DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 11/21/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 15 and 17-19 have been amended.
Claims 2-3, 10 and 16 are canceled.
New claims 21-23 are added.
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-15, 17-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that none of the cited portions of Sidhu and Edge disclose any mapping between different telephone numbers assigned by different
network operators of a packet switched network and a cellular network, as now recited in claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1, newly added Pearce clearly discloses that a call request is received from the calling device by a packet-based network i.e., packet switched network for routing/establishing a telephony call with a mobile device, the call request includes a first telephone number associated with a plurality of telephony devices that are coupled to the packet-based network and that are controlled/assigned by a call manager of plurality of call managers i.e., a first network operator of the packet-based network since telephony calls are establishing between multiple IP telephony devices 22 i.e., mobile device and PSTN telephony devices 68 (see Pearce, Fig.1 Col 2 lines 12-32 and Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 49-54).
Additionally, Sidhu discloses that a telephony call continuity (i.e., voice-over-internet-packet (VoIP) of packet switched network) is determined whether to route/initiate voice call to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi access point and the packet switched network based on if there is a different available connection via the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network, the core VoIP i.e., an intermediate network provided/ operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the network operators since decision is based on where high quality Wi-Fi is available whether to call/telephony call to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi connection and it will register with the core VoIP network (i.e., the intermediate network) and then issue an in-band request for call context, whereby the request is received to initiate a call over Wi-Fi from the mobile phone (see Sidhu, Fig.1-2&4 [0057]-[0058], Fig.24-25 [0123] and Fig.18A-B [0132).
Sidhu also discloses that routing the telephony call 120N from the packet switched network i.e., MO network 205 to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., PSTN 215 cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator based on determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile device 1101 since the telephony call is routed from the packet switched network via the cellular network and the core VoIP/intermediate network to the mobile phone 1101/ device for telephony services of the packet switched network if a wireless connection of a Wi-Fi access point is unacceptably degraded; Noted, a second network operator of the network operators for the packet switched network provided/ operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network, and the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device (see Sidhu, Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058] and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086]).
Sidhu further discloses that routing the telephony call 120N from PS/packet switched network via a cellular network based on determining the Wi-Fi access point is not available e.g., acceptable call quality since the call i.e., telephony call is routed to the mobile phone 1101/device via the core VoIP/ intermediate network for the cellular MO network if a wireless connection to a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is not available or becomes unacceptable, whereby the mobile phone 110 device is registered with the core VoIP/ intermediate network over HTTP/cellular data connection (see Sidhu, Fig.7&10 [0080], Fig.17 [0103] and Fig.18A-B [0134]).
Additionally, Edge discloses that target network 125 for RATs cellular network are operated and/or managed by different network operators i.e., second network operator since the first request is forwarded towards a second network for a second network operator which is different to the first network operator, where by wireless access type for the second network is for a second network operator different to the first network operator (see Edge, Fig.2 [0033], Fig.2 [0043], Fig.8 block 830 [0115] and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137]).
Additionally, newly added Rodbro clearly discloses that the server 104 of packet switched network 101 is storing a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service) (see Rodbro, Fig.1 [0034]).
Claims 9 and 15, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claims 4, 11 and 17, the applicant argued that Corona does not cure the deficiencies of Sidhu and Edge, nor does Corona teach or suggest the features recited in amended claims 4, 11, and 17.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.6, Corona clearly discloses that the second telephone number of the telephone numbers is determined from the first telephone number since the query comprises an E.164 Number Mapping (ENUM) Domain Name System (DNS) query i.e., based on the mapping and the serving network information 156 comprises a hostname of an inbound proxy of the serving network (see Corona, Fig. 5 [0070] and Fig.6 [0074]).
Corona also discloses that the initiation request 118 is modified by replacement pattern the first telephone number with the second telephone number to provide a modified initiation request since a telephone number includes an MSISDN Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number based at least in part on the destination identifier 120 (see Corona, Fig.1-4 [0051]-[0055] and Fig.5 [0066]).
