DETAILED ACTION
Applicants preliminary amendment filed September 28, 2022 has been received and entered. Claims 1-18 and 20-22 have been canceled, and new claims 23-41 have been added. Accordingly, claims 19 and 23-41 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. Claims 19, 23-35 and 39-41 are not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, claim(s) 13-38 do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Claims 19, 23-35 and 39-41 are directed to naturally occurring polypeptides.
The claims drawn to naturally occurring polypeptides and are not patent eligible merely because they have been isolated.
Hunt (US Publication 2007/0026019) sets forth that botulinum toxin type A is a naturally occurring polypeptide produced by Clostridium botulinum. (See paragraphs 0007-0009).
Applicants specification (paragraph 0053) sets forth that the term “first polypeptide” (SEQ ID NO: 1) is also designated BoNTHydrolase, and can be obtained from C. botulinum.
Accordingly, C. botulinum naturally produces both BoNT/A (susceptible to proteolysis) and the first polypeptide/BoNTHydrolase (SEQ ID NO: 1). The resulting combination of peptides will produce the proteolytically processed polypeptide composition as claimed.
Accordingly, the instant claims encompass naturally occurring polypeptides and are thereby deemed to be a judicial exception.
The Supreme Court in Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303, 206 USPQ 193 (1980), held a claim to a genetically engineered bacterium eligible, because the claimed bacterium was not a “product of nature” exception. (Emphasis added). As the Court explained, the modified bacterium was patentable because the patent claim was not to a “hitherto unknown natural phenomenon,” but instead had “markedly different characteristics from any found in nature,” due to the additional plasmids and resultant capacity for degrading oil. 447 U.S. at 309-10, 206 USPQ at 197.
Subsequent judicial decisions have made clear that the Supreme Court’s decision in Chakrabarty is “central” to the eligibility inquiry with respect to nature-based products. See, e.g., Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 569 U.S. _, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972, 1979 (2013). For example, the Federal Circuit has indicated that “discoveries that possess ‘markedly different characteristics from any found in nature,’ … are eligible for patent protection.” In re Roslin Institute (Edinburgh), 750 F.3d 1333, 1336, 110 USPQ2d 1668, 1671 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (quoting Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 310, 206 USPQ2d at 197). In Roslin, the claimed invention was a live-born clone of a pre-existing, non-embryonic, donor mammal selected from cattle, sheep, pigs, and goats. An embodiment of the claimed invention was the famous Dolly the Sheep, which the court stated was “the first mammal ever cloned from an adult somatic cell.” Despite acknowledging that the method used to create the claimed clones “constituted a breakthrough in scientific discovery”, the court relied on Chakrabarty in holding the claims ineligible because “Dolly herself is an exact genetic replica of another sheep and does not possess ‘markedly different characteristics from any [farm animals] found in nature.’” Roslin, 750 F.3d at 1337, 110 USPQ2d at 1671.
As the proteolytically processed polypeptide composition of the instant invention remains identical to the naturally occurring polypeptide obtainable from Clostridium botulinum, the instantly claimed polypeptide composition is deemed to be a naturally occurring judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 19, 23-26, and 30-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
Claims 19, 23-26 and 30-41 recite amino acid sequences having at least 50% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1.
The specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between genus members is permitted. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, "50% identity with SEQ ID NO: 1" alone is insufficient to describe the genus. Applicants (SEQ ID NO: 1) is a polypeptide of 333 amino acids. Applicants claimed polypeptide variant is defined as having at least 50% identity. Doing the math, this creates variants in which 66 amino acids may be altered. Expressed another way, Applicants variants encompass (20)66 different peptides (twenty naturally occurring amino acids with 66 wild card locations). Doing the math again, this equals 7.37 x 1085 polypeptide variants, a number the Examiner cannot possibly name without looking up. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus.
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and a reference to a potential method of isolating it. The protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ 2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Lts., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
Vas-Cath Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 111, clearly states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." Generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d 956, 966, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath make clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision.
Furthermore, in The Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that while Applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of a genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of DNA molecules, usually defined by a nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(1), the court states that "An adequate written description of a DNA... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
3. Claims 19 and 23-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 19 and 23-41 recite a composition “obtainable by a method comprising a first polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 with a second polypeptide which is susceptible to proteolysis.”
The specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between genus members is permitted. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, "obtainable by a method comprising a first polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 with a second polypeptide which is susceptible to proteolysis” alone is insufficient to describe the genus.
As set forth above, Applicants recitation of at least 50% identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 encompasses 7.37 x 1085 polypeptide variants to be screened against any peptide susceptible to proteolysis. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus.
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and a reference to a potential method of isolating it. The protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ 2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Lts., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
Vas-Cath Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 111, clearly states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." Generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d 956, 966, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
4. Claims 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 lacks antecedent basis for the term “The method of claim 33…” Claim 33 is drawn to a composition, not a method, rendering the phrase method of claim 33 unclear.
NOTE: This has been deemed to be a typographical error by the Examiner and examined accordingly. Amendment to a method claim would be subject to a restriction requirement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
5. Claim(s) 19 and 23-41 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Verhagen et al.
The claims are drawn to a composition comprising a proteolytically-processed polypeptide, the composition obtainable by a method comprising contacting a first polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% identity with SEQ ID NO:1 with a second polypeptide that is recombinant or purified and is susceptible to proteolysis by the first polypeptide, resulting in the proteolytic processing of the second polypeptide into at least two cleavage products, thereby providing the proteolytically processed polypeptide.
Verhagen et al (US Publication 2010/0286371) disclose of expressing a BoNT A polypeptide (second polypeptide susceptible to proteolysis; positively recited in claim 35 of the instant application). (See claims 1-6). Verhagen et al further disclose of incubating the purified BoNT A polypeptide with a protease. (See claims 5-6). Verhagen et al further disclose of a protease having 100% sequence identity with the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 1. (See SEQ ID NO: 43; paragraph [0211] of Verhagen et al).
Accordingly, Verhagen et al disclose of each and every limitation of the instantly filed claims.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 19 and 23-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,441,141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims drawn to a composition comprising a proteolytically-processed polypeptide, the composition obtainable by a method comprising contacting a first polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% identity with SEQ ID NO:1 with a second polypeptide that is recombinant or purified and is susceptible to proteolysis by the first polypeptide, resulting in the proteolytic processing of the second polypeptide into at least two cleavage products, thereby providing the proteolytically processed polypeptide are anticipated by the claims of ‘141 drawn to a method of producing a composition comprising a proteolytically-processed polypeptide, the composition obtainable by a method comprising contacting a first polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% identity with SEQ ID NO:1 with a second polypeptide that is recombinant or purified and is susceptible to proteolysis by the first polypeptide, resulting in the proteolytic processing of the second polypeptide into at least two cleavage products, thereby providing the proteolytically processed polypeptide. The method claim necessarily produces the resulting composition claim.
Pfizer Inc. v Teva pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 86 USPQ2d 1001 (CAFC 2008) sets forth that there is no patentable distinction between claims to a product and method of using that product disclosed in the specification of the application and that the preclusion of such a double patenting rejection under 35 USC 121 does not apply where the present application is other that a divisional application of the patent application containing such patentably indistinct claims.
/ALBERT M NAVARRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 September 25, 2025