DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims/Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 8, and 13 were amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined herein.
Claims 1-8 and 13 are rejected under a nonstatutory double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 12, regarding the double patenting rejection of claims 1-8 and 13, filed 07/02/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has not filed a terminal disclaimer or showed that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims. The double patenting rejection of claims 1-8 and 13 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 07/02/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 8-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 8-20 has been withdrawn. Note that a new 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and a new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been made, necessitated by amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see page 22, "Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101. As amended, claim 1 is directed not to a mental process, but to a specific technological improvement in distributed machine learning systems that cannot be performed in the human mind and is not merely generic data processing. Claim 1 recites specific, machine-executed operations including (i) generation of a trained feature mapper having learned parameters to transform heterogeneous local data into a canonical schema, (ii) enforcing that training of a base model is performed after receipt of confirmation that such mapping has been completed, and (iii) aggregating attributes of trained models generated from training on canonical-feature-mapped data. These limitations define a specific architecture and execution flow in which data transformation, training coordination, and model aggregation are interdependent system operations. Such functionality requires iterative model training, parameter optimization, and coordinated execution across distributed clients, and cannot be practically performed as a mental process."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(a) states "An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. In this respect, the improvement consideration overlaps with other considerations, specifically the particular machine consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)), and the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a claim satisfies the improvement consideration."
The generation of a trained feature mapper is the generic machine learning process of training a model, amounting to mere instructions to apply an exception. The claims do not cover a particular way to train the feature mapper that would lead to an improvement to technology. Similarly, "enforcing that training of a base model is performed after receipt of confirmation that such mapping has been completed" is the generic process of waiting for a process to finish when the downstream process depends on the upstream process. This also amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception and does not show an improvement to technology. Finally, "aggregating attributes of trained models generated from training on canonical-feature-mapped data" describes the generic process of federated learning. This also amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception and does not show an improvement to technology.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the newly amended features added to claim 1 are not taught by the cited references. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and has found the amended features in the cited references. See amended 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 in view of Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019). See table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2
Verma
1. A computer program product for generating an artificial intelligence (Al) model, the
computer program product comprising:
at least one computer readable storage medium, and program instructions stored on the at least one computer readable storage medium, the program instructions comprising:
(The difference is that claim 1 of the instant application is directed to a program product with program instructions to perform the method recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method of claim 1 is U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 would be implemented in the form of program instructions in a computer readable medium as described in claim 1 of the instant application in order for a processor to perform the recited method of claim 1 in U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2. Hereinafter, this is considered to be the explanation for the difference in “program instructions to” and “by the one or more processors”.)
1. A method for generating an artificial intelligence (AI) model, the method comprising:
program instructions to receive information associated with respective existing
models from a plurality of clients;
receiving, by the one or more processors, information associated with respective existing
models from a plurality of clients;
program instructions to group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective existing models and based on compatibility of feature schemas of the respective existing models relative to a canonical input schema; (See 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection.)
grouping, by the one or more processors, the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective existing models;
program instructions to send a seed model to a first set of clients of the plurality of clients that correspond to existing models that are grouped into a first domain, the seed model specifying a set of canonical input features, and defining the canonical input schema for training a base model;
sending, by the one or more processors, a seed model to a first set of clients of the plurality of clients that correspond to existing models that are grouped into a first domain;
Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Therefore, the schema used by the first site is the seed model, and sending the schema occurs (see page 24, fig. 3). Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Therefore, the training data schema is interpreted as the input features, meaning that the canonical schema has canonical input features. As the training data at each of the training server is converted to the canonical schema before training the base models, the seed model defines the canonical schema from training a base model.)
program instructions to receive confirmation of mapping feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients to a canonical schema of the seed model, using a schema transformation service enabling transformation of local client data into canonical input features compatible with the seed model,
receiving, by the one or more processors, confirmation of mapping feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients to a canonical schema of the seed model;
Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema." As the seed model is from the first training site, the transformation policies, interpreted as the rules, are generated to transform local client data (the training service) into canonical input formats compatible with the seed model. The fusion service is interpreted as the schema transformation service.
wherein the mapping comprises generation of a feature mapper configured to transform local client data into canonical input features of the canonical input schema, and wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local client data to the canonical input schema;
(Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set." Therefore, the feature mapper will be generated before the training of the base model at the first set of clients. One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that the fusion server would check if the policies, including the feature mapper, are generated/trained before distributing the policies, meaning that it receives confirmation of the completion of the training of the feature mapper.)
program instruction to generate a feature mapper configured to map local input features of input features of asset data of the plurality of client into the set of canonical input features of the seed model, wherein the feature mapper comprises a trained feature mapping model having learned parameters and being applied during training of a base model;
(Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." The mapping is interpreted as the feature mapping model. Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." The training services are interpreted as the plurality of clients, and their training data is interpreted as the input features. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “asset” is anything owned by the client, meaning that the training data, owned by the client, is asset data. As the data is transformed into the schema of the first model, interpreted as the seed model, the canonical input features are from the seed model. Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that a model with learned parameters would perform this task, such as a neural network. Page 25, Fig. 4 shows the process of the training of the model, where "get policy: [is] called to get the transformation policies from the Fusion Server. The Fusion Server controls how the data from different training sites ought to be transformed so that it can correspond to a common schema and format for input training data. The policy may also indicate an approach to change the labels to get the canonical data for training."
program instructions to generate a local version of the seed model using the map of the local input features of the asset data, including applying the trained feature mapping model to transform the local input features into the canonical input features;
Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format.” This is interpreted as how the model is generated using the map of features. Page 25 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Therefore, as the seed model is from the first training site, receiving the fused model is receiving the seed model. As the feature mapping model is included in the policies for transformation of data, the trained feature mapping model is used to transform the local input features into the canonical input features.
program instructions to send the base model with the canonical schema associated with the seed model, respectively, to the first set of clients;
sending, by the one or more processors, a base model with the canonical schema associated with the seed model, respectively, to the first set of clients;
program instructions to receive from the first set of clients, respectively, the base model that is trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients, the feature data having been transformed into the canonical input schema; and
receiving, by the one or more processors, from the first set of clients, respectively, the base model that is trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients; and
Page 25 states "update_model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fusion server receives the results of local training, which is a model. Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format." Fig. 4 shows that this step occurs before the model is updated/sent.
program instructions to generate an augmented model by federation of attributes from the received base model of the first set of clients, trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients, wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model, the attributes being generated from training using the feature data mapped to the canonical input features;
generating, by the one or more processors, an augmented model by federation of attributes from the received base models of the first set of clients, trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients.
As stated above, update_model receives the trained models from the clients and “returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites.” As the models have different attributes, as proven by the need for transformation policies, integrating the data is federation/aggregation of attributes. Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Page 24 further states "With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." Therefore, the clients use their own feature data to train the model.)
program instructions to distribute the augmented model to the plurality of clients.
Page 35 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fused model is interpreted as the augmented model.
2. The computer program product of claim 1, further comprising: program instructions to send the augmented model to respective clients of the first set of clients, wherein a feature mapper of the respective clients of the first set of clients is prepended to the augmented model.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the one or more processors, the augmented model to respective clients of the first set of clients, wherein a feature mapper of the respective clients of the first set of clients is prepended to the augmented model.
3. The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the feature data of respective clients of the first set of clients is private data that is unshared, remains with a respective client, and is used by the respective client to generate a feature mapper with the seed model and to train the base model.