Corona further discloses that the modified request is forwarded (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) toward a destination of the request identified by the serving-network information i.e., to cellular access networks (see Corona, Fig.9 [0101]-[0102]).
Claims 11 and 17, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 4. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of Patent No. (US 11,395,216 B2). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application and Patent No. (US 11,395,216 B2) both disclose the method for receiving a request to establish a telephony call. The claims recited in the instant application are broader version of the claims recited in Patent No. (US 11,395,216 B2) (please see below the mapping of claims; the table below shows only Example of Claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of Patent No. (US 11,395,216 B2)
Instant Application: 17/812702
US Patent No.: US 11,395,216 B2
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a packet switched network and from a calling device, a request to establish a telephony call with a mobile device, wherein the request comprises a first telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by a first network operator of the packet switched network;
determining, based on whether a wireless connection via a wireless access point of the packet switched network is available to the mobile device, whether to route the telephony call to the mobile device via the wireless access point and the packet switched network; and
based on determining that the wireless connection via the wireless access point of the packet switched network is not available to the mobile device, routing the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile device via a cellular network operated by a second network operator using a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by the second network operator, wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number.
1. A method comprising:
communicating, by a device, with a cellular network operated by a first network operator;
sending, by the device to a packet switched network operated by a second network operator, via a cellular data connection of the cellular network, a request to register for telephony services of the packet switched network;
based on a wireless connection to a wireless access point of the packet switched network being available, sending, by the device to the packet switched network, via the wireless access point, a request to initiate voice over - internet - packet (VoIP) communications via the wireless access point and the packet switched network; and
based on a wireless connection to a wireless access point of the packet switched network not being available, sending, by the device to the packet switched network, via the cellular data connection of the cellular network, the request to initiate voice - over - internet - packet (VoIP) communications via the cellular data connection and the packet switched network.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5 lines 1, the occurrence of “claims [[2]]” should be amended to --- “claims [[2]] 1”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-15 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce et al. [hereinafter as Pearce], U.S 7,145,899 B1 in view of Sidhu et al. [hereinafter as Sidhu], U.S 2015/0078332 A1 in view of Edge [hereinafter as Edge] U.S Pub 2017/0366955 A1 further in view of Rodbro et al. [hereinafter as Rodbro] U.S Pub 2018/0092152 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Pearce discloses wherein a method (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 55-63, a method) comprising:
receiving, by a packet switched network and from a calling device, a request to establish a telephony call with a mobile device, wherein the request comprises a first telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by a first network operator of the packet switched network (Fig.1 Col 2 lines 12-32, receiving a call request from the calling device by a packet-based network i.e., packet switched network for routing/establishing a telephony call with a mobile device, the call request includes a first telephone number associated with a plurality of telephony devices that are coupled to the packet-based network and that are controlled/assigned by a call manager of plurality of call managers i.e., a first network operator of the packet-based network and Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 49-54, establishing telephony calls between multiple IP telephony devices 22 i.e., mobile device and PSTN telephony devices 68).
Even though Pearce discloses a device 22, 24 coupled to a LAN 20 or any other appropriate location in communication network 10 comes on-line, and a device 22, 24 can register with any call manager 26 with which the device 22, 24 can communicate by sending the call manager 26 a registration request, in the same field of endeavor, Sidhu teaches wherein determining, based on whether a wireless connection via a wireless access point of the packet switched network is available to the mobile device, whether to route the telephony call to the mobile device via the wireless access point and the packet switched network (Fig.1-2&4 [0057]-[0058], determining whether to route/initiate voice call/telephony call continuity (i.e., voice-over-internet-packet (VoIP) of packet switched network) to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi access point and the packet switched network based on if there is a different available connection via the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network, the core VoIP i.e., an intermediate network provided/ operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the network operators and Fig.18A-B [0132], decision based on where high quality Wi-Fi is available whether to call/telephony call to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi connection and it will register with the core VoIP network (i.e., the intermediate network) and then issue an in-band request for call context and Fig.24-25 [0123], receiving the request to initiate a call over Wi-Fi from the mobile phone); and
based on determining that the wireless connection via the wireless access point of the packet switched network is not available to the mobile device, routing the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile device via a cellular network operated by a second network operator using a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by the second network operator (Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], routing the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via the cellular network and a VoIP network for telephony services of the packet switched network based on determining a wireless connection via a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is unacceptably degraded and
Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058], based on determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile phone, routing from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator, the packet switched network provided/operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086], the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and Fig.18A-B [0134], routing from PS/ packet switched network via a cellular network based on determining the Wi-Fi access point is not available e.g., acceptable call quality and Fig.17 [0103], register with the core VoIP network i.e., the intermediate network over HTTP/cellular data connection and Fig.7&10 [0080], if a wireless connection to a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is not available or becomes unacceptable, routing the call/telephony call to the mobile phone 1101/device via the core VoIP/ intermediate network for the MO network/packet switched network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce incorporate the teaching of Sidhu in order to provide for acceptable call quality.
