Claim Interpretation
Claims 23,25-33 limitations in this application that use the word “means” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “unit” are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant arguments dated 2/5/2026 are considered and a new non-final issued.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8,11,19,22,30,33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,12-16,23-27,34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johann et al. ( US20190150184A1) in view of Rao et al. (US20250119785A1) in further view of Alfarhan et al. (US20230337225A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Johann teaches, A user equipment (UE) for uplink data transmission, comprising: a wireless transceiver; and a processor configured with processor-executable instructions to: See Fig3
receive uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity;Fig 2,[61]-As depicted, the BS 210 configures the UE 205 with autonomous transmit opportunities(= resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity)
, such as LTE AUL, configured grant (= receive uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), or other semi-persistent scheduling (see messaging 215).
The UE 205 identifies a next autonomous transmit opportunity (=uplink transmission opportunity)
Johann does not teach, provide the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE; receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information; Store the data associated with the first traffic flow; receive, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; provide, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information.
Rao teaches, provide the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE; [298-299]- a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS). For example, the WTRU may determine whether to use … for transmitting a PDU set in UL based
Store the data associated with the first traffic flow;[290]- A PDU set mapped to the first LCH may use the resources in the first and second CG configuration, for example. Other PDUs mapped to the second LCH may share the resources in the second CG configuration with the PDU mapped from the first LCH(=Store the data associated with the first traffic flow).
receive, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; [309]-For example, the indication (e.g., in new BSR) may indicate one or more of the following: the delay information (e.g., the delay bound of the PDU set and/or the remaining amount of delay), timing information associated with the one or more PDU sets (e.g., remaining time for transmitting the remaining PDU/PDY sets)
transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and [309]- The WTRU may transmit the prioritized plurality of PDUs of the PDU set. For example, the multiplexing of the PDU sets may be done at the MAC entity/sublayer at the WTRU(=transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity). The WTRU may transmit the TBs carrying the one or more PDU sets using resource grant(s) provided by the gNB.
provide, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing . [276]- the WTRU may be configured to differentiate between at least a first type of PDU set and a second type of PDU set when determining/selecting the type of forwarding treatment to apply(=provide, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN).when one or more high importance/priority PDUs in a PDU set are received within the associated QoS, no adverse impact to the application performance may be observed even when some of the other PDUs are delayed or lost
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, provide the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE; Store the data associated with the first traffic flow; receive, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; provide, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing informationas taught by Rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Johann in view of Rao does not teach, timing drift threshold ;receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information
Alfarhan teaches, timing drift threshold[178] - apply an estimated timing correction, notify a gNB of possible timing drift, transmit a RACH message to receive a timing advance to align with the clock, and/or the like(=time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information)
receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information[178] - apply an estimated timing correction, notify a gNB of possible timing drift, transmit a RACH message to receive a timing advance to align with the clock, and/or the like(=time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information).[180]- A WTRU may notify a gNB of a possible timing drift. A WTRU may notify a gNB (e.g., through explicit signaling), for example, based on detecting that a received reference time from a gNB may need an offset (e.g., an additional offset).(=timing drift threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao , timing drift threshold ;receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information as taught by Alfarhan to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 2, Johann does not teach, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions such that the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Rao teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions such that the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity. [213]- The WTRU may modify configuration applied for link adaptation, including adjustments/offsets to transmit power, transmission scheme, MCS, coding rate, etc.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions such that the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 3, Johann teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to receive the uplink resource grant timing information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. [80]- the processor 405 configures the UE for AUL transmission, for example via RRC signaling.
Regarding Claim 4, Johann teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to receive an indication of an uplink period via RRC signaling and receiving a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates an offset value within the uplink period. [80]- the processor 405 configures the UE for AUL transmission, for example via RRC signaling. In certain embodiments, the processor 405 controls the transceiver 425 to send DCI including an uplink grant to the UE. Here, the transceiver 425 sends the uplink grant not later than n−k subframes (or other transmit opportunities) (=offset)
Regarding Claim 5, Johann teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to receive uplink grants in a DCI in a pattern that indicates an uplink period and an offset within the uplink period. [82]- the processor 405 controls the transceiver 425 to send a timing offset k to the UE.
Regarding Claim 12, Johann teaches, A method performed by a modem processor of a user equipment (UE) for uplink data transmission, comprising:: See Fig3
Johann does not teach, providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE ; storing the data associated with the first traffic flow receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information.