3. The method of claim 1 wherein the feature data of respective clients of the first set of clients is private data that is unshared, remains with a respective client, and is used by the respective client to generate a feature mapper with the seed model and to train the base model., further comprising:
4. The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the program instructions to map the feature data of the existing model of a respective client to the canonical schema, further comprises:
4. The method of claim 1, the mapping of the feature data of the existing model of a respective client to the canonical schema, further comprises:
program instructions to communicate a procedure to generate an algorithm to translate respective features of the feature data of the existing model of the respective client to the canonical schema of the seed model; and (To do a procedure by a processor, the procedure must be communicated to the processor. Thus, the instant application’s claim encompasses the conflicting claim.)
generating, by the one or more processors, an algorithm to translate respective features of the feature data of the existing model of the respective client to the canonical schema of the seed model; and
program instructions to communicate a procedure to apply the feature data of a respective client’s asset to the algorithm transforming the feature data to an input feature of the canonical schema of the augmented model. (See above.)
applying, by the one or more processors, the feature data of a respective client’s asset to the algorithm transforming the feature data to an input feature of the canonical schema of the augmented model.
5. The computer program product of claim 1, wherein program instructions to generate the augmented model further comprises:
5. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the augmented model further comprises:
program instructions to perform learning federation techniques on the received trained base models from the respective clients; and
performing, by the one or more processors, learning federation techniques on the received trained base models from the respective clients; and
program instructions to generate a single augmented model including attributes of the base model that is trained and received, respectively, from the first set of clients.
generating, by the one or more processors, a single augmented model including attributes of the base model that is trained and received, respectively, from the first set of clients.
6. The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the canonical schema of the seed model and the base model include one or more input features and at least one output feature.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the canonical schema of the seed model and the base model include one or more input features and at least one output feature.
8. A computer system for improving a model based on augmenting a plurality of models trained on private feature data, the method comprising:
one or more computer processors;
at least one computer readable storage medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one computer readable storage medium, the program instructions comprising:
(The difference is that claim 1 of the instant application is directed to a computer system with at least one computer readable storage medium with program instructions to perform the method recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method of claim 1 is U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 would be implemented in the form of program instructions in a computer readable medium in a computer system as described in claim 8 of the instant application in order for a processor to perform the recited method of claim 8 in U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2. Hereinafter, this is considered to be the explanation for the difference in “program instructions to” and “by the one or more processors”.)
8. A method for improving a model based on augmenting a plurality of models trained on private feature data, the method comprising:
program instructions to send an existing model of a first model type to a model augmentation service; (In order to receive an assignment for an existing model of a model type, the method of the conflicting claim must send the existing model to the service. Both the instant claim and the conflicting claim describe an interaction from the point of view of a client to a model augmentation service. Although the limitation in the conflicting claim does not describe the sender of the assignment of the domain, it is obvious that the sender must be the model augmentation service that has received the existing model. )
program instructions to receive a seed model that includes a canonical schema of data input and output, the seed model specifying a set of canonical input features;
receiving, by the one or more processors, a seed model that includes a canonical schema of data input and output;
Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Therefore, the training data schema is interpreted as the input features, meaning that the canonical schema has canonical input features.)
program instructions to train the seed model by generating a feature mapper that maps private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model, using a schema transformation service enabling transformation of local client data into canonical input features compatible with the seed model,
training, by the one or more processors, the seed model by generating a feature mapper that maps private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model;
Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema." As the seed model is the first training site, and the common schema is from the first training site, the transformation policies, interpreted as the rules, are generated to map local client data (the training service) into canonical input formats compatible with the seed model. The fusion service is interpreted as the schema transformation service.
wherein the mapping comprises generation of a feature mapper configured to transform local client data into canonical input features of the canonical input schema, and wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local client data to the canonical input schema;
Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set." Therefore, the feature mapper will be generated before the training of the base model at the first set of clients. One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that the fusion server would check if the policies, including the feature mapper, are generated/trained before distributing the policies, meaning that it receives confirmation of the completion of the training of the feature mapper.)
program instructions to generate a local version of the seed model using the map of the local input features of the asset data, including applying the trained feature mapping model to transform the local input features into the canonical input features;
Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format.” This is interpreted as how the model is generated using the map of features. Page 25 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Therefore, as the seed model is from the first training site, receiving the fused model is receiving the seed model. As the feature mapping model is included in the policies for transformation of data, the trained feature mapping model is used to transform the local input features into the canonical input features.
program instructions to receive the base model including the canonical schema of the seed model;
receiving, by the one or more processors, a base model including the canonical schema of the seed model;
Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format.” This is interpreted as how the model is generated using the map of features. Page 25 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Therefore, as the seed model is from the first training site, receiving the fused model is receiving the seed model.
program instructions to train the base model by applying the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of inputs by use of the feature mapper;
training, by the one or more processors, the base model by applying the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of inputs by use of the feature mapper;
program instructions to send the trained base model to a model augmentation service; (A model that is trained is the same as a trained model.)
sending, by the one or more processors, the base model that is trained to a model augmentation service
program instructions to receive from the model augmentation service, a single augmented model generated by application of federated learning applied to a plurality of base models of the first model type, wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model, the attributes being generated from training using the feature data mapped to the canonical input features;; and (In the conflicting claim, the augmented model is stated as received in the next limitation. “A single augmented model” is the same as “an augmented model.”)
wherein the model augmentation service generates an augmented model by applying federated learning to a plurality of base models; and
As stated above, update_model receives the trained models from the clients and “returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites.” As the models have different attributes, as proven by the need for transformation policies, integrating the data is federation/aggregation of attributes. Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Page 24 further states "With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." Therefore, the clients use their own feature data to train the model.)
program instructions to prepend the feature mapper to the single augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the private feature data of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper prepended to the single augmented model, and (As noted above, a single augmented model is the same as an augmented model. The feature mapper in the conflicting claim is prepended to the augmented base model.)
prepending, by the one or more processors, the feature mapper to the augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the private feature data of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper.
program instructions to distribute the augmented model to the plurality of clients.
Page 35 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fused model is interpreted as the augmented model.
13. A computer program product for improving a model based on augmenting a plurality of models trained on private feature data, the method comprising: (The difference is that claim 1 of the instant application is directed to a computer system with at least one computer readable storage medium with program instructions to perform the method recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method of claim 1 is U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 would be implemented in the form of a computer program product as described in claim 8 of the instant application in order for a processor to perform the recited method of claim 8 in U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2. Hereinafter, this is considered to be the explanation for the difference in “program instructions to” and “by the one or more processors”.)
8. A method for improving a model based on augmenting a plurality of models trained on private feature data, the method comprising:
The remainder of claim 13 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 8 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 with the teachings of Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019) because, as Verma states on page 20, "Web Services provide a robust mechanism for the implementation of federated learning in an enterprise context. This is because, a web service based architecture provides service mix-and-match capability to federated learning so the learner can seamlessly utilize human-invoked functions along with automated service invocations. Additionally, such frameworks enable the traversal of enterprise firewalls using a protocol that is usually known, trusted and enabled across the enterprise boundaries. Thus, making the distributed learning process secure."
Claim 13 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 8 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 in view of Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hiessl (“Industrial Federated Learning—Requirements and System Design”, 2020).
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2
Hiessl
7. The computer program product of claim 1, wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing similar types of analysis.
