DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
This case has been reopened and a second Non-Final is generated down below. Examiner does not agree with applicants arguments in view of the new rejection. Kindly refer below for the newly rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0313962 Kim et al., hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a robotic drive system (Figure 1, element 10 or Figure 2, element 100) for driving one or more elongated medical devices (Para 31; driving a catheter), the robotic drive system comprising: a robotic drive including a first drive module (Figure 1, element 32), and a second drive module proximal to the first drive module (Figure 1, element 34, is proximal to 32), each of the first drive module and the second drive module being configured to move independently along a longitudinal axis of the robotic drive (Para 34-36; the drive units are coupled to the track 14 each unit can move separately as can be seen in Figure 1); and a cassette assembly (Figure 1, elements 22, 24, 26, and 28) including a first cassette (Figure 1, element 42), and a second cassette (Figure 1, element 44) coupled to the first cassette with a coupler (Para 38 the cassettes are coupled to one another via a Y-connector, this is what examiner is interpreting to be the coupler, it can be seen in Figure 2, element 162), wherein the first cassette and the second cassette are removably attached together (Para 59, 65 and 38; The paragraphs disclose how a cassette is removable from their separate drive units, examiner takes the stand that if they are connected by the Y-connector then one must remove the first cassette to remove the second), the first cassette is removably attached to the first drive module (Para 65), and the second cassette is removably attached to the second drive module (Para 65).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the coupler comprises: a first arm connected to the first cassette (Para 45; “The Y-connector 162 is secured by the first intermediate cassette 144. … The Y-connector 164 is secured by the second intermediate cassette 146”; the coupler comprises a proximal end and a distal end each end is an arm that connects to the cassettes); and a second arm connected to the second cassette (Para 45; “The Y-connector 162 is secured by the first intermediate cassette 144. … The Y-connector 164 is secured by the second intermediate cassette 146”; the coupler comprises a proximal end and a distal end each end is an arm that connects to the cassettes), the second arm being slidably connected to the first arm (Para 45 and Figure 2, element 162).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the first arm and the second arm are coupled to allow relative movement between the first arm and the second arm only along their respective longitudinal axes (Para 45; the Y-connector is interpreted to have one arm on the proximal end and another arm on the distal end, therefore they are inherently connected and translate together; also note that “to allow relative movement between the first arm and the second arm only along their respective longitudinal axes” is intended use).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a first flexible support (Figure 2, element 152; the catheter) having a first distal end and a first proximal end (Figure 2, element 152 proximal end is connected to cassette 142, distal end is connected to the Y-connecter 162), the first distal end being removably secured to the first cassette (Para 84) and the first proximal end being secured to a proximal end of the first arm (Figure 2 shows the catheter 152 connected to the first arm of the Y-connector 162; this is also shown in Figure 18 catheter 606 is connected to tab 604 of the Y-connector), wherein a portion of the first flexible support, intermediate the first distal end and the first proximal end, is positioned within the second cassette (This is shown clearly in Figure 8 that shows the catheter 606 in both cassettes 702 and 704).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses a third cassette (Figure 2, element 146), wherein the coupler further includes a third arm (Figure 2, element 164) slidably connected to the second arm (Figure 2, Y-connector 164 connects to cassette 144 which is connected to Y-connector 162), and the third cassette is connected to the third arm (Figure 2, element 164 is connected to cassette 146).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the second arm comprises: a first portion slidably engaged with the first arm (Figure 2, Y-connector 164 connects to cassette 144 which is connected to Y-connector 162); and a second portion slidably engaged with the third arm (Figure 2, Y-connector 164 connects to cassette 144 which is connected to Y-connector 162).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a fourth cassette (Figure 2, element 148), wherein the coupler includes a fourth arm (Figure 2, element 166) slidably connected to the third arm (Figure 2, Y-connector 166 connects to cassette 146 which is connected to Y-connector 164), and the fourth cassette is connected to the fourth arm (Figure 2, element 166 is connected to cassette 148).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a second flexible support (Figure 2, catheter 154) having a second distal end and a second proximal end (Figure 2, element 154 proximal end is connected to cassette 144, distal end is connected to the Y-connecter 164), the second distal end of the second flexible support being removably secured to the second cassette (Para 84) and the second proximal end being secured to a proximal end of the second arm (Figure 2 shows the catheter 154 connected to the first arm of the Y-connector 165; this is also shown in Figure 18 catheter 606 is connected to tab 604 of the Y-connector), wherein a portion of the second flexible support intermediate the second distal end and the second proximal end is positioned within the third cassette (This is shown clearly in Figure 8 that shows the catheter 606 in both cassettes 702 and 704).