Detailed Action
2. This Final Office Action is responsive to Applicants’ amendments and arguments, as received 11/25/25. Claims 1-18 remain pending, of which claims 1, 9, and 15 are independent.
3. In the prior Office Action, claim 6 was objected to for featuring an informality, which the Applicants’ recent amendment has cured. Hence, this claim objection as previously presented is now withdrawn.
4. The prior art rejections from the prior Office Action are essentially maintained, with some minor updates to address Applicants’ minor claim amendments as received 11/25/25. Please see the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section for clarifications and responses to Applicants’ arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0292334 (“Pandey”).
Regarding claim 1, PANDEY teaches A method comprising:
storing a first activation input tensor1 to one or more first storage devices and partitioning the stored first activation input tensor into a plurality of tensor segments (FIG. 4A, as discussed in relation to [0048] and [0049], detail the memory management of models and their input data with respect to a memory architecture scheme, such that model may be factorized into different partitions of model data, parameters, and input data to fit the cache of an edge computing device, where the Examiner understands this memory optimization to be performed by a memory optimizer per [0037] (e.g., associated with a host computing device as shown in FIG. 1A, and hence its memory/storage – which the Examiner equates with “first storage devices” as recited) to determine the appropriate partitioning for the edge device in advance of performing the sequential loading discussed per [0049] which relies upon the determined partitioning); and
sequentially loading individual tensor segments of the stored first activation input tensor to one or more second storage devices ([0049] discussing the sequential loading based on determined partitioning, where the cache for the edge computing device receiving the partitioned model and information is akin to the recited “second storage devices”), the one or more second storage devices being integrated in a microcontroller unit (MCU) with processing circuitry to apply one or more activation functions associated with the tensor segments (the edge computing device features a processor/MCU, e.g. as discussed per [0019] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Pandey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein sequentially loading individual first tensor segments of the stored first activation input tensor further comprises: loading a first tensor segment of the individual tensor segments to a first portion of the one or more second storage devices local to processing circuitry to apply a first activation function to the first tensor segment of the individual tensor segments; and completing of loading of a second tensor segment to a second portion of the one or more second storage devices local to the processing circuitry to apply the first activation function subsequent to commencement of application of the first activation function to the first tensor segment (sequential loading scheme of determined model partitions, including model inputs/information, as discussed per [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Pandey teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing weights in at least one of the one or more first storage devices; and partitioning the stored weights according to the one or more activation functions; and sequentially loading individual stored weights to the one or more second storage devices local to the processing circuitry to apply the one or more activation functions ([0049] discussing “In some implementations, network parameters of neuron 404 (and other neurons that are not shown explicitly) may similarly be partitioned into portions and loaded into cache 136 together with the inputs of the corresponding partitions.”, where “network parameter” as mentioned is understood to include weights per [0048] and [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Pandey teaches the method of claim 3, wherein at least one of the one or more activation functions comprises a dot product ([0028]: “For example, operations performed on a set of input data (e.g., partitioned among multiple neurons) by various neurons may represent one layer, operations performed on the output of that layer may represent another layer, and so on. A neuron may represent any set of computations that takes two or more input numbers and produces an output number (e.g., via weight multiplication, bias addition, application of an activation function, etc.).”).
Regarding claim 5, Pandey teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing a second activation input tensor to at least one of the one or more first storage devices; and partitioning the stored second activation input tensor into a plurality of second tensor segments; and sequentially loading individual second tensor segments of the stored second activation input tensor to the one or more second storage devices to processing circuitry to apply at least one of the one or more activation functions associated with the tensor segments (the Examiner interprets the instant claim’s limitations to merely constitute a further iteration of additional instances of the same limitations discussed above in relation to claim 1, and hence the mappings as provided above with respect to claim 1 are similarly applicable here in the exercise or practice of the framework allowing further iterations of the same steps/teachings as applied to further instances of data/information).
Regarding claim 6, Pandey teaches the method of claim 5, wherein at least one of the one or more activation functions comprises an operation to additively combine an associated tensor segment of the plurality of tensor segments and an associated tensor segment of the plurality of second tensor segments ([0028]: “For example, operations performed on a set of input data (e.g., partitioned among multiple neurons) by various neurons may represent one layer, operations performed on the output of that layer may represent another layer, and so on. A neuron may represent any set of computations that takes two or more input numbers and produces an output number (e.g., via weight multiplication, bias addition, application of an activation function, etc.).”).
