DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
EXAMINER'S AMENDMENT
An Examiner’s amendment to the record appears below. Should the changes and/or additions be unacceptable to applicant, an amendment may be filed as provided by 37 CFR 1.312. To ensure consideration of such an amendment, it MUST be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee.
Authorization for this Examiner’s amendment was given in an interview with Garrett Hausman (73,184) on June 4, 2026.
The application has been amended as follows: amend Claim 1 as recited below and cancel Claim 21.
Claim 1. A battery pack comprising:
a battery pack housing;
a plurality of battery pack terminals;
a plurality of battery cells supported within the battery pack housing and electrically connected to one another, at least one battery cell including a battery cell terminal; and
a compound fuse electrically coupled between the battery cell terminal of the at least one battery cell and at least one battery pack terminal, the compound fuse comprising a first material and a second material that has a lower melting point than the first material, the compound fuse including
a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the second material forming an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface,
a first edge and a second edge opposite the first edge, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface extending from the first edge to the second edge,
wherein the second material forming the inner layer extends from the first edge to the second edge,
a first portion electrically coupled to the battery cell terminal, the first portion disposed nearer to the first edge than to the second edge,
a second portion electrically coupled to the at least one battery pack terminal, the second portion disposed nearer to the second edge than to the first edge, and
a fuse portion that connects the first portion to the second portion, the fuse portion being configured to establish a discontinuity between the first portion and the second portion during a hard short event.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1), and further in view of Kim (KR 2016-0129564 A, see also the previously provided English translation obtained from Global Dossier).
Regarding Claim 11, Watahiki discloses in Figs. 1, 4, and 7 a battery pack (100) ([0027]-[0028]) comprising:
a battery pack housing (20) ([0029]);
a negative battery pack terminal (101N) and a positive battery pack terminal (101P) ([0028]);
a plurality of battery cells (1) supported within the battery pack housing (20) and electrically connected to one another, to the negative battery pack terminal (101N), and to the positive battery pack terminal (101P), at least one battery cell (1) including a battery cell terminal (1p or 1n) ([0030], [0032], [0041], [0047]); and
a compound fuse (2B) electrically coupled between the battery cell terminal (1n) of the at least one battery cell (1) and the negative battery pack terminal (101N), the compound fuse (2B) comprising a first material (2e) and a second material (2f) that has a lower melting point than the first material (2e) ([0053], wherein aluminum has a lower melting point than copper), the compound fuse (2B) including
a first portion (e.g. lower 2c) electrically coupled to the battery cell terminal (1n) (Fig. 4, [0046]-[0047]),
a second portion (e.g. upper 2c) electrically coupled to the negative battery pack terminal (101N) (Fig. 4, [0046]-[0047]), and
a fuse portion (2a) that connects the first portion (e.g. lower 2c) to the second portion (e.g. upper 2c), the fuse portion (2a) being configured to establish a discontinuity between the first portion (e.g. lower 2c) and the second portion (e.g. upper 2c) during a hard short event ([0011], [0047]).
Watahiki discloses wherein the first portion (e.g. lower 2c) includes a first surface (e.g. an upper surface) and a second surface (e.g. a lower surface) opposite the first surface (Fig. 7) and wherein the first material (2e) is copper and the second material (2f) is aluminum ([0052]).
However, Watahiki does not disclose the second material forming an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface.
Kim teaches a clad material for a busbar which can reduce weight while maintaining conductivity ([0001]).
Specifically, Kim teaches in Fig. 3 wherein the clad material includes a first surface (e.g. an upper surface) and a second surface (e.g. a lower surface) opposite the first surface, wherein an aluminum layer forms an inner layer, the inner layer clad with copper, wherein the copper forms each of the first surface and the second surface ([0013]-[0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first portion of Watahiki such that the second material of Watahiki comprising aluminum forms an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material of Watahiki comprising copper, the first material forming each of the first surface of Watahiki and the second surface of Watahiki, in order to form a first portion that reduces the weight of the compound fuse of Watahiki while maintaining conductivity.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Watahiki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first portion is formed from the first material and the second material (Fig. 7, [0052] of Watahiki and [0013]-[0014] of Kim), wherein the first material (2e of Watahiki) is copper and the second material (2f of Watahiki) is aluminum ([0052] of Watahiki).
Moreover, modified Watahiki discloses wherein the second portion (e.g. upper 2c of Watahiki) includes a first surface (e.g. an upper surface) and a second surface (e.g. a lower surface) opposite the first surface and is formed from the first material (2e of Watahiki) (Fig. 7, [0053] of Watahiki).