It would have been beneficial to route the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via the cellular network and a VoIP network for telephony services of the packet switched network based on determining a wireless connection via a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is unacceptably degraded e.g., determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile phone, routing from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator, the packet switched network provided/operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network and, the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device as taught by Sidhu to have incorporated in the system of Pearce to provide acceptable quality of VoIP service for a better user experience. (Sidhu, Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], Fig.1-2&4 [0051], Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058] and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086])
Even though Pearce and Sidhu discloses wherein a packet switched network operated by a first network operator and a cellular network operated by a second network operator, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches wherein and a cellular network operated by a second network operator (Fig.2 [0033], source network 120 for wireless access/packet switched network and target network 125 for RATs cellular are operated and/or managed by different network operators and Fig.2 [0043], Wi-Fi AP 110 associated with source network 120 for wireless access/packet switched network and LTE base station or eNodeB 115 for target network 125 and Fig.8 block 830 [0115], wireless access type for the second network is for a second network operator different to the first network operator and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137], forwards the first request towards a second network for a second network operator different to the first network operator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce and Sidhu incorporate the teaching of Edge in order to provide IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) services and other services.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE which starts with coverage by a WiFi AP 110s associated with source network 120 and perform handover to an LTE base station (or eNodeB) 115t for target network 125 in handover of an emergency call from source network 120 to target network 125, and the network entity forwards the first request towards a second network for a second network operator different to the first network operator, based on the E-STI as taught by Edge to have incorporated in the system of Pearce and Sidhu to provide information to enable handover of the source network voice bearer path 140 to the target network voice bearer path. (Edge, Fig.2 [0033], Fig.2 [0043], Fig.3 [0069], Fig.8 block 830 [0115] and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137])
However, Pearce, Sidhu and Edge do not explicitly disclose wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number.
In the same field of endeavor, Rodbro teaches wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number (Fig.1 [0034], the server 104 of packet switched network 101 stores a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce, Sidhu and Edge incorporate the teaching of Rodbro in order to provide for a hybrid call to be conducted part way over a PSTN network and part way over a packet-switched network such as the Internet.
It would have been beneficial to use the server 104 of packet switched network 101 which stores a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service). Thus this allows the far-end user terminal 102b to establish a voice call with the near-end user terminal 102a part way over the PSTN network 109, in a leg between the far-end user terminal 102b and the gateway 108, and part way over the packet-switched network 101, in a leg between the gateway 108 and the near-end user terminal 102a as taught by Rodbro to have incorporated in the system of Pearce, Sidhu and Edge to provide for higher audio bandwidth allowing better quality and/or stereo. (Rodbro, Fig.1 [0009] and Fig.1 [0034])
Regarding claim 5, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim [[2]] as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses authenticating the mobile device using, at least in part, the second telephone number (Fig.1&5 [0056], authenticating the user’s mobile phone 110/mobile device using the second telephone number and Fig.9 [0078], the mobile phone is associated with CdPN=VCCRN/second telephone number).
Regarding claim 6, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the cellular network comprises one of an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network (Fig.39 [0181], the cellular network comprises radio-based modems of radio access technology and Fig.27 [0131], a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network).
