DETAILED ACTION
Summary and Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s pre-appeal brief filed 9/16/2025.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 12-20, and 22-26 are pending.
Claims 1-5, 10, 15-20, 22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Frye (US Patent Pub 2021/0240914).
Claims 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Fermum et al. (US Patent Pub 2016/0012074).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Pub 2015/0066973).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Skirpa et al. (US Patent Pub 2012/0010995)
Note on Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 15-20, 22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506) (Kephart), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085).
In regards to claim 1, Kephart discloses a computer based method comprising:
a. receiving, from a user of a web browser, a natural language query representing a request to modify a presentation of a web page as displayed by the web browser, the web page including structured data elements, the request identifying a criterion including a feature (Kephart at paras. 0045-47, 0053, 0056, 0064)1;
b. analyzing the web page to identify a structured data element of the structured data elements that satisfies the criterion (Kephart at paras. 0057-58, 0060)2; and
c. applying, without using a browser extension specialized for an internal structure and the structured data elements of the web page and without user input beyond the natural language query, a modification to the structured data element satisfying the criterion to change an appearance of the structured data element and produce a modified presentation of the web page as displayed by the web browser. Kephart at paras. 0046-49, 0064-653.
Kephart does not expressly disclose the identified criterion including a feature corresponding to information in an external dataset and using the data, from the external dataset, that corresponds to the feature to identify the structured data element that satisfies the criterion.
Wolfram discloses a system and method for facilitating webpage creation and/or modification using natural language commands from a user. Wolfram at para. 0025. The method includes receiving a natural language command from a user, either in text or audio (voice) form, processing the command to determine one or more actions to be performed on a webpage document, including modifying content or markup language elements (i.e., structured data element). Wolfram at paras. 0028-0030. The system is able to process commands to map them to particular web page content or data. Wolfram at para. 0032. The system is also coupled to various storage devices that store documents, files, etc., that contain information that can be used for providing content data or to properly instruct the editor module to perform the requested modifications. Wolfram at para. 0040. The system also provides interfacing with an external information source (i.e., external dataset) to obtain information for use in the generation or modification of web page code and content. Wolfram at paras. 0107-0112. In other words, Wolfram discloses the system is able to take a natural language command (i.e., request), which has particular criteria that needs more information from an external source and using information from the external source to identify a new or existing web page data (e.g., markup language elements) that correspond to the command and meet the request criteria, in order to apply the changes specified in the request.
Kephart and Wolfram are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of manipulating website presentation.
At the time before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart by adding the features of the identified criterion including a feature corresponding to information in an external dataset and using the data, from the external dataset, that corresponds to the feature to identify the structured data element that satisfies the criterion, as disclosed by Wolfram.
The motivation for doing so would have been to aid the system in interpreting requests that cannot be interpreted with the information provided by the user. Wolfram at para. 0109.
In regards to claim 2, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 1, wherein the structured data elements of the web page include semantic markup information (Kephart at paras. 0056-57); and wherein analyzing the web page includes determining a term in the natural language query corresponds to the semantic markup information. Kephart at paras. 0056-574.
In regards to claim 3, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 1, further comprising:
a. analyzing the request to determine a modification identifier (Kephart at para. 0058)5; and
b. determining instructions for applying the modification to the structured data element based on the modification identifier. Kephart at paras. 0058, 0060.6
In regards to claim 4, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 3, wherein the structured data element includes a table;
a. wherein the modification identifier represents a sort order operation (Kephart at paras. 0052, 0058, 0064)7; and
b. wherein applying the modification to the structured data element satisfying the criterion includes: rearranging table rows in the table to produce a modified sort order of the table. Kephart at para. 0064.8
In regards to claim 5, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 3, wherein the modification identifier corresponds to one operation of a plurality of predefined emphasis operations. Kephart at para. 0061; Wolfram at paras. 0106.9
In regards to claim 10, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 1 wherein the external dataset is obtained from a server different from a server transmitting the web page to the web browser. Wolfram at para. 0107.10
Claim 15 is essentially the same as claim 1 in the form of a computer program product comprising a non-transitory storage medium including code. Kephart at para. 0075. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
In regards to claim 16, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer program product as in claim 15, wherein analyzing the web page includes:
a. identifying the structured data elements of the web page by identifying table elements, list elements, accessibility elements, or semantic markup elements (Kephart at paras. 0035, 0057)11; and
b. comparing the structured data elements to the criterion. Kephart at para. 0057.12
In regards to claim 17, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer program product as in claim 15, wherein the request further identifies an emphasis operation of a plurality of predefined emphasis operations, and modifying the web page includes applying the emphasis operation to the structured data element satisfying the criterion. Kephart at para. 0061; Wolfram at paras. 0106.13
In regards to claim 18, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer program product as in claim 17, but does not expressly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
a. performing a classification operation on the natural language query to identify the emphasis operation from the plurality of predefined emphasis operations. Wolfram at para. 0106.14
In regards to claim 19, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer program product as in claim 15, wherein the web page includes a table with table elements and the structured data element satisfying the criterion is in a region of the table, and wherein producing the modified presentation of the web page further comprises: changing an appearance of the region. Kephart at paras. 0035, 0052-53, 0064.15
In regards to claim 20, Kephart discloses an electronic apparatus, the electronic apparatus comprising:
a. memory (Kephart at para. 0070); and
b. processing circuitry coupled to the memory (Kephart at paras. 0069-70), the processing circuitry being configured to:
i. receive, from a user of a web browser, a natural language query representing a request to modify a presentation of a web page as displayed by the web browser, the web page including structured data elements, the request identifying a criterion including a feature (Kephart at paras. 0045-47, 0053, 0056, 0064)16;
ii. analyze the web page to identify a structured data element of the structured data elements that satisfies the criterion (Kephart at paras. 0057-58, 0060)17; and
iii. modify, without the user consciously accessing an internal structure and the structured data elements of the web page, the structured data elements satisfying the criterion to change an appearance of the structured data element and produce a modified presentation of the web page as displayed by the web browser. Kephart at paras. 0046-49, 0064-65.18
Kephart does not expressly disclose the identified criterion including a feature corresponding to information in an external dataset and using the data, from the external dataset, that corresponds to the feature to identify the structured data element that satisfies the criterion.