Specifically, modified Watahiki discloses wherein the compound fuse (2B of Watahiki) functions as a busbar ([0046]-[0047] of Watahiki).
However, modified Watahiki does not explicitly disclose wherein the second portion is formed from each of the first material and the second material.
As noted above, Kim teaches a clad material for a busbar which can reduce weight while maintaining conductivity ([0001]).
Specifically, Kim teaches in Fig. 3 wherein the clad material includes a first surface (e.g. an upper surface) and a second surface (e.g. a lower surface) opposite the first surface, wherein an aluminum layer forms an inner layer, the inner layer clad with copper, wherein the copper forms each of the first surface and the second surface ([0013]-[0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second portion of modified Watahiki such that the second material of modified Watahiki comprising aluminum forms an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material of modified Watahiki comprising copper, the first material forming each of the first surface of modified Watahiki and the second surface of modified Watahiki, in order to form a first portion that reduces the weight of the comp while maintaining conductivity.
Thus, modified Watahiki discloses wherein the first portion and the second portion are each formed from each of the first material (2e of Watahiki) and the second material (2f of Watahiki) (Fig. 7, [0052] of Watahiki and [0013]-[0014] of Kim).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Watahiki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a current flow path is defined along the fuse portion (2a of Watahiki) between the first portion (e.g. lower 2c of Watahiki) and the second portion (e.g. upper 2c of Watahiki), and wherein the fuse portion (2a of Watahiki) defines a minimum cross-sectional area of the compound fuse (2B of Watahiki) along the current flow path (Fig. 7, [0011], [0048] of Watahiki).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1) in view of Kim (KR 2016-0129564 A, see also the previously provided English translation obtained from Global Dossier), as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Fernandez-Galindo et al. (US PGPub 2020/0112012 A1).
In another interpretation, the following is relied upon.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Watahiki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the compound fuse (2B of Watahiki) functions as a busbar ([0046]-[0047] of Watahiki).
Specifically, modified Watahiki discloses wherein the compound fuse (2B of Watahiki) comprises a clad material, wherein the first portion (e.g. lower 2c of Watahiki) is formed from the first material (2e of Watahiki) and the second material (2f of Watahiki) ([0013]-[0014] of Kim), the second portion (e.g. upper 2c of Watahiki) is at least partially formed from the first material (2e of Watahiki), and wherein the fuse portion (2a of Watahiki) is formed from the second material (2f of Watahiki) (Fig. 7, [0053] of Watahiki).
However, modified Watahiki does not explicitly disclose wherein the first portion and the second portion are each formed from each of the first material and the second material.
Fernandez-Galindo teaches in Figs. 6-7 a busbar comprising (80) a clad material comprising a first material (M1) and a second material (M2) ([0060]-[0063]).
Specifically, Fernandez-Galindo teaches in Fig. 8 wherein the first material (M1) and the second material (M2) are connected with a dovetail connection (99) in order to join the first material (M1) and the second material (M2) ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to join the first portion of modified Watahiki and the fuse portion of modified Watahiki and to join the fuse portion and the second portion of modified Watahiki using a dovetail connection, as taught by Fernandez-Galindo, such that the first portion and the second portion are each formed from each of the first material and the second material, as such is a known method in the art for joining a first material to a second material and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the compound fuse of modified Watahiki comprising a clad material, as desired by modified Watahiki.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1) in view of Kim (KR 2016-0129564 A, see also the previously provided English translation obtained from Global Dossier), as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (KR 2010-0081484 A, see also the previously provided EPO machine generated English translation).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Watahiki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the second material (2f of Watahiki) is clad in the first material (2e of Watahiki) (Fig. 7, [0053] of Watahiki).
However, modified Watahiki does not disclose wherein the first material is coupled to the second material by electroplating and/or plasma coating.
Kwon teaches wherein electroplating is a method of manufacturing a clad material that is simple and has low production cost, thereby making it easy to manufacture at a low unit price for mass production (P3, L125-130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to couple the first material of Watahiki to the second material of modified Watahiki by electroplating, as taught by Kwon, as such is a known method of manufacturing a clad material, as desired by modified Watahiki, that is simple and has low production cost, thereby making it easy to manufacture at a low unit price for mass production.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1) in view of Kim (KR 2016-0129564 A, see also the previously provided English translation obtained from Global Dossier), as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Fontana et al. (US Patent No. 6,616,465 B1).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Watahiki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the compound fuse (2B of Watahiki) includes a first elongated slot (2b of Watahiki) that partially separates the first portion (e.g. lower 2c of Watahiki) from the second portion (e.g. upper 2c of Watahiki) in order to define the fuse portion (2a of Watahiki) (Fig. 7, [0053], [0048] of Watahiki).
