DETAILED NOTICE
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed April 14, 2025, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112 have been considered. The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed April 14, 2025, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102 & 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, the instant Office action has been made final.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments and / or remarks filed on July 7th, 2025. Claim 4 is cancelled, claims 14-20 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 21 remain pending and are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20180048949 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches a multifunctional base (10), comprising: a first cover (121), comprising a first connecting edge made of flexible material (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material , such as Polyvinyl chloride ; PVC , Polyethylene ; PE , Thermoplastic polyurethanes ; TPU , Ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer ; EVA and so on.”) and extended along a periphery of the first cover (121), the first connecting edge (5 in Annotated Figure 3 below) is configured to sealingly (as seen in Figures 1-2) connect the multifunctional base (10) with an object (20); and a second cover (131), the second cover (131) is connected with first cover (121) to define a receiving space (the housing 10); a fixing plate (122), received in the receiving space (10); a control module (300b), received in the receiving space (10); and a power module (60), at least partially received in the receiving space (10) and electrically connected (40) with the control module (300a). (Figs. 1-9; [0019], [0020], [0023], [0033])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 2, Chen further teaches wherein the second cover (120) comprises: a second connecting edge (6 in Annotated Figure 3 above), made of flexible material (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material , such as Polyvinyl chloride ; PVC , Polyethylene ; PE , Thermoplastic polyurethanes ; TPU , Ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer ; EVA and so on.”) and extended along a periphery of the second cover (as seen in Figure 3), the first connecting edge (5 in Annotated Figure 3 above) is sealingly (as seen in Figures 1-2) connected with the second connecting edge (5 in Annotated Figure 3 above). (Figs. 1-4; [0019]-[0020], [0023])
Regarding Claim 3, Chen further teaches a fixing plate (122), received in the receiving space (wherein Chen teaches “the first end wall 12 includes a first inner layer 120 , a first outer layer 121 , and a speaker support plate 122 between the first inner layer 120 and first outer layer 121”); and a bottom shell (20), received in the receiving space and connected with the fixing plate (122) to define a cavity (the housing 10 defines a cavity). (Figs. 1-4; [0019]-[0020], [0024], [0033])
Regarding Claim 6, Chen further teaches wherein the power module (60) further comprises: a rechargeable battery (60), electrically connected (40) with the solar panel (70) and received in the cavity (10). (Figs. 2-4, 7; [0028]-[0029])
Regarding Claim 8, Chen further teaches a speaker (20), electrically connected (40) with the power module (60) and the control module (300b), the speaker (20) is arranged on the fixing plate (122) and attached with the first cover (121); or the first cover defines a through hole (1210), the speaker (20) is arranged on the fixing plate (122) and exposed from the through hole (1210). (Figs. 3-4, 7; [0020])
Regarding Claim 9, Chen further teaches wherein the multifunctional base (10) further comprises a light-emitting module (50), electrically connected with the power module (60) and the control module (300b), the light-emitting module (50) is received in the cavity (10), and the first cover (121) is at least partially transparent (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material”); or the multifunctional base (10) further comprises a plurality of light-emitting modules (50), spaced apart from each other (as seen in Figure 4) and electrically connected (40) with the power module (60) and the control module (300b), the light-emitting modules (50) are arranged on a cover. (Figs. 3-4, 7; [0019], [0028], [0033])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20180048949 A1), in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen further teaches wherein the power module (60) comprises: a solar panel (70), the solar panel (70) is arranged on a fixing plate (30) and the first cover is at least transparent (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material”); or the first cover defines a through hole, and the solar panel (70) is arranged on the fixing plate and exposed from the through hole. (Figs. 1-8; [0019], [0033])
Chen does not teach the solar panel being attached to the same fixing plate as the speaker.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the inflatable housing for a speaker as taught by Chen, and by virtue of design choice provide for both the speaker and the solar panel to be provided on the same fixing plate .Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; through re-arrangement of parts, would be motivated to provide for the speaker and the solar panel to be provided on the same time of the inflatable housing, in order for the user project audio in the same direction of the solar panel. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen further teaches wherein further comprising: an operation panel (304b), electrically connected with the power module (60) and the control module (300b), the operation panel (304b) is arranged on a fixing plate (30) and attached with the first cover (121 through the inflatable speaker 10); or a cover (131) defines through hole (1210), and the operation panel (304b) is arranged on a fixing plate (30) and exposed from the through hole (wherein the buttons are visible on Figure 2).