Page 46 states "To this end, we identify the requirement of evaluating models in regards to similarities of asset data influenced by operating and environmental conditions. This is the basis for building FL cohorts of FL tasks using asset data with similar characteristics. FL cohorts enable that FL clients only share updates within a subset of FL clients, whose submitted FL tasks belong to the same FL cohort." Therefore, models are grouped into cohorts (domains) with models using asset data with similar characteristics, interpreted as the asset type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine U.S. Patent No. 11,410,037 B2 and Verma with the teachings of Hiessl because, as Hiessl states on page 46, "As discussed in Sect. 3.2, FL client selection plays a role in FL to reduce duration of e.g., training or evaluation [12]. Furthermore, client selection based on evaluation using held-out validation data, can improve accuracy of the global model [1]."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 13 recite the limitation "program instructions to group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains . . . and based on compatibility of feature schemas of the respective existing models relative to a canonical input schema."
This limitation is not supported by the specification, which states in [0039], "Model augmentation program 300 determines the domain of each respective client's asset that is received from a plurality of participating clients and assigns the asset models into groupings that provide the same type of asset analysis. The asset models in a domain share similar canonical input features and output features." [0023] states "Domain assignment module 301 identifies and groups client models into a domain, based on the type or class of the asset and the type of function for which the model is being used for the asset."
Though the asset models in a domain grouping share similar canonical input features and output features, the specification does not support that the models are grouped into domains based on compatibility of feature schemas of the respective existing models relative to a canonical input schema. This limitation constitutes new matter.
For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as "program instructions to group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective existing models.”
Claims 1, 8, and 13 recite the limitation "wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local client data to the canonical input schema."
This limitation is not supported by the specification, which states in [0042], "Model augmentation program 300 receives confirmation of client training of feature mapper (step 330). Model augmentation program 300 remains in standby and "listen" mode, while respective clients perform the task of training the received seed model. While in a paused listening mode, model augmentation program 300 receives a message indicating a respective client has completed training of a feature mapper that maps the existing private feature data of the respective client's asset to the canonical inputs of the seed model and optimizing the resulting seed model output."
While the training of the base model does occur after receiving confirmation of client training of feature mapper, this is not the same as receiving confirmation of the feature mapper having been generated. This limitation constitutes new matter.
For purposes of examination, this limitation will be treated as "wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been trained to map the local client data to the canonical input schema."
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-12, and 14-20 fail to resolve the issue and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 13 recite the limitation "the first set of clients" in the fourth paragraph of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 9-12 and 14-20 fail to resolve the issues and are rejected with the same rationales.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP § 2109(III) sets out steps for evaluating whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject
matter. The analysis of claims 1-20, in accordance with these steps, follows.
Step 1 Analysis:
Step 1 is to determine whether the claim is directed to a statutory category (process, machine,
manufacture, or composition of matter). Claims 1-7 are directed to an article of manufacture, claims 8-12 are directed to a machine, and claims 13-20 are directed to an article of manufacture. All claims are directed to a statutory category and analysis continues.
Step 2A Prong One, Step 2A Prong Two, and Step 2B Analysis:
Step 2A Prong One asks if the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon). If the claim recites a judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. If the claim does not integrate the judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2B, which asks if the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the claim does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
None of the claims represent an improvement to technology.
Regarding claim 1, the following claim elements are abstract ideas:
group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective existing models, and based on compatibility of feature schemas of the respective existing models relative to a canonical input schema; (Grouping models into domains is a mental process of evaluation. One, given data, could group existing models into domains practically in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.)
mapping feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients to a canonical schema of the seed model (Mapping data can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, and therefore is a mental process.)
transformation of local client data into canonical input features compatible with the seed model, (Transformation of data into canonical input features can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
map local input features of asset data of the plurality of clients into the set of canonical input features of the seed model; (One could practically map data to another type of the data in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
generate an augmented model by federation of attributes (One could, in the human mind, combine multiple attributes to generate a conceptual augmented model. This is a mental process.)
wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model (One could, in the human mind, combine multiple attributes to generate a conceptual augmented model. This is a mental process.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with
the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor
amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A computer program product for generating an artificial intelligence (Al) model, the
computer program product comprising: (This recites generic computer components and generic computer functions. This is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).)
at least one computer readable storage medium, and program instructions stored on the at least one computer readable storage medium, the program instructions comprising: (This recites generic computer components and generic computer functions. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to receive information associated with respective existing models from a plurality of clients; (Program instructions are a generic computer function; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to … (Program instructions are a generic computer function; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to send a seed model to a first set of clients of the plurality of clients that correspond to existing models that are grouped into a first domain, the seed model specifying a set of canonical input features, and defining the canonical input schema for training a base model; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2). Specifying which data is sent is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), ‘Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated’.)
program instructions to receive confirmation of …, using a schema transformation service enabling (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is receiving data, which is an existing process. A schema transformation service is a generic implementation of an abstract idea on a computer. This is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2). )
wherein the mapping comprises generation of a feature mapper configured to transform local client data into canonical input features of the canonical input schema, and wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local data to the canonical input schema; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “feature mapper” is a computer-implemented mapping of one type of data to another, which is a known and generic process on a computer Training of the base model is a generic machine learning process of federated learning. Receiving confirmation of the mapping is the generic computer process of receiving data. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to generate a feature mapper configured to …, wherein the feature mapper comprises a trained feature mapping model having learned parameters and being applied during training of the base model; (Generating and using a machine learning model with learned parameters is a generic process in machine learning. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instruction to generate a local version of the seed model using the map of the local input features of the asset data, including applying the trained feature mapping model to transform the local input features into the canonical input features; (Generating a local version of the model is a generic process in federated learning. Using the mapping of the features is a generic process of applying a machine learning model. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to send the base model with the canonical schema associated with the seed model, respectively, to the first set of clients, the feature data having been transformed into the canonical input schema; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to receive from the first set of clients, respectively, the base model that is trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients, wherein generating the augmented model includes…; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is receiving data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to … from the received base models of the first set of clients, trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients … the attributes being generated from training using the feature data mapped to the canonical input features; and (This recites generic training, which is an existing process on a computer; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to distribute the augmented model to the plurality of clients. (This describes a generic process in federated learning. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
program instructions to send the augmented model to respective clients of the first set of clients, wherein a feature mapper of the respective clients of the first set of clients is prepended to the augmented model. (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein the feature data of respective clients of the first set of clients is private data that is unshared, remains with a respective client, (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), “Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated”.) and is used by the respective client to generate a feature mapper with the seed model and to train the base model. (This recites generic training, which is an existing process on a computer; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
program instructions to communicate a procedure to generate an algorithm to translate respective features of the feature data of the existing model of the respective client to the canonical schema of the seed model; and (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to communicate a procedure to apply the feature data of a respective client’s asset to the algorithm transforming the feature data to an input feature of the canonical schema of the augmented model. (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
program instructions to perform learning federation techniques on the received trained base models from the respective clients; and (This recites generic federated learning, which is an existing process on a computer; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to generate a single augmented model including attributes of the base model that is trained and received, respectively, from the first set of clients. (This recites generic training, which is an existing process on a computer; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein the canonical schema of the seed model and the base model include one or more input features and at least one output feature. (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), “Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated”.)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 7 recites the following abstract idea:
wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type. (This is sorting criteria of the grouping performed in claim 1. The grouping, as explained above, is an abstract idea, and, as this limitation is a part of the grouping, this limitation is also an abstract idea of mental process.)