Rao teaches, providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE; [298-299]- a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS). For example, the WTRU may determine whether to use … for transmitting a PDU set in UL based
receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information; [299]- For example, a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS)… transmitting a PDU set in UL based on the XR traffic QoS (e.g., PDU set delay bound)(=timing drift)
[298]- may be transmitted by the WTRU after transmitting some of the PDUs of one or more PDU sets and/or when the remaining delay for transmitting some of the PDUs of one or more PDU sets is above/below a delay threshold value.(= the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information)
storing the data associated with the first traffic flow receiving, from the application;[290]- A PDU set mapped to the first LCH may use the resources in the first and second CG configuration, for example. Other PDUs mapped to the second LCH may share the resources in the second CG configuration with the PDU mapped from the first LCH(=Store the data associated with the first traffic flow).
receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow [309]-For example, the indication (e.g., in new BSR) may indicate one or more of the following: the delay information (e.g., the delay bound of the PDU set and/or the remaining amount of delay), timing information associated with the one or more PDU sets (e.g., remaining time for transmitting the remaining PDU/PDY sets)
transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunit; and [309]- The WTRU may transmit the prioritized plurality of PDUs of the PDU set. For example, the multiplexing of the PDU sets may be done at the MAC entity/sublayer at the WTRU(=transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity). The WTRU may transmit the TBs carrying the one or more PDU sets using resource grant(s) provided by the gNB.
providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information. [276]- the WTRU may be configured to differentiate between at least a first type of PDU set and a second type of PDU set when determining/selecting the type of forwarding treatment to apply(=provide, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN).when one or more high importance/priority PDUs in a PDU set are received within the associated QoS, no adverse impact to the application performance may be observed even when some of the other PDUs are delayed or lost
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE ;receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information; storing the data associated with the first traffic flow receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time as taught by Rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Johann in view of Rao does not teach, receiving uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity ;
Alfarhan teaches, timing drift threshold[178] - apply an estimated timing correction, notify a gNB of possible timing drift, transmit a RACH message to receive a timing advance to align with the clock, and/or the like(=time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information)
receiving uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity ;[178] - apply an estimated timing correction, notify a gNB of possible timing drift, transmit a RACH message to receive a timing advance to align with the clock, and/or the like(=time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information).[180]- A WTRU may notify a gNB of a possible timing drift. A WTRU may notify a gNB (e.g., through explicit signaling), for example, based on detecting that a received reference time from a gNB may need an offset (e.g., an additional offset).(=timing drift threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao , receiving uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity ; as taught by Alfarhan to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 13, Johann does not teach, The method of claim 12, wherein the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Rao teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity. . [213]- The WTRU may modify configuration applied for link adaptation, including adjustments/offsets to transmit power, transmission scheme, MCS, coding rate, etc.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, The method of claim 12, wherein the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 14, Johann teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein receiving the uplink resource grant timing information from the RAN comprises receiving the uplink resource grant timing information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. [80]- the processor 405 configures the UE for AUL transmission, for example via RRC signaling.
Regarding Claim 15, Johann teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein receiving the uplink resource grant timing information from the RAN comprises receiving an indication of an uplink period via RRC signaling and receiving a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates an offset value within the uplink period. [80]- the processor 405 configures the UE for AUL transmission, for example via RRC signaling. In certain embodiments, the processor 405 controls the transceiver 425 to send DCI including an uplink grant to the UE. Here, the transceiver 425 sends the uplink grant not later than n−k subframes (or other transmit opportunities) (=offset)
Regarding Claim 16, Johann teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein receiving the uplink resource grant timing information from the RAN comprises receiving uplink grants in a DCI in a pattern that indicates an uplink period and an offset within the uplink period. [82]- the processor 405 controls the transceiver 425 to send a timing offset k to the UE.
Regarding Claim 23, Johann teaches, A user equipment (UE), comprising:means for receiving uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN): See Fig3
the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information;Fig 2,[61]-As depicted, the BS 210 configures the UE 205 with autonomous transmit opportunities(= resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity), such as LTE AUL, configured grant (= receive uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), or other semi-persistent scheduling (see messaging 215). The UE 205 identifies a next autonomous transmit opportunity (=uplink transmission opportunity)
Johann does not teach, means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in the UE; means for receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; means for storing the data associated with the first traffic flow; means for receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; means for transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and means for providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information.
