DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 10 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the rejection of independent claims 1, 13, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as amended, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the prior art (Of Record) still discloses the amended claim features in claims 1, 13, and 21.
For example with respect to independent claim 1, the applicant argues the amended claim feature in claim 1 of “wherein the base station is configured to move a radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal” with respect to the teachings of Google (Of Record) on (Pg.’s 8-9 of the remarks). The applicant argues on (Pg.’s 8-9 of the remarks) section 2.3 of Google, and states on Pg. 8 of the remarks, that Google mentions that a 30 KHz SSB pattern should be included in Case B to minimize collisions between NR SSB and LTE CRS, but notes that this may increase initial search complexity. The applicant then states that it adds or replaces SSB patterns to lower initial search complexity and facilitate commercial implementation. The applicant further argues on Pg. 9 of the remarks that Google merely suggests the necessity of newly defined SSB patterns. It does not disclose adaptively determining a time offset based on the currently configured first pattern type in NR and second pattern type in LTE, nor does it disclose adjusting the NR frame boundary based on such an offset. However the examiner respectfully disagrees.
While Section 2.3 of Google discloses i.e., “One option is to change or add n48 30KHz SCS SSB pattern” which means using a new SSB pattern such as case B, section 2.3 of the google reference still discloses avoiding collision between LTE CRSs and NR SSB pattern case C. See Section 2.3, “Sync Raster”, Para 2 of Google which discloses i.e., “From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} or 6 OFDM symbols {symbol#0,symbol#1,symbol#4,symbol#7,symbol#8,symbol#11} in a subframe. In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission, {symbol#1, symbol#2} && {symbol#8,symbol#9} are valid SSB candidate positions in case C” (emphasis added for case C).
Therefore the above cited portion of Google discloses valid SSB candidate positions in pattern Case C may be determined for avoiding collision to LTE CRS placed in their respective OFDM symbols. Therefore a currently configured first pattern type in NR may be case C SSB pattern and the second pattern type in LTE may be the LTE CRS pattern allocated in the 4 OFDM symbols or 6 OFDM symbols. As previously explained in the last non-final office action of September 10, 2025, Google suggests determining a time offset in order to avoid the collision between the NR SSB pattern and LTE CRS pattern.
For example Google discloses determining the time offset which is a symbol offset for avoiding the overlapping transmission resources between NR SSB and LTE CRS in a subframe (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS…two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} or 6 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#1, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#8, symbol#11} (i.e., CRS resources of second network) in a subframe…In order to accommodate four 30kHZ symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., determined symbol time offset for avoiding collision), two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe…determined valid SSB candidate positions without collision to LTE CRS symbols is a determined symbol time offset for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS). By determining valid SSB candidate positions in certain symbols of the subframe for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS on the LTE CRS symbols, a symbol offset is determined for avoiding the overlapping transmissions. In regards to the claim feature of moving the radio frame boundary of the first network (i.e., NR) based on the set time offset to minimize the overlap, Google suggests the claim feature of moving or adjusting the NR frame boundary based on placing the four 30KHz symbol length SSB (i.e., “NR frame boundary”) in the valid SSB candidate positions from the overlapping resource positions, and therefore the first network frame boundary is moved or adjusted for avoiding the overlap (Google. See Pg. 3 section 2.3 Sync Raster Para 1 i.e., how to place NR SSB in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS & Para 2 i.e., In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe…valid SSB candidate positions in case C are used for the NR SSB signals)
Even if Google does not explicitly disclose the setting a time offset and moving the radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset to minimize the overlapping transmissions, such features would be rendered obvious in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760).
Choi discloses wherein the base station is configured to determine a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network for avoiding overlapping transmissions between NR control signals and LTE CRS (see Fig. 10 i.e., 5G cell as a “first network” and LTE cell as a “second network” & Para’s [0091] i.e., Fig. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment in which a control signal is transmitted by configuring a symbol offset so that a location of the control signal in a subframe is changed when an amount of interference of an LTE signal is too large when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system. Specifically, as illustrated in Fig. 10, a boundary of a subframe of the 5G system may be configured to be located after several OFDM symbols, unlike the LTE system & [0092] i.e., As illustrated in Fig. 10, a case in which CRS transmission symbols of the LTE system are symbols #0, #4, #7, and #11, and a symbol #1 is used as a control symbol is described by way of example. The 5G base station may configure a symbol offset so that a 5G control signal is transmitted from an OFDM symbol #3 of the LTE system in which the CRS of the LTE system is not transmitted & [0139] i.e., When the NR signal is freely allocated to the LTE system band, a CRS and control signals transmitted in the LTE and the NR signal collide with each other to thereby interfere with each other).
Choi discloses the NR frame is shifted by the determined time offset to avoid the overlap (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0091] i.e., configuring a symbol offset so that a location of the control signal in a subframe is changed when an amount of interference of an LTE signal is too large when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system. Specifically, as illustrated in Fig. 10, a boundary of a subframe of the 5G system may be configured to be located after several OFDM symbols, unlike the LTE system & [0092] i.e., symbol offset so that the 5G control signal is transmitted from an OFDM symbol of the LTE system in which the CRS of the LTE system is not transmitted)
(Choi suggests the symbol offset is configured so that the location of the 5G control signal is changed when interference is caused by the LTE CRS signal when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system for avoiding the interference in order for the LTE CRS signal to be received properly by the UE, (see Para’s [0091-0092] & [0139])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determined asynchronous operation method between the first network and the second network as disclosed in the teachings of Google to include the base station determining and setting a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network and wherein the determined asynchronous method minimizes the overlap based on the determined time offset by moving the frame boundary of the first network as disclosed in the teachings of Choi who discloses a symbol offset is configured by a base station in order to avoid overlapping symbols of a 5G control signal and an LTE CRS signal, because the motivation lies in Choi that the symbol offset is configured so that the location of the 5G control signal is changed when interference is caused by the LTE CRS signal when the 5G control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system for avoiding the interference in order for the LTE CRS signal to be received properly by the UE.
