DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant presents amendments to claims 1–8 and 15–20. All amendments have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the previous reference and combination of references serving as the basis for the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, respectively. Therefore, a new search was conducted and new prior art was identified, which serves as the basis for the new rejections under the same statutes. The mapping of the new references to the claims are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents arguments with respect to pending claims 1–8 and 15–20. All arguments have been fully considered.
The Examiner agrees that the previous reference and combination of references fail to disclose the presently amended subject matter. As mentioned above, a new search was conducted and new rejections are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–2, 4, 6–8, 15–16, 18, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu (US 10,305,873 B2, issued May 28, 2019).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Fu discloses: a method for decentralized cryptography and encryption comprising: accessing a network of decentralized nodes (interconnected network of key management devices. Fu 5:35–63.); a first node receiving a request from the network to generate a share of a network private key (QSKS device receives a request for acquiring an authorized private key from a QSKD device of a requester, which forwards the request to a predetermined number of QSKD devices (second QSKD devices). Fu Figure 5, elements 201–202 and 12:34–42.); the first node generating a share of a network private key in response to the request, wherein a second node on the network generates a second share of the network private key (in response to the received request, the predetermined number of second QSKD devices generate a plurality of authorized sub-private keys based on the identifier information of the requester and from a plurality of system sub-private keys. Fu Figure 5, element 203 and 12:43–46.); wherein the first share and the second share are on separate nodes (the plurality of second QSKD devices are different devices and directly connected with each other or connected with each other through a routing device having a key relaying function. Fu Figure 4, element 122 and 6:23–25, 9:34–42.); the first node receiving a request from the network to use the network private key share (QSKD device of a requester forwards the request to QSKD devices (second QSKD devices). Fu Figure 5, elements 201–202 and 12:34–42.); performing an operation with the network private key share, wherein the operation produces a result (the first QSKD device reconstructs an identity-based authorized private key by using the threshold secret sharing mechanism in accordance with the acquired authorized sub-private keys. Fu Figure 5, element 205 and 13:4–7.); and, providing the result of the operation performed with the network private key share to the network (using a reconstruction algorithm of the threshold secret sharing mechanism based on Lagrange interpolation, generates an identity-based signature certificate in accordance with the identity-based authorized private key. Fu 13:8–13.).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Fu discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively, further comprising: receiving a request from a user of the network to generate a signature share of the network private key share (QSKS device receives a request for acquiring an authorized private key from a QSKD device of a requester, which forwards the request to a predetermined number of QSKD devices (second QSKD devices). Fu Figure 5, elements 201–202 and 12:34–42.); generating a signature share of the network private key share; and, providing the signature share to the user over the network (using a reconstruction algorithm of the threshold secret sharing mechanism based on Lagrange interpolation, generates an identity-based signature certificate in accordance with the identity-based authorized private key. Fu 13:8–13.).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Fu discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively, further comprising: receiving a request from a user of the network to generate a decryption share of the network private key share (QSKS device receives a request for acquiring an authorized private key from a QSKD device of a requester, which forwards the request to a predetermined number of QSKD devices (second QSKD devices). Fu Figure 5, elements 201–202 and 12:34–42.); and, generating a decryption share of the network private key share; and, providing the decryption share to the user over the network (the requestor owned first QSKD device acquires the authorized sub-private keys from the nodes. Fu Figure 5, element 205 and 13:4–7.).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Fu discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively, wherein the request comprises executable code and further comprising executing the code to define the use of the network private key share (QSKS device receives a request for acquiring an authorized private key from a QSKD device of a requester, which forwards the request to a predetermined number of QSKD devices (second QSKD devices). Fu Figure 5, elements 201–202 and 12:34–42.).
Regarding claim 7, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 6, wherein the use of the network private key share comprises generating a signature share of the network private key share (using a reconstruction algorithm of the threshold secret sharing mechanism based on Lagrange interpolation, generates an identity-based signature certificate in accordance with the identity-based authorized private key. Fu 13:8–13.).
Regarding claim 8, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 6, wherein the use of the network private key share comprises generating a decryption share of the network private key share (using a reconstruction algorithm of the threshold secret sharing mechanism based on Lagrange interpolation, generates an identity-based signature certificate in accordance with the identity-based authorized private key. Fu 13:8–13.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 17, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Zappier (US 2018/0204213 A1, published Jul. 19, 2018).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 17 and 19, Fu discloses the limitations of claims 2 and 16, respectively. Fu does not disclose: further comprising: receiving with the request access control conditions for the network private key; verifying the access control conditions are met before generating the signature share.
However, Zappier does disclose: further comprising: receiving with the request access control conditions for the network private key; verifying the access control conditions are met before generating the signature share (nodes are configured to require authentication to access any portion of the blockchain. Zappier ¶ 40.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generation of isolated sub-private keys by network nodes for a providing a requested threshold encryption key of Fu with requiring access control conditions for receiving a private network key based upon the teachings of Zappier. The motivation being to restrict access to the cryptographic security mechanics of the blockchain to protect the system. Zappier ¶ 40.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yakira (US 2022/0038264 A1, published Feb. 3, 2022), decentralized key generation and distribution over a network or connected nodes.
/VANCE M LITTLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493