DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to the filing on 9/21/2026. Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 1, 5, 10, 13, and 14 and the cancellation of claims 6-7.
The present application, filed on or after 3/16/2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments have overcome the previous rejections for claim 10.
The amendments have caused new 35 U.S.C 112 issues as noted in the rejection below. It is also noted that a different interpretation of claim 1 has revealed new 112 issues. Due to this interpretation and the 112 issue, the previously applied art plus new art can be applied to claim 1 as noted in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Based on how the claim is written, the “creating an incision” step does not specify a location, and the retracting a scalp step occurs at the insertion point. There is no relation specified between the “creating an incision” and the insertion point so the claim can be read like the incision can be made anywhere and the retraction of the scalp occurs at the insertion point. The specification does not have support for this configuration but does have support for the incision being made on a patient’s head.
Claims 14-15 inherit the deficiencies of claim 13 and are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-5 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein administering a magnetocaloric treatment” in line 4. It is not clear how this limitation relates to the method as there is currently no step that administers a magnetocaloric treatment. It is not clear if the current limitation is the same as administering a magnetocaloric vector or something different.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “observing a first metal distribution using imaging… to a threshold” in lines 11-17. The limitation uses the conditional limitation “until a difference between the first metal distribution and a second metal distribution is below a threshold” with steps within the conditional limitation referring to differences in metal distribution but do not state how the administering magnetocaloric elements are related to the metal distributions. The claim also does not specify if the first and second metal distributions are different or the same metals, differences between the magnetocaloric treatments, give any specifics about the threshold, or the timing of the administrations. This lack of information makes the claim unclear as the step limitation could potentially never be executed or go on an infinite loop.
Claims 2-5 and 13-19 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 2 recite the limitation “wherein applying a magnetic field to the tissue” in lines 1-2. There is no previous step of applying a magnetic field. It is not clear if the limitation is part of the heating step or if it is something new.
Claims 8 and 9 are dependent on a deleted claim, which renders the claims unclear. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted as dependent on claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein administering a magnetocaloric treatment” in line 6. It is not clear how this limitation relates to the method as there is currently no step that administers a magnetocaloric treatment. It is not clear if the current limitation is the same as administering a magnetocaloric vector or something different.
Claims 11-12 inherit the deficiencies of claim 10 and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0090732 (Ivkov et al., hereinafter Ivkov) in view of US 2009/0068112 (Haik).
In regards to claim 1, Ivkov discloses a thermotherapy method via targeted delivery of nanoparticles (title and abstract; paragraphs [0013]-[0258]; figures 1-6). Ivkov discloses a method with the following steps:
administering a magnetocaloric vector, containing a magnetocaloric metal, to a patient in response to a determination of the presence of cells of an infiltrative tumor (paragraphs [0060]-[0258]; particles used contain iron, cobalt, and other rare earth metals – paragraphs 69 and 70), wherein administering a magnetocaloric treatment comprises:
preparing a magnetocaloric vector (paragraphs [0065]-[0116]);
delivering a dose of magnetocaloric vector to a target location (paragraph [0097] discloses methods for administration of probes/vectors);
waiting for the magnetocaloric vector to migrate to the infiltrative tumor cells (paragraph [0097]; required step to allow vector to reach target site); and
heating infiltrative tumor cells via application of a pulsed magnetic field to tissue of the patient surrounding the target location (paragraphs [0117]–[0119]) and
observing a first metal distribution using imaging (paragraphs 253 and 255).
While Ivkov does not explicitly disclose administration of the second magnetocaloric treatment, Ivkov does suggest imaging prior to, during, or after therapy to track uptake of the probes.
In a related area, Haik discloses the use of magnetic nanoparticles for imaging (title and abstract; figures 1 and 2; paragraphs 8-43). Haik shows the delivery of magnetic nanoparticles in two different areas in figure 2 (paragraph 34). This would be considered as first and second metal distributions that are observed during imaging and would require the administration of two magnetocaloric treatments as there are two different targets (note that there are no specifics given about the second magnetocaloric treatment so a different target can be considered as the second treatment). Due to the 112 issues of the claim and there being no timing limitations of the therapy or specifics about the threshold, the singular administration shown by Haik could be considered as meeting the “until” limitation as the distribution intensities shown in figure 2 appear to be similar. Haik also shows in paragraph 10 that the agents used can detect tumors and if no tumors are present are passed out of the patient. One of ordinary skill in the art would naturally stop application of therapy once it has been confirmed that the source of an ailment is eliminated. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ivkov to include the administration of a second magnetocaloric treatment, as taught by Haik, used prior to, during, and after therapy as suggested by Ivkov in order to track the presence of tumors and halt administration of therapy once the ailment is confirmed to be absent.
Regarding claim 2, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1. Ivkov further shows in figure 2 the generation of a magnetic field around the tissue of a patient surrounding a target location. Paragraph [0121] further shows identifying the presence of the magnetic particles/vector clusters and monitoring the temperature of the tissue. While Ivkov does not explicitly teach the stopping of the magnetic field after a target temperature is reached, Ivkov does disclose preferred operating temperatures (paragraphs [0010], [0055], [0066], [0127], and [0164]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform said step due to potential safety issues that would arise if tissue temperatures stray outside of the target temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitation of claim 1. Ivkov further states controlling heat to a target temperature at a target location (paragraphs [0066]-[0070] and [0127]).