For the reasons explained the combined teachings of Google in view of Choi discloses a time offset is determined and the NR frame is shifted by the determined time offset to avoid overlap between the NR SSB and the LTE CRS.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding Choi (Of Record), the applicant agrees that Choi discloses adjusting the boundary of a subframe in a 5G system (i.e., “move a radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset”) according to a determined symbol offset to minimize interference between LTE signals and NR control signals (i.e., see Pg. 10 of the remarks with respect to Choi). The applicant then argues that “however, when setting the symbol offset, Choi only considers ensuring that 5G control signals located in front symbols do not overlap with LTE CRS, and does not disclose considering pattern types related to NR SSB as in the present application. However the rejection of claim 1 is an obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103(a), and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the determined offset used to move the radio frame boundary of the first network (i.e., 5G network) for avoiding collision or overlap between the 5G control signals and LTE CRSS as disclosed in the teachings of Choi could also be determined and applied for avoiding the collision between the NR SSB pattern and the LTE CRS pattern by moving the radio frame boundary of the first network (i.e., “5G network”) in the teachings of Google for achieving the concept of avoiding overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS.
Therefore the combined teachings of Google in view of Choi discloses the amended claim feature in claim 1 of “wherein the base station is configured to move a radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal”.
The examiner notes that in the claim feature of “wherein the base station is configured to move a radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal”, the claim language of “to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal” is simply a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting the claim feature (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use). Therefore the feature of “to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal” recited in claims 1 and 13 which is simply a statement of intended use is not a separate claim limitation and therefore does not limit the scope of the claim.
For the reasons explained the combination of Google in view of Choi discloses the amended claim feature in claim 1 and similarly in claim 13 of “wherein the base station is configured to move a radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal”.
In regards to the applicants argument regarding independent claim 21, as amended, and the 3GPP reference used in the rejection of claim 21, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In regards to the claim features of “wherein the time offset is set based on a first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs corresponding to the NR network and a second pattern type for the reference signal corresponding to the LTE network by the base station, Google discloses the claim feature including a time offset set based on the first pattern type and second pattern type for the same reasons explained above with respect to claim 1, (Google, see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster Para 1 i.e., how to place NR SSB in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS…checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS & Para 2 i.e., two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue… 30KHz SCS SSB pattern case C (i.e., “first pattern type”)…From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} (i.e., “second pattern type”) or 6 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#1, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#8, symbol#11} (i.e., CRS resources of second network) in a subframe…In order to accommodate four 30kHZ symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., determined symbol time offset set for avoiding collision), two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe…determined valid SSB candidate positions in case C without collision to LTE CRS symbols suggests a symbol time offset which is set for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB pattern C and LTE CRS pattern).
For the same reasons explained for claim 1, Google also suggests “and wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset by the base station” (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., placing NR SSB in LTE resource grid such as for example, the four 30KHz symbol length SSB (i.e., NR frame boundary) in valid SSB candidate positions without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., “offset”)).
Referring to Pg.4, Google also suggests a “time offset” such as a subframe offset in another option for avoiding collision to the LTE CRS pattern by scheduling the SSB transmission pattern in a configured MBSFN subframe (Google, Pg. 4 i.e., MBSFN subframe allocation for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS (i.e., MBSFN subframe offset configuration may also be a “time offset”). Such scheduling of SSB transmission for avoiding LTE CRS collision also suggests the claim feature of wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset by the base station.
Even if assuming Google does not disclose setting such time offset based on the plurality of SSBs and the LTE CRSs and the claim feature of wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset by the base station, such claim features are disclosed in the 3GPP reference.
3GPP discloses setting a time offset based on the plurality of SSBs and the LTE CRSs being overlapped according to a subframe offset (3GPP, see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols (i.e., “LTE reference signal resources”) and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe (i.e., “channel”) in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration (i.e., “channel”), NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
3GPP also discloses wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset by the base station by allocating SSB transmission in the candidate MBSFN subframe according to the subframe offset for avoiding collision in a current subframe between SSB transmission and LTE CRSs (3GPP, see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols (i.e., “LTE reference signal resources”) and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with…an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., allow at least one NR SSB transmission to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe for avoiding CRS collision).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the subframe offset set by the base station for avoiding SSB transmission and LTE CRS collision by moving the radio frame boundary of the NR network based on the subframe offset to a candidate MBSFN subframe as disclosed in 3GPP to be applied for the first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs corresponding to the NR network and the second pattern type for the reference signal corresponding to the LTE network as disclosed in Google for avoiding collision between NR SSB transmission and LTE CRS transmission.
For the reasons explained the combined teachings Google in view of 3GPP discloses the claim features in claim 21 of “wherein the time offset is set based on a first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs corresponding to the NR network and a second pattern type for the reference signal corresponding to the LTE network by the base station” and “wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset by the base station”.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the teachings of 3GPP (Of Record) on (Pg. 9 of the remarks), the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example the applicant argues that the LTE/NR frame boundary offset information in 3GPP is not information intentionally adjusted based on the first pattern type in NR and the second pattern type in LTE to prevent collision between LTE CRS and NR SSB. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as the combined teachings of Google in view of 3GPP results in preventing the collision between the LTE CRS pattern and NR SSB pattern for the reasons explained above since both references aim to resolve the collision between the LTE CRS transmission and NR SSB pattern transmission based on configuring a candidate MBSFN subframe according to a subframe offset. The applicant further argues that the offset information is merely information provided to allow the NR UE to efficiently perform LTE CRS rate matching and therefore the method, purpose, and effect of LTE/NR frame boundary offset information in 3GPP is different from the subframe offset of the present application. However the examiner respectfully disagrees that the offset information is merely provided to only efficiently perform LTE CRS rate matching since the offset information is also provided to the UE mainly for the purpose of resolving collision between NR SSB transmission and LTE CRS transmission (3GPP, see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols (i.e., “LTE reference signal resources”) and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with…an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., allow at least one NR SSB transmission to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe for avoiding CRS collision).
For the reasons explained the combined teachings of Google in view of 3GPP discloses the amended claim features in claim 21, and therefore the references are maintained in the rejection of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382).