Claim 7 does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding claim 8, the following are abstract ideas:
maps private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model (Mapping data types can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
transformation of local client data into canonical input features compatible with the seed model, (Transformation of data into canonical input features can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
generate rules mapping local client data into canonical input formats compatible with the seed model received by the first set of clients; (Generating rules to map data into canonical input formats can be practically performed in the human mind, i.e. deciding which data corresponds to each format. This is a mental process.)
map local input features of asset data of the plurality of client into the set canonical input features; (One could practically map data to another type of the data in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
applying the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of inputs (Applying a mapping can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model (One could, in the human mind, combine multiple attributes to generate a conceptual augmented model. This is a mental process.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A computer system for improving a model based on augmenting a plurality of models trained on private feature data, the system comprising: (This recites generic computer components and generic computer functions. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
one of more computer processors; (This recites generic computer components. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
at least one computer readable storage medium; and (This recites a generic computer component. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions stored on the at least one computer readable storage medium, the program instructions comprising: (This recites generic computer components and generic computer functions. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to send an existing model of a first model type to a model augmentation service; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to receive a seed model that includes a canonical schema of data input and output, the seed model specifying a set of canonical input features; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is receiving data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.) This is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2). Specifying which data is sent is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), ‘Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated’.)
program instructions to train the seed model by generating a feature mapper that … program instructions to receive confirmation of …, using a schema transformation service enabling … wherein the feature mapper comprises a trained feature mapping model having learned parameters and being applied during training of the base model; (A schema transformation service is a generic implementation of an abstract idea on a computer. This recites generic training, which is an existing process on a computer. A schema transformation service is a generic implementation of an abstract idea on a computer. Generating and using a machine learning model with learned parameters is a generic process in machine learning. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
wherein the mapping comprises generation of a feature mapper configured to transform local client data into canonical input features of the canonical input schema, and wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local data to the canonical input schema; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “feature mapper” is a computer-implemented mapping of one type of data to another, which is a known and generic process on a computer. Training of the base model is a generic machine learning process of federated learning. Receiving confirmation of the mapping is the generic computer process of receiving data. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instruction to generate a local version of the seed model using the map of the local input features of the asset data, including applying the trained feature mapping model to transform the local input features into the canonical input features;; (Generating a local version of the model is a generic process in federated learning. Using the mapping of the features is a generic process of applying a machine learning model. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to send a confirmation of completion of mapping of the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model to the model augmentation service; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to receive the base model including the canonical schema of the seed model; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is receiving data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to train the base model by … by use of the feature mapper; (This recites generic training, which is an existing process on a computer; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to send the trained base model to a model augmentation service; (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to receive from the model augmentation service, a single augmented model generated by application of federated learning applied to a plurality of base models of the first model type, … the attributes being generated from training using the feature data mapped to the canonical input features; and (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is receiving data, which is an existing process. Generating and aggregating attributes from training is a generic process in federated learning. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
program instructions to prepend the feature mapper to the single augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the private feature data of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper prepended to the single augmented model, and (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of sorting information. See MPEP § 2106.05(d), third list, (vi).)
program instructions to distribute the augmented model to the plurality of clients. (This describes a generic process in federated learning. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception: program instructions to communicate a technique of training the base model by applying the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the base model by use of the feature mapper. (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is transmitting data, which is an existing process. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 10 recites the following abstract idea:
wherein a varying number of features of the private feature data of the existing model are mapped to a fixed number of canonical features of the seed model. (Mapping data can be practically performed in the human mind, given the data. This is a mental process.)
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein the seed model is used as the base model. (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), “Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated”.)
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein one or more base models of the plurality of base models used to generate the single augmented model are from historically received base models. (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), “Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated”)
Claims 13 and 14 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 8 and 9 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
generate the single augmented model by repeatedly averaging the weights of the plurality of base models of the first model type. (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of performing repetitive calculations. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), first list, (ii).)
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 16 recites the following abstract ideas:
generate an algorithm to translate a feature of the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model; and (Generating an algorithm can be practically be performed in the human mind, i.e. coming up with a procedure to translate data. This is a mental process.)
apply the private feature data of the existing model to the algorithm transforming the a
feature of the private feature of the existing model to an input feature of the canonical schema of
the augmented model. (Applying an algorithm can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, i.e. following a procedure to transform the data. This is a mental process.)
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
generate the feature mapper based on the seed model received; and (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation includes using the machine learning model, which is an existing process on a computer. This is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
train the base model using the feature mapper to map the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the augmented model. (This recites generic training, which is an existing process on a computer; this is mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Claims 18 and 19 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 10 and 12 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 20 recites the following abstract idea:
wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type. (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), “Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated”.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019), Calo (“Federated Learning for Coalition Operations, October 14, 2019), and Samek (US 2022/0108177 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Verma teaches
A computer program product for generating an artificial intelligence (Al) model, the computer program product comprising: (The title states that the paper is a “Web Services based Implementation”. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a web service is implemented using a computer program product. The abstract states "In such situations, the enterprise can benefit from the concept of federated learning in which ML models are created at multiple different geographic sites. These are combined together at a federation server without the need to share data.")
at least one computer readable storage medium, and program instructions stored on the at least one computer readable storage medium, the program instructions comprising: (One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that, in order to have a web service, a computer readable storage medium must be used and store program instructions to run the web service. Hereinafter, this is considered the explanation for “program instructions to”.)
program instructions to receive information associated with respective [models] from a plurality of clients; (Fig. 4, page 25 shows “The invocation of fusion services once training service is called.” The training service, interpreted as a client, uses /report_stats, which, according to page 25, is “used by a training service to provide the aggregate statistics of its local data.” The statistic are interpreted as the information associated with respective models. Fig. 2, page 24 shows that there are a plurality of training services, so there are a plurality of clients, that each use /report_stats to send information to the fusion service, which receives the information.)
a seed model …, the seed model specifying a set of canonical input features, and defining the canonical input schema for training a base model; (Page 26 states "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." The model of the first site is interpreted as the seed model, as its schema will be used as the canonical schema. Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Therefore, the training data schema is interpreted as the input features, meaning that the canonical schema has canonical input features.)
program instructions to receive confirmation of mapping feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients to a canonical schema of the seed model, (Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Page 25 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Therefore, as Fig. 4 shows that the /update_model is invoked after /get_policy, which tells the clients how to map the data, receiving the results of local training is receiving confirmation of mapping feature data.) using a schema transformation service enabling transformation of local client data into canonical input features compatible with the seed model, (Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema." As the seed model is the first training site, and the common schema is from the first training site, the transformation policies, interpreted as the rules, are generated to map local client data (the training service) into canonical input features compatible with the seed model. The fusion service is interpreted as the schema transformation service.)
wherein the mapping comprises generation of a feature mapper configured to transform local client data into canonical input features of the canonical input schema, and wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local client data to the canonical input schema; (Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set." Therefore, the feature mapper will be generated before the training of the base model at the first set of clients. One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that the fusion server would check if the policies, including the feature mapper, are generated/trained before distributing the policies, meaning that it receives confirmation of the completion of the training of the feature mapper.)
