DETAILED ACTION
Any References cited but not appearing in any current Form 892 may be found in previous Form 892’s or IDS’s.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 07/22/2025 has been entered.
In the amendment claims 24, 26, 30, 32, 39-40, 42, 44 and 46 are amended. Claims 24-46 are pending.
The amendment to claim 24 overcomes the 112b rejection with regard to that claim.
The amendment to claim 26 overcomes the 112b rejection with regard to that claim.
The amendment to claim 24 overcomes the 112b rejection made with regard to claim 30.
The amendment to claim 40 overcomes the 112b rejection with regard to that claim.
The amendment to claim 44 overcomes the 112b rejection with regard to that claim.
The amendment to claim 46 overcomes the 112b rejection with regard to that claim.
The amendment to claim 24 overcomes the 101 rejection with regard to that claim.
The amendment to claim 46 overcomes the 101 rejection with regard to that claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 07/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 24 and 46 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously cited Yosowitz (US 3741216) and in view of newly cited Krumme (US 2007/0249893).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 07/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 32 and 39 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously cited Yosowitz (US 3741216).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for “an expanded state in which the cuff expands only radially into the interior passage and downward” which is recited in amended claim 32 and for “an expanded state in which the ring expands only radially into the interior passage and downward” which is recited in amended claim 39 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 32, 36-39 and 43-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yosowitz (US 3741216) .
Regarding claim 32, Yosowitz discloses a cervical support and reinforcement device (25) (capable of intended use) comprising: a cuff (33) configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (col. 1, lines 42-55; col. 3, lines 37-49), the cuff comprising: a proximal opening (30), a distal opening (opening opposite 30 in Fig. 6 on an opposite end of the cuff 25), and an interior passageway therebetween (Fig 6; NOTE: the passageway between proximal opening and distal opening is an interior passageway), wherein the interior passageway is configured to receive at least the portion of the cervix (col. 3, lines 37-49; col. 1, lines 41-54; capable of intended use); and an exterior surface (26) for engaging a vaginal wall (Fig. 3; col.1, lines 52-56; col. 2, lines 58-67; NOTE: body tissue surrounding and spaced from the cervical neck includes a vaginal wall; capable of intended use), wherein the cuff is configured to non-uniformly expand from a neutral state to an expanded state (col. 2, lines 5-68; col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: membrane 33 is configured to expand non uniformly relative to membrane 34 in at least it is a different size relative to membrane 34 and in that they have different valves; Also NOTE: due to natural variations in a membrane material and due to protuberances on the membranes 33 and 34 which make it thicker, certain areas are configured to expand quicker or more than others and thus non uniformly) in which the cuff expands only radially into the interior passageway (col. 1, lines 49-55; col. 2, lines 50-68; NOTE: the cuff includes membrane 33 which only expands radially into the interior passageway [see annotated Fig. 3 below])
and downward (NOTE: the membrane of the cuff expands downward relative to an upper surface, see annotated Fig. 3 above; NOTE: the expansion of the membrane 33 is all downward from an upper surface and is also a radial expansion into the interior passageway and thus the membrane 33 of the cuff expands only radially to the interior passageway and downward as all expansion falls into one or both of the categories of downward or radially) such that the cuff applies traction to push the cervix away from the uterus when in the expanded state (col. 1, lines 42-55; col. 3, lines 37-49; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 36, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses a distal cuff (34) positioned on the exterior surface (Fig. 3) and configured to expand into the vaginal wall (col. 1, lines 52-56; NOTE: body tissue surrounding and spaced from the cervical neck includes a vaginal wall; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 37, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses a plurality of cleats (35) that extend from an exterior surface of the cuff (cleats/protuberances 35 extend from an exterior surface of the expandable cuff 33; Fig. 6, col. 2, lines 50-68).
Regarding claim 38, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses wherein the cuff further comprises at least two recessed portions (portions in between pairs of protuberances 35; col. 2, lines 50-68) and at least two expandable portions alternatingly spaced with the recessed portions (see annotated Fig. 6 above with regard to the claim 24 rejection; NOTE: portions of the cuff with protuberances 35 are expandable portions alternately spaced with recessed portions [portions without the protuberances]).