Wolfram discloses a system and method for facilitating webpage creation and/or modification using natural language commands from a user. Wolfram at para. 0025. The method includes receiving a natural language command from a user, either in text or audio (voice) form, processing the command to determine one or more actions to be performed on a webpage document, including modifying content or markup language elements (i.e., structured data element). Wolfram at paras. 0028-0030. The system is able to process commands to map them to particular web page content or data. Wolfram at para. 0032. The system is also coupled to various storage devices that store documents, files, etc., that contain information that can be used for providing content data or to properly instruct the editor module to perform the requested modifications. Wolfram at para. 0040. The system also provides interfacing with an external information source (i.e., external dataset) to obtain information for use in the generation or modification of web page code and content. Wolfram at paras. 0107-0112. In other words, Wolfram discloses the system is able to take a natural language command (i.e., request), which has particular criteria that needs more information from an external source and using information from the external source to identify a new or existing web page data (e.g., markup language elements) that correspond to the command and meet the request criteria, in order to apply the changes specified in the request.
Kephart and Wolfram are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of manipulating website presentation.
At the time before the effective filing date of the application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart by adding the features of the identified criterion including a feature corresponding to information in an external dataset and using the data, from the external dataset, that corresponds to the feature to identify the structured data element that satisfies the criterion, as disclosed by Wolfram.
The motivation for doing so would have been to aid the system in interpreting requests that cannot be interpreted with the information provided by the user. Wolfram at para. 0109.
In regards to claim 22, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the electronic apparatus as in claim 20, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
a. identify a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the feature (Kephart at para. 0047); and
b. access the data at a web resource determined from the URL. Kephart at para. 0047.19
In regards to claim 26, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the electronic apparatus as in claim 20, wherein the processing circuitry configured to modify the structured data elements satisfying the criterion is further configured to:
a. provide an interface that enables the user to select from two or more modifications (Kephart at paras. 0026, 0040, 0052)20
b. receive a selected modification from the interface (Kephart at paras. 0064-65)21; and
c. modify the presentation of the web page as displayed by the web browser using the selected modification. Kephart at paras. 0064-65.22
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506) (Kephart), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Frye (US Patent Pub 2021/0240914).
In regards to claim 7, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 1, modifications having descriptions of the modification in terms of markup language (Kephart at paras. 0047-48, 0051, 0060)23 but does not expressly disclose wherein the modification is obtained from a repository of modifications.
Frye discloses a system and method for applying modifications to a webpage. The modifications are provided in the form of modification rules that are stored in a third party database (i.e., modification repository). Frye at para. 0044.
Kephart, Wolfram, and Frye are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of manipulating webpage presentations.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart in view of Wolfram by adding the feature of wherein the modification is obtained from a repository of modifications, as disclosed by Frye.
The motivation for doing so would have been to add functionality in the form of timing to render the webpage without a flicker or flash of original content. Frye at para. 0009.
In regards to claim 8, Kephart in view of Wolfram and Frye discloses the computer based method as in claim 7, wherein the repository of modifications further includes instructions for applying the modification to the structured data element satisfying the criterion, the instructions including an addition of the markup language to the web page, the markup language including a hypertext markup language tag. Kephart at paras. 0064-65. Frye at para. 0044.24
Claims 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506) (Kephart), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Fermum et al. (US Patent Pub 2016/0012074) (Fermum).
In regards to claim 12, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 1, wherein the web page is received from a web page server (Wolfram at para. 0031) but does not expressly disclose:
a. wherein the external dataset includes private data originating from a private data resource; and
b. wherein the analyzing and applying occur without transmitting the private data to the web page server.