Regarding claim 7, Pandey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more first storage devices are external to the MCU (with reference to FIG. 1A, the Examiner understands the edge device and its MCU to be separate and apart from the storage/memory aspects of the host computing device, i.e., “external to” as recited).
Regarding claim 8, Pandey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein sequentially loading individual tensor segments of the stored first activation input tensor to memories local to processing circuitry comprises executing a sequence of first direct memory access (DMA) ([0051]: “... FIG. 4B depicts an efficient factorization of data loading and processing in the instances when a buffer is capable of storing at least N values. Input buffer 452 may store all N input values {Ij} that are loaded from a system memory 460 during cycle 1 of direct memory access (DMA) operations. Similarly, during cycle 1, N values {W1j} of the weights (which determine the first output value O1) may be loaded from system memory 460 to weight buffer 454. Additionally, during cycle 1, M buffer values {Bi} may be loaded from system memory 460 to output buffer 456, which will eventually store the output values {Oi}.”).
Regarding claim 9, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 1 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. The claim additional recites elements for circuitry to perform the recited steps, which the Examiner believes is further taught per [0098]’s mention of “a processing element.”
Regarding claim 10, Pandey teaches the computing device of claim 9, wherein: the one or more first storage devices comprise at a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) device or a flash memory device, or a combination thereof and the one or more second storage devices comprise at least one static random access memory (SRAM) device ([0098]: “The implementations of methods, hardware, software, firmware or code set forth above may be implemented via instructions or code stored on a machine-accessible, machine readable, computer accessible, or computer readable medium which are executable by a processing element. “Memory” includes any mechanism that provides (i.e., stores and/or transmits) information in a form readable by a machine, such as a computer or electronic system. For example, “memory” includes random-access memory (RAM), such as static RAM (SRAM) or dynamic RAM (DRAM); ROM; magnetic or optical storage medium; flash memory devices; electrical storage devices; optical storage devices; acoustical storage devices, and any type of tangible machine-readable medium suitable for storing or transmitting electronic instructions or information in a form readable by a machine (e.g., a computer).”, from which the Examiner believes it possible to understand both of a host computing device and an edge computing device as might be used in relation to FIG. 1A’s framework for example to feature memory implementations one or both of SRAM or DRAM, thereby permitting a version of the FIG. 1A framework where the host computing device features DRAM and the edge computing device features SRAM).
Regarding claim 11, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 8 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 1 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, Pandey teaches the computing device of claim 9, and further comprising a memory bus coupled to the MCU to transfer tensor segments and/or weights between the one or more first storage devices and the one or more second storage devices ([0078]: “The parameters of the MLM may include weights, biases, activation functions, classifiers, and so on. In some implementations, the second memory device may be a random-access memory connected to the processor by a bus interconnect.”).
Regarding claim 15, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claims 1 and 9 as discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. The claim additional recites elements for a non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-readable instructions stored thereon and one or more processors to express circuitry for the recited steps discussed in relation to those earlier claims, which the Examiner is taught per [0098]’s teaching that “The implementations of methods, hardware, software, firmware or code set forth above may be implemented via instructions or code stored on a machine-accessible, machine readable, computer accessible, or computer readable medium which are executable by a processing element.”
Regarding claim 16, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 8 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 13 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandey in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0012563 (“Castro Gonzalez”).
Regarding claim 14, Pandey teaches the computing device of claim 13, as discussed above. The aforementioned reference teaches a memory bus, as discussed above per claim 13, but does not teach the further limitation wherein the memory bus comprises a Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI). Rather, the Examiner relies upon CASTRO GONZALEZ to teach what Pandey otherwise lacks, see e.g., Castro Gonzalez’s comparable framework for edge inference of neural network models ([0062]-[0065]) as facilitated by a framework that features SPI bus elements specifically ([0193]).
Both references are similarly directed with respect to providing frameworks and teachings to facilitate edge computing of machine-learning/neural network models. Hence, they are analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate well-known bus elements as contemplated by Castro Gonzalez into Pandey’s framework, with a reasonable expectation of success, on the basis that various types of bus elements as broadly contemplated by the primary reference can satisfy its needs including a specific bus element as contemplated by the secondary reference.