Regarding claim 39, Yosowitz discloses a cervical support and reinforcement device (25) (capable of intended use) comprising: a ring (33) (Fig. 6) configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (col. 1, lines 42-55; col. 3, lines 37-49), the ring comprising: a proximal opening (30), a distal opening (opening opposite 30 in Fig. 6 on an opposite end of the ring 25), and an interior passageway therebetween (Fig 6; NOTE: the passageway between proximal opening and distal opening is an interior passageway), wherein the interior passageway is configured to receive at least the portion of the cervix (col. 3, lines 37-49; col. 1, lines 41-54; capable of intended use); and a plurality of cleats (35) extending from the ring (Fig. 6) and configured to engage the cervix (col. 2, lines 50-68; col. 1, lines 41-54; NOTE: the inner membrane 33 [ring] engages the cervical neck thus it would follow that the protuberances 35 are configured to engage the cervix as they are on the inner membrane of 33), wherein the ring is configured to non-uniformly expand from a neutral state to an expanded state (col. 2, lines 5-68; col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: membrane 33 is configured to expand non uniformly relative to membrane 34 in at least it is a different size relative to membrane 34 and in that they have different valves; Also NOTE: due to natural variations in a membrane material and due to protuberances on the membranes 33 and 34 which make it thicker, certain areas are configured to expand quicker or more than others and thus non uniformly) in which the ring expands only radially into the interior passageway (col. 1, lines 49-55; col. 2, lines 50-68; NOTE: the cuff includes membrane 33 which only expands radially into the interior passageway [see annotated Fig. 3] above with regard to the claim 32 rejection) and downward (NOTE: the membrane of the cuff expands downward relative to an upper surface, see annotated Fig. 3 above with regard to the claim 32 rejection; NOTE: the expansion of the membrane 33 is all downward from an upper surface and is also a radial expansion into the interior passageway and thus the membrane 33 of the cuff expands only radially to the interior passageway and downward as all expansion falls into one or both of the categories of downward or radially) such that the ring applies traction to push the cervix away from the uterus (capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 43, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 39.
Yosowitz further discloses a distal cuff (34) positioned on the exterior surface (Fig. 3) and configured to expand into the vaginal wall (col. 1, lines 52-56; NOTE: body tissue surrounding and spaced from the cervical neck includes a vaginal wall; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 44, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses wherein the portion of the ring further comprises at least two of recessed portions (portions in between pairs of protuberances 35; col. 2, lines 50-68) and at least two of expandable portions alternatingly spaced with the recessed portions (see annotated Fig. 6 above with regard to the claim 24 rejection; NOTE: portions of the cuff with protuberances 35 are expandable portions alternately spaced with recessed portions [portions without the protuberances]).
Regarding claim 45, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses wherein the ring further comprises at least two recessed portions (two portions in between protuberances 35; col. 2, lines 50-68) and at least two expandable portions alternatingly spaced with the recessed portions (see annotated Fig. 6 above with regard to the claim 24 rejection; NOTE: portions of the cuff with protuberances 35 are expandable portions alternately spaced with recessed portions [portions without the protuberances]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26, 30-31 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yosowitz (US 3741216) in view of Krumme (US 2007/0249893).
Regarding claim 24, Yosowitz discloses a cervical support and reinforcement device (25) (capable of intended use) (Figs. 3-6) comprising: an expandable cuff (1) (annotated Fig. 6 below)
configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (col. 2, lines 7-12), the expandable cuff comprising: a proximal opening (30), a distal opening (opening opposite 30 in Fig. 6 on an opposite end of the cuff 25), and an interior passageway therebetween (annotated Fig 6; NOTE: the passageway between proximal opening and distal opening is an interior passageway), wherein the interior passageway is configured to receive at least the portion of the cervix (col. 3, lines 37-49; col. 1, lines 41-54; capable of intended use); and a membrane (33) configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway (col. 2, lines 5-68; col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: membrane 33 is configured to expand non uniformly relative to membrane 34 in at least it is a different size relative to membrane 34 and in that they have different valves; Also NOTE: due to natural variations in a membrane material and due to protuberances on the membrane 34 which make it thicker, certain areas are configured to expand quicker or more than others and thus non uniformly) via one or more expandable portions (33) (col. 2, lines 50-68; NOTE: membrane 33 or a portion of it is an expandable portion).
