DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 15-17, 26, 27 and 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith N. Gray et al. U.S. Patent 5,707,904 (Gray) in view of Naresh R. Mehta et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0178322 A1 (Mehta) in view of James E. Dye et al. U.S. Patent 2009/0321001 A1 (Dye).
Regarding claims 1, 6-8, 15, and 16 and 26, Gray discloses a method and billboard sheeting material, comprising: a polyester scrim of billboard-scale dimensions (Column 1 Line 10-20 Column 3 Line 12-34), the polyester scrim (Element 30) having a first side and a second side; and a coating (claim 27) applied on the first side of the scrim to impart opacity to the billboard sheeting material (Column 2 Line 5-9), wherein no coating is applied on the second side of the scrim (abstract and claim 1 recitation of “at least one side”). Gray does not directly disclose the weight of the scrim and the denier yarn measurement. Mehta discloses the material comprising a material wherein the scrim has a weight of less than 2 ounces per square yard; wherein the material weighs less than 1.5 ounces per square yard; wherein the material weighs less than 7 ounce per square yard to 5 ounces per square yard ([0034]); wherein the material is made of at least about 420 or 500 denier yarn ([0038]); and wherein coatings applied to the scrim include a PVC coating ([0033-0035]).
Therefore it would have been have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify Gray as taught by Mehta to include Mehta’s scrim weight and composition, and PVC coating specific to application on the scrim. Such a modification would provide a means to provide a display on a material with alternative material properties.
Gray in view of Mehta does not directly disclose the PVC coating laminated directly to the first side of the scrim. Dye discloses a one pass direct lamination process wherein PVC coating is laminated on the scrim directly on one or both sides ([0029]).
Therefore it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to modify Gray in view of Mehta as taught by Dye to include Dye’s single process direct lamination of the PVC coating on the scrim. Such a modification would provide a means to efficiently provide a finished scrim material to optimize the performance properties of the material.
Regarding claim 2, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material wherein the polyester scrim is unpigmented or white (Column 3 Line 12-34, Gray).
Regarding claim 3, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material comprising the polyester scrim (Element 30). Gray does not directly disclose the polyester scrim to be black. Mehta discloses the scrim to be black ([0020]). Such a modification would provide a means to display on a material with an alternative finish.
Regarding claims 10, and 29, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the method and material wherein the PVC coating comprises at least one of thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), polylactide acid (PLA), synthetic rubbers (CSM) such as chlorosulfonated polyethylene (CSPE), reactive polyurethane (PUR), ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), thermoplastic olefin (TPO), or another material; wherein the coating comprises white PVC (Column 1 Line 21-29; claim 28, Gray in view of Mehta).
Regarding claims 11, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material wherein the PVC coating includes an additive selected from the group consisting of: a processing aid, an adhesion aid, a filler, a heat stabilizer, a UV stabilizer, an anti- frost agent, an antimicrobial agent, a flame retardant, a pigment or a colorant (Column 2 Line 62-Column 3 Line 11, Gray in view of Mehta).
Regarding claim 12, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material characterized by a butterfly tear strength of at least about 30 lbs in the fill direction, and at least about 45 lbs in the warp direction (Column 4 Line 16-30, Gray).
Regarding claim 13, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material wherein opaque coating is applied to translucent coatings and thereby inherently alter the opacity of the material (Column 2 Line 5-8, Gray). Gray does not directly disclose the material characterized by an opacity of at least about 85%. The variation of opacity is a design modification based on the design preferences of the display specifications. It would be obvious to provide the amount of coating needed to yield the desired opacity of the display finish material.
Regarding claim 17, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material further comprising creative content printed on the coating (Column 1 Line 10-20, Gray).
Regarding claim 27, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the method wherein the coating is extruded during lamination in a single-pass operation (Column 5 Line 7-17, Gray).
Regarding claim 30, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the method further comprising rolling the billboard sheeting material to facilitate downstream processing (Column 5 Line 7-46, Gray).
Regarding claims 31-33, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the material wherein the PVC coating is extruded as a thin film and laminated in a single pass operation ([0024-0033], laminated layer single pass various material and forms disclosed); wherein the coating does not involve use of a tie-coat or through-bonding ([0024-0030], various material not limited); wherein the scrim of billboard scale dimensions is seamless (provided as single sheet as disclosed Mehta).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naresh R. Mehta et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0178322 A1 (Mehta) in view of Keith N. Gray et al. U.S. Patent 5,707,904 (Gray) in view of James E. Dye et al. U.S. Patent 2009/0321001 A1 (Dye).
Regarding claims 18-20, Mehta discloses a billboard sheeting material having dimensions and overall weight ([0034-0038]). Mehta does not directly disclose the dimension to be about 20x60 ft and the weight to be less than 65 or 53 lbs. Dimensional weight and material weight is a design modification well known in the art. Such a modification would provide a means to provide a material with the preferred material properties for the best application for displaying information. Gray discloses the material comprising a polyester scrim coated with PVC on a single side and wherein opaque coating is applied to translucent coatings and thereby inherently alter the opacity of the material (Column 2 Line 5-8, Gray).
Therefore it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify Mehta as taught by Gray to include Gray’s opaque coating. Such a modification would provide a means to alter the display.
Mehta in view of Gray does not directly disclose the material characterized by an opacity of at least about 85%. The variation of opacity is a design modification based on the design preferences of the display specifications. It would be obvious to provide the amount of coating needed to yield the desired opacity of the display finish material.
Mehta in view of Gray does not directly disclose the PVC coating laminated directly to the first side of the scrim. Dye discloses a one pass direct lamination process wherein PVC coating is laminated on the scrim directly on one or both sides ([0029]).
Therefore it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to modify Mehta in view of Gray as taught by Dye to include Dye’s single process direct lamination of the PVC coating on the scrim. Such a modification would provide a means to efficiently provide a finished scrim material to optimize the performance properties of the material.
Claim(s) 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith N. Gray et al. U.S. Patent 5,707,904 (Gray) in view of Naresh R. Mehta et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0178322 A1 (Mehta) in view of James E. Dye et al. U.S. Patent 2009/0321001 A1 (Dye) in view of Glenn Gerrard R. Gatuslao U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0146121 A1 (Gatuslao).
Regarding claims 21-25, Gray in view of Mehta in view of Dye discloses the billboard sheeting material. Gray does not directly disclose the billboard to comprise a pole and frame. Gatuslao discloses a billboard comprising: a pole (Element 1); a signage frame (Figure 2) mounted on the pole: and the billboard sheeting material (Element 3) attached to the signage frame; further comprising creative content printed (Ads) on the billboard sheeting material; further comprising an extension or an embellishment (rotating feature); integrated with a public utility or a public lighting feature ([0021]); and a method of facilitating the manufacture of a billboard, comprising: providing the billboard sheeting material of claim 1 to a billboard manufacturing operation (Figure 1-3).
Therefore it would have been have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify in view of Mehta in view of Dye as taught by Gatuslao to include Gatuslao’s billboard structure. Such a modification would provide a means to apply the scrim material to a display system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Single pass procedure is known and disclosed in Dye. Providing the variation of direct coating n one or both sides of a scrim in a single pass process is also disclosed in Dye ([0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636