Regarding Claim 1, Google discloses a communications system comprising: a base station configured to support dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) between a first network and a second network; (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”). That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1)
and a user equipment configured to communicate with the base station based on the first network,(see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 2.1 Channel Raster Para 3 i.e., UEs receive MBSFN subframes & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1 (i.e., UE will receive the MBSFN subframe from the base station))
wherein the base station is configured to determine an asynchronous operation method between the first network and the second network based on a first pattern type for a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) corresponding to the first network and a second pattern type for a reference signal corresponding to the second network, (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”) (i.e., “asynchronous operation method” for avoiding overlapping of transmission between NR SSB transmission and LTE CRS). That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options (i.e., “asynchronous operation method”) can be used for solving the overlapping issue. One option is to change or add n48 30KHz SCS SSB pattern. In TS 38.101-1, n48 30KHz SCS SSB only support pattern case C. From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for LTE-CRS). In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission {symbol#1, symbol#2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions (i.e., the determined symbols for SSB without collision or overlap to the LTE-CRS symbols is an asynchronous operation method) in case C and {symbol#2, symbol#3} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions in case B. If the BS configure 4 antenna ports for DL transmission, only {symbol #2, symbol #3} in case B is the valid SSB candidate position without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., “asynchronous operation method” for avoiding overlapping of transmission between NR SSB transmission and LTE CRS)).
Wherein the first pattern type includes at least one of: a subcarrier spacing in the first network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., 30 KHz SCS SSB pattern)
Wherein the second pattern type incudes at least one of: a number of antenna ports in the second network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 2 i.e., LTE CRS are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols or 6 OFDM symbols in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for CRS)…If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission, symbol#1, symbol#2, && symbol #8, symbol#9 are the valid SSB candidate positions in case C).
Wherein the base station is configured to set a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS…two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} or 6 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#1, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#8, symbol#11} (i.e., CRS resources of second network) in a subframe…In order to accommodate four 30kHZ symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., determined symbol time offset for avoiding collision), two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe…determined valid SSB candidate positions in case C without collision to LTE CRS symbols suggests a symbol time offset which is set for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS)
And wherein the base station is configured to move a radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal (i.e., the claim language of “to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal” is simply a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting the claim feature (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use) (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”) . That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue. One option is to change or add n48 30KHz SCS SSB pattern. In TS 38.101-1, n48 30KHz SCS SSB only support pattern case C. From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for LTE-CRS). In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission {symbol#1, symbol#2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions in case C (i.e., placing NR SSB in valid SSB candidate positions suggests moving radio the frame boundary of the first network (i.e., NR) for avoiding overlapping of transmission between NR SSB transmission pattern and LTE CRS pattern which is based on a determined symbol offset).
While Google suggests moving the radio frame boundary of the first network based on a set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., placing NR SSB in LTE resource grid such as for example, the four 30KHz symbol length SSB (i.e., NR frame boundary) in valid SSB candidate positions without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., “offset”)) Google does not explicitly disclose the claim features of wherein the base station is configured to determine and set the time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network and wherein the base station is configured to move the radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set offset to minimize the overlap. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760).
Choi discloses wherein the base station is configured to determine and set a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network for avoiding overlapping transmissions between NR control signals and LTE CRS (see Fig. 10 i.e., 5G cell as a “first network” and LTE cell as a “second network” & Para’s [0091] i.e., Fig. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment in which a control signal is transmitted by configuring a symbol offset so that a location of the control signal in a subframe is changed when an amount of interference of an LTE signal is too large when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system. Specifically, as illustrated in Fig. 10, a boundary of a subframe of the 5G system may be configured to be located after several OFDM symbols, unlike the LTE system & [0092] i.e., As illustrated in Fig. 10, a case in which CRS transmission symbols of the LTE system are symbols #0, #4, #7, and #11, and a symbol #1 is used as a control symbol is described by way of example. The 5G base station may configure a symbol offset so that a 5G control signal is transmitted from an OFDM symbol #3 of the LTE system in which the CRS of the LTE system is not transmitted & [0139] i.e., When the NR signal is freely allocated to the LTE system band, a CRS and control signals transmitted in the LTE and the NR signal collide with each other to thereby interfere with each other)
and wherein the base station is configured to move the radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set offset to minimize the overlap between resources allocated to a plurality of 5G control signals and resources allocated to LTE CRSs (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0091] i.e., Fig. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment in which a control signal is transmitted by configuring a symbol offset so that a location of the control signal in a subframe is changed (i.e., “asynchronous operation method”) when an amount of interference of an LTE signal is too large when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system. Specifically, a boundary of a subframe of the 5G system may be configured to be located after several OFDM symbols (i.e., moving the radio frame boundary of the 5G network), unlike the LTE system, & [0092] i.e., As illustrated in Fig. 10, a case in which CRS transmission symbols of the LTE system are symbols #0, #4, #7, and #11, and a symbol #1 is used as a control symbol is described by way of example. The 5G base station may configure a symbol offset so that a 5G control signal is transmitted from an OFDM symbol of the LTE system in which the CRS of the LTE system is not transmitted).
(Choi suggests the symbol offset is configured so that the location of the 5G control signal is changed when interference is caused by the LTE CRS signal when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system for avoiding the interference in order for the LTE CRS signal to be received properly by the UE, (see Para’s [0091-0092] & [0139])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determined asynchronous operation method between the first network and the second network to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the second pattern type for the reference signal as disclosed in the teachings of Google to include the base station determining and setting a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network and wherein the base station minimizes the overlap by moving the frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset as disclosed in the teachings of Choi who discloses a symbol offset is configured by a base station in order to avoid overlapping symbols of a 5G control signal and LTE CRS signals, because the motivation lies in Choi that the symbol offset is configured so that the location of the 5G control signal is changed when interference is caused by the LTE CRS signal when the 5G control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system for avoiding the interference in order for the LTE CRS signal to be received properly by the UE.
While Google discloses a second pattern type for a reference signal corresponding to the second network and a number of antenna ports in the second network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols or 6 OFDM symbols (i.e., “second pattern type”) in a subframe…If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna ports for the DL transmission or if the BS configures 4 antenna ports for the DL transmission), the combination of Google in view of Choi does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of wherein the second pattern type includes at least one of a number of antenna ports in the second network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382).
Tang discloses wherein a second pattern type for a reference signal corresponding to an LTE network includes at least one of a number of antenna ports in the LTE network (see Para’s [0037] i.e., LTE & [0038] i.e., the target-class signal uses different quantities of antenna ports, and the target-class signal may be mapped to different quantities of symbols. For example, when the target-class signal is a CRS, a quantity of antenna ports that may be used is 1, 2, or 4. Fig. 4 is a schematic diagram of a time-frequency resource location to which a CRS is mapped when the CRS uses two antenna ports…As shown in Fig. 4, when the CRS uses two antenna ports, the CRS may be mapped to four symbols (i.e., “second pattern type” for CRS) in one subframe. Fig. 5 is a schematic diagram of a time-frequency resource location to which a CRS is mapped when the CRS uses four antenna ports…As shown in Fig. 5, when the CRS uses four antenna ports, the CRS may be mapped to six symbols (i.e., “second pattern type” for CRS) in one subframe).