Additionally, Edge discloses the cellular network comprises one of an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network (Fig.1 [0004], the cellular network comprises an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements the Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology and Fig.1-2 [0007], the cellular network comprises the 4G Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology and Fig.1 [0031], a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network).
Regarding claim 7, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the packet switched network comprises an Internet Protocol (IP) multimedia core network subsystem (Fig.1 [0003], the packet switched network comprises an Internet Protocol (IP) multimedia core network subsystem).
Regarding claim 8, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the wireless access point operates in accordance with IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi) radio access technology (Fig.1 [0051], the wireless access point operates in accordance with the Wi-Fi under IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) 802.11/IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi) radio access technology).
Regarding claim 9, Pearce discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 48-65, a non-volatile/non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations) comprising:
receiving, by a packet switched network and from a calling device, a request to establish a telephony call with a mobile device, wherein the request comprises a first telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by a first network operator of the packet switched network (Fig.1 Col 2 lines 12-32, receiving a call request from the calling device by a packet-based network i.e., packet switched network for routing/establishing a telephony call with a mobile device, the call request includes a first telephone number associated with a plurality of telephony devices that are coupled to the packet-based network and that are controlled/assigned by a call manager of plurality of call managers i.e., first network operator of the packet-based network and Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 49-54, establishing telephony calls between multiple IP telephony devices 22 i.e., mobile device and PSTN telephony devices 68).
Even though Pearce discloses a device 22, 24 coupled to a LAN 20 or any other appropriate location in communication network 10 comes on-line, and a device 22, 24 can register with any call manager 26 with which the device 22, 24 can communicate by sending the call manager 26 a registration request, in the same field of endeavor, Sidhu teaches wherein determining, based on whether a wireless connection via a wireless access point of the packet switched network is available to the mobile device, whether to route the telephony call to the mobile device via the wireless access point and the packet switched network (Fig.1-2&4 [0057]-[0058], determining whether to route/initiate voice call/telephony call continuity (i.e., voice-over-internet-packet (VoIP) of packet switched network) to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi access point and the packet switched network based on if there is a different available connection via the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network, the core VoIP i.e., an intermediate network provided/ operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the network operators and Fig.18A-B [0132], decision based on where high quality Wi-Fi is available whether to call to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi connection and it will register with the core VoIP network (i.e., the intermediate network) and then issue an in-band request for call context and Fig.24-25 [0123], receiving the request to initiate a call over Wi-Fi from the mobile phone); and
based on determining that the wireless connection via the wireless access point of the packet switched network is not available to the mobile device, routing the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile device via a cellular network operated by a second network operator using a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by the second network operator (Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], routing the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via the cellular network and a VoIP network for telephony services of the packet switched network based on determining a wireless connection via a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is unacceptably degraded and Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058], based on determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile phone, routing from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator, the packet switched network provided/operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086], the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and Fig.18A-B [0134], routing from PS/ packet switched network via a cellular network based on determining the Wi-Fi access point is not available e.g., acceptable call quality and Fig.17 [0103], register with the core VoIP network i.e., the intermediate network over HTTP/cellular data connection and Fig.7&10 [0080], if a wireless connection to a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is not available or becomes unacceptable, routing the call/telephony call to the mobile phone 1101/device via the core VoIP/ intermediate network for the MO network/packet switched network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce incorporate the teaching of Sidhu in order to provide for acceptable call quality.
