DETAILED ACTION
The rejections under section 112(a) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments limiting the instant constructs to those with support in the specification.
The rejection under section 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The following are new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 20, 21, 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The groups defined for Z in claim 21 do not have antecedent basis in claim 18. Therefore, it is unclear what structures Applicant intends to cover.
In claim 18, it is unclear what antibody fragments Applicant intends to cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 21, 23, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., Chin Med J. 2000 Feb;113(2):151-3, Abstract, (Li) in view of WO 2014065661 (WO 661).
Li teaches anti-erb2 (i.e., anti-Her2) antibodies conjugated to IL-2 by a sulfosuccinimidyl 4-[N-maleimidomethyl] cyclohexane-1-carboxylate heterobifunctional linker.
The recited linkages were known, for example WO 661 teaches conjugates of antibodies and a molecule of interest (defined as “D”):
The molecule of interest is protein, peptide or amino acid (i.e., antibody fragment).
The molecule of interest can include biological molecules (page 36), which include the recited cytokines.
See page 35.
WO 661 teaches the structure of the instant conjugates:
Antibodies with the required specificities are taught, see page 17.
The molecule of interest can include biological molecules (page 36), which include the recited cytokines. Nonetheless, Li teaches anti-erb2 (i.e., anti-Her2) antibodies conjugateed to sulfosuccinimidyl 4-[N-maleimidomethyl] cyclohexane-1-carboxylate heterobifunctional linker.
Accordingly, WO 661 teaches that the recited linkers are applicable to antibody-IL conjugates. Specifically, WO 661 teaches that the particular known technique of using the recited linkers in antibody conjugates was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to antibody conjugates, such as antibody-IL conjugates, would have yielded predictable results. Therefore, the difference between the recited references and the claimed inventions is that the references may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, the references teach the structural elements of the claimed constructs with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646