Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first
paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject
matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled
in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 8, 15 and 20 are dependent upon amended claim 1 and now recites "wherein each of
said main branches defines a main end opposite said main inlet, wherein each of said secondary
branches defines a secondary end opposite said secondary inlet and said ends are distributed in a main
plane parallel to said main direction in such a manner that, for each pinnacle and for each group
including a respective said main end and a pair of adjacent said secondary ends, at least said secondary
ends are mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction" AND "wherein
said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret" which is not originally disclosed and thus is
new matter. Note instant fig. 6 is the embodiment where said transfer device is entirely included in said
spinneret. However, fig. 6 does not show "said ends are distributed in a main plane parallel to said main
direction".
Claims 15 and 20 further recites "said seat is disposed between said main inlet and said main
delivery channel" which is not originally disclosed and thus is new matter. Note instant fig. 6 is the
embodiment where said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret. Fig. 6 shows the main
inlet 60 and the seat 44 being the same element, and does not show the seat 44 being disposed
between the main inlet 60 and the main delivery channel 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-10, 12-16, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Rossillon et al. (US5,863,565) in view of Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) and CN
111850707.
Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565) disclose a melt-blown plant for making non-woven fabric (col. 1,
lines 9-66; blow spun (melt-blown) fibers are collected into a single layer batt (fabric)) comprising:
a distributor 10 including at least one main access (fig. 1; upstream ends of passages 14) suitable
to convey polymeric fluid;
a dispenser 20, 40 in fluid passage connection with said distributor 10, configured to dispense
polymeric filaments from said polymeric fluid and including at least one spinneret 20 suitable to form
said polymeric filaments and an air blade 40, 42 suitable to receive gas to guide said polymeric filaments
exiting said dispenser;
wherein said spinneret 20 comprises a plurality of pinnacles (fig. 1; triangular portions of the
spinneret 20 including the die tips 24) mutually flanked and each comprising at least one main outlet 28
configured to guide said polymeric fluid along a respective delivery direction, and said air blade 40, 42 is
adapted to convey jets of said gas to converge towards each of said delivery direction so as to guide said
polymer filaments (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 8-27);
said plant further comprises a transfer device 10, wherein the transfer device comprises:
at least one main inlet (fig. 1; upstream ends of passages 14; note in instant fig. 1, the main
access 20 and the main inlet 60 are the same element) in fluid passage connection with said main access
(fig. 1), and
a plurality of main branches 14 in fluid connection all with said main inlet or each with a
respective said main inlet (fig. 1) and each with a respective said main outlet 28 (fig. 1);
and wherein said distributor 10 and said dispenser 20, 40 are predominantly along a main
direction (the main direction is perpendicular to the page on which fig. 1 is drawn), wherein each of said
main branches 14 defines a main end (fig. 1, downstream ends of passages 14) opposite said main inlet,
wherein said ends are distributed in a main plane parallel to said main direction.
However, Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565) does not disclose a case, a plurality of secondary
accesses, a pair of secondary outlets, the transfer device including a plurality of secondary inlets, a
plurality of pairs of secondary branches, or secondary ends, as recited by instant claim 1.
Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) discloses a melt-blown plant for making non-woven fabric [0003]
comprising:
a distributor 112 configured to be operatively connected to a case 120 and including at least one
main access (upstream end of passage 330) suitable to be placed in fluid passage connection with a
main conduit (not labeled but shown in fig. 3A as a passage of beam 120 connected to passage 330) of
said case 120 suitable to convey polymeric fluid and a plurality of secondary accesses (upstream ends of
passages 340, 342) suitable to be placed in fluid passage connection each with a respective secondary
conduit (not labeled but shown in fig. 3A as passages of beam 120 connected to passages 340, 342) of
said case 120 suitable to convey gas;
a dispenser 114, 116, 118 in fluid passage connection with said distributor 112 (fig. 3A),
configured to dispense polymeric filaments from said polymeric fluid and including at least one
spinneret 114 suitable to form said polymeric filaments and an air blade 116, 118 suitable to receive said
gas to guide said polymeric filaments exiting said dispenser;
wherein said spinneret 114 comprising a pinnacle (defined by sides 362 and 364) comprising at
least one main outlet 572 configured to guide said polymeric fluid along a respective delivery direction
and,
for the pinnacle a pair of secondary outlets (downstream ends of channels 352, 354) arranged at
opposite sides relative to the pinnacle and configured to convey gas towards said air blade 116, 118 (fig.