Chen does not teach the control module being attached to the same fixing plate as the speaker.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the inflatable housing for a speaker as taught by Chen, and by virtue of design choice provide for both the speaker and the control module to be provided on the same fixing plate .Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; through re-arrangement of parts, would be motivated to provide for the speaker and the operation panel to be provided on the same time of the inflatable housing, in order for the user access the control module on the same face as the speaker. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20180048949 A1), in view of Hassman et al. (US 20120294550 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; A bag, comprising: a multifunctional base as recited in claim 1; and a bag body, the multifunctional base is sealingly connected with the bag body.
Wherein Chen teaches a multifunctional base (12). (Figs. 1-4; [0019], [0020], [0023])
Hassman et al. further teaches a bag (20), with a bag body (22), and a base (50) sealingly connected (wherein Hassman et al. teaches “Insulated bag also has mounted thereto, preferably front 28, a speaker 50, although speaker 50 can be mounted to any of panels 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34 as desired by the manufacturer”) with the bag body (22). (Figs. 1-4A; [0019]-[0020], [0023])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the multifunctional base as taught by Chen, and provide for a bag for mounting the multifunctional base as taught by Hassman et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a bag for mounting a multifunctional base, in order for the user to benefit from the features of a multifunctional base when attached to a bag.
Regarding Claim 11, Chen, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 10 above except; wherein the multifunctional base is sealingly connected with a top surface of the bag body; or the multifunctional base is sealingly connected with a front surface of the bag body.
Wherein Chen teaches a multifunctional base (13). (Figs. 1-4; [0019], [0020], [0023])
Hassman et al. further teaches wherein the a base (50) is sealingly connected with a top surface (24) of the bag body (22); or the multifunctional base (50) is sealingly connected with a front surface (28) of the bag body (22). (Wherein Hassman et al. teaches “Insulated bag also has mounted thereto, preferably front 28, a speaker 50, although speaker 50 can be mounted to any of panels 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34 as desired by the manufacturer”) (Figs. 1-4A; [0019]-[0020], [0023])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the multifunctional base as taught by Chen, modified above, and provide for mounting the multifunctional base on the front or top of a bag as taught by Hassman et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for mounting a multifunctional base to the front or top of a bag, in order to provide the user with a convenient location to access the multifunctional base.
Claims 12-13, so far as they are definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20180048949 A1), in view of Hassman et al. (US 20120294550 A1), and further in view of Han (US 20040200871 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 10 above except; wherein further comprising: an insulating element, for thermal insulation, the insulating element defines a receiving groove, the multifunctional base is received in the receiving groove, and the first connecting edge is sealingly connected with a periphery of the receiving groove by the first connecting edge and exposed from the bag body.
Wherein Chen teaches a multifunctional base (13). (Figs. 1-4; [0019], [0020], [0023])
Hassman et al. further teaches an insulating element (26), for thermal insulation (wherein Hassman et al. teaches “Insulative layer 26 generally exhibits properties whereby the transfer of thermal energy is resisted”), the insulating element (26) defines a receiving groove (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below), the base (50) is received in the receiving groove (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below), and the first connecting edge is sealingly connected (wherein Hassman et al. teaches “Insulated bag also has mounted thereto, preferably front 28, a speaker 50, although speaker 50 can be mounted to any of panels 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34 as desired by the manufacturer”) with a periphery (as seen in Figure 4A) of the receiving groove (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below) and exposed (as seen in Figure 2 from the bag body 22). (Figs. 1-4A; [0019]-[0020], [0023])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the multifunctional base as taught by Chen, modified above, and provide for insulation for a bag as taught by Hassman et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide a bag with an insulating layer, in order for the user to keep beverages stored within the bag at a cool temperature on a hot day.