It would have been beneficial to route the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via the cellular network and a VoIP network for telephony services of the packet switched network based on determining a wireless connection via a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is unacceptably degraded e.g., determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile phone, routing from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator, the packet switched network provided/operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network and the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device as taught by Sidhu to have incorporated in the system of Pearce to provide acceptable quality of VoIP service for a better user experience. (Sidhu, Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], Fig.1-2&4 [0051], Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058] and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086])
Even though Pearce and Sidhu discloses wherein a packet switched network operated by a first network operator and a cellular network operated by a second network operator, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches wherein a cellular network operated by a second network operator (Fig.2 [0033], source network 120 for wireless access/packet switched network and target network 125 for RATs cellular are operated and/or managed by different network operators and Fig.2 [0043], Wi-Fi AP 110 associated with source network 120 for wireless access/packet switched network and LTE base station or eNodeB 115 for target network 125 and Fig.8 block 830 [0115], wireless access type for the second network is for a second network operator different to the first network operator and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137], forwards the first request towards a second network for a second network operator different to the first network operator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce and Sidhu incorporate the teaching of Edge in order to provide IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) services and other services.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE which starts with coverage by a WiFi AP 110s associated with source network 120 and perform handover to an LTE base station (or eNodeB) 115t for target network 125 in handover of an emergency call from source network 120 to target network 125, and the network entity forwards the first request towards a second network for a second network operator different to the first network operator, based on the E-STI as taught by Edge to have incorporated in the system of Pearce and Sidhu to provide information to enable handover of the source network voice bearer path 140 to the target network voice bearer path. (Edge, Fig.2 [0033], Fig.2 [0043], Fig.3 [0069], Fig.8 block 830 [0115] and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137])
However, Pearce, Sidhu and Edge do not explicitly disclose wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number.
In the same field of endeavor, Rodbro teaches wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number (Fig.1 [0034], the server 104 of packet switched network 101 stores a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce, Sidhu and Edge incorporate the teaching of Rodbro in order to provide for a hybrid call to be conducted part way over a PSTN network and part way over a packet-switched network such as the Internet.
It would have been beneficial to use the server 104 of packet switched network 101 which stores a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service). Thus this allows the far-end user terminal 102b to establish a voice call with the near-end user terminal 102a part way over the PSTN network 109, in a leg between the far-end user terminal 102b and the gateway 108, and part way over the packet-switched network 101, in a leg between the gateway 108 and the near-end user terminal 102a as taught by Rodbro to have incorporated in the system of Pearce, Sidhu and Edge to provide for higher audio bandwidth allowing better quality and/or stereo. (Rodbro, Fig.1 [0009] and Fig.1 [0034])
Regarding claim 12, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses authenticating the mobile device using, at least in part, the second telephone number (Fig.1&5 [0056], authenticating the user’s mobile phone 110/mobile device using the second telephone number and Fig.9 [0078], the mobile phone is associated with CdPN=VCCRN/second telephone number).
Regarding claim 13, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the cellular network comprises one of an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network (Fig.39 [0181], the cellular network comprises radio-based modems of radio access technology and Fig.27 [0131], a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network).
Additionally, Edge discloses the cellular network comprises one of an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network (Fig.1 [0004], the cellular network comprises an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements the Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology and Fig.1 [0031], a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network).
Regarding claim 14, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the wireless access point operates in accordance with IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi) radio access technology (Fig.1 [0051], the wireless access point of the packet switched network operates in accordance with Wi-Fi under IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) 802.11/IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi) radio access technology).
Regarding claim 15, Pearce discloses wherein a device (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 55-63, a device) comprising:
one or more processors (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 48-65, one or more processors of hard drives, inherently or implicitly implied); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 48-65, memory of other optical or storage devices storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to, inherently or implicitly implied):
receive, from a calling device, a request to establish a telephony call with a mobile device, wherein the request comprises a first telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by a first network operator of the packet switched network (Fig.1 Col 2 lines 12-32, receiving a call request from the calling device by a packet-based network i.e., packet switched network for routing/establishing a telephony call with a mobile device, the call request includes a first telephone number associated with a plurality of telephony devices that are coupled to the packet-based network and that are controlled/assigned by a call manager of plurality of call managers of the packet-based network and Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 49-54, establishing telephony calls between multiple IP telephony devices 22 i.e., mobile device and PSTN telephony devices 68).