(Tang suggests the CRS may be used by the UE for estimating a parameter that affects signal transmission and the CRS’s are mapped to different quantities of symbols according to the amount of antenna ports used which results in the UE being able to more reliably receive the CRS for estimating the channel, (see Para’s [0037-0038])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second pattern type for the CRS reference signal which is transmitted in a subframe as disclosed in Google in view of Choi to include a number of antenna ports in the second network based on the teachings of Tang who discloses wherein a second pattern type for a CRS corresponding to an LTE network includes a number of antenna ports in the LTE network, because the motivation lies in Tang that the CRS may be used by the UE for estimating a parameter that affects signal transmission and the CRS’s are mapped to different quantities of symbols according to the amount of antenna ports used which results in the UE being able to more reliably receive the CRS for estimating the channel.
Regarding Claim 2, Google discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein: the first network comprises a New Radio (NR) network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”)), the second network comprises a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”)), and the reference signal comprises a cell reference signal (CRS), (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS)
Regarding Claim 8, Google discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein, based on the determined asynchronous operation method, the base station is configured to allocate resources such that resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs do not overlap resources allocated to the reference signal. (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., how to place NR SSB in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS…checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS & Para 2 i.e., two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…From symbol level perspective (i.e., asynchronous operation method which determines symbol offset (e.g., “time offset”) for avoiding the overlap), LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe. In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHZ SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configure 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission, {symbol#1, symbol #2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions (i.e., a symbol offset (e.g., “time offset”) will be determined based on determining valid SSB symbol positions which avoid overlapping or collision to LTE CRS symbols).
3. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. US (2009/0252075).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein the time offset includes: a subframe offset in units of subframes, (Google, see Pg. 3 i.e., Sync Raster Pg. 4 i.e., The other option is to use MBSFN configuration…LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation (i.e., “subframe offset”) and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe), but does not disclose wherein the offset includes a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ji et al. US (2009/0252075).
Ji discloses wherein an offset including a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols is determined for avoiding overlapping transmission resources of overhead channels between a first macro base station (i.e., “first network”) and a second pico base station (i.e., “second network”) (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0058-0061] i.e., eNB Y may have a first frame timing with the start of subframe 0 occurring at time T1. A low power or unrestricted eNB X may have a second frame timing with the start of subframe 0 occurring at T2. The second frame timing may be offset from the first frame timing by an offset of Tos, which may be equal to one subframe plus one symbol period in the example shown in Fig. 6 & [0062] i.e., different eNBs may utilize both subframe offset and symbol offset (e.g., as shown in Fig. 6))
(Ji suggests the determined subframe offset and symbol offset may be used to mitigate interference on overhead channels transmitted between the first macro base station and the second pico base station, (see Para’s [0058-0062])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for scheduling SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in a configured MBSFN subframe according to a subframe offset as disclosed in Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang to be an offset including a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols for avoiding the overlapping transmissions according to the offset disclosed in Ji discloses wherein an offset including a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols is determined for avoiding overlapping transmission resources of overhead channels between a first macro base station (i.e., “first network”) and a second pico base station (i.e., “second network”), because the motivation lies in Ji that the determined subframe offset and symbol offset may be used to mitigate interference on overhead channels transmitted between the first macro base station and the second pico base station.
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baldemair et al. US (2022/0124510).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the communications system of claim 1 including resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs (Google, see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., symbols allocated for valid SSB candidate positions in the subframe), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein, based on the determined asynchronous operation method, the base station is configured to allocate resources such that at least one subframe allocated as a multicast-broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the second network overlaps with the resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Baldemair et al. US (2022/0124510).
Baldemair discloses wherein, based on a determined asynchronous operation method (see Para’s [0050] & [0057] i.e., avoiding CRS-SSB collisions), a base station is configured to allocate resources such that at least one subframe allocated as a multicast-broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the second network overlaps with the resources allocated to SSB transmission (see Para’s [0015] i.e., the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the network node to configure a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology, [0024], [0050] To avoid such collisions one possible configuration is to transmit SSB in a slot overlapping an LTE MBSFN subframe, [0057] i.e., if an LTE MBSFN subframe is further configured to overlap in time with an NR slot carrying NR SSB (to avoid CRS-SSB collisions), & [0093] i.e., the processing circuitry is further configured to configure a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology, and transmit the SSB on radio resources according to the configured overlap in time).
(Baldemair suggests the configuration of the synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology is configured to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology for avoiding CRS-SSB collisions (see Para’s [0015] & [0057])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the asynchronous operation method which allocates resources to the plurality of SSBs in the subframe for avoiding CRS collision as disclosed in Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang to overlap with a MBSFN subframe based on the teachings of Baldemair who discloses processing circuitry is further configured to cause a network node to configure a synchronization signal block (SSB) of a first radio access technology to overlap in time with an MBSFN subframe of a second radio access technology, because the motivation lies in Baldemair that the configuration of the synchronization signal block. (SSB) of the first radio access technology is configured to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology for avoiding CRS-SSB collisions.
5. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48” in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
Regarding Claim 9, Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the communications system of claim 1 including the determined asynchronous operation method may include determining MBSFN subframe configuration for transmission of the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue (Google, see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS…two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…observation 5 i.e., The other option is to use MBSFN configuration…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein: the base station is configured to transmit information about the determined asynchronous operation method to the user equipment, and the user equipment is configured to detect the plurality of SSBs based on the information. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses wherein a base station is configured to transmit information about a determined asynchronous operation method to the user equipment, (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
and the user equipment is configured to detect the plurality of SSBs based on the information (see Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information (i.e., UE can detect SSB transmissions located in the MBSFN subframe based on the frame offset information))
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the asynchronous operation method which includes determining MBSFN subframe configuration for transmission of the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue as disclosed in Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang to include transmitting information about the determined asynchronous operation method to the user equipment such as the offset information, used by the user equipment to detect a plurality of SSBs in an MBSFN subframe based on the offset information as disclosed in 3GPP, which results in the UE detecting the plurality of SSBs based on the information, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, the NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
Regarding Claim 10, Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the communications system of claim 9 including the determined asynchronous operation method may include determining MBSFN subframe configuration for transmission of the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue (Google, see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS…two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…observation 5 i.e., The other option is to use MBSFN configuration…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the information includes the time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses wherein the information includes a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value (i.e., “time offset”) representing the offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the asynchronous operation method which includes determining MBSFN subframe configuration for transmission of the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue as disclosed in Google in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang to include transmitting information about the determined asynchronous operation method to the user equipment such as the time offset information as disclosed in 3GPP, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, the NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315), further in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382).