program instruction to generate a feature mapper configured to map local input features of input features of asset data of the plurality of clients into the set of canonical input features of the seed model, (Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Therefore, the mapping is interpreted as the feature mapping module. Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." The training services are interpreted as the plurality of clients, and their training data is interpreted as the input features. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “asset” is anything owned by the client, meaning that the training data, owned by the client, is asset data. As the seed model is the first training site, and the common schema is from the first training site, mapping local input features into a common schema is mapping local input features into the set of canonical input features of the seed model.) wherein the feature mapper comprises a trained feature mapping model having learned parameters (Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that a model with learned parameters would perform this task, such as a neural network.) and being applied during training of a base model (Page 25, Fig. 4 shows the process of the training of the model, where "get policy: [is] called to get the transformation policies from the Fusion Server. The Fusion Server controls how the data from different training sites ought to be transformed so that it can correspond to a common schema and format for input training data. The policy may also indicate an approach to change the labels to get the canonical data for training.")
program instructions to generate a local version of the seed model using the map of the local input features of the asset data, including applying the trained feature mapping model to transform the local input features into the canonical input features; (Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format.” This is interpreted as how the model is generated using the map of features. Page 25 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Therefore, as the seed model is from the first training site, receiving the fused model is receiving the seed model, and converting the local training data into a specific format to use with the model is interpreted as generating a local version if the seed model. As the feature mapping model is included in the policies for transformation of data, the trained feature mapping model is used to transform the local input features into the canonical input features.)
a base model with the canonical schema associated with the seed model (The base model is interpreted to be the seed model. As they are the same, the base model has the canonical schema associated with the seed model.)
program instructions to receive from the first set of clients, respectively, [a model] that is trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients, the feature data having been transformed into the canonical input schema; and (Note that in this combination of methods, all clients taught by Verma are interpreted to be in a group (first set of clients), as taught by Samek. Page 25 states "update_model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fusion server receives the results of local training, which is a model. Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format." Fig. 4 shows that this step occurs before the model is updated/sent.)
program instructions to generate an augmented model by federation of attributes from the received [models] of the first set of clients, trained by the feature data of the respective existing models of the first set of clients, … the attributes being generated from training using the feature data mapped to the canonical input features; and (As stated above, update_model receives the trained models from the clients and “returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites.” As the models have different attributes, as proven by the need for transformation policies, integrating the data is federation of attributes. Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Page 24 further states "With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." Therefore, the clients use their own feature data to train the model.)
program instructions to distribute the augmented model to the plurality of clients (Page 35 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fused model is interpreted as the augmented model.)
Verma does not appear to explicitly teach
[receiving information associated with] existing models
program instructions to group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective existing models;
program instructions to send a seed model to a first set of clients of the plurality of clients that correspond to existing models that are grouped into a first domain;
program instructions to send [a model], respectively, to the first set of clients;
[receiving a model trained by the feature data]
[generating an augmented model using] the base model … wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model,
However, Calo—directed to analogous art—teaches
[receiving information associated with] existing models (Page 2, “Model Sharing Mode” states "In the model sharing mode shown in Fig. 3, the coalition partners do not share the training data with each other. Instead, they each train their models on the local data they have, and exchange models with each other." Fig. 3 shows that the fusion server receives the models, meaning it receives information associated with the existing models.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo because, as Calo states on page 2, “Model Sharing Mode”, "This mode is useful when the training data sets are too large, or the training data sets can not be exchanged for any reason, e.g. they may reveal sensitive details about the attributes of the equipment used to collect the data. Model sharing may use approaches for fusion of models [5] which can be optimized for performance [6]."
The combination of Verma and Calo do not appear to explicitly teach [receiving information associated with] existing models
program instructions to group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective [models] and based on compatibility of feature schemas of the respective existing models relative to a canonical input schema;
program instructions to send [a model] to a first set of clients of the plurality of clients that correspond to existing models that are grouped into a first domain;
program instructions to send a base model with the canonical schema associated with the seed model, respectively, to the first set of clients;
[receiving] the base model [trained by the feature data]
[generating an augmented model using] the base model … wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model,
However, Samek—directed to analogous art—teaches
program instructions to group the respective existing models from the plurality of clients into domains based on the received information of the respective [models] and based on compatibility of feature schemas of the respective existing models relative to a canonical input schema; ([0081] states "The apparatus 80 uses these parameterization updates 90 in order to perform Federated Learning of the neural network depending on similarities between these parameterization updates 90. In particular, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the parameterization updates 90, are subject to a similarity determination 92 yielding the similarities between similarity determination 92 yielding the similarities between the parameterization updates 90 and depending on these similarities a Federated Learning 94 of the neural network is performed. Similarity determination 92 and Federated Learning 94 are performed by the processor 84." The similarity determination is based on the update. [0082] states "Based on the similarities thus represented by the correlation matrix 96, the parameterization updates and thus, the clients 14, relating thereto, are clustered so as and thus, the clients 14, relating thereto, are clustered so as of client groups." Client groups are interpreted as domains. See 112(a) rejection for interpretation.)
program instructions to send [a model] to a first set of clients of the plurality of clients that correspond to existing models that are grouped into a first domain; ([0135] states "Each client 14 is provided with the parametrization
P
j
of the cluster it belongs to." [0056] states "The clients 14 are not only able to parameterize an internal instantiation of the neural network 16 accordingly, i.e., according to this setting, but the clients 14 are also able to train this neural network 16 thus parametrized using training data available to the respective client." As the clients already have an instantiation of a neural network, the parameterization allows the client to have the same model as the server, effectively sending a seed model.)
program instructions to send a base model with the canonical schema associated with the seed model, respectively, to the first set of clients; (As above, the seed model is interpreted to be the base model. Therefore, the above explanation is also the explanation for this limitation.)
[receiving] the base model [trained by the feature data] ("Next, each client 14 uploads its parameterization update, i.e., the modification of the parameterization setting downloaded at 32. Each client, thus, informs the server 12 on the update. The modification results from the training in step 34 performed by the respective client 14." Therefore, the updated base model is received.)
[generating an augmented model using] the base model … wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the trained base model, ([0058] states "In step 38, the server 12 then merges all the parameterization updates received from the clients 14, the merging representing a kind of averaging such as by use of merging representing a kind of averaging such as by use of merging representing a kind of averaging such as by use of a weighted average with the weights considering, for instance, the amount of training data using which the param step 34. The parameterization update thus obtained at step 38 at this end of cycle i indicates the parameterization setting for the download 32 at the beginning of the subsequent cycle i + 1." Therefore, the aggregation of the parameterization updates, interpreted as the attributes of the trained base model, is performed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo with the teachings of Samek because, as Samek states in [0012], "In accordance with the first aspect of the present application, the acceptance of Federated Learning difficulties is overcome based on the insight that parameterization updates suffice to deduce similarities between local training data resources."
