DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see argument A) below, filed 3/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Marinier et al. (US 2020/0196343 A1).
Applicant’s arguments include:
A) on page 13 “a WTRU-specific search space for monitoring PDCCH, as described in Marinier [US 2020/0196343 A1], is not the same as DCI that includes "a device-specific physical resource block off set and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback," as recited in amended independent claim 1”. The examiner finds applicant’s arguments persuasive.
Regarding A) while applicant’s argument is persuasive, in a review and reconsideration of the claims in light of applicant’s above argument and review of Marinier, Marinier discloses the claimed wherein the downlink scheduling DCI includes information of a device-specific physical resource block offset and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback with a transmission profile indicated in DCI as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 below.
B) on page 13 “the Office equates the "cyclic shift information of a base sequence," as recited in amended independent claim 1, to Marinier's configuration of PUCCH resources, which may include a cyclic shift (see Office Action, p. 5 and Marinier ¶ [0122]). However, Marinier's cyclic shift is one of many parameters included in a semi-static PUCCH resource configuration, which is a fundamentally different mechanism than "downlink scheduling DCI includes information of a device-specific physical resource block offset and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback,"”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding B) as best understood, applicant’s argument appears to ascribe a particular meaning (e.g. only “for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback”) not commensurate with claim language. Applicant’s argument indicates “Marinier's cyclic shift is one of many parameters included in a semi-static PUCCH resource configuration” and Marinier explicitly describes (UCI as HARQ feedback transmitted over PUCCH) in cited para. [83, 126] and thus discloses “for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback”. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are non-persuasive.
C) applicant’s arguments on page 14 regarding Matsumura and “"an indication of a resource set associated with an uplink control channel" transmitted in the context of "the lack of the valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration," "wherein the resource set is indicated through an index to a predefined set of uplink control channel configurations, and wherein the index identifies a starting symbol for the uplink control channel,"” is moot based on updated rejection below.
D) on page 14-15 “there is no adequate suggestion that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Marinier with the teachings of Matsumura” and “This rationale does not explain why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Marinier's PUCCH diversity resource index to identify a starting symbol, as taught by Matsumura, particularly in the context of the claimed scenario where a UE "ascertain[s] a lack of a valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration." In fact, neither Marinier nor Matsumura addresses this scenario”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding D) the examiner notes MPEP 2144 Supporting a Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103, IV. RATIONALE DIFFERENT FROM APPLICANT’S IS PERMISSIBLE, The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant [emphasis added]. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are non-persuasive.
Accordingly, in light of argument A and the interview of 2/12/2026, the instant OA is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marinier et al. (US 2020/0196343 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/519,585, filed 6/14/2017).
Regarding claim 1, Marinier teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) 102x; para. [03, 34, 112] and Figs. 1A-1D), comprising: at least one memory (memory 130/132; para. [34, 39, 189] and Fig. 1B); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (memory including software executed by processor 118; para. [34, 39, , 42, 189] and Fig. 1B): ascertain a lack of a valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration (WTRU receives [lack of valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration] downlink control information (DCI) indicating uplink control information (UCI / hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK)) indicating resource and format of semi-static configuration [lack of valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration]; para. [83, 112, 121, 124, 133, 178]); receive downlink control information (DCI) (WTRU receives DCI indicating UCI/HARQ-ACK; para. [92, 105, 109-110, 112-113]); receive an indication of a resource set associated with an uplink control channel in response to the lack of the valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration (DCI includes ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI); para. 97, ARI indicates set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource; para. [113, 149], WTRU receives [lack of valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration] DCI indicating UCI/HARQ-ACK indicating resource and format of semi-static configuration [lack of valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration]; para. [83, 112, 121, 124, 133, 178]), wherein the resource set is indicated through an index to a predefined set of uplink control channel configurations (ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168]), and wherein the index identifies a starting symbol for the uplink control channel (transmission profile / DCI indicates starting symbol of transmission of PUCCH; para. [137, 178]); receive downlink scheduling DCI (scheduling information included in received DCI; para. [78, 88], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168]), wherein the downlink scheduling DCI includes information of a device-specific physical resource block offset (configuration of PUCCH resources include offset of frequency location / physical resource block (PRB); para. 122-123, DCI includes transmission profile determined based on radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) [device-specific]; para. 134, transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168], hopping PUCCH configuration based on WTRU ID [device-specific]; para. 120) and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback (configuration of PUCCH resources include cyclic shift of pattern; para. [116-122], HARQ- ACK/NACK feedback/UCI transmitted on PUCCH; para. [95, 114, 126-127, 153, 157, 159-160, 162, 168]); and transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback on the uplink control channel in response to the received DCI and the received indication (UCI as HARQ-ACK transmitted on PUCCH resources according to configuration / transmission profile received on DCI; para. [07, 131-134, 136, 138, 149, 154, 168], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134), the HARQ-ACK feedback transmitted using the resource set and according to the identified starting symbol (DCI includes ARI; para. 97, ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], UCI as HARQ-ACK transmitted according to configuration / transmission profile received on DCI; para. [07, 131-133, 136, 138, 149, 154, 168], transmission profile / DCI indicates starting symbol of transmission of PUCCH; para. [137, 178]), wherein the uplink control channel is from a first set of uplink control channels that corresponds to a first type of uplink control channel (one transmission profile includes first PUCCH over two symbols [for URLLC], another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150), wherein each uplink control channel in the first set of uplink control channels has a same first number of symbols (one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150), and wherein a second set of uplink control channels corresponds to a second type of uplink control channel (another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Marinier teaches a network entity (NE) for wireless communication (base station (BS) 114x / eNode-B 160x / gNB 180x; para. [22-30, 33, 36, 45-46, 64, 71] and Figs. [1A, 1C]), comprising: at least one memory (memory; para. 189); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to (memory including software executed by processor,; para. 189): transmit downlink control information (DCI) (network [network entity] transmits downlink control information (DCI) indicating uplink control information (UCI / hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK)) indicating resource and format; para. [83, 112, 133]); transmit an indication of a resource set associated with an uplink control channel in response to a lack of a valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration (DCI includes ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI); para. 97, ARI indicates set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource; para. [113, 149], network transmits [lack of valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration] DCI indicating UCI/HARQ-ACK indicating resource and format of semi-static configuration [lack of valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration]; para. [83, 112, 121, 124, 133, 178]), wherein the resource set is indicated through an index to a predefined set of uplink control channel configurations (ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168]), and wherein the index identifies a starting symbol for the uplink control channel (transmission profile / DCI indicates starting symbol of transmission of PUCCH; para. [137, 178]); transmit downlink scheduling DCI (scheduling information included in DCI received by wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) [transmitted by network]; para. [78, 88], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168]), wherein the downlink scheduling DCI includes information of a device-specific physical resource block offset (configuration of PUCCH resources include offset of frequency location / physical resource block (PRB); para. 122-123, DCI includes transmission profile determined based on radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) [device-specific]; para. 134, transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168], hopping PUCCH configuration based on WTRU ID [device-specific]; para. 120) and cyclic shift information of a base sequence for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback (configuration of PUCCH resources include cyclic shift of pattern; para. [116-122], HARQ- ACK/NACK feedback/UCI transmitted on PUCCH; para. [95, 114, 126-127, 153, 157, 159-160, 162, 168]); and receive the HARQ-ACK feedback on the uplink control channel in response to the transmitted DCI and the transmitted indication (UCI as HARQ-ACK transmitted on PUCCH resources by WTRU [received by network] according to configuration / transmission profile received on DCI; para. [07, 131-134, 136, 138, 149, 154, 168], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134), the HARQ-ACK feedback transmitted using the resource set and according to the identified starting symbol (DCI includes ARI; para. 97, ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], UCI as HARQ-ACK transmitted according to configuration / transmission profile received on DCI; para. [07, 131-133, 136, 138, 149, 154, 168], transmission profile / DCI indicates starting symbol of transmission of PUCCH; para. [137, 178]), wherein the uplink control channel is from a first set of uplink control channels that corresponds to a first type of uplink control channel (one transmission profile includes first PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150), wherein each uplink control channel in the first set of uplink control channels has a same first number of symbols (one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150), and wherein a second set of uplink control channels corresponds to a second type of uplink control channel (another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier in view of Xiong et al. (US 2019/0393992 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/471,694 filed 3/15/2017 and 62/475,469 filed 3/23/2017) hereinafter Xiong.