Regarding Claim 13, Google discloses an apparatus configured to support dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) between a New Radio (NR) network and a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”). That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1)
the apparatus comprising: a controller (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., the base station will include a processor (i.e., “controller”)) configured to set a time offset between first resources allocated to first signals corresponding to the NR network including a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and second resources allocated to second signals corresponding to the LTE network including a reference signal, (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., how to place NR SSB in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS…checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS & Para 2 i.e., two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…From symbol level perspective (i.e., symbol offset (e.g., “time offset”) will be determined for avoiding the overlap), LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe. In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHZ SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configure 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission, {symbol#1, symbol #2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions (i.e., a symbol offset (e.g., “time offset”) will be determined based on determining valid SSB symbol positions which avoid overlapping or collision to LTE CRS symbols)
wherein the time offset is set based on a first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs corresponding to the NR network and a second pattern type for the reference signal corresponding to the LTE network, (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”) (i.e., “asynchronous operation method” for avoiding overlapping of transmission between NR SSB transmission and LTE CRS). That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options (i.e., “asynchronous operation method”) can be used for solving the overlapping issue. One option is to change or add n48 30KHz SCS SSB pattern. In TS 38.101-1, n48 30KHz SCS SSB only support pattern case C. From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for LTE-CRS). In order to accommodate four 30kHZ symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., determined symbol time offset for avoiding collision), two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe…determined valid SSB candidate positions in case C without collision to LTE CRS symbols suggests a symbol time offset which is set for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB pattern and LTE CRS pattern).
Wherein the first pattern type includes at least one of: a subcarrier spacing in the NR network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., 30 KHz SCS SSB pattern)
Wherein the second pattern type incudes at least one of: a number of antenna ports in the LTE network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 2 i.e., LTE CRS are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols or 6 OFDM symbols in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for CRS)…If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission, symbol#1, symbol#2, && symbol #8, symbol#9 are the valid SSB candidate positions in case C).
And wherein the controller is configured to move a radio frame boundary of the NR network based on the set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal (i.e., the claim language of “to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal” is simply a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting the claim feature (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use) (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”) . That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue. One option is to change or add n48 30KHz SCS SSB pattern. In TS 38.101-1, n48 30KHz SCS SSB only support pattern case C. From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for LTE-CRS). In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission {symbol#1, symbol#2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions in case C (i.e., placing NR SSB in valid SSB candidate positions suggests moving radio the frame boundary of the first network (i.e., NR) for avoiding overlapping of transmission between NR SSB transmission pattern and LTE CRS pattern which is based on a determined symbol offset).
Google does not disclose the apparatus comprising: a plurality of radio frequency (RF) transceivers; a processing circuit configured to process signals received via the plurality of RF transceivers or signals to be transmitted via the plurality of RF transceivers. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315).
Lei discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 3B) comprising: a plurality of radio frequency (RF) transceivers (see Fig. 3B i.e., transceivers 350 & 360 & Para’s [0086-0087] & [0104])
a processing circuit (see Fig. 3B i.e., processing system 384) configured to process signals received via the plurality of RF transceivers or signals to be transmitted via the plurality of RF transceivers (see Para’s [0091-0092], [0101-0102] & [0169]).
(Lei suggests the base station comprises a DSS module which performs dynamic spectrum sharing which provides a useful migration path from LTE to NR by allowing LTE and NR to share the same carrier and as the number of NR devices in a network increases, it is important that sufficient scheduling capacity for NR UEs on the shared carrier (or DSS carriers) is ensured (see Para [0121])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station which performs dynamic spectrum sharing for LTE and NR communications as disclosed in Google to comprise the plurality of radio frequency (RF) transceivers and the processing circuit configured to process signals received via the plurality of RF transceivers or signals to be transmitted via the plurality of RF transceivers of the base station disclosed in Lei, because the motivation lies in Lei that the base station comprises a DSS module which performs dynamic spectrum sharing which provides a useful migration path from LTE to NR by allowing LTE and NR to share the same carrier and as the number of NR devices in a network increases, it is important that sufficient scheduling capacity for NR UEs on the shared carrier (or DSS carriers) is ensured.
While Google suggests moving the radio frame boundary of the first network based on a set time offset to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the reference signal (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., placing NR SSB in LTE resource grid such as for example, the four 30KHz symbol length SSB (i.e., NR frame boundary) in valid SSB candidate positions without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., “offset”)) Google in view of Lei does not explicitly disclose the claim features of wherein the base station is configured to determine and set the time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network and wherein the base station is configured to move the radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set offset to minimize the overlap. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760).
Choi discloses wherein the base station is configured to determine and set a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network for avoiding overlapping transmissions between NR control signals and LTE CRS (see Fig. 10 i.e., 5G cell as a “first network” and LTE cell as a “second network” & Para’s [0091] i.e., Fig. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment in which a control signal is transmitted by configuring a symbol offset so that a location of the control signal in a subframe is changed when an amount of interference of an LTE signal is too large when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system. Specifically, as illustrated in Fig. 10, a boundary of a subframe of the 5G system may be configured to be located after several OFDM symbols, unlike the LTE system & [0092] i.e., As illustrated in Fig. 10, a case in which CRS transmission symbols of the LTE system are symbols #0, #4, #7, and #11, and a symbol #1 is used as a control symbol is described by way of example. The 5G base station may configure a symbol offset so that a 5G control signal is transmitted from an OFDM symbol #3 of the LTE system in which the CRS of the LTE system is not transmitted & [0139] i.e., When the NR signal is freely allocated to the LTE system band, a CRS and control signals transmitted in the LTE and the NR signal collide with each other to thereby interfere with each other)
and wherein the base station is configured to move the radio frame boundary of the first network based on the set offset to minimize the overlap between resources allocated to a plurality of 5G control signals and resources allocated to LTE CRSs (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0091] i.e., Fig. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment in which a control signal is transmitted by configuring a symbol offset so that a location of the control signal in a subframe is changed (i.e., “asynchronous operation method”) when an amount of interference of an LTE signal is too large when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system. Specifically, a boundary of a subframe of the 5G system may be configured to be located after several OFDM symbols (i.e., moving the radio frame boundary of the 5G network), unlike the LTE system, & [0092] i.e., As illustrated in Fig. 10, a case in which CRS transmission symbols of the LTE system are symbols #0, #4, #7, and #11, and a symbol #1 is used as a control symbol is described by way of example. The 5G base station may configure a symbol offset so that a 5G control signal is transmitted from an OFDM symbol of the LTE system in which the CRS of the LTE system is not transmitted).