Even though Pearce discloses a device 22, 24 coupled to a LAN 20 or any other appropriate location in communication network 10 comes on-line, and a device 22, 24 can register with any call manager 26 with which the device 22, 24 can communicate by sending the call manager 26 a registration request, in the same field of endeavor, Sidhu teaches wherein determine, based on whether a wireless connection via a wireless access point of the packet switched network is available to the mobile device, whether to route the telephony call to the mobile device via the wireless access point and the packet switched network (Fig.1-2&4 [0057]-[0058], determining whether to route/initiate voice call/telephony call continuity (i.e., voice-over-internet-packet (VoIP) of packet switched network) to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi access point and the packet switched network based on if there is a different available connection via the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network, the core VoIP i.e., intermediate network provided/ operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the network operators and Fig.18A-B [0132], decision based on where high quality Wi-Fi is available whether to call/telephony call to the mobile phone via the Wi-Fi connection and it will register with the core VoIP network (i.e., intermediate network) and then issue an in-band request for call context and Fig.24-25 [0123], receiving the request to initiate a call over Wi-Fi from the mobile phone); and
based on determining that the wireless connection via the wireless access point of
the packet switched network is not available to the mobile device, route the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile device via a cellular network operated by a second network operator using a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and assigned by the second network operator (Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], routing the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via the cellular network and a VoIP network for telephony services of the packet switched network based on determining a wireless connection via a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is unacceptably degraded and Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058], based on determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile phone, routing from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator, the packet switched network provided/operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086], the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device and Fig.18A-B [0134], routing from PS/ packet switched network via a cellular network based on determining the Wi-Fi access point is not available e.g., acceptable call quality and Fig.17 [0103], register with the core VoIP network i.e., an intermediate network over HTTP/cellular data connection and Fig.7&10 [0080], if a wireless connection to a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is not available or becomes unacceptable, routing the call/telephony call to the mobile phone 1101/device via the core VoIP/ the intermediate network for the MO network/packet switched network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce incorporate the teaching of Sidhu in order to provide for acceptable call quality.
It would have been beneficial to route the telephony call from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via the cellular network and a VoIP network for telephony services of the packet switched network based on determining a wireless connection via a Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network is unacceptably degraded e.g., determining there is no different available connection to the Wi-Fi access point of the packet switched network to the mobile phone, routing from the packet switched network to the mobile phone 1101/device via a cellular connection e.g., cellular voice or cellular data i.e., cellular network operated by a second network operator of the network operators using telephone numbers i.e., a second telephone number associated with the mobile phone 1101/device and assigned by the second network operator, the packet switched network provided/operated by internet service providers (ISPs) via the MO network and, the MSISDN (Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number) a second telephone number associated with the mobile device as taught by Sidhu to have incorporated in the system of Pearce to provide acceptable quality of VoIP service for a better user experience. (Sidhu, Fig.1-2&4 [0003]-[0005], Fig.1-2&4 [0051], Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0057]-[0058] and Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086])
Even though Pearce and Sidhu discloses wherein a packet switched network operated by a first network operator and a cellular network operated by a second network operator, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches wherein a cellular network operated by a second network operator (Fig.2 [0033], source network 120 for wireless access/packet switched network and target network 125 for RATs cellular are operated and/or managed by different network operators and Fig.2 [0043], Wi-Fi AP 110 associated with source network 120 for wireless access/packet switched network and LTE base station or eNodeB 115 for target network 125 and Fig.8 block 830 [0115], wireless access type for the second network is for a second network operator different to the first network operator and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137], forwards the first request towards a second network for a second network operator different to the first network operator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce and Sidhu incorporate the teaching of Edge in order to provide IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) services and other services.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE which starts with coverage by a WiFi AP 110s associated with source network 120 and perform handover to an LTE base station (or eNodeB) 115t for target network 125 in handover of an emergency call from source network 120 to target network 125, and the network entity forwards the first request towards a second network for a second network operator different to the first network operator, based on the E-STI as taught by Edge to have incorporated in the system of Pearce and Sidhu to provide information to enable handover of the source network voice bearer path 140 to the target network voice bearer path. (Edge, Fig.2 [0033], Fig.2 [0043], Fig.3 [0069], Fig.8 block 830 [0115] and Fig.10 block 1030 [0137])
However, Pearce, Sidhu and Edge do not explicitly disclose wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number.