Regarding claim 18, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 14 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicants’ arguments filed 11/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner will address the arguments in full with remarks that are offered in hope to clarify the Examiner’s position in relation to the pending claims and the cited art.
[Applicants’ assertion A] On pages 8-9 of Applicants’ Reply, Applicants argue that the cited reference Pandey “only discusses related operations being performed on a single device” (citing to Pandey’s [0049]).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See, e.g., Pandey’s FIG. 1A for reference (as discussed per [0026]-[0028]), which clearly teaches a host computing device (element 102) onto which the to-be-deployed machine learning models (elements 108) are maintained. The deployment targets are edge devices, e.g. element 130. Edge devices are understood to have variable and sometimes limited resources, e.g. relative to the requirements of the models, and hence the challenge is to adapt the models at the host for successful and optimal deployment to the edge device in view of the edge device’s constrains. See, e.g., Pandey’s [0019]-[0025].
Pandey’s [0048], which begins the discussion continued in [0049] (which Applicants’ refer to in their arguments), clearly contemplates the challenge mentioned above: “In some instances a model 108 and/or an input data into model 108 may be too large to fit into high-speed cache 136 (or any other internal memory) of edge computing device 130” ([0048]’s second sentence). Hence, the reference as a whole, but also the portions cited to in the maintained rejection, clearly contemplate the adaptation of a model stored on a first device (i.e., the host, as shown in FIG. 1A) into the cache residing in a second device (i.e., the edge, as shown in FIG. 1A).
The Examiner understands the partitioning and hence optimization for an edge device to be performed on the host, as a quick review of FIG. 1A and its corresponding discussion confirms. Hence, it reasons that once appropriately portioned in the optimal way for the target edge and its cache, the model partition is then sent to the edge, i.e., corresponding to the recited “sequentially loading” step found in claim 1 for example (see the direction connection between host and edge as indicated by element 141 in FIG. 1A and discussed in [0026]).
Hence, contra to Applicants’ arguments, there are two devices clearly contemplated when Pandey is understood as a whole; however, even the portions cited to are part of a discussion that makes clear the involvement of two separate devices.
[Applicants’ assertion B] Staying on page 9 of Applicants’ Reply, Applicants reason that Pandey teaches away from using two different devices (citing to Pandey’s [0003]).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As a first matter, the discussion provided above should have made it clear that Applicants’ assertion A is in fact a misunderstanding of the reference. Rather, Pandey is very much about optimal deployment of models from a host to an edge. Hence, it cannot be at all fairly read and characterized to teach away from the use of two devices. That simply does not make any sense when one considers reads the reference as a whole, particularly in view of its stated problem and its solution framework as taught.
In making this assertion, Applicants point to a paragraph ([0003]) that states a need or problem in the state of the art as relating to deployment. The paragraph acknowledges that edge devices in such a distributed cloud/server-based framework can have “modest” resources in terms of processing and memory, the paragraph essentially settles that the advantages of processing only in the cloud do not necessarily outweigh instances and strategies that permit local edge processing. Then, it lists numerous advantages to processing at the edge device.
Hence, this paragraph does not teach away from computing at the edge, and nor does it ever say that computing should only be performed at the host. Applicants appear to have misunderstood this paragraph and are misapplying it to make this argument. Rather, and as noted above and as clearly shown in the discussion relating to FIG. 1A and the other FIGs., the reference very much is concerned with an optimization of a host-edge framework, that permits models stored at the host to be optimally deployed to the various edge devices in view of their respective constraints.
Based on the arguments identified above as assertions A and B, Applicants argue that Pandey is not proper and does not read on the cited prior art. [Applicants’ assertion C] Moreover, on page 12 of the Reply, Applicants argue that additional reference Castro Gonzalez does not teach what Applicants assert Pandey lacks.
Based on the remarks provided above by the Examiner, the Examiner does believe Applicants’ arguments, namely their assertions A and B as identified here, are consistent with the reference when reconsidered. The Examiner does not agree with them, and hence Applicants’ assertion C is moot as it has been argued.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure:
US 2022/0067543: Kollias
CN 108615072 B: Young
CN 117413280 A: Lin
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHOURJO DASGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144
1 The Examiner construes the term “activation input tensor” in accordance with Applicants’ definition as provided in [0018] of the published specification, e.g., “an expression of one or more activation input values according to a particular structure, dimension and/or format.”