Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 24 February 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alfarhan.
The indicated allowability of claims 9-10 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Gaal. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, based on the following guidance.
The structure described in the specification at least in paras. 85 and 87, and fig. 9B is generally recognized in the electric art (such as a computer, processor, specialized hardware, specialized software, etc., to realize the invention). Therefore, Examiner finds the claims are reasonably supported by the structure described in the specification pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) and (b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs, whether or not 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 2024/0172272, as supported by the corresponding figures and passages of U.S. Provisional application No. 63/185,064) in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 2024/0381429 as supported by the corresponding figures and passages of US Provisional application No. 63/228,903). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Xiong discloses a method, comprising: indicating, by a User Equipment (UE) (fig. 1, Msg1), a characteristic of the UE (fig. 6; paras. 55-71; note: a preamble and/or RACH occasion (RO) indicating a combination of RedCap / non-RedCap and Msg3 repetition / no Msg3 repetition; note: PRACH resources as reserved preambles and/or SSBs for the different characteristic types), the characteristic of the UE including at least one of the following: the UE is a reduced-capability UE and has a Msg3 repetition capability, the UE is a reduced-capability UE and lacks a Msg3 repetition, the UE is not a reduced-capability UE and has a Msg3 repetition capability, and the UE is not a reduced-capability UE and lacks a Msg3 repetition capability (paras. 55-71; note: one or more preambles and/or one or more ROs assigned to the different characteristics; para. 14, especially the second and last three sentences; para. 33; note: PRACH resources as separate occasions, reserved preambles and/or SSBs)
However, Xiong fails to disclose wherein the indicating of the characteristic of the UE comprises: transmitting a first preamble indicating whether the UE is a reduced-capacity UE, and transmitting a second preamble indicating whether the UE has a Msg3 repetition capability. Alfarhan discloses a UE sending two preambles in different ROs to indicate a feature or capability of the UE (figs. 2-5; paras. 5, 93, 95 and 98; para. 82, RedCap indication for reduced capacity and Covenh indication for Mgs3 repetition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the indicating of the characteristic of the UE comprises: transmitting a first preamble indicating whether the UE is a reduced-capacity UE, and transmitting a second preamble indicating whether the UE has a Msg3 repetition capability in the invention of Xiong. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing separate signaling over time to indicate a feature or capability as is known in the art (Alfarhan, figs. 2-5 and paras. 5, 82, 93, 95 and 98; note: avoiding exponential growth of RACH partitions based on the number of feature combinations; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the indicating comprises indicating the characteristic implicitly (Xiong, paras. 55-71 and 149; note: a shared RO for sending a preamble implicitly indicates a characteristic partially).
Regarding claim 3, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 2, wherein the indicating comprises sending a preamble in a Random Access Channel (RACH) Occasion (RO), the RO corresponding to the characteristic (Xiong, paras. 55-71 and 149; note: shared ROs partially indicating a characteristic (i.e., RedCap / non-RedCap) with different preambles in the RO completing the characteristic (i.e., Msg3 repetition / no Msg3 repetition; Alfarhan, para. 95 and fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 4, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 2, wherein the indicating comprises sending a preamble in a Random Access Channel (RACH) Occasion (RO), the preamble corresponding to the characteristic (Xiong, paras. 55-71 and 149; note: shared ROs partially indicating a characteristic (i.e., RedCap / non-RedCap) with different preambles in the RO completing the characteristic (i.e., Msg3 repetition / no Msg3 repetition).
Regarding claim 5, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 2, wherein the indicating comprises sending a preamble in a Random Access Channel (RACH) Occasion (RO), the combination of the preamble and the RO corresponding to the characteristic (Xiong, paras. 55-71 and 149; note: shared ROs partially indicating a characteristic (i.e., RedCap / non-RedCap) with different preambles in the RO completing the characteristic (i.e., Msg3 repetition / no Msg3 repetition; note: preamble selection as an explicit indicator – fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, comprising sending the first preamble in a Msg1 transmitted in a first Random Access Channel (RACH) Occasion (RO) (Xiong, paras. 55-71 and 149; note: shared ROs partially indicating a characteristic (i.e., RedCap / non-RedCap) with different preambles in the RO completing the characteristic (i.e., Msg3 repetition / no Msg3 repetition); Alfarhan, para. 98).
