DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence filed on 6/10/2026. Applicant has amended claim 58 and canceled claim 72. Claims 58-62, 64, 67-70 and 171 are currently pending for examination. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are found insufficient to place the instantly examined claims in condition for allowance. Specifically, applicant’s cancellation of claim 72 has obviated the rejection under 35 USC 112. In view of the terminal disclaimer filed on 6/10/2026, the non-statutory double patenting rejection has been withdrawn. However, the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 are maintained, with modification(s) as necessitated by amendment.
Terminal Disclaimer
2. The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,427,846 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 58-59, 61-62, 64, 67-68 and 171 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turchinovich et al. (RNA Biol. 2014, 11(7):817-828).
Regarding claim 58
Turchinovich et al. teach, throughout the whole document, a method of making a composition, wherein the composition comprises a double-stranded deoxyribonucleic acid (dsDNA) sequence comprising: (i) a sense strand comprising, from 5’ to 3’, a sequence comprising a first adaptor sequence, a template sequence, and a second adaptor sequence, and (ii) an anti-sense strand comprising a sequence complementary to the sequence of the sense strand (i), wherein the second adaptor sequence comprises a hybridization site (e.g., “CCC”) for a template switching oligonucleotide (TSO); wherein the method comprises the following steps: (a) contacting a double-stranded template sequence (e.g., the double-stranded nucleic acid sequence comprising the polydeoxyadenylated DNA fragment and the anchored poly(dT) oligonucleotide containing a custom 3’-adaptor sequence, as shown in Figure 1) and a polymerase (e.g., reverse transcriptase) under conditions sufficient to allow for terminal transferase activity, to produce an intermediate double-stranded deoxyribonucleic acid (dsDNA) sequence, wherein the intermediate dsDNA comprises the adaptor sequence at the 3’ end of the sense strand and the antisense strand; (b) contacting the intermediate dsDNA, the polymerase and at least one template switching oligonucleotide (TSO) under conditions sufficient to allow for DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity, to produce the composition (see Figure 1; page 818, paragraph spanning columns 1-2).
Regarding claim 59
The method according to Turchinovich et al., wherein the adaptor sequence at the 3’ end of the sense strand and the antisense strand comprises a poly(C) sequence (e.g., “CCC”) (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 61
The method according to Turchinovich et al., wherein the conditions sufficient to allow for terminal transferase activity or DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity comprise a plurality of deoxynucleotides (dNTPs) (see Figure 1; page 826, paragraph spanning columns 1-2).
Regarding claim 62
The method according to Turchinovich et al., wherein the conditions sufficient to allow for terminal transferase activity comprise a plurality of dCTPs (see page 818, paragraph spanning columns 1-2).
Regarding claim 64
The method according to Turchinovich et al., wherein the conditions sufficient to allow for DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity comprise an incubation at temperatures from between 27°C and 50°C, inclusive of the endpoints, for a period of between 2 and 20 minutes (e.g., “15 min at 42 °C”. See page 826, column 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claims 67-68
The method according to Turchinovich et al., wherein the polymerase comprises a reverse transcriptase, wherein the reverse transcriptase is a Moloney Murine Leukemia Virus Reverse Transcriptase (MMLV) reverse transcriptase (see Figure 1 caption).
Regarding claim 171
The method according to Turchinovich et al., wherein the conditions sufficient to allow for terminal transferase activity or DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity comprise three dNTP (see Figure 1; page 826, paragraph spanning columns 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turchinovich et al. (RNA Biol. 2014, 11(7):817-828) as applied to claims 58-59 above, and further in view of Betts et al. (WO 2014/066179 A1).
Turchinovich et al. teach the method of claims 58-59 as discussed above, wherein the adaptor sequence at the 3’ end of the sense strand and the antisense strand comprises a poly(C) sequence. Turchinovich et al. do not disclose that the adaptor sequence at the 3’ end of the sense strand and the antisense strand may, alternatively, comprise a poly(G) sequence.