In the same field of endeavor, Rodbro teaches wherein the packet switched network stores a mapping between the first telephone number and the second telephone number (Fig.1 [0034], the server 104 of packet switched network 101 stores a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce, Sidhu and Edge incorporate the teaching of Rodbro in order to provide for a hybrid call to be conducted part way over a PSTN network and part way over a packet-switched network such as the Internet.
It would have been beneficial to use the server 104 of packet switched network 101 which stores a database 110 mapping between the phone numbers of near-end user terminal 102a i.e., the first telephone number and far-end user terminal 102b i.e., the second telephone number within the packet-switched communication service (e.g. VoIP service). Thus this allows the far-end user terminal 102b to establish a voice call with the near-end user terminal 102a part way over the PSTN network 109, in a leg between the far-end user terminal 102b and the gateway 108, and part way over the packet-switched network 101, in a leg between the gateway 108 and the near-end user terminal 102a as taught by Rodbro to have incorporated in the system of Pearce, Sidhu and Edge to provide for higher audio bandwidth allowing better quality and/or stereo. (Rodbro, Fig.1 [0009] and Fig.1 [0034])
Regarding claim 18, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses authenticate the mobile device using, at least in part, the second telephone number (Fig.1&5 [0056], authenticating the user’s mobile phone 110/mobile device using the second telephone number and Fig.9 [0078], the mobile phone is associated with CdPN=VCCRN/second telephone number associated with the cellular network).
Regarding claim 19, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the cellular network comprises one of an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network (Fig.39 [0181], the cellular network comprises radio-based modems of radio access technology and Fig.27 [0131], a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network).
Additionally, Edge discloses the cellular network comprises one of an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network (Fig.1 [0004], the cellular network comprises an evolved packet core (EPC) network that implements Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio access technology and Fig.1 [0031], a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network).
Regarding claim 20, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the packet switched network comprises an Internet Protocol (IP) multimedia core network subsystem (Fig.1 [0003], the packet switched network comprises an Internet Protocol (IP) multimedia core network subsystem).
Regarding claim 21, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses each of the first and second telephone numbers comprises a different mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN) (Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086], each of the first and second telephone numbers comprises a different Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) telephone number of VCCRN associated with the mobile device).
Regarding claim 22, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses each of the first and second telephone numbers comprises a different mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN) (Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086], each of the first and second telephone numbers comprises a different Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) telephone number of VCCRN associated with the mobile device).
Regarding claim 23, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses each of the first and second telephone numbers comprises a different mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN) (Fig.1-2&12 [0066]-[0067][0086], each of the first and second telephone numbers comprises a different Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) telephone number of VCCRN associated with the mobile device).
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce et al. [hereinafter as Pearce], U.S 7,145,899 B1 in view of Sidhu et al. [hereinafter as Sidhu], U.S 2015/0078332 A1 in view of Edge [hereinafter as Edge] U.S Pub 2017/0366955 A1 in view of Rodbro et al. [hereinafter as Rodbro] U.S Pub 2018/0092152 A1 further in view of Corona et al. [hereinafter as Corona] U.S Pub 2018/0124124 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses determining, from the first telephone number and based on the mapping, the second telephone number (Fig.1-2&12 [0054][0066]-[0067][0086], determining the second telephone number of the telephone numbers from the first telephone number and based on the mapping).
Even though Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose wherein the request comprises the second telephone number but Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the request by replacing the first telephone number with the second telephone number; and forwarding the modified request to the cellular network, in the same field of endeavor, Corona teaches wherein determining, from the first telephone number and based on the mapping, the second telephone number (Fig.6 [0074], determining the second telephone number of the telephone numbers from the first telephone number and Fig. 5 [0070], the query comprises an E.164 Number Mapping (ENUM) Domain Name System (DNS) query i.e., based on the mapping);
modifying the request by replacing the first telephone number with the second telephone number (Fig.1-4 [0051]-[0055], modifying the initiation request 118 by replacement pattern the first telephone number with the second telephone number to provide a modified initiation request and Fig.5 [0066], telephone number such as an MSISDN Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number); and
forwarding the modified request to the cellular network (Fig.9 [0101]-[0102], forwarding (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) the modified request toward a destination of the request identified by the serving-network information i.e., to cellular access networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro incorporate the teaching of Corona in order to provide an improving usability of the network.