Yosowitz does not disclose a membrane configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway via one or more expandable portions adjacent one or more recessed portions, wherein the one or more expandable portions are configured to expand further into the interior passageway than the one or more recessed portions when the membrane is filled with fluid.
Krumme teaches an analogous support ([0001]) comprising an analogous expandable cuff (1) comprising an analogous proximal opening (annotated Fig. 1 below), an analogous distal opening (Fig. 1; NOTE: an opening on the other side of the proximal opening is the distal opening) and an analogous interior passageway (annotated Fig. 1); and a membrane ([0033]; biocompatible material such as a polymer) configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway (annotated Fig. 1 above; [0033]; NOTE: there are inflatable bladder portions and non) via one or more expandable portions (8) adjacent one or more recessed portions (9), wherein the one or more expandable portions are configured to expand further into the interior passageway than the one or more recessed portions (9) when the membrane is filled with fluid ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the membrane configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway of the cervical support and reinforcement device of Yosowitz is configured for non-uniform expansion via one or more expandable portions adjacent one or more recessed portions, wherein the one or more expandable portions are configured to expand further into the interior passageway than the one or more recessed portions when the membrane is filled with fluid, as taught by Krumme, by adding bladders to the membrane of the cuff of Yosowitz, in order to provide an improved cervical support that facilitates leaving undisturbed tissue and allows blood flow during use (Krumme, [0008]).
Regarding claim 25, Yosowitz in view of Krumme discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
The combination further discloses wherein the expandable cuff is configured to expand substantially radially inward toward an axial center of the proximal opening (Yosowitz discloses the cuff is configured to expand substantially radially toward an axial center of the proximal opening col. 1, lines 49-55; col. 2, lines 63-67; col. 3, lines 1-8; col. 3, lines 30-49; capable of intended use; in the combination Krumme [Fig. 1]; [0033]] teaches the bladders 8 configured to expand substantially radially inward toward an axial center of the proximal opening).
Regarding claim 26, Yosowitz in view of Krumme discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
The combination further discloses wherein the expandable cuff is configured to expand substantially radially inward toward an axial center of the proximal opening (Yosowitz, col. 1, lines 49-55) and expand downward away from a transverse plane of the proximal opening (annotated Yosowitz Fig. 4 below; NOTE re Yosowitz: the membrane 33 expands laterally and this would be away from a transverse plane as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below and would also be downward depending on orientation of the user, e.g. where a user is on her side it could be considered expanding downward and away from a transverse plane; Yosowitz, col. 2, lines 50-68; ALSO NOTE: as the membrane 33 is a sealed circularly sectioned flexible peripheral tubes and in the combination having spaced apart bladders [taught by Krumme], it follows that the membrane including bladders would expand radially and downward when filled with fluid).
Regarding claim 30, Yosowitz in view of Krumme discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses wherein the expandable cuff is positioned within a body (26) with an exterior surface (26) for engaging a vaginal wall (col. 1, lines 52-56; capable of intended use; annotated Fig. 3 above with regard to the claim 1 rejection), the cervical support and reinforcement further comprising: a distal cuff (34) positioned on the exterior surface of the body (Fig. 3) and configured to expand into the vaginal wall (col. 1, lines 52-56; NOTE: body tissue surrounding and spaced from the cervical neck includes a vaginal wall; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 31, Yosowitz in view of Krumme discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 24.
Yosowitz further discloses a plurality of cleats (35) that extend from an exterior surface of the expandable cuff (cleats/protuberances 35 extend from an exterior surface of the expandable cuff 33; Fig. 6; col. 2, lines 50-68).