Regarding claim 7, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the indicating comprises sending the second preamble, after sending the first preamble (Alfarhan, para. 7, last sentence and para. 95).
Regarding claim 8, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 6, wherein the indicating comprises sending the second preamble in a second RO corresponding to the first RO (Alfarhan, para. 7, last sentence and para. 95; note: a second RO following the first RO in time).
Regarding claim 11, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 6, wherein the indicating comprises sending a sequence-based transmission, after sending the first preamble (Alfarhan, para. 95; note: a (second Msg1) preamble is a sequence-based transmission as noted in para. 81 of the specification of the instant application).
Regarding claims 12-19, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1-8, respectively. In addition, Xiong discloses a User Equipment (UE), comprising (fig. 8, item 802; paras. 114-115 and 118): a processing circuit; and memory, operatively connected to the processing circuit and storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuit, cause the UE to perform (paras. 221-222) the method of claims 1-6.
Regarding claim 20, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 12 where the means is processing circuitry.
Regarding claim 21, Xiong in view of Alfarhan teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein: the UE that is a reduced-capacity UE and has a Msg3 repetition capability corresponds to a first resource set, the first resource set is selected from resources overlapping a first group of resources and a second group of resources; the UE that is a reduced-capacity UE and lacks a Msg3 repetition capability corresponds to a second resource set, the second resource set is selected from resources in the first group of resources excluding the resources in a first resource set; and the UE that is not a reduced-capacity UE and has a Msg3 repetition capability corresponds to a first resource set, the third resource set is selected from resources in the second group of resources excluding the resources in the first resource set (Xiong, fig. 6; paras. 55-71; note: preambles indicating different characteristics, for example in fig. 6, preambles 0-19 are a first and second group of overlapping resources by association with SSB#0, and a first group of preambles is 0-15 with preambles 0-7 as a first resource set, preambles 8-15 as a second resource set, and a second group of preambles is 16-19 with preambles 16-19 as a third resource set, where combinations of RedCap / non-RedCap and Msg3 repetition / no Msg3 repetition are indicated by preambles – para. 55 for further partitioning and differentiating types of UEs).
Regarding claim 22, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 21.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Alfarhan as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Gaal et al. (US 20170202028). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 9, Xiong in view of Alfarhan fails to teach and make obvious the method of claim 6, wherein the indicating comprises sending a first unmodulated signal occupying a first resource element, after sending the first preamble. However, Gaal discloses this feature (fig. 3, preamble 1 followed by preamble 3; note: the preambles are single-tone (unmodulated) signals as noted in the specification of the instant application in para. 74; paras 7 and 62 (last two sentences); note: a resource block comprises resource elements as is known in the art; para. 76 of the specification of the instant application). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the indicating comprises sending a first unmodulated signal occupying a first resource element, after sending the first preamble in the invention of Xiong in view of Alfarhan. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, transmitting signaling in resource blocks as is known in the art (Gaal, fig. 3, and paras. 7, 62 and 67; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 10, Xiong in view of Alfarhan and Gaal teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 9, wherein the indicating further comprises sending a second unmodulated signal occupying a second resource element, after sending the first unmodulated signal (Gaal, fig. 3, and paras. 7, 62 and 67; note: a second preamble comprises unmodulated signals transmitted in different resource blocks (and hence elements)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kwak et al. (US 20220321166) discloses repeating a preamble based on a frequency hopping pattern (para. 117 and fig. 7; note: the combination of Xiong and Kwak discloses transmitting first and second (identical) preambles where both preambles indicate whether a UE is reduced-capacity and has Msg3 repetition capability). Hwang et la. (US 2016/0302080) discloses repeating a Msg1 preamble (para. 177 and fig. 12; note: the combination of Xiong and Hwang discloses transmitting first and second (identical) preambles where both preambles indicate whether a UE is reduced-capacity and has Msg3 repetition capability).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462