(Choi suggests the symbol offset is configured so that the location of the 5G control signal is changed when interference is caused by the LTE CRS signal when the control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system for avoiding the interference in order for the LTE CRS signal to be received properly by the UE, (see Para’s [0091-0092] & [0139])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determined asynchronous operation method between the first network and the second network to minimize overlap between resources allocated to the first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs and resources allocated to the second pattern type for the reference signal as disclosed in the teachings of Google in view of Lei to include the base station determining and setting a time offset between resources of the first network and resources of the second network and wherein the base station minimizes the overlap by moving the frame boundary of the first network based on the set time offset as disclosed in the teachings of Choi who discloses a symbol offset is configured by a base station in order to avoid overlapping symbols of a 5G control signal and LTE CRS signals, because the motivation lies in Choi that the symbol offset is configured so that the location of the 5G control signal is changed when interference is caused by the LTE CRS signal when the 5G control signal is transmitted in front symbols in the subframe in the 5G system for avoiding the interference in order for the LTE CRS signal to be received properly by the UE.
While Google discloses a second pattern type for a reference signal corresponding to the second network and a number of antenna ports in the second network (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols or 6 OFDM symbols (i.e., “second pattern type”) in a subframe…If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna ports for the DL transmission or if the BS configures 4 antenna ports for the DL transmission), the combination of Google in view of Lei, and further in view of Choi does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of wherein the second pattern type includes at least one of a number of antenna ports in the second network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382).
Tang discloses wherein a second pattern type for a reference signal corresponding to an LTE network includes at least one of a number of antenna ports in the LTE network (see Para’s [0037] i.e., LTE & [0038] i.e., the target-class signal uses different quantities of antenna ports, and the target-class signal may be mapped to different quantities of symbols. For example, when the target-class signal is a CRS, a quantity of antenna ports that may be used is 1, 2, or 4. Fig. 4 is a schematic diagram of a time-frequency resource location to which a CRS is mapped when the CRS uses two antenna ports…As shown in Fig. 4, when the CRS uses two antenna ports, the CRS may be mapped to four symbols (i.e., “second pattern type” for CRS) in one subframe. Fig. 5 is a schematic diagram of a time-frequency resource location to which a CRS is mapped when the CRS uses four antenna ports…As shown in Fig. 5, when the CRS uses four antenna ports, the CRS may be mapped to six symbols (i.e., “second pattern type” for CRS) in one subframe).
(Tang suggests the CRS may be used by the UE for estimating a parameter that affects signal transmission and the CRS’s are mapped to different quantities of symbols according to the amount of antenna ports used which results in the UE being able to more reliably receive the CRS for estimating the channel, (see Para’s [0037-0038])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second pattern type for the CRS reference signal which is transmitted in a subframe as disclosed in Google in view of Lei, and further in view of Choi to include a number of antenna ports in the second network based on the teachings of Tang who discloses wherein a second pattern type for a CRS corresponding to an LTE network includes a number of antenna ports in the LTE network, because the motivation lies in Tang that the CRS may be used by the UE for estimating a parameter that affects signal transmission and the CRS’s are mapped to different quantities of symbols according to the amount of antenna ports used which results in the UE being able to more reliably receive the CRS for estimating the channel.
7. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315), and further in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ji et al. US (2009/0252075).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the communications system of claim 5, wherein the time offset includes: a subframe offset in units of subframes, (Google, see Pg. 3 i.e., Sync Raster Pg. 4 i.e., The other option is to use MBSFN configuration…LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation (i.e., “subframe offset”) and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe), but does not disclose wherein the offset includes a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ji et al. US (2009/0252075).
Ji discloses wherein an offset including a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols is determined for avoiding overlapping transmission resources of overhead channels between a first macro base station (i.e., “first network”) and a second pico base station (i.e., “second network”) (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0058-0061] i.e., eNB Y may have a first frame timing with the start of subframe 0 occurring at time T1. A low power or unrestricted eNB X may have a second frame timing with the start of subframe 0 occurring at T2. The second frame timing may be offset from the first frame timing by an offset of Tos, which may be equal to one subframe plus one symbol period in the example shown in Fig. 6 & [0062] i.e., different eNBs may utilize both subframe offset and symbol offset (e.g., as shown in Fig. 6))
(Ji suggests the determined subframe offset and symbol offset may be used to mitigate interference on overhead channels transmitted between the first macro base station and the second pico base station, (see Para’s [0058-0062])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for scheduling SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in a configured MBSFN subframe according to a subframe offset as disclosed in Google in view of Lei, and further in view of Choi to be an offset including a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols for avoiding the overlapping transmissions according to the offset disclosed in Ji discloses wherein an offset including a subframe offset in units of subframes and a symbol offset in units of symbols is determined for avoiding overlapping transmission resources of overhead channels between a first macro base station (i.e., “first network”) and a second pico base station (i.e., “second network”), because the motivation lies in Ji that the determined subframe offset and symbol offset may be used to mitigate interference on overhead channels transmitted between the first macro base station and the second pico base station.
8. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315), and further in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382) as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Baldemair et al. US (2022/0124510), and further in view of 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the apparatus of claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to change, around a time axis, the first resources such that at least one subframe allocated as a multicast-broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the LTE network overlaps the plurality of SSBs based on the set time offset. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Baldemair et al. US (2022/0124510).
Baldemair discloses wherein a controller is configured to change, around a time axis, the first resources such that at least one subframe allocated as a multicast-broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the LTE network overlaps with the resources allocated to SSB transmission (see Para’s [0015] i.e., the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the network node to configure a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology, [0024], [0050] To avoid such collisions one possible configuration is to transmit SSB in a slot overlapping an LTE MBSFN subframe, [0057] i.e., if an LTE MBSFN subframe is further configured to overlap in time with an NR slot carrying NR SSB (to avoid CRS-SSB collisions), & [0093] i.e., the processing circuitry is further configured to configure a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology, and transmit the SSB on radio resources according to the configured overlap in time).
