DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 5/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, and no claims have been canceled. The new grounds of rejection presented below are necessitated by the amendments. Accordingly, this Office Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits on pages 6-7 that claim 1, as amended, recites "a battery electrically connected to the wireless power receiver through an associated battery protection circuitry, wherein an electrical connection between the wireless power receiver and the battery is devoid of a battery charger circuitry." Partovi fails to disclose such features.
The examiner submits that the above recited phrase does not make sense, especially the phrase “an electrical connection between the wireless power receiver and the battery is devoid of a battery charger circuitry.” The circuitry connected to the battery in the instant application (Fig. 2) is clearly a charging circuit (wireless charging battery pack 300) that has circuitry between the wireless power receiver and the battery, wherein the circuitry performs charging on the battery (Fig. 4 and abstract). Furthermore, an electrical connection between the wireless power receiver and the battery being devoid of a battery charger circuitry does not appear to be mentioned in the Specification and does not appear to be supported by the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “an electrical connection between the wireless power receiver and the battery is devoid of a battery charger circuitry,” does not appear to be mentioned anywhere in the Specification and does not appear to be supported by any of the figures. The circuitry connected to the battery in the instant application (Fig. 2) is clearly a charging circuit (wireless charging battery pack 300) that performs charging on the battery (Fig. 4). The abstract recites that the battery pack is capable of charging via a wireless power charger.
Claims 9 and 12 recite similar limitations and are therefore also rejected under lack of written description.
Claims 2-8, 10-11, and 13-20, which depend from one of claims 1, 9, and 12, inherit and do not appear to overcome the deficiencies of claim 1, 9, and 12 and are therefore also rejected under lack of written description.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrases
a) a battery electrically connected to the wireless power receiver through associated battery protection circuitry
b) an electrical connection between the wireless power receiver and the battery is devoid of a battery charger circuitry
c) wherein the electrical output from the associated battery protection circuitry is directly provided to the battery for charging purpose
do not appear to be logically compatible as the associated battery circuitry, between the wireless power receiver and battery, appears to be functioning as battery charger circuitry.
Claims 9 and 12 recite similar limitations and are therefore also rejected as being indefinite.
Claims 2-8, 10-11, and 13-20, which depend from one of claims 1, 9, and 12, inherit and do not appear to overcome the deficiencies of claim 1, 9, and 12 and are therefore also rejected as being indefinite.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the phrase “an electrical connection between the wireless power receiver and the battery is devoid of a battery charger circuitry” as omitted in claims 1, 9, and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Partovi (US 20130093390 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Partovi teaches a battery pack (Fig. 6 and ¶0089: battery pack) comprising:
a wireless power receiver (Fig. 6: receiver coil) configured to generate an electrical output (¶[64. 70]: receiver is used to charge a battery);
a battery (Fig. 6: battery) electrically connected to the wireless power receiver through associated battery protection circuitry (¶[59, esp. 96, 263]: charge is entering battery directly through onboard wireless power receiver and circuitry),
a processor (Fig. 6: Micro Controller) electrically connected to the wireless power receiver;
wherein the processor configures the electrical output of the wireless power receiver, based at least in part on a charge level of the battery, such that an output voltage and an output current of the electrical output are updated in coordination with a predetermined charging profile, wherein the electrical output is provided directly from the wireless power receiver to the battery protection circuitry (Fig. 8 and ¶0092: Multiple stages of battery charging are implemented with the wireless power charger and receiver microcontrollers monitoring the battery cell voltage, current, etc. and working in tandem and to provide appropriate voltage, current, etc. for safe charging for any type of battery.), and wherein the electrical output from the associated battery protection circuitry is directly provided to the battery for charging purpose (¶[59, esp. 96, 263]: charge is entering battery directly through onboard wireless power receiver and circuitry).
Regarding claim 2, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 1, further comprising a housing, wherein the housing encloses the battery, the processor, and the wireless power receiver (Fig. 6 and ¶0089: battery pack housing contains the battery, microcontroller, and receiver coil).