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, Verma teaches
program instructions to send the augmented model to respective clients of the first set of clients, wherein a feature mapper of the respective clients of the first set of clients is prepended to the augmented model. (In Fig. 4, the invocation of services is shown. /get_policy which is "called to get the transformation policies from the Fusion Server. The Fusion Server controls how the data from different training sites ought to be transformed so that it can correspond to a common schema and format for input training data. The policy may also indicate an approach to change the labels to get the canonical data for training" (page 25) is invoked before the fused model (augmented model) is returned by /update_model, which is "used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites" (page 25). Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites." This policy is interpreted as a feature mapper, which will be set to the clients before the augmented model.)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
wherein the feature data of respective clients of the first set of clients is private data that is unshared, remains with a respective client, and is used by the respective client to generate a feature mapper with the seed model and to train the base model. (Page 23, section F states "Data collected at different clinical groups may be stored separately depending on the type of access controls required by the system. An AI model in these cases would be run by the research organization. Yet the research organization would not be allowed to access the raw data. One way to address these requirements would be to transform the data to hide any personal information before creating an AI model from it. However, implementing a variation of Fusion AI, which would be able to process raw data at each of the clinical site, is more likely to provide a more accurate model." Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the firs site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." As the schema is associated with the seed model, using the schema to generate the feature mapper will be using the seed model to generate the feature mapper.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
program instructions to communicate a procedure to generate an algorithm to translate respective features of the feature data of the existing model of the respective client to the canonical schema of the seed model; and (Page 26 states "Another type of policy that needs to be generated is that for converting different features that may be called different names at different sites. These policies would be of the format if col. name = xyz, then rename it as abc. The mapping from the different column names of each site to a canonical format needs to be determined." Policies are interpreted as algorithms. The model in the first training site is again interpreted as the seed model because, as page 26 states, "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used.” In order to perform the procedure, the procedure must be communicated by the processor. Thus, the communication is inherent.)
program instructions to communicate a procedure to apply the feature data of a respective client’s asset to the algorithm transforming the feature data to an input feature of the canonical schema of the augmented model. (Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the “specific format” is the canonical schema. Page 24 further states "The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data. The control information may also contain information about batch-sizes and number of iterations the training service may need in order to conduct a successful model training exercise. With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." In order for the fused model to be trained, the transformed feature data must be input to the fused model, and the transformed feature data must match the schema of the fused model, interpreted as the augmented model.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
program instructions to perform learning federation techniques [on models from the respective clients]; and (Page 26 states "In order to deal with schema differences, the data available at each of the sites needs to be converted into a single common format over which federated learning can be performed." Page 25 states that /update_model is "used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites.")
program instructions to generate a single augmented model including attributes of the base model that is trained and received, respectively, from the first set of clients. (As stated above, the fused model is interpreted as the single augmented model. Page 26 states "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." The first site model is interpreted as the base model, which, as the schema of the base model is used as the common schema, the augmented model will have the attributes of the base model.)
Verma does not appear to explicitly teach
[performing learning federation techniques] on the received trained base models from the respective clients
However, Samek—directed to analogous art—teaches
[performing learning federation techniques] on the received trained base models from the respective clients ([0135] states "Each client 14 is provided with the parametrization
P
j
of the cluster it belongs to." [0056] states "The clients 14 are not only able to parameterize an internal instantiation of the neural network 16 accordingly, i.e., according to this setting, but the clients 14 are also able to train this neural network 16 thus parametrized using training data available to the respective client." As the clients already have an instantiation of a neural network, the parameterization allows the client to have the same model as the server, meaning that they have a base model. Therefore, the parameterization is interpreted as the base model. [0135] further states "The clients 14 receive same at 32, the clients 14 decrypt it at 154; update their own version of the cluster specific parametrization P, at 34 using the downloaded difference signal, whereupon the clients perform the local training at 36 to update their local parametrization which they then encrypt at 152 and upload at 38. At server/apparatus side, the updates 104 are gathered at 172, merged at 36 and the updated parametrizations P, are broadcast at 32." Merging the updates is interpreted as learning federation techniques.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Samek for the reasons given above in regards to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
wherein the canonical schema of the seed model and the base model include one or more input features and at least one output feature. (Page 26 states "Another type of policy that needs to be generated is that for converting different features that may be called different names at different sites. These policies would be of the format if col. name = xyz, then rename it as abc." This is interpreted as the input features, which are in a schema because, as page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used." Page 26 further states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." The labels of the common model, are interpreted as the output features of the schema, as the schema is based on the common model and the other labels are mapped to the common labels.)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019), Calo (“Federated Learning for Coalition Operations, October 14, 2019), and Samek (US 2022/0108177 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hiessl (“Industrial Federated Learning—Requirements and System Design”, 2020).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Verma does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type.
However, Hiessl—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type. (Page 46 states "To this end, we identify the requirement of evaluating models in regards to similarities of asset data influenced by operating and environmental conditions. This is the basis for building FL cohorts of FL tasks using asset data with similar characteristics. FL cohorts enable that FL clients only share updates within a subset of FL clients, whose submitted FL tasks belong to the same FL cohort." Therefore, models are grouped into cohorts (domains) with models using asset data with similar characteristics, interpreted as the asset type.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma, Calo, and Samek with the teachings of Hiessl because, as Hiessl states on page 46, "As discussed in Sect. 3.2, FL client selection plays a role in FL to reduce duration of e.g., training or evaluation [12]. Furthermore, client selection based on evaluation using held-out validation data, can improve accuracy of the global model [1]."
Claim(s) 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019), Calo (“Federated Learning for Coalition Operations, October 14, 2019), Samek (US 2022/0108177 A1), and Choudhury (“Anonymizing Data for Privacy-Preserving Federated Learning”, February 2020).
Regarding claim 8, Verma teaches
A computer system for improving a model based on augmenting a plurality of models trained on private feature data, the method comprising: (The title states that the paper is a “Web Services based Implementation”. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a web service is implemented using a computer program product. The abstract states "In such situations, the enterprise can benefit from the concept of federated learning in which ML models are created at multiple different geographic sites. These are combined together at a federation server without the need to share data.")
one of more computer processors; (One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that, in order to have a web service, a processor must be used in order to execute the instructions on the computer readable medium.)
at least one computer readable storage medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one computer readable storage medium, the program instructions comprising: (One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that, in order to have a web service, a computer readable storage medium must be used and store program instructions to run the web service. Hereinafter, this is considered the explanation for “program instructions to”.)
a seed model that includes a canonical schema of data input and output, the seed model specifying a set of canonical input features; (Page 26 states "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." The model of the first site is interpreted as the seed model, as its schema will be used as the canonical schema. Page 26 states "Another type of policy that needs to be generated is that for converting different features that may be called different names at different sites. These policies would be of the format if col. name = xyz, then rename it as abc." This is interpreted as the input features, which are in a schema because, as page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used." Page 26 further states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." The labels of the common model, are interpreted as the output features of the schema, as the schema is based on the common model and the other labels are mapped to the common labels. Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Therefore, the training data schema is interpreted as the input features, meaning that the canonical schema has canonical input features.))
program instructions to train the seed model by generating a feature mapper that maps [feature data] of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model. (Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema.") using a schema transformation service enabling transformation of local client data into canonical input features compatible with the seed model, (Page 26 states "The mapping of the features is done initially by comparing the feature names provided in the schema of two different sites. By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema." As the seed model is the first training site, and the common schema is from the first training site, the transformation policies, interpreted as the rules, are generated to map local client data (the training service) into canonical input features compatible with the seed model. The fusion service is interpreted as the schema transformation service.) wherein the feature mapper comprises a trained feature mapping model having learned parameters (Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that a model with learned parameters would perform this task, such as a neural network.) and being applied during training of a base model (Page 25, Fig. 4 shows the process of the training of the model, where "get policy: [is] called to get the transformation policies from the Fusion Server. The Fusion Server controls how the data from different training sites ought to be transformed so that it can correspond to a common schema and format for input training data. The policy may also indicate an approach to change the labels to get the canonical data for training.")