Regarding claim 4, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1. Ivkov further shows that the magnetic field is controlled to heat a magnetocaloric substance for a target duration (paragraphs [0060], [00132], and [0164]; duration of activation is determined based on required parameters).
Regarding claim 5, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1. Ivkov further states that the particle includes a targeting ligand such as a monoclonal antibody (paragraphs [0046], [0065], [0077], and [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Ivkov shows in paragraphs [0039] and [0206]-[0228] that the probe can include chemotherapeutic agents/chemicals.
Regarding claim 9, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1. Ivkov states that the particle has a Curie temperature in the range of 40-150 C which overlaps the claimed range. Ivkov further states in paragraph [0066] that selection of materials with different Curie temperatures will vary depending on the optimization of treatment for particular tissue and target types. Applicant’s specification does not specify the criticality of the claimed range. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ivkov to have magnetocaloric metals with the claimed range, in order to tailor treatment to optimize treatment efficacy for specific tissue and target types.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0090732 (Ivkov et al., hereinafter Ivkov) in view of US 2009/0068112 (Haik) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0369630 (Dobson et al., hereinafter Dobson).
Regarding claim 16, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1. Ivkov does disclose the use of various substance categories as part of the magnetocaloric vector for pharmaceutical therapies and chemotherapy but does not state that one of them is a proteasome inhibitor. In a related area, Dobson discloses the use of magnetic particles that deliver biologically active agents (title and abstract). Paragraph [0076] describes several compounds/anti-cancer drugs that can be incorporated into the particle, one of which is a proteasome inhibitor. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ivkov and Haik to include a proteasome inhibitor as into the magnetocaloric vector as taught by Dobson to enable treatment of cancers.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0090732 (Ivkov et al., hereinafter Ivkov) in view of US 2009/0068112 (Haik) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2006/0246143 (Ege).
Regarding claim 17, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not state the steps of removing a tissue sample from the patient and analyzing the tissues sample. In a related area, Ege discloses a targeted therapy system that uses magnetic particles (title and abstract). Ege shows in paragraph 67 the procedure of performing a biopsy of a tumor (removal of tissue from a patient) and performing a standard histopathologic and detailed genetic analysis to determine if the tissue sample contains cells from an infiltrative tumor (paragraph [0067]) in order to allow for determination of specific cancer profiles to design treatments with the particles that are specific to the particular cancer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ivkov and Haik to include the step of removing a tissue sample from the patient and analyze the tissue sample as taught by Ege to allow for determination of specific cancer profiles to design treatments with the particles that are specific to the particular cancer.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0090732 (Ivkov et al., hereinafter Ivkov) in view of US 2009/0068112 (Haik) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2010/0234726 (Sirimanne et al., hereinafter Sirimanne).
Regarding claim 18, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not state the step of waiting 4-14 days for the magnetocaloric vector to migrate to the infiltrative tumor cells. In a related area, Sirimanne discloses devices and methods for marking a biopsy cavity. Of note is paragraph [0182] which discloses the method of marking locations for cancer. Sirimanne states that the wait of 1 day to 1 month (which encompasses the claimed range) following injection allows for agents to migrate through the lymphatic system to reach areas that could also contain cancers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ivkov and Haik to allow for a wait time as taught by Sirimanne to allow for agents to reach other areas that would contain cancers.
Ivkov, Haik, and Sirimanne discloses the general wait conditions and the reasons for using them but not the claimed range. At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the claimed range because Applicant has not specified how the claimed range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem (some of Applicant’s wait times in the specification have ranges between 1-28 days). One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Ivkov and Sirimanne’s range and Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either wait period because both perform the same function of allowing for the agents to migrate to the tumor cell locations.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Ivkov, Haik and Sirimanne to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18 because such a modification would have been a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Ivkov and Sirimanne.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0090732 (Ivkov et al., hereinafter Ivkov) in view of US 2009/0068112 (Haik) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0112168 (Conrad et al., hereinafter Conrad).
Regarding claim 19, Ivkov and Haik disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not show that the magnetic field is generated by a magnetic field generator in physical contact with the patient. In a related area, Conrad discloses modulation of space of magnetic particles in a vasculature using an external magnetic field (title and abstract). Of particular note are figures 11A-B, 12A-B, 13A-B, 17A-B, 20A-C, 23A-B, 24A-B, and 25A-B and paragraphs [0058]-[0181] which shows a magnetic field generator (1270, 1370) in physical contact with the patient where the magnetic field can be used to heat the particles (paragraphs [0058] and [0148]). This configuration has the magnetic field generator as part of a wearable device that can measure the presence of the particles in the vasculature and administer treatment. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Ivkov to incorporate the magnetic field generator into a wearable device as taught by Conrad in order to allow for mobile treatment and analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a method, as claimed by Applicant, with a combination of steps that includes:
processing the tissue sample to isolate stem cells; and
inducing the stem cells to phagocytize the magnetocaloric metal.
Claims 11-12 are dependent on allowed matter from claim 10 and are allowed.
Conclusion
The examiner notes that, though no art has been applied against claims 13-15 at this time, they are not presently allowable. The question of prior art will be revisited upon resolution of the numerous issues noted above.
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791