DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first edge and the fourth edge being straight in claim 23 and the second edge and the third edge being curved in claim 24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The original Specification does not teach the first edge and the fourth edge being straight in claim 23 and the second edge and the third edge being curved in claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fong (3,586,161).
Regarding claim 9, Fong teaches a surgical spoon for removing uroliths comprising:
a head 12 connected to a handle 20 by a neck;
said head having a perimeter formed by a rounded tip 26, a first curved corner and a second curved corner, and a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge;
said first edge connected to said handle at a first angle and said first curved corner at a second angle;
said second edge connected to said first curved corner at a third angle and said rounded tip at a fourth angle;
said third edge connected to said rounded tip at a fifth angle; said second curved corner at a sixth angle;
said fourth edge connected to said second curved corner at a seventh angle and said handle at an eight angle;
said first edge and said fourth edge are equal in length;
said second edge and said third edge are equal in length;
said first curved corner and a second curved corner have the
same curvature and length;
said first angle and said eight angle are the same;
said second angle and said seventh angle are the same;
said third angle and said seventh angle are the same;
said fourth angle and said fifth angle are the same; and
said rounded tip located on said centerline of said handle.
See Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 22, the first edge and the fourth edge being curved are best seen in Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 25, the second edge and the third edge being straight are best seen in Figs. 1-2.
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stone (2019/0133357).
Regarding claim 9, Stone teaches a surgical spoon for removing uroliths comprising:
a head 20 connected to a handle 12 by a neck;
said head having a perimeter formed by a rounded tip 26, a first curved corner and a second curved corner, and a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge;
said first edge connected to said handle at a first angle and said first curved corner at a second angle;
said second edge connected to said first curved corner at a third angle and said rounded tip at a fourth angle;
said third edge connected to said rounded tip at a fifth angle; said second curved corner at a sixth angle;
said fourth edge connected to said second curved corner at a seventh angle and said handle at an eight angle;
said first edge and said fourth edge are equal in length;
said second edge and said third edge are equal in length;
said first curved corner and a second curved corner have the
same curvature and length;
said first angle and said eight angle are the same;
said second angle and said seventh angle are the same;
said third angle and said seventh angle are the same;
said fourth angle and said fifth angle are the same; and
said rounded tip located on said centerline of said handle.
See Figs. 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 23, the first edge and the fourth edge being straight are best seen in Fig. 3.
Claims 9 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amit (2013/0192070).
Regarding claim 9, Stone teaches a surgical spoon for removing uroliths comprising:
a head 30 connected to a handle 20 by a neck;
said head having a perimeter formed by a rounded tip, a first curved corner and a second curved corner, and a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge;
said first edge connected to said handle at a first angle and said first curved corner at a second angle;
said second edge connected to said first curved corner at a third angle and said rounded tip at a fourth angle;
said third edge connected to said rounded tip at a fifth angle; said second curved corner at a sixth angle;
said fourth edge connected to said second curved corner at a seventh angle and said handle at an eight angle;
said first edge and said fourth edge are equal in length;
said second edge and said third edge are equal in length;
said first curved corner and a second curved corner have the
same curvature and length;
said first angle and said eight angle are the same;
said second angle and said seventh angle are the same;
said third angle and said seventh angle are the same;
said fourth angle and said fifth angle are the same; and
said rounded tip located on said centerline of said handle.
See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 24, the second edge and the third edge being straight are best seen in Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (3,586,161).
Regarding claim 21, Fong teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the handle having a rectangular shape. The gripping section of the handle having parallel edges similar to the invention except for the ends of the handle having straight edges.
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art to make the handle in Fong having a rectangular shape which is the ends of the handle having straight edges because the Applicant has not disclosed that such particular shape of the handle provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the handle in Fong because the gripping section of the handles in Fong and the invention has a constant width along its length.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the handle in Fong having a rectangular shape to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21 since such modification is an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Fong teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the first edge and the second edge being straight in claim 23 and the second edge and the third edge being curved in claim 24.
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art to make the first edge and the second edge being straight in claim 23 and the second edge and the third edge being curved in claim 24 because the Applicant has not disclosed that such particular shape of the edges provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the handle in Fong because both types of the edges define the same volume for the spoon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the handle in Fong such that the first edge and the second edge are straight and the second edge and the third edge are curved to obtain the invention as specified in claim 23 and 24 since such modification is an obvious matter of design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724