wherein the mapping comprises generation of a feature mapper configured to transform local client data into canonical input features of the canonical input schema, and wherein training of the base model at the first set of clients is performed after receipt of confirmation that the feature mapper has been generated to map the local client data to the canonical input schema; (Page 26 states "A third type of policy that needs to be generated is the policy scheme that maps different labels in the output corpus among each other, i.e. to deal with the situation where the output labels are different at different sites. In order to deal with this approach, an AI model that is trained for classification into the labels defined for the first training site is used. Each site uses this model to classify its own feature data, and compares the label provided by the model with the original label, creating a matrix that counts the output labels of the common model against the labels of the original data. A policy that matches the label in the original data to the most frequent label output by the model is generated." Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set." Therefore, the feature mapper will be generated before the training of the base model at the first set of clients. One of ordinary skill in the art would reason that the fusion server would check if the policies, including the feature mapper, are generated/trained before distributing the policies, meaning that it receives confirmation of the completion of the training of the feature mapper.)
program instructions to generate a local version of the seed model using a map of the local input features of the asset data, including applying the trained feature mapping model to transform the local input features into the canonical input features; (Page 24 states "On the receipt of the control information, each training service contacts the fusion service to get a set of transformation policies. The fusion server compares the data it has locally with the provided statistics, and uses it to generate a set of policies for transformation of data at the training service. The goal of these generated policies is to get data from each of the different training services into a common schema. The policies that will be sent to the training service will include instructions for changing the type of the raw data (e.g. convert.jpg images into.png, or convert.avi sound files into.wav files etc.), relabeling the features to a common set of names, and relabeling the output label values into a different common set. The algorithms for generating these policies are described in more detail in [11]. Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format.” This is interpreted as how the model is generated using the map of features. Page 25 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Therefore, as the seed model is from the first training site, receiving the fused model is receiving the seed model, and converting the local training data into a specific format to use with the model is interpreted as generating a local version if the seed model. As the feature mapping model is included in the policies for transformation of data, the trained feature mapping model is used to transform the local input features into the canonical input features.)
program instructions to send a confirmation of completion of mapping of the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model to the model augmentation service; (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the program to send confirmation of the completion of this step in order to correctly proceed with the federated learning process.)
a base model including the canonical schema of the seed model; (The base model is interpreted to be the seed model. As they are the same, the base model has the canonical schema associated with the seed model.)
program instructions to train [a model] by applying the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of inputs by use of the feature mapper; (Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format." Page 24 further states "With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." Page 25 states "update_model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Page 23, section F states "Data collected at different clinical groups may be stored separately depending on the type of access controls required by the system. An AI model in these cases would be run by the research organization. Yet the research organization would not be allowed to access the raw data. One way to address these requirements would be to transform the data to hide any personal information before creating an AI model from it. However, implementing a variation of Fusion AI, which would be able to process raw data at each of the clinical site, is more likely to provide a more accurate model.")
program instructions to send the trained [model] to a model augmentation service; (Page 25 states "update_model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fusion server receives the results of local training, which is a model.)
program instructions to receive from the model augmentation service, a single augmented model generated by application of federated learning applied to a plurality of [models], wherein generating the augmented model includes aggregating attributes of the plurality of base models,the attributes being generated from training using the feature data mapped to the canonical input features; and; and (Page 25 states "update_model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." Integrating the other training sites into a fused model is federated learning. As the server returns the fused model, interpreted as the augmented model, the client receives the model. As stated above, update_model receives the trained models from the clients and “returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites.” As the models have different attributes, as proven by the need for transformation policies, integrating the data is federation/aggregation of attributes. Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data." Page 24 further states "With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." Therefore, the clients use their own feature data to train the model.))
program instructions to distribute the augmented model to the plurality of clients (Page 35 states "update model: used during the training phase of the federated learning. At each invocation of this interface, the fusion server receives the results of local training at each site, and returns the fused model that comes from integrating the other training sites." The fused model is interpreted as the augmented model.)
Verma does not appear to explicitly teach
program instructions to send an existing model of a first model type to a model augmentation service;
program instructions to receive a seed model
program instructions to receive a base model including the canonical schema of the seed model;
[training] the base model [and sending the model to a model augmentation service]
program instructions to prepend the feature mapper to the single augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the private feature data of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper prepended to the single augmented model.
However, Calo—directed to analogous art—teaches
program instructions to send an existing model of a first type to a model augmentation service; (Page 2, “Model Sharing Mode” states "In the model sharing mode shown in Fig. 3, the coalition partners do not share the training data with each other. Instead, they each train their models on the local data they have, and exchange models with each other." Fig. 3 shows that the fusion server receives the models, meaning it receives information associated with the existing models. The fusion server combines models (section VII. Federated Learning in Model Sharing Mode). All models have a type.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo because, as Calo states on page 2, “Model Sharing Mode”, "This mode is useful when the training data sets are too large, or the training data sets can not be exchanged for any reason, e.g. they may reveal sensitive details about the attributes of the equipment used to collect the data. Model sharing may use approaches for fusion of models [5] which can be optimized for performance [6]."
The combination of Verma and Calo does not appear to explicitly teach
program instructions to receive a seed model
private feature data
program instructions to receive a base model
[training] the base model [and sending the model to a model augmentation service]
program instructions to prepend the feature mapper to the single augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the [feature data] of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper prepended to the single augmented model.
However, Samek—directed to analogous art—teaches
program instructions to receive a seed model ([0135] states "Each client 14 is provided with the parametrization
P
j
of the cluster it belongs to." [0056] states "The clients 14 are not only able to parameterize an internal instantiation of the neural network 16 accordingly, i.e., according to this setting, but the clients 14 are also able to train this neural network 16 thus parametrized using training data available to the respective client." As the clients already have an instantiation of a neural network, the parameterization allows the client to have the same model as the server, effectively sending a seed model to the client, which receives the seed model.)
program instructions to receive a base model (As above, the seed model is interpreted to be the base model. Therefore, the above explanation is also the explanation for this limitation.)
[training] the base model [and sending the model to a model augmentation service] ([0080] states "That is, each client 14, trains the parameterization
P
0
received on the basis of its local training data
88
i
to yield a locally trained or adapted parameterization
P
t
; and sends as the parameterization update merely a difference between this locally trained parameterization
t
i
and the initial parameterization updates
P
0
, namely
∆
P
i
, back to apparatus 80." The apparatus, according to [0081], performs federated learning, and is therefore interpreted as the model augmentation service.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo with the teachings of Samek because, as Samek states in [0012], "In accordance with the first aspect of the present application, the acceptance of Federated Learning difficulties is overcome based on the insight that parameterization updates suffice to deduce similarities between local training data resources."
The combination of Verma, Calo, and Samek does not appear to explicitly teach
program instructions to prepend the feature mapper to the single augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the [feature data] of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper prepended to the single augmented model.
However, Choudhury—directed to analogous art—teaches
program instructions to prepend the feature mapper to the single augmented base model received from the model augmentation service, wherein the [feature data] of the existing model is applied to the feature mapper prepended to the single augmented model. (The caption of Fig. 2 states "When the aggregator server (or site) receives a new dataset (
D
T
), the samples are mapped to an appropriate equivalence class prior to using the federated model for predictive analysis." The mapping is interpreted as the feature mapper. The trained global FL model is interpreted as the augmented model. Page 5, section 3.6 states "After training the FL model we can use it to perform predictions on new test data, which can be received at the server or at the local sites. The new data samples are in the form of the original data, while the FL model has been trained on anonymized data. As a result, we need to map each new sample to its most similar equivalence class from M, which is known to the global model." As the mapping is applied before using the data on the model, the mapping is prepended.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma, Calo, and Samek with the teachings of Choudhury because, as Choudhury states on page 5, section 3.6, "After training the FL model we can use it to perform predictions on new test data, which can be received at the server or at the local sites. The new data samples are in the form of the original data, while the FL model has been trained on anonymized data. As a result, we need to map each new sample to its most similar equivalence class from M, which is known to the global model.")