(Baldemair suggests the configuration of the synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology is configured to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology for avoiding CRS-SSB collisions (see Para’s [0015] & [0057])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the asynchronous operation method which allocates resources to the plurality of SSBs in the subframe for avoiding CRS collision as disclosed in Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang to overlap with a MBSFN subframe based on the teachings of Baldemair who discloses processing circuitry is further configured to cause a network node to configure a synchronization signal block (SSB) of a first radio access technology to overlap in time with an MBSFN subframe of a second radio access technology, because the motivation lies in Baldemair that the configuration of the synchronization signal block (SSB) of the first radio access technology is configured to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology for avoiding CRS-SSB collisions.
The combination of Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Baldemair does not disclose the claim feature of the MBSFN subframe of the LTE network is based on a set time offset. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses the MBSFN subframe of the LTE network is based on a set time offset (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe allocated as a multicast-broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the LTE network which overlaps the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue as disclosed in Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Baldemair to be based on the set time offset information for the MBSFN subframe as disclosed in 3GPP, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, the NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
9. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315), further in view of Choi et al. US (2018/0287760), and further in view of Tang et al. US (2019/0222382).
as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang discloses the apparatus of claim 13 including determining MBSFN subframe configuration for transmission of the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS…two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…observation 5 i.e., The other option is to use MBSFN configuration…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe), but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to control transmitting information indicating the time offset, to a user equipment supporting the NR network, by using the plurality of RF transceivers and the processing circuit. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses wherein a controller is configured to control transmitting information indicating a time offset, to a user equipment supporting the NR network, by a base station (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value (i.e., “time offset”) representing the offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station to transmit to the UE, using the plurality of RF transceivers and the processing circuit as disclosed in Google in view of Lei, further in view of Choi, and further in view of Tang information indicating the time offset as disclosed in 3GPP, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, the NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
10. Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Inc. “Views in dynamic spectrum sharing between LTE and 48 and NR band n48”, 3GPP Draft, R4-2002048 in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315), and further in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
Regarding Claim 21, Google discloses a user equipment (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 2.1 Channel Raster Para 3 i.e., UEs receive MBSFN subframes & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1 (i.e., UE will receive the MBSFN subframe from the base station)) configured to perform a New Radio (NR) network- based communications with a base station supporting an NR network and a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) network, (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”). That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1)
the user equipment comprising: at least one radio frequency (RF) transceiver; (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 2.1 Channel Raster Para 3 i.e., UEs receive MBSFN subframes & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1 (i.e., UE will include a transceiver for receiving the MBSFN subframe from the base station))
a processing circuit configured to process signals received via the at least one RF transceiver or signals to be transmitted via the at least one RF transceiver; (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 2.1 Channel Raster, Para 3 i.e., UEs receive MBSFN subframes & Pg.’s 3-4 observation 5 i.e., LTE BS can configure MBSFN subframe allocation and NR BS can use these MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB…For example, NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 or #9 for TDD UL/DL configuration #1 (i.e., UE will include a processor for receiving the MBSFN subframe from the base station))
and a controller (see Pg. 1 section 2.1 Channel Raster, Para 3 i.e., UE will include a controller (i.e., processor)) configured to control receiving, from the base station, using the at least one RF transceiver and the processing circuit, a channel in which overlap between resources allocated with a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) of the NR network and resources allocated with a reference signal of the LTE network is minimized based on a time offset (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., how to place NR SSB in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS…checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS & Para 2 i.e., two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue. One option is to change or add n48 30 KHz SCS SSB pattern…From symbol level perspective (i.e., symbol offset (e.g., “time offset”) will be determined for avoiding the overlap), LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe (i.e., “channel”). In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHZ SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe (i.e., “channel”). If the BS configure 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission, {symbol#1, symbol #2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions in case C (i.e., a symbol offset (e.g., “time offset”) will be determined based on determining valid SSB symbol positions which avoid overlapping or collision to LTE CRS symbols & Pg. 4 i.e., MBSFN subframe allocation for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS (i.e., MBSFN subframe offset configuration may also be a “time offset”))
wherein the time offset is based on a first pattern type for the plurality of SSBs corresponding to the NR network and a second pattern type for the reference signal corresponding to the LTE network by the base station (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster Para 1 i.e., how to place NR SSB in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS…checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS & Para 2 i.e., two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue… 30KHz SCS SSB pattern case C (i.e., “first pattern type”)…From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} (i.e., “second pattern type”) or 6 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#1, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#8, symbol#11} (i.e., CRS resources of second network) in a subframe…In order to accommodate four 30kHZ symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS (i.e., determined symbol time offset set for avoiding collision), two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe…determined valid SSB candidate positions in case C without collision to LTE CRS symbols suggests a symbol time offset which is set for avoiding overlapping transmission between NR SSB pattern C and LTE CRS pattern)
wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster, Para 1 i.e., “However, the most important issue for n48 DSS sync raster is how to place NR SSB (i.e., NR as “first network”) in LTE resource grid without collision with LTE CRS (i.e., LTE as “second network”) . That is also the objective in DSS WID for checking mechanism to avoid overlapping transmission between NR SSB and LTE CRS” & Para 2 i.e., “Considering mixed numerology transmission for DSS, two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue. One option is to change or add n48 30KHz SCS SSB pattern. In TS 38.101-1, n48 30KHz SCS SSB only support pattern case C. From symbol level perspective, LTE CRSs are required to be placed in 4 OFDM symbols {symbol#0, symbol#4, symbol#7, symbol#11} in a subframe (i.e., “second pattern type” for LTE-CRS). In order to accommodate four 30KHz symbol length SSB without collision to LTE CRS, two contiguous 15KHz SCS OFDM symbols without CRS need to be found in a subframe. If the BS configures 1 or 2 antenna port for DL transmission {symbol#1, symbol#2} && {symbol#8, symbol#9} are the valid SSB candidate positions in case C (i.e., placing NR SSB in valid SSB candidate positions suggests moving radio the frame boundary of the first network (i.e., NR) for avoiding overlapping of transmission between NR SSB transmission pattern and LTE CRS pattern which is based on a set symbol offset & Pg. 4 i.e., MBSFN subframe allocation to transmit SSB for avoiding overlapping transmission or collision between NR SSB and LTE CRS (i.e., MBSFN subframe offset configuration may also be a “time offset”)…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe #4 (i.e., may also be moving NR frame boundary based on the “time offset”)).