It would have been beneficial to forward (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) the modified request toward a destination of the telephony request identified by the serving-network information as taught by Corona to have incorporated in the system of Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro to improve efficiency of the data exchange protocols. (Corona, Fig.1-2 [0012], Fig.1-2 [0013], Fig.1-3 [0051]-[0055], Fig.5 [0066] and Fig.9 [0101]-[0102])
Regarding claim 11, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the instructions, when executed, further cause:
determining, from the first telephone number and based on the mapping, the second telephone number (Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0066]-[0067][0086], determining the second telephone number of the telephone numbers from the first telephone number and based on the mapping).
Even though Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose wherein the request comprises the second telephone number but Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the request by replacing the first telephone number with the second telephone number; and forwarding the modified request to the cellular network, in the same field of endeavor, Corona teaches wherein determining, from the first telephone number and based on the mapping, the second telephone number (Fig.6 [0074], determining the second telephone number of the telephone numbers from the first telephone number and based on the mapping and Fig. 5 [0070], the query comprises an E.164 Number Mapping (ENUM) Domain Name System (DNS) query i.e., based on the mapping); modifying the request by replacing the first telephone number with the second telephone number (Fig.1-4 [0051]-[0055], modifying the initiation request 118 by replacement pattern the first telephone number with the second telephone number to provide a modified initiation request and Fig.5 [0066], telephone number such as an MSISDN Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number); and
forwarding the modified request to the cellular network (Fig.9 [0101]-[0102], forwarding (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) the modified request toward a destination of the request identified by the serving-network information i.e., to cellular access networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro incorporate the teaching of Corona in order to provide an improving usability of the network.
It would have been beneficial to forward (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) the modified request toward a destination of the telephony request identified by the serving-network information as taught by Corona to have incorporated in the system of Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro to improve efficiency of the data exchange protocols. (Corona, Fig.1-2 [0012], Fig.1-2 [0013], Fig.1-3 [0051]-[0055], Fig.5 [0066] and Fig.9 [0101]-[0102])
Regarding claim 17, Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Sidhu further discloses the instructions, when executed, further cause the device to:
determine, from the first telephone number and based on the mapping, the second telephone number (Fig.1-2&4 [0054][0066]-[0067][0086], determining the second telephone number of the telephone numbers from the first telephone number and based on the mapping).
Even though Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro disclose wherein the request comprises the second telephone number but Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro do not expressly disclose wherein modify the request by replacing the first telephone number with the second telephone number; and
forward the modified request to the cellular network, in the same field of endeavor, Corona teaches wherein determine, from the first telephone number and based on the mapping, the second telephone number (Fig.6 [0074], determining the second telephone number of the telephone numbers from the first telephone number and based on the mapping and Fig. 5 [0070], the query comprises an E.164 Number Mapping (ENUM) Domain Name System (DNS) query i.e., based on the mapping); modify the request by replacing the first telephone number with the second telephone number (Fig.1-4 [0051]-[0055], modifying the initiation request 118 by replacement pattern the first telephone number with the second telephone number to provide a modified initiation request and Fig.5 [0066], telephone number such as an MSISDN Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number); and
forward the modified request to the cellular network (Fig.9 [0101]-[0102], forwarding (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) the modified request toward a destination of the request identified by the serving-network information i.e., to cellular access networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro incorporate the teaching of Corona in order to provide an improving usability of the network.
It would have been beneficial to forward (e.g., possibly including modifying the request) the modified request toward a destination of the telephony request identified by the serving-network information as taught by Corona to have incorporated in the system of Pearce, Sidhu, Edge and Rodbro to improve efficiency of the data exchange protocols. (Corona, Fig.1-2 [0012], Fig.1-2 [0013], Fig.1-3 [0051]-[0055], Fig.5 [0066] and Fig.9 [0101]-[0102])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414