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches program instructions to communicate a technique of training the base model by applying the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the base model by use of the feature mapper. (Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format. The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data. The control information may also contain information about batch-sizes and number of iterations the training service may need in order to conduct a successful model training exercise. With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the specific format is the canonical schema of the base model, as page 26 states "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used. Each subsequent site that joins the training session needs to use a set of policies to translate its local schema to that of the common schema." In order for a processor to perform the technique, the technique must be communicated to the processor, and the communication is thus inherent.)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
wherein a varying number of features of the private feature data of the existing model are mapped to a fixed number of canonical features of the seed model. (Page 26 states "The initial feature name mapping is done by matching each of the names to a hashed vector from a corpus of documents, with each feature name being mapped to the name in the common schema that is the closest in the hashed vector representation. For the case where a sample is available, a document hashing approach [14] is used to calculate the closest vector." One of ordinary skill would realize that, when executed, this procedure will cause a varying number of features to be mapped to the fixed number of schema features, as several feature names may be closest to a feature name in the schema, interpreted as the canonical features of the seed model.)
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
wherein the seed model is used as the base model. (The base model is interpreted to be the seed model. As they are the same, the base model has the canonical schema associated with the seed model.)
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. The combination of Verma and Calo does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein one or more base models of the plurality of base models used to generate the signal augmented model are from historically received base models.
However, Samek—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein one or more base models of the plurality of base models used to generate the single augmented model are from historically received base models having a similar first model type. ([0082] states "Here, mutual similarity between the parameterization updates manifests itself in a correlation matrix 96, the components
C
i
j
of which indicate the similarity between the parameterization updates
90
i
and
90
j
, respectively." [0082] further states "Based on the similarities thus represented by the correlation matrix 96, the parameterization updates and thus, the clients 14, relating thereto, are clustered so as and thus, the clients 14, relating thereto, are clustered so as of client groups." As the client groups are clustered by similarities in their updates, the domains include models performing similar first model type. In order for a group to be formed (a group consisting of two or more models), there must be historically received base models in the group.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo with the teachings of Samek for the reasons given above in regards to claim 8.
Claims 13 and 14 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 8 and 9 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. The combination of Verma and Calo does not appear to explicitly teach
generate the single augmented model by repeatedly averaging the weights of the plurality of base models of the first model type.
However, Samek—directed to analogous art—teaches
generate the single augmented model by repeatedly averaging the weights of the plurality of base models of the first model type. ([0058] states "In step 38, the server 12 then merges all the parameterization updates received from the clients 14, the merging representing a kind of averaging such as by use of merging representing a kind of averaging such as by use of merging representing a kind of averaging such as by use of a weighted average with the weights considering, for instance, the amount of training data using which the param step 34. The parameterization update thus obtained at step 38 at this end of cycle i indicates the parameterization setting for the download 32 at the beginning of the subsequent cycle i + 1." As there is a cycle, the step is repeated. As above, the parameterizations are interpreted as the base models.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo with the teachings of Samek for the reasons given above in regards to claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
generate an algorithm to translate a feature of the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the seed model; and (Page 26 states "Another type of policy that needs to be generated is that for converting different features that may be called different names at different sites. These policies would be of the format if col. name = xyz, then rename it as abc. The mapping from the different column names of each site to a canonical format needs to be determined." Policies are interpreted as algorithms. The model in the first training site is again interpreted as the seed model because, as page 26 states, "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used.”)
apply the private feature data of the existing model to the algorithm transforming the a
feature of the private feature of the existing model to an input feature of the canonical schema of
the augmented model. (Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the “specific format” is the canonical schema. Page 24 further states "The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data. The control information may also contain information about batch-sizes and number of iterations the training service may need in order to conduct a successful model training exercise. With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." In order for the fused model to be trained, the transformed feature data must be input to the fused model, and the transformed feature data must match the schema of the fused model, interpreted as the augmented model.)
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. Verma teaches
generate the feature mapper based on [the seed model]; and ((Page 26 states "Another type of policy that needs to be generated is that for converting different features that may be called different names at different sites. These policies would be of the format if col. name = xyz, then rename it as abc. The mapping from the different column names of each site to a canonical format needs to be determined." The model in the first training site is again interpreted as the seed model because, as page 26 states, "By default, we assume that the schema of the first site joining into a training session is considered the common schema to be used.” As the feature mapper is determined using the schema of the seed model, the feature mapper is based on the feature mapper.)
train the base model using the feature mapper to map the private feature data of the existing model to the canonical schema of the augmented model. (Page 24 states "Upon receipt of the policies, the training service uses the policies to convert the local training data into a specific format." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the “specific format” is the canonical schema. Page 24 further states "The previously received control information instructs the training server about the operations it should conduct before starting the fusion, e.g. in some types of fusion processes it may need to send a small sample of its data set or a generator for representative synthetic data. The control information may also contain information about batch-sizes and number of iterations the training service may need in order to conduct a successful model training exercise. With the receipt of the control parameters, the training service goes through the training stage, working with the fusion service in the fusion stage." In order for the fused model to be trained, the transformed feature data must be input to the fused model, and the transformed feature data must match the schema of the fused model, interpreted as the augmented model.)
The combination of Verma and Calo does not appear to explicitly teach
the seed model received
However, Samek—directed to analogous art—teaches
the seed model received ([0135] states "Each client 14 is provided with the parametrization
P
j
of the cluster it belongs to." [0056] states "The clients 14 are not only able to parameterize an internal instantiation of the neural network 16 accordingly, i.e., according to this setting, but the clients 14 are also able to train this neural network 16 thus parametrized using training data available to the respective client." As the clients already have an instantiation of a neural network, the parameterization allows the client to have the same model as the server, effectively sending a seed model to the client, which receives the seed model.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo with the teachings of Samek for the reasons given above in regards to claim 8.
Claims 18 and 19 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 10 and 12 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma (“Federated AI for the Enterprise: A Web Services based Implementation”, July 8, 2019), Calo (“Federated Learning for Coalition Operations, October 14, 2019), Samek (US 2022/0108177 A1), and Choudhury (“Anonymizing Data for Privacy-Preserving Federated Learning”, February 2020) as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Hiessl (“Industrial Federated Learning—Requirements and System Design”, 2020).
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. The combination of Verma, Calo, Samek, and Choudhury does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type.
However, Hiessl—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein a domain of the respective existing models includes models performing analysis on the same asset type. (Page 46 states "To this end, we identify the requirement of evaluating models in regards to similarities of asset data influenced by operating and environmental conditions. This is the basis for building FL cohorts of FL tasks using asset data with similar characteristics. FL cohorts enable that FL clients only share updates within a subset of FL clients, whose submitted FL tasks belong to the same FL cohort." Therefore, models are grouped into cohorts (domains) with models using asset data with similar characteristics, interpreted as the asset type.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Verma and Calo, and Samek with the teachings of Hiessl because, as Hiessl states on page 46, "As discussed in Sect. 3.2, FL client selection plays a role in FL to reduce duration of e.g., training or evaluation [12]. Furthermore, client selection based on evaluation using held-out validation data, can improve accuracy of the global model [1]."
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.T.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121