3A), and
wherein said air blade 116, 118 is suitable to receive said gas from said secondary outlets to
guide said polymeric filaments exiting the dispenser and is adapted to convey jets of said gas to
converge towards said delivery direction so as to guide said polymer filaments (fig. 3A),
said plant further comprising a transfer device 112 configured to place in fluid passage
connection at least each said secondary access (upstream ends of passages 340, 342) with each said
secondary outlet (downstream ends of channels 352, 354) (fig. 3A), wherein said transfer device
comprises:
at least one main inlet (upstream end of passage 330; note in instant fig. 1, the main access 20
and the main inlet 60 are the same element) in fluid passage connection with said main access
(upstream end of passage 330), a main passage 330 in fluid passage connection with said main inlet
(upstream end of 330) and with said main outlet 572 (figs. 3A, 5),
a plurality of secondary inlets (upstream ends of passages 340, 342) each in fluid passage
connection with a respective said secondary access (upstream ends of passages 340, 342; note in instant
fig. 1, secondary access 21 and secondary inlets are the same element), and a pair of secondary
branches 340, 342, wherein in said pair of secondary branches said secondary branches are in fluid
passage connection with a respective said secondary inlet (upstream ends of passages 340, 342) and
with a respective said secondary outlet of said secondary outlets (downstream ends of channels 352,
354) (fig. 3A), and
wherein said distributor 112 and said dispenser 114, 116, 118 are predominantly along a main
direction (direction perpendicular to the page on which fig. 3A is drawn), wherein said main passageway
330 defines a main end (downstream end of passageway 330) opposite said main inlet (upstream end of
passageway 330), wherein each of said secondary branches 340, 342 defines a secondary end
(downstream ends of passageways 340, 342) opposite said secondary inlet (upstream ends of
passageways 340, 342) and said ends are distributed in a main plane parallel to said main direction (fig.
3A), in such a manner that for the group including said main end and said secondary ends for the
pinnacle, at least said secondary ends are mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to said
main direction on said main plane ([0066], features on the left side and the right side may be offset into or out of the plane; [0068], the first and second passageways 340, 342 may be offset in different planes; thus the secondary ends defined by the downstream ends of passageways 340, 342 are also offset in different planes (i.e., at least said secondary ends are mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction on said main plane) (figs. 3A-3B, 3F-3G, 5; [0066]-[0070], [0098)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the plant of Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565) with a case, a plurality of secondary accesses
and a pair of secondary outlets (as disclosed by Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622)), and to modify the
transfer device to include a plurality of secondary inlets, a plurality of pairs of secondary branches, and
secondary ends (as disclosed by Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622)), because such modifications are known
in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for supplying extrusion material and process
gas to the plant known to be operable in the art.
Note that Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565) disclose a plurality of pinnacles, Cook et al. (US
2019/0153622)) disclose supplying process gas to one pinnacle, and CN 111850707 discloses supplying
process gas to a plurality of pinnacles.
