Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 23 and claim 25 are rejected for being a repetition of claim 21. It is believed Applicant intended for claim 23 to depend from claim 8 and claim 25 to depend from claim 14.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the fibrous article" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the process" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtain/ed, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 14-16, 19 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dunlap et al. (CA 677852) in view of Schuette et al. (US Patent 5,912,078).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 14-16, 19 and 21-26, Dunlap et al. teach a nonwoven (or fibrous article) comprising cellulose acetate staple fibers and a process for producing cellulose acetate staple fibers comprising spinning a cellulose acetate dope to form a cellulose acetate filament yarn comprising plurality of individual cellulose acetate filaments wherein the individual cellulose acetate filaments have an average denier per filament in the claimed range (also teaches lower denier fibers provide more surface area for filtration) and applying at least one mineral oil based spinning finish to at least a portion of the filament yarn to form a coated cellulose acetate filament yarn, crimping at least a portion of the coated cellulose acetate filament yarn to form a crimped filament yarn and cutting the crimped filament yarn to thereby form the cellulose acetate staple fibers. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The process includes crimping at least a portion of the cellulose acetate filament yarn to provide a crimped filament yarn wherein the crimped filament yarn has an average crimping frequency of not more than 20 crimps per inch. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The process includes cutting the crimped filament yarn to form a plurality of crimped cellulose acetate staple fibers. The fibers have a length in the claimed range, including 3 inches or less (or about 76.2 mm or less). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Dunlap et al. teaches at least partially coating with a mineral oil based spinning finish and top coat finish is within the claimed range [Examples]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Dunlap et al. are silent regarding the claimed top finish and amounts. However, Schuette et al. teach top coat (that includes anti-static agents) in an amount of at least about 0.05% FOY (including at least 0.2% FOY) and the total amount of spin finish and top coat finish is in the claimed range including at least 0.7% FOY in order to lubricate and finish textile fibers [1:29-33 and Examples]. The spinning finish and the top coat finish is applied prior to cutting the filament yarn to form the fiber, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the ionic finish as taught by Schuette et al. in Dunlap et al. in order to lubricate and finish the textile fibers and arrive at the claimed invention.
Dunlap et al. is teach the fiber being biodegradable, but is silent regarding the claimed properties. However, Dunlap et al. teaches such a similar fiber made of such similar materials but such a similar process with such similar sizes and crimps per inch, the claimed biodegradability and properties are necessarily present to the fiber of Dunlap et al. However, given the previous combination teach such similar finer made of such similar materials with such similar properties and coatings in such similar amounts as presently claimed of such similar materials, the claimed properties would be inherent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the prior art.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789