DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are currently pending, of which claims 13-18 and 21-22 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (US 2020/0045155).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ha discloses an electronic device comprising a housing (110) having a front cover glass (110A) defining at least a portion of a front exterior surface (Fig. 1A, 0043) and a rear cover glass (110B) defining at least a portion of a rear exterior surface (Fig. 1B, 0103). The rear glass comprising colored glass (0031) and in an embodiment comprising a glass substrate (1103) having a first portion having a first thickness and a second thickness different from the first thickness, such that the first thickness is less than the second thickness, wherein the first portion varies in thickness from the first thickness to the second thickness and is disposed at an area of the color glass distal from an edge portion of the housing; wherein a portion of the color glass between the first portion and the edge portion of the housing has the first thickness (see annotated figure below); a protective layer (1125; instant attaching layer) disposed under the glass and an optical pattern layer (1120; instant printed layer) disposed under the protective layer such that the protective layer is disposed between the glass substrate and pattern layer and attached to the respective surfaces (Fig. 11, 0107 and 0130).
Regarding claim 3, Ha teaches where the surfaces of the protective layer are parallel (Fig. 11).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Ha teaches that the first portion of the glass substrate includes a first boundary defined by the first thickness and a second boundary defined by the second thickness and connected by an inclined connection part (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Ha teaches a camera (112) partially covered by the rear cover glass (Fig. 1B, 0033).
Regarding claim 11, Ha teaches a display (101) at least partially covered by the front cover glass (Fig. 1A, 0034).
Regarding claim 12, Ha teaches wherein a surface of the pattern layer faced the glass and the surfaces of the pattern layer are parallel (Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Ha discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Ha does not teach thicknesses for the protective layer, pattern layer, or glass. However, as the present specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been an obvious modification to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the thickness of the protective layer based on routine experimentation, for the purpose of optimizing operation of the device. Said obvious modifications including, selecting a thickness required for a given end use including having the thickness of the protective layer being different form a thickness of the pattern layer (as claimed in claim 6) and different from the first and second thicknesses of the first portion of the glass (as claimed in claim 7). Such modifications would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2D 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is no patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to vary the protective layer thickness to create a device with a thickness required for a given end use.
Regarding claim 8, Ha teaches that the glass substrate includes colored glass (0031) and the protective layer may include light transmissive PET (0080). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that colored glass will have a different color from and PET layer.
Regarding claim 9, Ha teaches the glass including a colored layer (0031) and that the pattern layer includes a color (0138), Ha does not expressly teach the colored glass having a different color from the pattern layer, however, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” to adjust the color of the components to be different as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ha does not teach or suggest wherein a portion of the color glass between the first portion and the edge portion has the first thickness as Ha merely discloses a structure with a portion having a constant thickness which is the same as the second thickness.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. It is again noted that as applicant has not defined which edge of the housing the first portion is distal from, there exists an edge e.g., the opposite edge of the housing from which the first portion is distal and, there exists a portion between the first portion and the edge which has the same thickness as the first thickness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akieda et al. (US 2009/0068404) discloses a decorative casing.
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781