Regarding claim 3, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 1, wherein the predetermined charging profile is selected based on a chemical composition of the battery (Fig. 8 and ¶0091: a typical charge cycle 180 for a Lithium Ion battery).
Regarding claim 4, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 1, wherein the predetermined charging profile comprises at least a constant current stage (Fig. 8 and ¶0092: Stage 1) and a constant voltage stage (Stage 2).
Regarding claim 6, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 1, wherein an operating power is supplied to the processor that is not regulated by a low-dropout voltage regulator (Partovi does not use a low-dropout voltage regulator).
Regarding claim 7, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 6, wherein the operating power supplied to the processor is supplied by the battery (The microprocessor being powered by the battery falls within the scope of Partovi).
Regarding claim 8, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 1, wherein the processor transmits control messages to the wireless power receiver to regulate the output voltage and the output current supplied by the wireless power receiver to the battery (¶0076: a microcontroller unit makes appropriate adjustments to the charger coil drive circuitry to achieve the desired output voltage).
Regarding independent claim 9, Partovi teaches a computer program product for controlling battery charging, the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code portions stored therein (¶0302), the computer-readable program code portions comprising an executable portion configured to:
receive, at a processor (Fig. 6: Micro Controller), a charge value corresponding to a charge level of a battery (Fig. 6: battery) (¶0092: battery voltage and current are monitored by microcontroller);
determine a charge state according to a predetermined charging profile, corresponding to the charge value (¶0092 and Fig. 8: according to the voltage of the cell and the charging profile, a current is supplied);
determine an output voltage and an output current based at least in part on the charge value and the predetermined charging profile (¶0092 and Fig. 8); and
configure an electrical output of a wireless power receiver, to produce power according to the determined output voltage and the determined output current (¶0092 and Fig. 8), wherein the electrical output of the wireless power receiver is directly supplied from the wireless power receiver to the battery protection circuitry associated with the battery, wherein the electrical output from the battery protection circuitry is directly provided to the battery (¶[59, esp. 96, 263]: charge is entering battery directly through onboard wireless power receiver and circuitry).
Regarding claim 10, Partovi teaches the computer program product of Claim 9, wherein the battery comprises a housing, wherein the housing encloses the battery, the processor, and the wireless power receiver (Fig. 6 and ¶0089: battery pack housing contains the battery, microcontroller, microcontroller and receiver coil).
Regarding claim 11, Partovi teaches the computer program product of Claim 9, wherein the predetermined charging profile comprises at least a constant current stage (Fig. 8 and ¶0092: Stage 1) and a constant voltage stage (Stage 2).
Regarding independent claim 14, Partovi teaches a method for controlling battery charging in a wireless battery pack (Fig. 6: battery pack), the method comprising:
receiving, at a processor (Fig. 6: Micro Controller), a charge value corresponding to a charge level of a battery (Fig. 6: battery) (¶0092: battery voltage and current are monitored by microcontroller);
determining a charge state according to a predetermined charging profile, corresponding to the charge value (¶0092 and Fig. 8: according to the voltage of the cell and the charging profile, a current is supplied);
determining an output voltage and an output current based at least in part on the charge value and the predetermined charging profile (¶0092 and Fig. 8); and
configuring an electrical output of a wireless power receiver, to produce power according to the determined output voltage and the determined output current (¶0092 and Fig. 8), wherein the electrical output of the wireless power receiver is directly supplied from the wireless power receiver to battery protection circuitry associated with the battery (¶[59, esp. 96, 263]: charge is entering battery directly through onboard wireless power receiver and circuitry), wherein the electrical output from the battery protection circuitry is directly provided to the battery (¶[59, esp. 96, 263]: charge is entering battery directly through onboard wireless power receiver and circuitry),
Regarding claim 15, Partovi teaches the method of Claim 14, wherein the battery comprises a housing, wherein the housing encloses the battery, the processor, and the wireless power receiver (Fig. 6 and ¶0089: battery pack housing contains the battery, microcontroller, microcontroller and receiver coil).
