor system. ([col. 50-51, lines 67-10] Such front end descramblers may also be configured to cause items to be moved, descrambled, and singulated. For example, when a series of boxes are placed on a front-end descrambler, the movement of the rollers and/or belts of the front-end descrambler may cause a wide spread of the boxes to be narrowed or moved toward the middle rows of the front-end descrambler (i.e., descrambling), as well as cause separations or gaps to be placed in between the boxes (i.e., singulation).)
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 11,
Girtman further discloses: wherein the one or more orientation mechanisms comprise one or more side actuators configured to apply a force to the plurality of items placed on the conveyor surface to position the plurality of items in a center section of the conveyor surface. ([col. 50-51, lines 67-10] Such front end descramblers may also be configured to cause items to be moved, descrambled, and singulated. For example, when a series of boxes are placed on a front-end descrambler, the movement of the rollers and/or belts of the front-end descrambler may cause a wide spread of the boxes to be narrowed or moved toward the middle rows of the front-end descrambler (i.e., descrambling), as well as cause separations or gaps to be placed in between the boxes (i.e., singulation).)
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 1,
Girtman further discloses: further comprising: a vision system, wherein the vision system comprising: a conveyor vision system, the conveyor vision system comprising at least one conveyor camera operable to generate conveyor data indicative of an arrangement of the plurality of items disposed on the conveyor surface of the conveyor system. ([col 25, lines 63-67] In block 3302 the control and visualization system may measure a distance to the next row of a carton pile to be unloaded. For example, the control and visualization system may measure the distance using one or more sensor, such as one or more camera or other carton sensor.)
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 13,
Girtman further discloses: wherein the at least one conveyor camera is disposed at a fixed position relative to the conveyor system. ([col 22, lines 53-57] Initially during carton removal operations, the control and visualization system may measure the distance to the carton pile 11, such as using a sensor (e.g., a camera other type of carton sensor), and position the vacuum manipulator 408 an initial distance from the face of the carton pile 11.)
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 14,
Girtman further discloses: further comprising: a controller communicatively coupled to the conveyor system and configured to automatically control the conveyor system based on the conveyor data, wherein the conveyor system is controlled to arrange the plurality of items in a singulated flow. ([col. 50-51, lines 67-10] Such front end descramblers may also be configured to cause items to be moved, descrambled, and singulated. For example, when a series of boxes are placed on a front-end descrambler, the movement of the rollers and/or belts of the front-end descrambler may cause a wide spread of the boxes to be narrowed or moved toward the middle rows of the front-end descrambler (i.e., descrambling), as well as cause separations or gaps to be placed in between the boxes (i.e., singulation). [col. 11, lines 27-35] Control and visualization system 180 may include control module 181, power supply 182, and robotics controller 183, positioned within chassis 121. Control and visualization system 180 provides timing, sequencing, homing routines, and motion control for drive motors 126, 127, conveyor drive motors 139, 140, 148, 149, roller drive motor 147, front lift 151, frame lift 179, robotic positioner 163 and manipulator 162.)
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 13,
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Lisso, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the vision system comprises: a robotic manipulator vision system, the robotic manipulator vision system comprising a plurality of manipulator cameras operable to generate container data indicative of an interior of a container, wherein the robotic manipulator vision system is distinct from the conveyor vision system. ([col. 12, lines 34-39] In 515, a determination is made whether the item 25 residing at the holding station 40 has been verified. Verifi-cation may include, for example, using an imaging device 185 of the robotic system 45 to capture an image of an identifier 152 on the item 25 and query the data store 121 to determine whether the identifier 152 corresponds to the item [col. 9, lines 20-25] The imaging device 185 may include a camera or other device capable of detecting identifiers 152 located on items 25, for example, to track items 25 as they progress along the conveyor system 10. In some embodiments, the imaging device 185 is mounted on an end effector 68 of the robotic system 45.)
As previously stated, Lisso, Lei, and Girtman are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of conveyor belt sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the robotic manipulator vision system in Lisso. The motivation for modification would have been to provide further sensing capability to better react to real-time sorting.
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 16,
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Lisso further teaches: wherein a number and a placement of the plurality of manipulator cameras is based on a number of the plurality of robotic manipulators. ([col. 12, lines 34-39] In 515, a determination is made whether the item 25 residing at the holding station 40 has been verified. Verification may include, for example, using an imaging device 185 of the robotic system 45 to capture an image of an identifier 152 on the item 25 and query the data store 121 to determine whether the identifier 152 corresponds to the item [col. 9, lines 20-25] The imaging device 185 may include a camera or other device capable of detecting identifiers 152 located on items 25, for example, to track items 25 as they progress along the conveyor system 10. In some embodiments, the imaging device 185 is mounted on an end effector 68 of the robotic system 45. [col. 12, lines 15-16] In further embodiments, the robotic system 45 may include one or more robotic arms 55.)
As previously stated, Lisso and Girtman are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of conveyor belt sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the manipulator cameras on manipulator arms in Lisso. The motivation for modification would have been to provide individual sensing capability to each picking component in the sorting process.
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 16,
Girtman further discloses: further comprising: a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of robotic manipulators and configured to automatically control the plurality of robotic manipulators [based on the container data.] ([col. 25, lines 31-39] the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down to drop cartons onto a conveyor system and/or to enable the vacuum cups to be positioned closer to cartons of a carton pile 11. As illustrated in FIG. 33A the pivoting shelf or tray 426b may be rotated down when the manipulator is attached to the cartons of the carton pile 11. FIG. 33B illustrates the pivoting shelf or tray 426b rotated partially up through its range of motion between a rotated down state and a rotated up state. [col. 27, lines 39-45] FIGS. 35A-35B illustrate embodiment robotic carton unloaders that may include robotic arms (or robotic carton retrieval arms) that may be of a straddle design and include end effectors (e.g., vacuum manipulators) for retrieving items (e.g., cartons from a carton pile), conveyor systems (e.g., a descrambling conveyor), and mobile (or vehicle) bodies.)