Moreover, modified Watahiki discloses wherein the shape of a slot to form the fuse portion (2a of Watahiki) is not particularly limited so long as it defines the fuse portion (2a of Watahiki) having a smallest volume in the current path of the compound fuse (2B of Watahiki) ([0043], [0067], of Watahiki e.g. see an elongated slot 2g in Fig. 8 and an elongated slot 2i in Fig. 9).
However, modified Watahiki does not disclose in any of the exemplarily embodiments a second elongated slot communicating with the first elongated slot and extending perpendicular thereto, the second elongated slot defining a longitudinal length of the fuse portion.
Fontana teaches a busbar (100) comprising a first elongated slot and a second elongated slot communicating with the first elongated slot and extending perpendicular thereto, the second elongated slot defining a longitudinal length of a straight portion (7) (C3, L21-25, see also annotated Fig. 2 provided below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the compound fuse of modified Watahiki to further comprise a second elongated slot communicating with the first elongated slot and extending perpendicular thereto, such that the second elongated slot defines a longitudinal length of the fuse portion of modified Watahiki, as taught by Fontana, as such is a known shape of a slot in the art, wherein the shape of the slot of modified Watahiki is not particularly limited so long as it defines the fuse portion having a smallest volume in the current path of the compound fuse and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the compound fuse desired by modified Watahiki.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 6, 2026, with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of amended Claim 1 and Claim 20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed February 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 11, the Applicant argues that a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify the lower section 2c of Watahiki to have an inner layer formed of a second material and clad in the first material forming each of the first and second surfaces of the first portion in view of Kim as suggested by the office. Watahiki teaches that the fuse 2a is disposed at the aluminum part 2f ([0070]). Watahiki states that the connections 2c may include different materials to avoid welding of dissimilar materials within the cell terminals. Watahiki itself teaches welding with dissimilar materials can be disadvantageous and should be avoided. Accordingly, modifying Watahiki to include two different materials in its lower 2c section would go against the teaching of Watahiki.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted by the Applicant, Watahiki discloses in the embodiment of Fig. 7 wherein the first portion (2c) is made of the first material (2e, copper) in order to avoid welding of dissimilar materials with the cell terminals (1p, 1n) ([0070]).
However, the Examiner notes that the Applicant has not cited to where Watahiki discloses that welding of dissimilar materials is disadvantageous and should be avoided and therefore such appears to be an unsupported allegation. See MPEP 716.01(c)(II).
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that in another embodiment of Watahiki, the first portion (e.g. lower 2c) is made of the second material (2f, aluminum) (Fig. 6, [0052]) and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that that the first portion (e.g. lower 2c) can be formed of the first material (2e, copper) or the second material (2f, aluminum).
As set forth in the prior rejection and the rejection above, Kim teaches a clad material for a busbar which can reduce weight while maintaining conductivity ([0001]), wherein the clad material includes a first surface (e.g. an upper surface) and a second surface (e.g. a lower surface) opposite the first surface, wherein an aluminum layer forms an inner layer, the inner layer clad with copper, wherein the copper forms each of the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first portion of Watahiki such that the second material of Watahiki comprising aluminum forms an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material of Watahiki comprising copper, the first material forming each of the first surface of Watahiki and the second surface of Watahiki, in order to form a first portion that reduces the weight of the compound fuse of Watahiki while maintaining conductivity.
The Examiner notes that the first portion of modified Watahiki still includes copper (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014] of Kim) and therefore is able to achieve welding of similar materials with the cell terminals (1p, 1n of Watahiki), as desired by modified Watahiki, while also achieving the additional benefit of reducing the weight of the compound fuse of modified Watahiki while maintaining conductivity.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 8-10, and 20 are allowed.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The invention of Claim 1 is directed to a battery pack comprising, among additional limitations,
a plurality of battery pack terminals;
a plurality of battery cells, at least one battery cell including a battery cell terminal;
and a compound fuse electrically coupled between the battery cell terminal of the at least one battery cell and at least one battery pack terminal, the compound fuse comprising a first material and a second material that has a lower melting point than the first material, the compound fuse including
a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the second material forming an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface,
a first edge and a second edge opposite the first edge, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface extending from the first edge to the second edge,
wherein the second material forming the inner layer extends from the first edge to the second edge,
a first portion electrically coupled to the battery cell terminal, the first portion disposed nearer to the first edge than to the second edge,
a second portion electrically coupled to the at least one battery pack terminal, the second portion disposed nearer to the second edge than to the first edge, and
a fuse portion that connects the first portion to the second portion, the fuse portion being configured to establish a discontinuity between the first portion and the second portion during a hard short event.