Regarding claim 46, Yosowitz discloses a cervical support and reinforcement device (25) (capable of intended use) comprising: an expandable cuff (1) (col. 2, lines 50-68; col. 3, lines 9-19) configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (col. 1, lines 42-55; col. 3, lines 37-49), the expandable cuff comprising: a proximal opening (30), a distal opening (opening opposite 30 in Fig. 6 on an opposite end of the cuff 25), and an interior passageway therebetween (Fig 6; NOTE: the passageway between proximal opening and distal opening is an interior passageway), wherein the interior passageway is configured to receive at least the portion of the cervix (col. 3, lines 37-49; col. 1, lines 41-55; capable of intended use); an exterior surface (26) for engaging a vaginal wall (Fig. 3; col.1, lines 52-56; col. 2, lines 58-67; NOTE: body tissue surrounding and spaced from the cervical neck includes a vaginal wall; capable of intended use); and a membrane (33) configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway (col. 2,lines 5-68; col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: membrane 33 is configured to expand non uniformly relative to membrane 34 in at least it is a different size relative to membrane 34 and in that they have different valves; Also NOTE: due to natural variations in a membrane material and due to protuberances on the membrane 34 which make it thicker, certain areas are configured to expand quicker or more than others and thus non uniformly) via one or more expandable portions (33) (col. 2, lines 50-68; NOTE: membrane 33 or a portion of it is an expandable portion).
Yosowitz does not disclose a membrane configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway via one or more expandable portions adjacent one or more recessed portions, wherein the one or more expandable portions are configured to expand further into the interior passageway than the one or more recessed portions when the membrane is filled with fluid.
Krumme teaches an analogous support ([0001]) comprising an analogous expandable cuff (1) comprising an analogous proximal opening (annotated Fig. 1 below), an analogous distal opening (Fig. 1; NOTE: an opening on the other side of the proximal opening is the distal opening) and an analogous interior passageway (annotated Fig. 1); and a membrane ([0033]; biocompatible material such as a polymer) configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway (annotated Fig. 1 above; [0033]; NOTE: there are inflatable bladder portions and non) via one or more expandable portions (8) adjacent one or more recessed portions (9), wherein the one or more expandable portions are configured to expand further into the interior passageway than the one or more recessed portions (9) when the membrane is filled with fluid ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the membrane configured for non-uniform expansion into the interior passageway of the cervical support and reinforcement device of Yosowitz is configured for non-uniform expansion via one or more expandable portions adjacent one or more recessed portions, wherein the one or more expandable portions are configured to expand further into the interior passageway than the one or more recessed portions when the membrane is filled with fluid, as taught by Krumme, by adding bladders to the membrane of the cuff of Yosowitz, in order to provide an improved cervical support that facilitates leaving undisturbed tissue and allows blood flow during use (Krumme, [0008]).
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yosowitz (US 3741216) in view of Krumme (US 2007/0249893) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Kelley (US 2019/0321215).
Regarding claims 27, Yosowitz in view of Krumme discloses the invention as described above with regard to claims 24.
Yosowitz further discloses a fluid conduit (col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: passageway of valves 37, 38 are conduits) in fluid communication with the expandable cuff (col. 3, lines 9-19), the fluid conduit configured to communicate fluid to the expandable cuff (col. 3, lines 9-18), thereby inflating the expandable cuff (col. 3, lines 9-18)
Yosowitz in view of Krumme does not explicitly disclose the fluid conduit configured to extract fluid from the expandable cuff thereby deflating the expandable cuff.
Kelley teaches an analogous cervical support and reinforcement device ([0034]) having an analogous expandable cuff (110) configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (Fig. 9A, [0071]) and further comprising an analogous fluid conduit (118) in fluid communication with the expandable cuff ([0059]), the fluid conduit configured to communicate fluid to the expandable cuff ([0059]), thereby inflating the expandable cuff and extract fluid from the expandable cuff thereby deflating the expandable cuff ([0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the fluid conduit in fluid communication with the expandable cuff of the cervical support and reinforcement device of Yosowitz in view of Krumme is configured to extract fluid from the expandable cuff thereby deflating the expandable cuff, as taught by Kelley, in order to provide an improved cervical support and reinforcement device that facilitates maintaining a level of expansion or contraction of the cuff (Kelley, [0060]).
Regarding claims 28, Yosowitz in view of Krumme and in further view of Kelley discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 27.