CN 111850707 (see English translation for references) disclose a non-woven plant for making
woven fabric ([0008]; figs. 1-9; [0027]-[0031]) including
a distributor 1 including at least one main access (upstream end of holes 12) and a plurality of
secondary accesses 11;
a dispenser 2, 3 in fluid passage connection with said distributor 1, configured to dispense
polymeric filaments from polymeric fluid and including at least one spinneret 2 suitable to form said
polymeric filaments and an air blade 3 suitable to receive said gas to guide said polymeric filaments
exiting said dispenser;
wherein said spinneret comprises a plurality of pinnacles 21 (fig. 7) mutually flanked and each
comprising:
at least one main outlet 23 configured to guide said polymeric fluid along a respective delivery
direction, and for each pinnacle 21 a pair of secondary outlets (downstream ends of passages 51, 52)
arranged at opposite sides relative to said respective pinnacle 21 and configured to convey said gas
towards said air blade 3 (figs. 4 and 7), and wherein said air blade 3 is suitable to receive said gas from said secondary outlets to guide said polymeric filaments exiting said dispenser 2, 3 and is adapted to
convey jets of said gas to converge towards each of said delivery direction so as to guide said polymer
filaments (fig. 7),
said plant further comprising a transfer device 1 configured to place in fluid passage connection
at least each said secondary access 11 with each said pair of secondary outlets (downstream ends of
passages 51, 52; figs. 4, 7), wherein said transfer device comprises:
a plurality of secondary inlets 11 each in fluid passage connection with a respective said
secondary access 11 (fig. 7; note that instant fig. 1 shows the secondary access 21 to be the same
element as the secondary inlets 62), and
a plurality of pairs of secondary branches (fig. 7, branches extending downstream from elements
11), wherein in each pair of secondary branches said secondary branches are in fluid passage connection
all with a respective said secondary inlet 11 and each with a respective said secondary outlet (respective
downstream outlets of elements 51, 52) of a respective said pair of secondary outlets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the spinneret with a pair of secondary outlets for each pinnacle, the transfer
device to be configured to place in fluid passage connection at least each secondary access with each pair of secondary outlets, the transfer device with a plurality of secondary inlets and a plurality of pairs
of secondary branches, as disclosed by CN 111850707, because such modifications are known in the art
and would provide an alternative configuration for supplying process gas for each pinnacle of the plant
known to be operable in the art.
As to claims 2-3, Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565) further discloses the plant:
(Claim 2) wherein said delivery directions are mutually parallel (fig. 1; delivery directions are
parallel in a downward direction); and
(Claim 3) wherein said pinnacles are in one piece (fig. 1).
As to claim 5, Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565) further disclose the plant wherein including a
transfer device (distributor) configured to place in fluid passage connection each main access (upstream
end of passage 14) with a respective said main outlet 28 (fig. 1).
As to claims 9 and 16, as mentioned above in Rossillon et al. (US 5,863,565), Cook et al. (US
2019/0153622) and CN 111850707, the transfer device includes distributor limitations because they are
the same element, and thus the transfer device is integrally comprised in said distributor. Rossillon et al.
(US 5,863,565) further disclose said main inlet (upstream ends of passages 14) corresponds to said main
access (upstream ends of passages 14) (as shown in instant fig. 1, main inlet 60 corresponds to ma in
access 20), and said spinneret 20 comprises, for each said pinnacle (triangular shaped portions of
spinneret 20) a main delivery channel 16 configured to place in fluid passage connection a respective
said main branch 14 and a respective said main outlet 28. CN 111850707 further disclose said
secondary inlet 11 corresponds to said secondary access 11 (as shown in instant fig. 1, secondary inlet
62 corresponds to secondary access 21), and said spinneret 2 comprising a pair of secondary delivery
channels 51, 52 each configured to place in fluid passage connection a respective said secondary branch
(downstream branches from inlet 11) of a same said pair of secondary branches with a respective said
secondary outlet (downstream outlets of elements 51, 52) of a same said pair of secondary outlets (fig.
7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to
further modify the plant with the limitations disclosed by CN 111850707 above because such
modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for supplying process
gas to the plant known to be operable in the art.