However, the same field of endeavor (i.e., template switch-based methods for producing product nucleic acids), Betts et al. teach the homonucleotide stretch of 3 or more of the same nucleotides that are added by the terminal transferase activity of the polymerase may be all dGTP (i.e., a poly(G) sequence) instead of all dCTP (i.e., a poly(C) sequence) (see paragraph bridging pages 10-11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, alternatively, use the terminal transferase activity of the polymerase to add a poly(G) sequence (that would be comprised in the adaptor sequence at the 3’ end of the sense strand and the antisense strand), as taught by Betts et al., in the method of Turchinovich et al. thus arriving at the instantly claimed invention, because substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.06(II)). Given the teachings of the prior art and the level of the ordinary skilled artisan at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that said skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
9. Claims 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turchinovich et al. (RNA Biol. 2014, 11(7):817-828) as applied to claims 58 and 67-68 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (BioTechniques 2001, 30(4):892-897).
Turchinovich et al. teach the method of claims 58 and 67-68 as discussed above. Although Turchinovich et al. indicate that the conditions sufficient to allow for DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity (i.e., reverse transcriptase activity) include the use of RT buffer supplied by Clontech (see page 826, column 2, paragraph 1), Turchinovich et al. do not describe the details about the buffer.
However, Zhu et al., from Clontech, teach that such RT buffer (for use with reverse transcriptase) comprises 30 mM MgCl2 (i.e., co-factor Mg2+ at a concentration of 30 mM) (see page 893, column 2, the paragraph under “First-Strand cDNA Synthesis and Template Switching”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RT buffer comprising 30 mM MgCl2 (i.e., co-factor Mg2+ at a concentration of 30 mM), as disclosed by Zhu et al., in the method of Turchinovich et al. thus arriving at the instantly claimed invention, because such RT buffer was recognized in the art as suitable for using with reverse transcriptase for cDNA synthesis. In addition, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2143.I.A). Given the teachings of the prior art and the level of the ordinary skilled artisan at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that said skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s cancellation of claim 72 has obviated the rejection under 35 USC 112. In view of the terminal disclaimer filed on 6/10/2026, the non-statutory double patenting rejection has been withdrawn. However, the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 are maintained, with modification(s) as necessitated by amendment. Applicant’s arguments directed at the maintained rejections are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that “Turchinovich does not disclose, teach, or suggest a double-stranded template sequence, as is recited in sole independent claim 58, as amended in part”, based on applicant’s argument that “Figure 1 of Turchinovich provides a schematic representation of its methods, which describe a starting template of ‘short ssRNA or ssDNA.’” (see page 9 of applicant’s response filed 6/10/2026).
Contrary to applicant’s submission, Turchinovich does teach contacting a double-stranded template sequence (e.g., the double-stranded nucleic acid sequence comprising the polydeoxyadenylated DNA fragment and the anchored poly(dT) oligonucleotide containing a custom 3’-adaptor sequence, as shown in Figure 1) and a polymerase (e.g., reverse transcriptase) under conditions sufficient to allow for terminal transferase activity, as recited in step (a) of the currently presented claim 58. In response to applicant’s argument that Figure 1 of Turchinovich describes a “starting template” of short ssRNA or ssDNA, the currently presented claim 58 (which uses the term “comprises” in line 7) does not preclude additional step(s) prior to step (a). Although Turchinovich’s method begins with a starting template of short ssDNA (which first undergoes a 3’-tailing step), the RT step involves contacting a double-stranded template sequence (e.g., the double-stranded nucleic acid sequence comprising the polydeoxyadenylated DNA fragment and the anchored poly(dT) oligonucleotide containing a custom 3’-adaptor sequence. See the double-stranded nucleic acid sequence as highlighted in the reproduced Figure 1 of Turchinovich shown below) and a polymerase (e.g., reverse transcriptase).
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAIJIANG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684