The closest prior art is considered to be Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1) and further in view of Ely et al. (US PGPub 2005/0040926 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Watahiki discloses substantially all of the limitations as set forth in the prior Office Action dated November 11, 2025.
Specifically, Watahiki discloses the compound fuse (2B) including a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the second material (2f) clad in the first material (2e) and further including a first edge (e.g. edge of lower 2c) and a second edge (e.g. edge of upper 2c) opposite the first edge (e.g. edge of lower 2c) (Fig. 7, [0053]).
However, Watahiki does not disclose the second material forming an inner layer, the inner layer clad in the first material, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface, the first material forming each of the first surface and the second surface extending from the first edge to the second edge, and the second material forming the inner layer extends from the first edge to the second edge.
Ely teaches a compound fuse with improved efficiency and a simple manufacture ([0005]), the compound fuse comprising a first material (18) and a second material (16) that has a lower melting point than the first material (18) ([0029]-[0031]).
Specifically, Ely teaches in Figs. 1-2 the compound fuse (10) comprising a first surface (e.g. top surface of 12) and a second surface (e.g. bottom surface of 12) opposite the first surface (e.g. top surface of 12), a second material (16) forming an inner layer, the inner layer clad in a first material (18), the first material (18) forming each of the first surface (e.g. top surface of 12) and the second surface (e.g. bottom surface of 12) extending from the first edge to the second edge ([0022], [0029]-[0031]).
Ely further teaches in Figs. 1-2 wherein the second material (16) forming the inner layer extends takes up 15 to 60% by weight of the compound fuse and is surrounded by the first material (18) ([0029]-[0030]).
Consequently, Ely does not teach wherein the second material forming the inner layer extends from the first edge to the second edge.
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the compound fuse of Watahiki to comprise the second material of Watahiki to form an inner layer extending from the first edge of Watahiki to the second edge of Watahiki, as called for in the claimed invention, as such a configuration was neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art and therefore the skilled artisan would not have been motivated to do so.
In light of the above, the closest prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claim limitation “wherein the second material forming the inner layer extends from the first edge to the second edge” in combination with all of the other limitations taken as a whole.
Claims 8-10 are dependent on Claim 1 and therefore are allowable for the reasons set forth above.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The invention of Claim 20 is directed to a compound fuse for a battery pack, the compound comprising, among additional limitations,
a first portion located at a first end of the compound fuse;
a second portion located at a second end of the compound fuse;
a fuse portion that connects the first portion to the second portion;
wherein each of the first portion, the second portion, and the fuse portion are at least partially formed of a first material;
wherein the first portion and the second portion are also partially formed of a second material that has a lower melting point than the first material; and
wherein the first material extends from the first end of the compound fuse to the second end of the compound fuse.
The closest prior art is considered to be Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1) and further in view of Ely et al. (US PGPub 2005/0040926 A1).
Claim 20 contains substantially similar limitations as set forth in Claim 1 and therefore is allowable for the reasons set forth above.
The second closest prior art is considered to be Watahiki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0321589 A1) in view of Fernandez-Galindo et al. (US PGPub 2020/0112012 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Watahiki discloses substantially all of the limitations as set forth in the prior Office Action dated November 10, 2025.
Specifically, modified Watahiki discloses wherein the first material and the second material are connected with a dovetail connection (99 of Watahiki) (Fig. 8, [0072] of Watahiki) and therefore modified Watahiki discloses wherein each of the first portion, the second portion, and the fuse portion are at least partially formed of the first material and also partially formed of the second material.
However, modified Watahiki does not disclose wherein the first material extends from the first end of the compound fuse to the second end of the compound fuse.
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the compound fuse of modified Watahiki such that the first material extends from the first end of the compound fuse to the second end of the compound fuse, as called for in the claimed invention, as such a configuration was neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art and therefore the skilled artisan would not have been motivated to do so.
In light of the above, the closest prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claim limitation “wherein the first material extends from the first end of the compound fuse to the second end of the compound fuse” in combination with all of the other limitations taken as a whole.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725