Google does not disclose the user equipment comprising: at least one radio frequency (RF) transceiver; a processing circuit configured to process signals received via the at least one RF transceiver or signals to be transmitted via the at least one RF transceiver; and a controller configured to control receiving, from the base station, using the at least one RF transceiver and the processing circuit, a channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0256315).
Lei discloses a user equipment comprising: at least one radio frequency (RF) transceiver (see Fig. 3A i.e., transceivers 310 & 320 & Para’s [0086] & [0088] i.e., transceivers 310 and 320 of the UE)
a processing circuit (see Fig. 3A i.e., Processing system 332) configured to process signals received via the at least one RF transceiver or signals to be transmitted via the at least one RF transceiver; (see Para [0091], [0097], & [0147-0148])
and a controller (see Fig. 3A i.e., DSS module 342) configured to control receiving, from the base station, using the at least one RF transceiver and the processing circuit, a channel (see Para’s [0092] i.e., DSS modules 342 may be hardware circuits that are part of the or coupled to the processing system 332 that when executed, cause the UE 302 to perform the functionality described herein, [0127], & [0147-0148])
(Lei suggests the UE comprises a DSS module which performs dynamic spectrum sharing which provides a useful migration path from LTE to NR by allowing LTE and NR to share the same carrier and as the number of NR devices in a network increases, it is important that sufficient scheduling capacity for NR UEs on the shared carrier (or DSS carriers) is ensured (see Para [0121])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which performs dynamic spectrum sharing for LTE and NR communications which receives the channel as disclosed in Google to comprise the at least one radio frequency (RF) transceiver, the processing circuit configured to process signals received via the at least one RF transceiver or signals to be transmitted via the at least one RF transceiver, and the controller of the UE disclosed in Lei, because the motivation lies in Lei that the UE comprises a DSS module which performs dynamic spectrum sharing which provides a useful migration path from LTE to NR by allowing LTE and NR to share the same carrier and as the number of NR devices in a network increases, it is important that sufficient scheduling capacity for NR UEs on the shared carrier (or DSS carriers) is ensured.
While the combination of Google in view of Lei discloses determining MBSFN subframe configuration for transmission of the plurality of SSBs for solving the overlapping issue (see Pg. 3 Section 2.3 Sync Raster i.e., checking mechanisms to avoid overlapping transmissions between NR SSB and LTE CRS…two feasible options can be used for solving the overlapping issue…observation 5 i.e., The other option is to use MBSFN configuration…NR BS can schedule SSB transmission without collision to LTE CRS in MBSFN subframe), the combination of Google in view of Lei does not disclose the channel is received by the UE based on information indicating the time offset. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses a UE receives a channel in which overlap between resources allocated with a plurality of SSBs of the NR network and resources allocated with a reference signal of the LTE network is minimized based on information indicating the time offset, (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols (i.e., “LTE reference signal resources”) and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe (i.e., “channel”) in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration (i.e., “channel”), NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
3GPP further discloses wherein a radio frame boundary of the NR network is moved based on the set time offset (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value representing the offset in number of subframes (i.e., “degree of non-alignment”) between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols (i.e., “LTE reference signal resources”) and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations, Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2, Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations (i.e., moving SSB frame boundary) & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe (i.e., “channel”) in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration (i.e., “channel”), NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the channel received by the UE in which overlap between resources allocated with a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) pattern of the NR network and resources allocated with a reference signal pattern of the LTE network is minimized for solving the overlapping issue as disclosed in Google in view of Lei to be based on the time offset information received by the UE as disclosed in 3GPP, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, the NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Google in view of Lei discloses the user equipment of claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to perform a processing operation on the channel based on the time offset. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses wherein the controller is configured to perform a processing operation on the channel based on the time offset (see Pg. 1, Section 1 Introduction i.e., For LTE CRS rate matching, UE can be configured with an offset value (i.e., “time offset”) representing the offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary, Section 2 Remaining issues for DSS i.e., Assuming that NR is configured with the same TDD structure as LTE, it is observed that n41 band SSB case A is always collide with LTE CRS symbols and SSB case C collides with LTE CRS symbols…To resolve this issue we suggest the following proposal: Add a new IR ‘LTE/NR frame offset (#subframes) under RateMatchPatternLTE-CRS to allow NR UE figure out the LTE frame timing and proper MBSFN configurations (i.e., UE performs processing on the MBSFB subframe), Pg. 2 Section 5.1.4.2 i.e., A UE may be configured with any of the following higher layer parameters: MBSFN subframe configuration and frame-offset representing an offset in number of subframes between LTE and NR frame boundary & Pg. 2 Appendix 1 allow at least one SSB to be located in a candidate MBSFN subframe which results in allowing NR SSB transmission without any CRS collision in LTE TDD DSS operations & Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration (i.e., UE performs processing on the MBSFB subframe), NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information).
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which receives the channel as disclosed in Google in view of Lei to perform a processing operation on the channel based on the time offset as disclosed in 3GPP, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Google in view of Lei discloses the user equipment of claim 22, but does not disclose wherein the processing operation on the channel includes at least one of: a detection operation for the plurality of SSBs and a rate matching operation for the reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of 3GPP “Discussions on Rel-16 TEI”, R1-2000895.
3GPP discloses wherein the processing operation on the channel includes at least one of: a detection operation for the plurality of SSBs and a rate matching operation for the reference signal. (see Pg. 3 i.e., configure MBSFN subframe #3 as a MBSFN subframe in LTE, and therefore allow NR SSB transmission without CRS collision…To allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information (i.e., UE can detect SSB transmissions located in the MBSFN subframe based on the frame offset information))
(3GPP suggests to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision (see Pg.’s 2-3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which receives the channel as disclosed in Google in view of Lei to perform a processing operation on the channel including a detection operation for the plurality of SSBs based on the time offset as disclosed in 3GPP, because the motivation lies in 3GPP to allow NR UEs to figure out the exact MBSFN configuration, NR UE needs to know the LTE/NR frame offset information for allowing NR SSB transmission without CRS collision.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461