DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction between inventions I and II in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed method necessarily requires the specific radiofrequency controller and AI-based parameter optimization architecture that is embodied in the claimed system. This is not found persuasive because the claimed limitations of method claims 1-8 are not positively recited in the system of claim 9. The claimed system of claim 9 claims a system of a controller, a plasma wand with sensors configured to collect data of a target substance and surrounding environment of a target substance that is transferred to a radiofrequency ablation controller, and a controlling foot switch. The invention of claim 9 does not recite the specific artificial intelligence parameter optimization and synthesis of the invention of claims 1-8, and therefore the system of claim 9 could be used to practice a materially different process outside of the method of Group I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The use of periods in S1-S4 are improper, as periods are only used for the end of a sentence to end a sentence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite processing signals, importing signals, amplifying and filtering data, computing sensor signal data, constructing decision matrices, and assigning threshold values. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited components (a controller, sensors, and plasma wand) do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the functions performed by the controller, sensors, and plasma wand are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions as recognized in the art. See further the Two Prong Analysis below.
Regarding claim 1, Step 1: Does the claim recite a statutory category?
Yes, claim 1 recites a method and a series of steps.
Step 2A – Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of preprocessing sample data, performing computations on that data, and importing said data into an artificial neural network via a controller. These limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a controller comprising a processor and an artificial intelligence module”, nothing in the claimed elements precludes the steps from being practically performed in the mind. For example, but for the “controller comprising a processor and an artificial intelligence module” language, the claim encompasses a user being able to process sample data, perform computations on the sample data, and import sensor data. The mere nominal recitation of a generic processor does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processing grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Step 2A Prong 2: Is the Judicial Exception Integrated into a practical application?
No. The claim recites additional elements: performing, by the artificial intelligence module, fuzzy computing on preprocessed sample data and establishing an artificial neural network model. The performing of fuzzy computing is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means for calculation steps) and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer (the artificial neural network and the processor). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception to a generic computer component. According, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The fuzzy computing and establishing of a neural network model although for an output source is not actually used for other activity. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim provide an inventive concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere extra solution activity to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
There is no indication that the processor/controller/artificial neural network model is anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component. the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Accordingly, the conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Regarding claims 2-8, the claims as presented do not offer any additional limitations or components that otherwise integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, there are no inventive concepts in the claims, and thus they are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim states “… wherein the sensors comprise voltage, current, impedance, temperature, humidity, contact force, and the like.” The phrase “and the like” renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by the phrase “and the like”), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable. See MPEP 2173.05 (d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wham (US 2020/0265309).
Regarding claim 1, Wham teaches
“A method for artificial intelligence-based radiofrequency ablation parameter optimization and information synthesis (Fig. 2, 5, 6A),”
“the method being applied to a radiofrequency ablation controller (Figs. 2 and 5, controller 500) comprising a processor (Fig. 5, processor 520) and an artificial intelligence module (Fig. 5, FPGAs 550, as described p.[0089-0092], with storge device 510 that stores machine learning algorithms of controller 500 trained on experimental data and/or data from previous procedures);”
“the method comprising: S1. preprocessing, by the processor of the radiofrequency ablation controller, sample data, wherein the sample data is sensor parameters of a target substance and a surrounding environment of the target substance, and sending, by the processor, the preprocessed sample data to the artificial intelligence module (Fig. 6A, step 604a, p.[0098] describes taking data from tissue properties and sending said data to train the neural network)”
“S2. performing, by the artificial intelligence module, fuzzy computing on the preprocessed sample data and radiofrequency ablation control parameters for the sample data, and establishing an artificial neural network model, wherein the control parameters comprise ablation occurrence time, ablation trigger time, and energy frequency (Fig. 6A, step 602a, and Fig. 7- 8, p.[0091] that teaches machine learning on data gathered from the tissue that are preprocessed, p.[0098] that teaches the neural network may be used for training data such as impedance, power, time, tissue electrical properties, which constitute as ablation occurrence time, ablation trigger time, and energy frequency)”
“S3. preprocessing, by the processor, signals collected by sensors on a plasma wand (probe 1112, p.[0105]) and sends the preprocessed signals to the artificial intelligence module (Fig. 6A, step 602a, p.[0097, 0105])”
“S4. importing, by the artificial intelligence module, preprocessed sensor data into the artificial neural network model established in the step S2 for analysis and fusion, to obtain the radiofrequency ablation control parameters (Fig. 6A, step 608a, p.[0101])”.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Wham teaches
“the method being applied to the radiofrequency ablation controller, wherein a signal input end of the radiofrequency ablation controller is connected to a signal output end of each sensor on the plasma wand, and the radiofrequency ablation controller outputs a control parameter of the plasma wand (p.[0101-0102], with a control parameter being the tissue sealing algorithm).”
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Wham teaches “wherein the sensors comprise voltage, current, impedance, temperature, humidity, contact force, and the like (p.[0098])”.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Wham teaches the limitations
“wherein the steps S1 and S3, the preprocessing further comprises: S1-1. amplifying (pre-amplifier in p.[0085]) and filtering sensor signal data (p.[0114-0115], Filters in step 804)”
“S1-2. performing signal adjustment comprising linear and nonlinear correction on the filtered signal data (Figs. 7-8, where convolutional layers use linear and nonlinear correction on the data as described in p.[0110-0117])”.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL BOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794