Chen, modified above, does not explicitly teach a first connecting edge connected to a periphery to a receiving groove.
Han further teaches a first connecting edge (62) connected with a periphery to a receiving groove (periphery of opening 17). (Figs. 1-5; [0015]-[0017])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the multifunctional base and bag as taught by Chen, modified above, and provide attaching the multifunctional base through a connecting edge attached to a periphery of a receiving groove as taught by Han. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to attach a multifunctional base to a periphery of a receiving groove, in order to fixedly attach the multifunctional base to a bag body.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 13, Chen, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 12 above except; wherein the bag body comprises: a waterproof element, for preventing water from penetrating into the bag, the waterproof element is arranged adjacent to the insulating element , the waterproof element defines a through hole communicated with the receiving groove, the multifunctional base is exposed from the third through hole and sealingly connected with a periphery of the third through hole by the first connecting edge.
Wherein Chen teaches a multifunctional base (13). (Figs. 1-4; [0019], [0020], [0023])
Han further teaches wherein the bag body (10) comprises: a waterproof element (wherein Han teaches “It is preferable the knapsack 10 is made of a waterproof material, and the speakers 30, 40 have a water tight Structure, So that the present invention may be used without being affected by weather factors”), for preventing water from penetrating into the bag (10), the waterproof element (10) is arranged adjacent to the insulating element (26), the waterproof element defines a through hole (17) communicated with the receiving groove (17), the base (18) is exposed from the through hole (17) and sealingly connected with a periphery of the through hole by the first connecting edge (through fixing ring 62). (Figs. 1-5; [0015]-[0017])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the multifunctional base and bag as taught by Chen, modified above, and provide for a waterproofing element as taught by Han. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a waterproofing element in order to protect the components within multifunctional base and the contents stowed within the bag from exposure to water.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20180048949 A1), in view of Bannister (US 20090159192 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, A multifunctional base (10), comprising: a first cover (121), made of flexible material and arranged with a first connecting edge (periphery of 121), wherein the first connecting edge (periphery of 121) is made of flexible material (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material , such as Polyvinyl chloride ; PVC , Polyethylene ; PE , Thermoplastic polyurethanes ; TPU , Ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer ; EVA and so on.”), extends along a periphery of the first cover (121), and is configured to sealingly (as seen in Figures 1-2) connect the multifunctional base (10) with an object (11); and a second cover (131), made of flexible material or rigid material (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material , such as Polyvinyl chloride ; PVC , Polyethylene ; PE , Thermoplastic polyurethanes ; TPU , Ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer ; EVA and so on.”), defining a receiving space (10) together with the first cover (121), and arranged with a second connecting edge (periphery of 131), wherein the second connecting edge (periphery of 131) is made of flexible material (wherein Chen teaches “The collapsible inflatable housing 10 is made of a translucent or transparent soft plastic material , such as Polyvinyl chloride ; PVC , Polyethylene ; PE , Thermoplastic polyurethanes ; TPU , Ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer ; EVA and so on.”, extends along a periphery of the second cover (131), and is sealingly (as seen in Figures 1-2) connected with the first connecting edge (121). (Figs. 1-9; [0019], [0020], [0023], [0033])
Chen remains silent regarding how the connecting edges are sealingly connected, or in a hot-melt manner.
Bannister further teaches sealing connecting edges (11) in a hot melt manner (wherein Bannister teaches “the inventor contemplates using a polypropylene base hot melt adhesive, preferably hot melt number 2903”). (Figs. ; [0074]-[0076])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the inflatable speaker as taught by Chen, and provide for sealing the first cover and second cover in a hot melt manner as taught by Bannister. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for sealing the connecting edges of the first and second cover in a hot melt manner, in order to provide the multifunctional base with covers sealed at connecting edges that are impermeable to water.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Salzinger (US 9080736 B1), teaches a portable solar-powered device with a speaker.
Baron (US 20100263603 A1), teaches a garment with a speaker and solar panel provided on the same side.
Entner (US 20080037813 A1), teaches a carrying case with an integrated speaker.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 27 October 2025