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Lisso further teaches: based on the container data ([col. 10, lines 30-44] In instances where the robotic system 45 includes a robotic arm 55, the robotic arm 55 may have an end effector 68 capable of collecting an item 25, rotating the item 25, translationally displacing the item 25, or performing other appropriate movement to position the item 25 on one of the vertically-configured item handling devices 50. Additionally, the end effector 68 on a robotic arm 55 may be impactive, ingressive, astrictive, or contigutive. In some embodiments, the robotic arm 55 includes two end effectors 68, where each end effector 68 is capable of handling items 25 of varying weights or dimensions. Prior to the item 25 being moved along the Z-axis, the computing environment 115 may cause the robotic system 45 to verify that that an object residing at a holding station 40 is an item 25 intended to be relocated.)
As previously stated, Lisso, Lei, and Girtman are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of conveyor belt sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the container data vertical orientation in Lisso. The motivation for modification would be to provide different conveyance methods for different types of boxes moved within the same conveyor system.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1, however further directed to: [receiving container data indicative of an interior of a container; generating, based on the container data for one or more items inside the container, vertical orientation instructions for positioning a plurality of robotic manipulators relative to the container;]
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Lisso, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches: receiving container data indicative of an interior of a container; generating, based on the container data for one or more items inside the container, vertical orientation instructions for positioning a plurality of robotic manipulators relative to the container; ([col. 10, lines 30-44] In instances where the robotic system 45 includes a robotic arm 55, the robotic arm 55 may have an end effector 68 capable of collecting an item 25, rotating the item 25, translationally displacing the item 25, or performing other appropriate movement to position the item 25 on one of the vertically-configured item handling devices 50. Additionally, the end effector 68 on a robotic arm 55 may be impactive, ingressive, astrictive, or contigutive. In some embodiments, the robotic arm 55 includes two end effectors 68, where each end effector 68 is capable of handling items 25 of varying weights or dimensions. Prior to the item 25 being moved along the Z-axis, the computing environment 115 may cause the robotic system 45 to verify that that an object residing at a holding station 40 is an item 25 intended to be relocated.)
As previously stated, Lisso, Lei, and Girtman are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of conveyor belt sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the container data vertical orientation in Lisso. The motivation for modification would be to provide different conveyance methods for different types of boxes moved within the same conveyor system.
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The method comprising of claim 18,
Girtman further discloses: further comprising: receiving conveyor data indicative of an arrangement of the plurality of items disposed on the conveyor surface of the conveyor system, ([col. 1, lines 65-4] a descrambling conveyor ( or conveyor system) mounted on the mobile body configured to receive the row of cartons from the end effector in the side-by-side orientation, the descrambling conveyor further configured to simultaneously move the row of cartons towards a rear of the robotic carton unloader and to singulate the cartons while they move.) wherein the plurality of robotic manipulators and the conveyor system are disposed on a shared movable base; ([col. 29, lines 15-24] Such a robotic carton unloader may include … a descrambling conveyor (or conveyor system) mounted on the mobile body and configured to unload a row of cartons …) generating, based on the conveyor data, arrangement instructions to arrange the plurality of items in a singulated flow on the conveyor surface; and ([col. 50, lines 60-68] FIGS. 50A-59D address embodiment front-end descramblers of robotic carton unloaders. As described above, in various embodiments, a robotic carton unloader may include front-end descrambler components that may be used to move items (e.g., cartons, boxes, etc.) towards the center of the conveyer system ( e.g., to a herringbone-type central conveyer) of the robotic carton unloader for further processing, such as singulation and descrambling.) controlling, based on the arrangement instructions, at least one section of the conveyor system to move the plurality of items disposed on the conveyor surface. ([col. 50-51, lines 67-10] Such front end descramblers may also be configured to cause items to be moved, descrambled, and singulated. For example, when a series of boxes are placed on a front-end descrambler, the movement of the rollers and/or belts of the front-end descrambler may cause a wide spread of the boxes to be narrowed or moved toward the middle rows of the front-end descrambler (i.e., descrambling), as well as cause separations or gaps to be placed in between the boxes (i.e., singulation).)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girtman, Lei, Lisso, and further in view of Han (CN211768823U, referred to as Han).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Girtman, Lei, and Lisso teaches: The robotic system of claim 7,
Girtman does not explicitly disclose, however Han, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the one or more vertical actuation devices are operable to adjust the vertical position of the vertical mount responsive to: (i) a movement of the one or more items within the container or (ii) an item layout within the container. ([pg. 1, lines 25-29] the handling robot is also used to transport the container between the container placement area and the container temporary storage area. If a container is not available for a short period of time, the handling robot will move it to the container temporary storage area for temporary storage, and for the container handling robot to be used, it will change it to the container placement area in the robot arm work area.).
Han, Girtman, Lei, and Lisso are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of sorting systems with robotic arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the conveyor sorting system of Girtman to enable the container data vertical orientation based on layout in Han. The motivation for modification would be to provide different conveyance methods for different types of boxes moved within the same conveyor system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ATTICUS A CAMERON whose telephone number is 703-756-4535. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A