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses: a first flexible support (Figure 2, element 152; the catheter) having a first distal end and a first proximal end (Figure 2, element 152 proximal end is connected to cassette 142, distal end is connected to the Y-connecter 162), the first distal end being removably secured to the first cassette (Para 84) and the first proximal end being secured to a proximal end of the first arm (Figure 2 shows the catheter 152 connected to the first arm of the Y-connector 162; this is also shown in Figure 18 catheter 606 is connected to tab 604 of the Y-connector) and wherein the third arm includes a third guide configured to operatively guide a portion of the second flexible support between the second cassette and the first proximal end of the first flexible support (Figure 2, the third guide 156 allows the flexible support 158 to be guides through 156, 154, and 152).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses each of the first cassette and the second cassette comprises: a portion that rests on a surface of a corresponding drive module during attachment to the corresponding drive module (This is most clear in Figure 1, cassettes 42 and 44 rest on top of the surfaces of drive modules 32 and 34).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the first cassette comprises: a latch configured to releasably engage a tab in the first drive module (Para 65).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the first cassette comprises: a cylindrical cavity configured to receive a cylindrical member of the first drive module (Figure 7B, channel 308-8 is cylindrical and receives a cylindrical catheter).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the robotic drive includes a third drive module proximal the second drive module (Figure 1, element 36 proximal to 34), wherein each of the first drive module, the second drive module and the third drive module are configured to move independently along the longitudinal axis of the robotic drive (Para 34-36; the drive units are coupled to the track 14 each unit can move separately as can be seen in Figure 1), the coupler includes a first arm connected to the first cassette (Para 45; “The Y-connector 162 is secured by the first intermediate cassette 144. … The Y-connector 164 is secured by the second intermediate cassette 146”; the coupler comprises a proximal end and a distal end each end is an arm that connects to the cassettes), a second arm connected to the second cassette (Para 45; “The Y-connector 162 is secured by the first intermediate cassette 144. … The Y-connector 164 is secured by the second intermediate cassette 146”; the coupler comprises a proximal end and a distal end each end is an arm that connects to the cassettes), and a third arm connected to a third cassette (Figure 2, element 164 is connected to cassette 146), and the cassette assembly further includes the third cassette (Figure 1, element 46), a first flexible support (Figure 2, element 152; the catheter) having a first distal end and a first proximal end attached to the first cassette (Figure 2, element 152 proximal end is connected to cassette 142, distal end is connected to the Y-connecter 162), wherein a portion of the first flexible support extends through the second cassette (This is shown clearly in Figure 8 that shows the catheter 606 in both cassettes 702 and 704), a second flexible support (Figure 2, catheter 154) having a second distal end and a second proximal end attached to the second cassette (Figure 2, element 154 proximal end is connected to cassette 144, distal end is connected to the Y-connecter 164), wherein a portion of the second flexible support extends through the third cassette (This is shown clearly in Figure 8 that shows the catheter 606 in both cassettes 702 and 704), and the first arm, the second arm and the third arm are slidably connected to one another (Figure 2, Y-connector 164 connects to cassette 144 which is connected to Y-connector 162, which both connect to 166, through 146).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the second arm comprises: a guide configured to operatively guide a portion of the first flexible support between the first cassette and a connector on a proximal end of the first arm (Figure 18, element 602 guides 606 through 702 via end 604).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the cassette assembly is configured to balance on a portion of the first drive module, the second drive module and the third drive module in an unlocked position (As can be seen in Figure 1 cassettes 42, 44, and 46 are smaller than the drive units 32, 34, and 36 and flat in shape, one of ordinary skill in the art can inherently say that the cassettes would balance in an unlocked position).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses each of the first cassette, the second cassette and the third cassette comprises: a latch configured to releasably lock to a corresponding drive module (Para 65; latches 326).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Examiner was able to find a reference (US 2022/0313962 Kim et al.) that disclosed a robotic drive system (Figure 1, element 10 or Figure 2, element 100) for driving one or more elongated medical devices (Para 31; driving a catheter) including a first drive module (Figure 1, element 32), and a second drive module (Figure 1, element 34, is proximal to 32), a cassette assembly (Figure 1, elements 22, 24, 26, and 28) including a first cassette (Figure 1, element 42), and a second cassette (Figure 1, element 44) the first cassette is removably attached to the first drive module (Para 65), and the second cassette is removably attached to the second drive module (Para 65), examiner was also able to find a flexible support that connected to the cassette (Para 84). However, examiner did not find any references that disclosed a flexible support that connects to the robotic drive housing. Every reference found connects the flexible support to the cassette that is removably connected to the drive system. For this reason, claims 9-11 and 18 are objected to as allowable.
Conclusion
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792