Rao teaches, means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in the UE;; [298-299]- a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS). For example, the WTRU may determine whether to use … for transmitting a PDU set in UL based
means for receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; [299]- For example, a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS)… transmitting a PDU set in UL based on the XR traffic QoS (e.g., PDU set delay bound)(=timing drift)
[298]- may be transmitted by the WTRU after transmitting some of the PDUs of one or more PDU sets and/or when the remaining delay for transmitting some of the PDUs of one or more PDU sets is above/below a delay threshold value.(= the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the upink resource grant timing information)
means for storing the data associated with the first traffic flow;[290]- A PDU set mapped to the first LCH may use the resources in the first and second CG configuration, for example. Other PDUs mapped to the second LCH may share the resources in the second CG configuration with the PDU mapped from the first LCH(=Store the data associated with the first traffic flow).
means for receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; [309]-For example, the indication (e.g., in new BSR) may indicate one or more of the following: the delay information (e.g., the delay bound of the PDU set and/or the remaining amount of delay), timing information associated with the one or more PDU sets (e.g., remaining time for transmitting the remaining PDU/PDY sets)
means for transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and [309]- The WTRU may transmit the prioritized plurality of PDUs of the PDU set. For example, the multiplexing of the PDU sets may be done at the MAC entity/sublayer at the WTRU(=transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity). The WTRU may transmit the TBs carrying the one or more PDU sets using resource grant(s) provided by the gNB.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in the UE; means for receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; means for storing the data associated with the first traffic flow; means for receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; means for transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity n as taught by Rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Johann in view of Rao does not teach, receiving uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity ;
Alfarhan teaches, means for providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information.
[178] - apply an estimated timing correction, notify a gNB of possible timing drift, transmit a RACH message to receive a timing advance to align with the clock, and/or the like(=time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information).[180]- A WTRU may notify a gNB of a possible timing drift. A WTRU may notify a gNB (e.g., through explicit signaling), for example, based on detecting that a received reference time from a gNB may need an offset (e.g., an additional offset).(=timing drift threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao , means for providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information as taught by Alfarhan to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 24, Johann does not teach, The UE of claim 23, wherein the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Rao teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity . [213]- The WTRU may modify configuration applied for link adaptation, including adjustments/offsets to transmit power, transmission scheme, MCS, coding rate, etc.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions such that the uplink resource grant timing information provided to the application comprises an uplink period and an offset value within the uplink period that enables the application to send the data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 25, Johann teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein means for receiving the uplink resource grant timing information from the RAN comprises means for receiving the uplink resource grant timing information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. [80]- the processor 405 configures the UE for AUL transmission, for example via RRC signaling.
Regarding Claim 26, Johann teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein means for receiving the uplink resource grant timing information from the RAN comprises means for receiving an indication of an uplink period via RRC signaling and receiving a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates an offset value within the uplink period. [80]the processor 405 configures the UE for AUL transmission, for example via RRC signaling. In certain embodiments, the processor 405 controls the transceiver 425 to send DCI including an uplink grant to the UE. Here, the transceiver 425 sends the uplink grant not later than n−k subframes (or other transmit opportunities) (=offset)
Regarding Claim 27, Johann teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein means for receiving the uplink resource grant timing information from the RAN comprises means for receiving uplink grants in a DCI in a pattern that indicates an uplink period and an offset within the uplink period. [82]- the processor 405 controls the transceiver 425 to send a timing offset k to the UE.
Claims 6,7,9,17,18,20,28,29,31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johann et al. ( US20190150184A1) in view of Rao et al. (US20250119785A1) in further view of Alfarhan et al. (US20230337225A1)in further view of Moon et al. ( US20180049227A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Johann in view of Rao does not teach, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; receive second application data at a second time; and transmit the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity
Moon teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; receive second application data at a second time; and transmit the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity. [78]-[81] Fig 1 steps s120 – uplink data buffer, s130- allocate resources to ue s140- ue receives uplink grant, information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent). At step S140, the UE may receive the uplink grant from the NB and send the remaining uplink data of 600 bytes.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; receive second application data at a second time; and transmit the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 7, Johann does not teach, The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data.