Regarding claim 2, Marinier teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While Marinier discloses PUCCH/UCI transmission and a cell group, Marinier does not explicitly disclose wherein the first number of symbols for each uplink control channel of the first set of uplink control channels is determined based on a cell-specific parameter, in response to the ascertained lack of the valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xiong teaches wherein the first number of symbols for each uplink control channel of the first set of uplink control channels is determined based on a cell-specific parameter (HARQ-PUCCH resource based on HARQ determination parameter includes cell ID, cell-specific parameter; para. [34-36, 46-47, 62, 66-67, 72, 76, 78, 100, 124, 186]), in response to the ascertained lack of the valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration (DCI comprises HARQ-PUCCH resource configuration parameters; para. [92-94, 112, 125, 178, 180, 196, 198]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Xiong to the system of Marinier, where Marinier’s PUCCH for low latency (para. [127, 131]) along with Xiong’s long and short duration new radio (NR) PUCCH (para. 33) improves user satisfaction by enabling services requiring low latency and reliability, services with improved coverage, and services with differing priorities.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, Marinier teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
While Marinier discloses PUCCH/UCI transmission and a cell group, Marinier does not explicitly disclose wherein the first number of symbols for each uplink control channel of the first set of uplink control channels is determined based on a cell-specific parameter, in response to the lack of the valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xiong teaches wherein the first wherein the first number of symbols for each uplink control channel of the first set of uplink control channels is determined based on a cell-specific parameter (HARQ-PUCCH resource based on HARQ determination parameter includes cell ID, cell-specific parameter; para. [34-36, 46-47, 62, 66-67, 72, 76, 78, 100, 124, 186]), in response to the lack of the valid dedicated uplink control channel resource configuration (DCI comprises HARQ-PUCCH resource configuration parameters; para. [92-94, 112, 125, 178, 180, 196, 198]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Xiong to the system of Marinier, where Marinier’s PUCCH for low latency (para. [127, 131]) along with Xiong’s long and short duration new radio (NR) PUCCH (para. 33) improves user satisfaction by enabling services requiring low latency and reliability, services with improved coverage, and services with differing priorities.
Claim(s) 4-6, 12-15, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2020/0015223 A1) hereinafter Matsumura.
Regarding claim 4, Marinier teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Marinier further teaches transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback on the uplink control channel of the first number of symbols (WTRU transmits UCI based on received DCI and associated transmission profile; para. [131-133, 135], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150, WTRU receives DCI indicating UCI resource, UCI as HARQ-ACK, UCI transmitted on PUCCH; para. [83, 112, 133]).
Marinier does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via system information, an indication of a first number of symbols for the uplink control channel, wherein the first number of symbols is determined based on the received indication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via system information, an indication of a first number of symbols for the uplink control channel (number of symbols for short PUCCH reported to UE; para. 65, reporting by system information; para. 261); and, wherein the first number of symbols is determined based on the received indication (hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) transmitted on PUCCH based on reported information from BS; para. 147-149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Matsumura to the system of Marinier, where Marinier’s PUCCH for low latency (para. [127, 131]) along with Matsumura’s UCI mapping for long PUCCH (para. 56) improves user satisfaction by enabling services requiring low latency and reliability, and improved coverage.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
Marinier further teaches wherein the indication is the index to the predefined set of uplink control channel configurations (ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Marinier further teaches wherein the index identifies a number of symbols in a predefined set of numbers of symbols (ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150) in the predefined set of uplink control channel configurations (set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to identify the indicated number of symbols from the predefined set of numbers of symbols (DCI includes ARI; para. 97, ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150, WTRU receives DCI [UE identifies number of symbols]; para. [92, 105, 109-110, 112-113]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura teaches the limitation of previous claim 14.
While Marinier discloses UCI/PUCCH based on numerology, Marinier does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined set of numbers of symbols is based on a reference numerology indicated in the system information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the predetermined set of numbers of symbols is based on a reference numerology indicated in the system information (number of symbols per slot for uplink control channels based on numerology / subcarrier spacing; para. [37, 47-50, 203], UE determines subcarrier spacing based on DCI; para. [151-152, 261]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Matsumura to the modified system of Marinier and Matsumura, where Marinier and Matsumura’s modified system along with Matsumura’s UCI mapping for long PUCCH (para. 56) improves user satisfaction by enabling services requiring low latency and reliability, and improved coverage.