As to claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the
invention was made, to further modify the distributor to comprise a support plate and a breaker plate
and said transfer device (i.e., distributor) is integrally comprised in one or more between said support
plate and said breaker plate because the mere fact that a given structure is integral does not preclude its consisting of various elements, Howard al. V. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164. Thus, it would be well
within an artisan of ordinary skill to take the plate shaped distributor of either Rossillon et al. (US
5,863,565) or Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) and divide it into two plates defining a support plate and a
breaker plate.
As to claims 12-13 and 19, Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) further disclose the plant wherein said
distributor 112 and said dispenser 114, 116, 118 are predominantly along a main direction (fig. 1), for a
pinnacle said main branch 330 defines a main end (downstream end of passageway 330) opposite said
main inlet (upstream end of passageway 330), each of said secondary branches 340, 342 defines a
secondary end (downstream ends of passageways 340, 342) opposite said secondary inlet (upstream
ends of passageways 340, 342) and said ends are distributed in a main plane (figs. 1 and 3A) parallel to
said main direction in such a manner that, for said pinnacle and for each group including said main end
(downstream end of passageway 330) and a pair of adjacent said secondary ends (downstream ends of
passageways 340, 342), at least said secondary ends (downstream ends of passageways 340, 342) are
mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction ([0066], features on the left
side and the right side may be offset into or out of the plane; [0068], the first and second passageways
340, 342 may be offset in different planes; thus the secondary ends defined by the downstream ends of
passageways 340, 342 are also offset in different planes (i.e., at least said secondary ends are mutually
misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction; note that relative to the main end,
there are only two possibilities for the downstream ends being offset in different planes; one where all
the ends are in different planes (i.e., all the ends are mutually misaligned with respect to directions
normal to said main direction (which is Claim 12); and two where the main end and one of the
secondary ends are in one plane (i.e., said main end and one said secondary end are mutually aligned
along development directions transverse to said main direction (which is Claims 13 and 19) and the
other of the secondary ends is in a different end)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the plant with the limitations disclosed by
Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) above because such modifications are known in the art and would
provide an alternative configuration for supplying extrusion material and process gas to the plant known
to be operable in the art.
As to claims 14, 15 and 21, Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) further disclose the plant:
(Claim 14) wherein said spinneret 118 comprising at least one seat 358, 359 configured to
accommodate at least one filter and disposed adjacent to said distributor 112 (figs. 2B, 3A-3B, 3F-3G;
[0065], [0073]); and
(Claims 15 and 21) wherein said transfer device 112 is integrally comprised in said distributor
112, said main inlet corresponds to said main access, as mentioned above, each secondary inlet
corresponds to a respective said secondary access, as mentioned above, and said spinneret 114
comprises, for the pinnacle a main delivery channel 350 configured to place in fluid connection said
main passageway (i.e., branch) 330 and said main outlet (fig. 3A) and a pair of secondary delivery
channels 352, 354 each configured to place in fluid connection a respective said secondary branch 340,
342 of a same said pair of secondary branches with a respective said secondary outlet (downstream
ends of channels 352, 354} of a same said pair of secondary outlets, and said seat 358, 359 is disposed
between each of said main passageway (i.e., branch) 330 and a respective said main delivery channel
350 (figs. 2B, 3A-3B, 3F-3G; [0065], [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the plant with the limitations mentioned above, as disclosed by Cook et al. (US
2019/0153622), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative
configuration capable of filtering the extrusion material.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossillon et al.
(US 5,863,565) in view of Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) and CN 11185070 as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 9-
10, 12-16, 19 and 21 above, and further in view of Erickson et al. (US 2003/0236046).
Note that limitations for claim 17 are the same for claims 9, 16 and 18 which are addressed
above. However, Rossillon et al. (US $ 5,863,565), Cook et al. (US 2019/0153622) and CN 11185070 do
not disclose the limitations of claim 6.