Moon teaches, The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data. [80]- At step S130, the NB may receive the BSR (=indication) and allocate additional resources to the UE on the basis of the information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent) (= an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data). S140(=store the first application data after receiving the indication)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 9, Johann does not teach, , The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmit opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and transmit the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Moon teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmit opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and transmit the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity. Fig 1, [152]- The UE may examine its buffer status and identify the P-BSI corresponding to the buffer status. The UE identifies the number of successive SR transmissions corresponding to the P-BSI and sends an SR from the current subframe as many times as the number of identified successive SR transmissions.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmit opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and transmit the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 17, Johann in view of Rao does not teach, The method of claim 12, wherein: receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises: receiving first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; and receiving second application data at a second time; and transmitting the first application data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises transmitting the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Moon teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein: receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises: receiving first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; and receiving second application data at a second time; and transmitting the first application data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises transmitting the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity. [78]-[81] Fig 1 steps s120 – uplink data buffer, s130- allocate resources to ue s140- ue receives uplink grant, information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent). At step S140, the UE may receive the uplink grant from the NB and send the remaining uplink data of 600 bytes.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The method of claim 12, wherein: receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises: receiving first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; and receiving second application data at a second time; and transmitting the first application data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises transmitting the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 18, Johann does not teach, The method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data, wherein receiving first application data at the first time and storing the first application data comprises storing the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data.
Moon teaches, The method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data, wherein receiving first application data at the first time and storing the first application data comprises storing the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data. [80]- At step S130, the NB may receive the BSR (=indication) and allocate additional resources to the UE on the basis of the information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent) (= an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data). S140(=store the first application data after receiving the indication)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: receive, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 20, Johann does not teach, The method of claim 12, wherein: receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises receiving, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmission opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and transmitting the data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises transmitting the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Moon teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein: receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises receiving, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmission opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and transmitting the data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises transmitting the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity. Fig 1, [152]- The UE may examine its buffer status and identify the P-BSI corresponding to the buffer status. The UE identifies the number of successive SR transmissions corresponding to the P-BSI and sends an SR from the current subframe as many times as the number of identified successive SR transmissions.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The method of claim 12, wherein: receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises receiving, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmission opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and transmitting the data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises transmitting the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 28, Johann in view of Rao does not teach, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises: means for receiving first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; and means for receiving second application data at a second time; and means for transmitting the first application data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for transmitting the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Moon teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises: means for receiving first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; and means for receiving second application data at a second time; and means for transmitting the first application data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for transmitting the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity. [78]-[81] Fig 1 steps s120 – uplink data buffer, s130- allocate resources to ue s140- ue receives uplink grant, information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent). At step S140, the UE may receive the uplink grant from the NB and send the remaining uplink data of 600 bytes.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises: means for receiving first application data at a first time and storing the first application data; and means for receiving second application data at a second time; and means for transmitting the first application data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for transmitting the second application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the first application data during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 29, Johann does not teach, The UE of claim 28, further comprising: means for receiving, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data, wherein means for receiving first application data at the first time and storing the first application data comprises means for storing the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data.
Moon teaches, The UE of claim 28, further comprising: means for receiving, from the application, an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data, wherein means for receiving first application data at the first time and storing the first application data comprises means for storing the first application data after receiving the indication that it is permissible to store the first application data. [80]- At step S130, the NB may receive the BSR (=indication) and allocate additional resources to the UE on the basis of the information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent) (= an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data). S140(=store the first application data after receiving the indication)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, [80]- At step S130, the NB may receive the BSR (=indication) and allocate additional resources to the UE on the basis of the information contained in the BSR (i.e. existence of 600-byte uplink data to be sent) (= an indication that it is permissible to store the first application data; and store the first application data). S140(=store the first application data after receiving the indication) as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 31, Johann does not teach, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for receiving, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmit opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and means for transmitting the data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for transmitting the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity.
Moon teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for receiving, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmit opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and means for transmitting the data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for transmitting the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunityFig 1, [152]- The UE may examine its buffer status and identify the P-BSI corresponding to the buffer status. The UE identifies the number of successive SR transmissions corresponding to the P-BSI and sends an SR from the current subframe as many times as the number of identified successive SR transmissions.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for receiving, from the application at a time prior to the uplink transmit opportunity, first application data that is generated at a first data time and second application data that is generated at a second data time; and means for transmitting the data to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for transmitting the first application data and an uplink transmission request associated with the second application data during the uplink transmission opportunity as taught by Moon to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 34, Johann teaches, A non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processor in a user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising: See Fig3
receiving uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information;Fig 2,[61]-As depicted, the BS 210 configures the UE 205 with autonomous transmit opportunities(= resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity)
, such as LTE AUL, configured grant (= receive uplink resource grant timing information from a radio access network (RAN), or other semi-persistent scheduling (see messaging 215).