Regarding claim 24, Marinier teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
Marinier further teaches receive the HARQ-ACK feedback on the uplink control channel of the first number of symbols (WTRU transmits [network receives] UCI based on received DCI and associated transmission profile; para. [131-133, 135], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150, WTRU receives DCI indicating UCI resource, UCI as HARQ-ACK, UCI transmitted on PUCCH; para. [83, 112, 133]).
Marinier does not explicitly disclose transmit, via system information, an indication of a first number of symbols for the uplink control channel; and wherein the first number of symbols is determined based on the received indication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches transmit, via system information, an indication of a first number of symbols for the uplink control channel (number of symbols for short PUCCH reported to UE; para. 65, reporting by system information; para. 261); and wherein the first number of symbols is determined based on the received indication (hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) transmitted on PUCCH based on reported information from BS; para. 147-149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Matsumura to the system of Marinier, where Marinier’s PUCCH for low latency (para. [127, 131]) along with Matsumura’s UCI mapping for long PUCCH (para. 56) improves user satisfaction by enabling services requiring low latency and reliability, and improved coverage.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura teaches the limitation of previous claim 24.
Marinier further teaches wherein the indication is the index to the predefined set of uplink control channel configurations (ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], transmission profile indicated in DCI; para. 134, PUCCH resources based on transmission profile; para. [07, 131, 134, 138, 149, 154, 168], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura teaches the limitation of previous claim 25.
Marinier further teaches wherein the index identifies a number of symbols in a predefined set of numbers of symbols (ARI indicates set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150) in the predefined set of uplink control channel configurations (set of PUCCH resource; para. [113, 149], one transmission profile includes PUCCH over two symbols, another transmission profile includes PUCCH over one symbol; para. 150).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Xiong.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
While the combination of Marinier and Matsumura discloses group-common configurations and physical resource block offset, the combination of Marinier and Matsumura does not explicitly disclose wherein the index further identifies a cell-specific physical resource block offset for the uplink control channel, and wherein, to transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit, in response to the received DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback on the uplink control channel and according to the identified cell-specific physical resource block offset.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xiong teaches wherein the index further identifies a cell-specific physical resource block offset for the uplink control channel (UE receives resource set information (index) for HARQ-PUCCH resource set; para. 57 and Fig. 5, message including PUCCH configuration as function of cell specific UE id; para. [47, 62, 72-73, 81, 92-93, 104], HARQ-PUCCH resource configuration includes physical resource block (PRB) index (offset); para. [54,100]), and wherein, to transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit, in response to the received DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback on the uplink control channel and according to the identified cell-specific physical resource block offset (UE receives resource set information to transmit HARQ-ACK feedback based on DCI; para. 57-59, PUCCH configuration as function of cell specific UE id; para. [47, 62, 72-73, 81, 92-93, 104], HARQ-PUCCH resource configuration includes physical resource block (PRB) index (offset); para. [54,100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Xiong to the modified system of Marinier and Matsumura, where Marinier and Matsumura’s modified system along with Xiong’s long and short duration new radio (NR) PUCCH (para. 33) improves user satisfaction by enabling services requiring low latency and reliability, services with improved coverage, and services with differing priorities.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinier in view of Ye et al. (WO 2018/031066 A1) hereinafter Ye.
Regarding claim 18, Marinier teaches the limitation of previous claim 9.
Marinier does not explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting information of supported uplink control channel formats.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ye teaches further comprising transmitting information of supported uplink control channel formats (support of shortened PUCCH (sPUCCH) / enhanced PUCCH (ePUCCH) [formats] based on whether HARQ-ACK bundling is supported [at least suggesting communication with network regarding support associated with uplink control channel formats]; para. [72, 78, 95, 111, 121-122, 127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ye to the system of Marinier, where Marinier’s PUCCH for low latency (para. [71, 78]) along with Ye’s unlicensed spectrum use (para. [03, 15]) improves user satisfaction by enabling low latency services over unlicensed spectrum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yi et al. (US 2018/0317250 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for designing downlink control information for short TTI in wireless communication system.
Li et al. (US 2019/0223209 A1) discloses Signaling of transmissions with shortened TTI.
Fehrenbach et al. (US 2019/0245674 A1) discloses fast ACK/NACK in wireless communication networks.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474