DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0127341) in view of Cantrell et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0249738).
Regarding Claims 1-4: Nakamura et al. teaches a composition comprising HCFO-1233yd (1-chloro-2,3,3-trifluoropropene) and HCFC-244ca (1-chloro-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropane), wherein the HCFC-244ca is present in 0.0001 to 1 mass% relative to a content of HCFO-1233yd and the amount of HCFO-1233yd in the composition is 90 mass% or more (abstract and [0034]).
Nakamura et al. does not teach the composition wherein the second component is as claimed. However, Cantrell et al. teaches the coolant/heat transfer fluid HCFC-244eb (3-chloro-1,1,1,2-tetrafluoropropane) (abstract and [0028]). Nakamura et al. and Cantrell et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely coolant/heat transfer compositions. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the HCFC-244ca of Nakamura et al. with the HCFC-244eb (3-chloro-1,1,1,2-tetrafluoropropane) of Cantrell et al. and would have been motivated to do so because they are disclosed by Cantrell et al. as equivalent alternative coolants ([0028] and MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 7: Nakamura et al. teaches the composition further comprising a non-volatile organic compound to form a composition for forming a coating film (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to substitute the HCFC-244ca of Nakamura et al. with the HCFC-244eb of Cantrell et al. because Nakamura et al. is directed to a cleaning solvent whereas Cantrell et al. is directed to coolants for refrigerants. However, Nakamura et al. teaches that the composition can also be used as a heat transfer fluid for a heat cycle system such as a refrigeration system (abstract and [0111]-[0112]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 January 29, 2026