Erickson et al. (US 2003/0236046) discloses a plant for making melt-blown type non-woven
fabric [0002], comprising a spinneret having a plurality of pinnacles 74, 75, 76 mutually flanked and each
comprising at least one main outlet 58 (figs 5, 7), wherein each main outlet is in fluid communication
with the same source of material [(0042]-[0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the transfer device to be configured to place in fluid passage connection a
single main access with each of said main outlets because it is known in the art that each main outlet of
a respective pinnacle can be in fluid connection with the same source of material, as disclosed by
Erickson et al. (US 2003/0236046). Such a modification would enable each pinnacle to be fed from a
single source, as disclosed by Erickson et al. (US 2003/0236046).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35
U.S.C. 112 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior
art does not disclose or reasonably suggest:
the plant, as recited by claims 8 or 20, particularly including wherein each of said main branches
defines a main end opposite said main inlet, wherein each of said secondary branches defines a secondary end opposite said secondary inlet and said ends are distributed in a main plane parallel to
said main direction in such a manner that, for each pinnacle and for each group including a respective
said main end and a pair of adjacent said secondary ends, at least said secondary ends are mutually
misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction and wherein said transfer device is
entirely included in said spinneret.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Relative to the 35 USC 112(a) rejection, Applicant argues that Claim 8 includes "wherein said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret" which was in original claim 8, and therefore is not new matter. The figures provide alternate embodiments and descriptions of the embodiments may be combined. [0106] "in order to realise such configurations, several solutions are possible." (para. [0116]
The entire transfer device may be entirely in the spinneret, and one embodiment of this
is shown in FIG. 6. (para. [0116]);
[0127] Thus, the ends 61a, 63a are distributed on the main plane 1 b such that, for each pinnacle 40 and for each group including a main end 61 a and a pair of adjacent secondary ends 63 a, at least the secondary ends 63 a are mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to the main direction 1 a, as shown in FIG. 5 a.
[0128] Alternatively, all of the ends 61a, 63a may be mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to the main direction 1 a, as shown in FIG. 5 b.
Para. [0127 and 0128]
"In conclusion, the system 1 may define further detailed features." (para. [0133])
"The invention is susceptible to variations within the scope of the inventive concept as
defined by the claims." (para. [0144]) "In this respect, all details can be replaced by
equivalent elements and the materials, shapes and dimensions can be any." (para.
[0147]).
Therefore, there are multiple embodiments that may be combined in various
ways as described in the specification and the written description requirement is met.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While claim 8 is original, the scope of claim 8 dependent upon claim 1, as amended by the amendment filed on March 31, 2025, is not originally disclosed and thus is new matter. Nowhere in the original disclosure is it disclosed that features of an embodiment wherein said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret, such as fig. 6, can be used in any other embodiment. Applicant refers to a main end 61a. However, when said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret, as in fig. 6, there is no main end 61a distributed in the main plane. As shown in fig. 6, the main branches 61 extend to a main end (i.e., the main outlet 40a) which is NOT in the main plane.
Applicant argues that Claim 15 and 20 include "said seat is disposed between said main inlet and said main delivery channel." While claim 1 has been amended, original claim 15 includes said seat is disposed between said main inlet and said main delivery channel. As set forth above, the figures and embodiments in the specification may be combined such that said seat is disposed between said main inlet and said main delivery channel is present where said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nowhere in the original disclosure is it disclosed that features of an embodiment wherein said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret, such as fig. 6, can be used in any other embodiment. As mentioned above, instant fig. 6 is the
embodiment where said transfer device is entirely included in said spinneret. Fig. 6 shows the main
inlet 60 and the seat 44 being the same element, and does not show the seat 44 being disposed
between the main inlet 60 and the main delivery channel 22.
Applicant argues that none of cited prior art documents clearly and unambiguously discloses that "for each pinnacle and for each group including a respective said main end and a pair of
adjacent said secondary ends, at least said secondary ends are mutually misaligned with
respect to directions normal to said main direction on said main plane" as claimed by
Applicant in claim 1.