The UE 205 identifies a next autonomous transmit opportunity (=uplink transmission opportunity)
Johann does not teach, the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information;providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UiE;receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity;storing the data associated with the first traffic flow in a buffer;receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow;transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with Page 10 of 19the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; andproviding, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information.
Rao teaches, providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UiE; [298-299]- a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS). For example, the WTRU may determine whether to use … for transmitting a PDU set in UL based
receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity [299]- For example, a PDU set may include one or more PDUs that are associated with a (e.g., one) unit of information generated at an application, and are subject to per-PDU set level quality of service (QOS)… transmitting a PDU set in UL based on the XR traffic QoS (e.g., PDU set delay bound)(=timing drift)
[298]- may be transmitted by the WTRU after transmitting some of the PDUs of one or more PDU sets and/or when the remaining delay for transmitting some of the PDUs of one or more PDU sets is above/below a delay threshold value.(= the uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the upink resource grant timing information)
storing the data associated with the first traffic flow in a buffer;[290]- A PDU set mapped to the first LCH may use the resources in the first and second CG configuration, for example. Other PDUs mapped to the second LCH may share the resources in the second CG configuration with the PDU mapped from the first LCH(=Store the data associated with the first traffic flow).
receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow;; [309]-For example, the indication (e.g., in new BSR) may indicate one or more of the following: the delay information (e.g., the delay bound of the PDU set and/or the remaining amount of delay), timing information associated with the one or more PDU sets (e.g., remaining time for transmitting the remaining PDU/PDY sets)
transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and [309]- The WTRU may transmit the prioritized plurality of PDUs of the PDU set. For example, the multiplexing of the PDU sets may be done at the MAC entity/sublayer at the WTRU(=transmit the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity). The WTRU may transmit the TBs carrying the one or more PDU sets using resource grant(s) provided by the gNB.
providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information. [276]- the WTRU may be configured to differentiate between at least a first type of PDU set and a second type of PDU set when determining/selecting the type of forwarding treatment to apply(=provide, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN).when one or more high importance/priority PDUs in a PDU set are received within the associated QoS, no adverse impact to the application performance may be observed even when some of the other PDUs are delayed or lost
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann, , the uplink resource grant timing information indicating an uplink transmission opportunity at a time that meets a timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information; providing the uplink resource grant timing information to an application executing in a processor of the UE; receiving, from the application, data associated with a first traffic flow for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; storing the data associated with the first traffic flow in a buffer; receiving, from the application, second data associated with a second traffic flow; transmitting the data associated with the first traffic and the second data associated with Page 10 of 19the second traffic flow to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity; and providing, to the application, a timing adjustment associated with receiving the data for transmission to the RAN at the time that meets the timing drift threshold from the uplink resource grant timing information as taught by rao to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Claims 10,21,32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johann et al. ( US20190150184A1) in view of Rao et al. ( US20190124594A1) in further view of Alfarhan et al. (US20230337225A1)in further view of Badic et al. ( US20230337213A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Johann in view of Rao does not teach, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: provide the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information.
Badic teaches, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: provide the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information. [762]- receive resource allocations (for uplink and downlink transmissions). In some aspects, baseband modem 206 may then wirelessly transmit this raw data to traffic filter 8114/8304 in stage 8810.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: provide the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and receive, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information as taught by Badic to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 21, Johann in view of Rao does not teach, The method of claim 12, wherein: providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application executing on the processor of the UE comprises providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information.
Badic teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein: providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application executing on the processor of the UE comprises providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information. [762]- receive resource allocations (for uplink and downlink transmissions). In some aspects, baseband modem 206 may then wirelessly transmit this raw data to traffic filter 8114/8304 in stage 8810.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The method of claim 12, wherein: providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application executing on the processor of the UE comprises providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information. as taught by Badic to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Regarding Claim 32, Johann in view of Rao does not teach, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application executing on the processor of the UE comprises means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information.
Badic teaches, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application executing on the processor of the UE comprises means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information.[762]- receive resource allocations (for uplink and downlink transmissions). In some aspects, baseband modem 206 may then wirelessly transmit this raw data to traffic filter 8114/8304 in stage 8810.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johann in view of Rao, The UE of claim 23, wherein: means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application executing on the processor of the UE comprises means for providing the uplink resource grant timing information to the application via a modem application program interface (API) configured to convey the uplink resource grant timing information to the application; and means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN during the uplink transmission opportunity comprises means for receiving, from the application, data for transmission to the RAN via the API associated with the uplink resource grant timing information as taught by Badic to multiple future SSB’s for synchronization with the information present in first SSB.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478