Regarding claim 16, Partovi teaches the method of Claim 14, wherein the predetermined charging profile comprises at least a constant current stage (Fig. 8 and ¶0092: Stage 1) and a constant voltage stage (Stage 2).
Regarding claim 19, Partovi teaches the method of Claim 14, wherein an operating power is supplied to the processor that is not regulated by a low-dropout voltage regulator (Partovi does not use a low-dropout voltage regulator).
Regarding claim 20, Partovi teaches the method of Claim 19, wherein the operating power supplied to the processor is provided by the battery (The microprocessor being powered by the battery falls within the scope of Partovi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partovi in view of the Van Der Velden et al. (US 20080315845 A1, published 2008-12-25), hereinafter referred to as Velden.
Regarding claim 5, Partovi teaches the battery pack of Claim 4.
Partovi does not explicitly teach wherein the constant current stage comprises at least a first constant current stage and a second constant current stage, wherein a first current supplied to the battery in the first constant current stage is less than a second current supplied to the battery in the second constant current stage.
Velden teaches a constant current stage comprising a first constant current stage (Fig. 1b and ¶0006: preconditioning phase (phase I) with precharging current II) and a second constant current stage (current regulation phase (phase II) with constant regulation current III), wherein a first current supplied to the battery in the first constant current stage is less than a second current supplied to the battery in the second constant current stage (Fig. 1b: II is less than III).
Partovi and Velden both teach a charging profile for a battery. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the charging profile in Velden into the charging profile in Partovi to improve the charging efficiency of the battery and help extend battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 12, Partovi teaches the computer program product of Claim 11.
Partovi does not explicitly teach wherein the constant current stage comprises at least a first constant current stage and a second constant current stage, wherein a first current supplied to the battery in the first constant current stage is less than a second current supplied to the battery in the second constant current stage.
Velden teaches a constant current stage comprising a first constant current stage (Fig. 1b and ¶0006: preconditioning phase (phase I) with precharging current II) and a second constant current stage (current regulation phase (phase II) with constant regulation current III), wherein a first current supplied to the battery in the first constant current stage is less than a second current supplied to the battery in the second constant current stage (Fig. 1b: II is less than III).
Partovi and Velden both teach a charging profile for a battery. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the charging profile in Velden into the charging profile in Partovi to improve the charging efficiency of the battery and help extend battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 13, Partovi in view of Velden teaches the computer program product of Claim 12, wherein the constant voltage stage comprises reducing the output current of the wireless power receiver to maintain a constant output voltage (Partovi - Fig. 8, stage 2 ; Velden Fig. 1b, phase II: voltage is maintained while current is decreased).
Regarding claim 17, Partovi teaches the method of Claim 16.
Partovi does not explicitly teach wherein the constant current stage comprises at least a first constant current stage and a second constant current stage, wherein a first current supplied to the battery in the first constant current stage is less than a second current supplied to the battery in the second constant current stage.
Velden teaches a constant current stage comprising a first constant current stage (Fig. 1b and ¶0006: preconditioning phase (phase I) with precharging current II) and a second constant current stage (current regulation phase (phase II) with constant regulation current III), wherein a first current supplied to the battery in the first constant current stage is less than a second current supplied to the battery in the second constant current stage (Fig. 1b: II is less than III).
Partovi and Velden both teach a charging profile for a battery. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the charging profile in Velden into the charging profile in Partovi to improve the charging efficiency of the battery and help extend battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 18, Partovi in view of Velden teaches the method of Claim 17, wherein the constant voltage stage comprises reducing the output current of the wireless power receiver to maintain a constant output voltage (Partovi - Fig. 8, stage 2 ; Velden Fig. 1b, phase II: voltage is maintained while current is decreased).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kari et al. (EP 2773009 A1, published 2014-09-03) teaches a wirelessly charged battery pack (Fig. 1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYU-SUNG P. WEINMANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
July 9, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859