In particular, contrary to the Office Action at page 7, it is not true that such a feature
is disclosed by Cook.
Cook only teaches, considering paragraph [0066] as indicated on page 7 of the
Office Action, that "the cross sectional views provide a clear showing of the boundaries
between two adjacent components. In some embodiments, the boundaries and holes or
cavities thereof represented in the cross sections in FIGS. 3F-3J may or may not be within
a same plane as shown. For example, the first air passageway 340 and the first air
regulation channel 352 are shown to be in a same plane in the cross sectional views; but
they can be located in different planes in other embodiments. In other embodiments, the
features shown on the left side and the right side may be offset into or out of the plane
(i.e., may not be symmetrical in a cross sectional view as shown)." (Cook, para. [0066]
emphasis added)
This means that the misalignment provided by Cook is not on the main plane,
but is on the cross sectional plane.
In other words, as shown below, Cook discloses that the passageways on the left
and right sides may lay on different main planes.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cook does NOT disclose that the passageways on the left
and right sides may lay on different main planes. Cook discloses [0066] features on the left side and the right side may be offset into or out of the plane. The plane (or same plane) in the cross-sectional views refers to the cross-sectional view plane of Figs. 3A-3E (i.e., the plane of the page on which such figures are drawn). As defined in the instant claims, relative to Figs. 3A-3E, the main direction would be perpendicular to “same plane” (plane of the page), and the main plane would be parallel to the main direction, wherein the main end (downstream end of main passageway 330) and the secondary ends (downstream ends of secondary branches 340, 342) are distributed in the main plane. In other words, the main plane would be perpendicular to the plane of the page (since the main plane is parallel to the main direction) and would extend in a horizontal direction relative to the page which includes the ends (because the ends are distributed in the main plane). Thus, in view of [0066] features on the left side and the right side may be offset into or out of the plane (of the page), features shown in Figs. 3A-3E, such as the downstream end (secondary end) of secondary branch 340 (on the left side) AND the downstream end (secondary end) of secondary branch 342 (on the right side), may be offset into or out of the plane of the page (i.e., may be offset perpendicular to the plane of the page). Note, for example, that if the downstream end (secondary end) of secondary branch 340 is offset into the page AND the downstream end (secondary end) of secondary branch 342 is offset out of the page, then these secondary ends would be mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction (i.e., the horizonal direction of the page) on said main plane (as the ends are distributed in the main plane). Further, in view of [0068] the first and second passageways 340, 342 may be offset in different planes, the secondary ends (the downstream ends of passageways 340, 342) would also be offset in different planes. Note that the different planes would be offset into or out of the plane of the page, and thus the secondary ends would be mutually misaligned with respect to directions normal to said main direction on said main plane, similar to the “offset into and out of” explanation above.
Applicant argues that this is confirmed by the fact that the only part discussing the distribution of inlets is disclosed at Cook par. [0071-0072] and showed at Cook Figs. 8A and 8B. Regarding
Cook Fig. 8b, it is disclosed that "In FIG. 8B, two or more repeating inlets 802. tapered
distribution portions 803 may be provided for an even distribution of the polymer flow a
crossing a large width given certain height constraints. Although only two repetitions are
shown in FIG. 8B, more repetitions may be added."
Cook Fig. 8B clearly shows that, if a plurality of inlets/outlets is provided, then the
ends of those inlets/outlets are not misaligned on the main plane.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The disclosure of Cook at [0066] and [0068] is relative to Figs. 3A-3E, NOT Figs. 8A-8B. Cook at [0068] explicitly refers to such air passageways 340, 342 being offset in different planes. Figs. 8A-8B do not even show passageways for air (i.e., such as secondary branches 340, 342). Thus, Figs. 8A-8B have no bearing on passageways 340, 342.
Conclusion
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744