Kelley further teaches a valve (119) in fluid communication with the fluid conduit ([0060]; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 29, Yosowitz in view of Krumme, and in further view of Kelley discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 27.
Kelley further teaches a valve (119) in fluid communication with the fluid conduit ([0060]; Fig. 7), wherein the valve is operable to removably receive a portion (610) of an inflation device operable to inflate the expandable cuff ([0074]) without removal of the device from a patient's vagina ([0074]; [0073]; capable of intended use).
Claim(s) 33-35 and 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yosowitz (US 3741216) as applied to claims 32 and 39, respectively above, and further in view of Kelley (US 2019/0321215).
Regarding claim 33, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claims 32.
Yosowitz further discloses a fluid conduit (col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: passageway of valves 37, 38 are conduits) in fluid communication with the cuff (col. 3, lines 9-19), the fluid conduit configured to communicate fluid to the cuff (col. 3, lines 9-18), thereby inflating the expandable cuff (col. 3, lines 9-18)
Yosowitz does not explicitly disclose the fluid conduit configured to extract fluid from the cuff thereby deflating the cuff.
Kelley teaches an analogous cervical support and reinforcement device ([0034]) having an analogous cuff (110) configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (Fig. 9A, [0071]) and further comprising an analogous fluid conduit (118) in fluid communication with the expandable cuff ([0059]), the fluid conduit configured to communicate fluid to the cuff ([0059]), thereby inflating the cuff and extract fluid from the cuff thereby deflating the expandable cuff ([0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the fluid conduit in fluid communication with the cuff of the cervical support and reinforcement device of Yosowitz is configured to extract fluid from the cuff thereby deflating the cuff, as taught by Kelley, in order to provide an improved cervical support and reinforcement device that facilitates maintaining a level of expansion or contraction of the cuff (Kelley, [0060]).
Regarding claims 34, Yosowitz in view of Kelley discloses the invention as described above with regard to claims 33.
Kelley further teaches a valve (119) in fluid communication with the fluid conduit ([0060]; Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 35, Yosowitz in view of Kelley discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 33.
Kelley further teaches a valve (119) in fluid communication with the fluid conduit ([0060]; Fig. 7), wherein the valve is operable to removably receive a portion (610) of an inflation device operable to inflate the cuff ([0074]) without removal of the device from a patient's vagina ([0074]; [0073]; capable of intended use).
Regarding claim 40, Yosowitz discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 39.
Yosowitz further discloses a fluid conduit (col. 3, lines 9-19; NOTE: passageway of valves 37, 38 are conduits) in fluid communication with a portion of the ring (col. 3, lines 9-19), the fluid conduit configured to communicate fluid to the portion of the ring (col. 3, lines 9-18), thereby inflating the portion of the ring (col. 3, lines 9-18).
Yosowitz does not explicitly disclose the fluid conduit configured to extract fluid from the cuff thereby deflating the portion of the ring.
Kelley teaches an analogous cervical support and reinforcement device having an analogous ring (110) configured to surround at least a portion of a cervix (Fig. 9A, [0071]) and further comprising an analogous fluid conduit (118) in fluid communication with a portion of the ring ([0059]), the fluid conduit configured to communicate fluid to the ring ([0059]), thereby inflating the portion of the ring and extract fluid from the cuff thereby deflating the portion of the ring ([0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the fluid conduit in fluid communication with a portion of the ring of the cervical support and reinforcement device of Yosowitz is configured to extract fluid from the cuff thereby deflating the portion of the ring, as taught by Kelley, in order to provide an improved cervical support and reinforcement device that facilitates maintaining a level of expansion or contraction of the cuff (Kelley, [0060]).
Regarding claim 41, Yosowitz in view of Kelley discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 40.
Kelley further teaches a valve (119) in fluid communication with the fluid conduit ([0060]; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 42, Yosowitz in view of Kelley discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 40.
Kelley further teaches a valve (119) in fluid communication with the fluid conduit ([0060]; Fig. 7), wherein the valve is operable to removably receive a portion (610) of an inflation device operable to inflate the portion of the ring ([0074]) without removal of the device from a patient's vagina ([0074]; [0073]; capable of intended use).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786