Fermum discloses a system and method for providing contextual analytics data. The contextual analytics data is used to display entity data of a webpage. Fermum at abstract. The contextual analytics data is retrieved from an authenticated server (i.e., external dataset includes private data originating from a private data source). Once received, it is used to identify the entities. Fermum at paras. 0045, 0049, 0056-7. Different users see different webpage views, which is interpreted as analyzing and applying without transmitting the contextual analytics data (i.e., private data) to the web page server. Fermum at para. 0055.
Kephart, Wolfram, and Fermum are analogous art because they are all directed to the same field of endeavor of analyzing web page structural elements to make modifications to them.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart in view of Wolfram by adding the features of wherein the external dataset includes private data originating from a private data resource and wherein the analyzing and applying occur without transmitting the private data to the web page server, as disclosed by Fermum.
The motivation for doing so would have been to keep processing of private data within the control of the organization/company of which the user is a member. Fermum at para. 0048.
In regards to claim 23, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the electronic apparatus as in claim 20, does not expressly disclose wherein the user belongs to an organization; and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the data from a resource associated with the organization at a point in time prior to receiving the natural language query.
Fermum discloses a system and method for providing contextual analytics data. The contextual analytics data is used to display entity data of a webpage. Fermum at abstract. The contextual analytics data is retrieved from an authenticated server only after the user is authenticated (i.e., receive a resource associated with the organization at a point in time prior to receiving the natural language query). Once received, it is used to identify the entities. Fermum at paras. 0045, 0049, 0056-7. Different users see different webpage views, which is interpreted as analyzing and applying without transmitting the contextual analytics data (i.e., private data) to the web page server. Fermum at para. 0055. If the user is a member of a company, (i.e., user belongs to an organization), then the user can be validated based on network address. Fermum at para. 0048.
Kephart, Wolfram, and Fermum are analogous art because they are all directed to the same field of endeavor of analyzing web page structural elements to make modifications to them.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart in view of Wolfram by adding the features of wherein the user belongs to an organization; and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the data from a resource associated with the organization at a point in time prior to receiving the natural language query, as disclosed by Fermum.
The motivation for doing so would have been to keep processing of private data within the control of the organization/company of which the user is a member. Fermum at para. 0048.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506) (Kephart), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Pub 2015/0066973)(Kim).
In regards to claim 13, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the computer based method as in claim 1, wherein the feature is a first feature and the structured data element is a first structured data element (Kephart at paras. 0045-47, 0053, 0056, 0064)25, but does not expressly disclose wherein the computer-based method further comprises:
a. determining that the criterion includes a second feature corresponding to a local dataset that is local to a user device configured to run the web browser, the local dataset including metadata identifying the local dataset, the determining being based on the metadata;
b. obtaining data from the local dataset that corresponds to the second feature; and
c. using the data from the local dataset to identify a second structured data element that satisfies the criterion.
Kim discloses a system and method for modifying a search results web page in response to a user dismissal. Kim at para. 0050. The system identifies entities in the search results page based on metadata, such as association and additional information and properties. Kim at paras. 0050-51. The additional data is retrieved from a database or index that can be stored on storage devices anywhere (i.e., dataset local to a user device …). Using the information, entities in the webpage are identified. Kim at para. 0052.
Kephart, Wolfram, and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of modifying/manipulating a webpage.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart in view of Wolfram by adding the features of determining that the criterion includes a second feature corresponding to a local dataset that is local to a user device configured to run the web browser, the local dataset including metadata identifying the local dataset, the determining being based on the metadata; obtaining data from the local dataset that corresponds to the feature, and using the data from the local dataset to identify a second structured data element that satisfies the criterion, as disclosed by Kim. In doing so, the process of identifying a first structured data element can be repeated to identify a second structured data element, except with local data, as disclosed by Kim.
The motivation for doing so would have been refine the search results for the user’s information desires. Kim at para. 0026.
In regards to claim 14, Kephart in view of Wolfram and Kim discloses the method as in claim 13, wherein the local dataset includes search engine results based on a query submitted to a search engine. Kim at para. 0046.26
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kephart et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0097506) (Kephart), in view of Wolfram (US Patent Pub 2015/0161085), further in view of Skirpa et al. (US Patent Pub 2012/0010995) (Skirpa).
In regards to claim 24, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the electronic apparatus as in claim 20, but does not expressly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit, to a second user device, modification data including structured data element identifiers that identify the structured data elements satisfying the criterion and a modification to be applied to a structured data elements corresponding to the structured data element identifiers on a web page running on a browser of the second user device.
Skirpa discloses a system and method for capturing a web page to allow a user to manipulate the webpage. Capturing the webpage includes loading a data structure that represents the webpage (i.e., plurality of structural data elements). These elements are modified and manipulated as desired by the user through the provided user interface. Skirpa at paras. 0130, 145, 0150. For example, a user may select an area of the webpage (i.e., structured data element satisfying the criterion) to be highlighted, or visually altered, to visually contrast the captured area with the rest of the presented page. Skirpa at para. 0145. The altered webpage can be shared with another user (i.e., transmit to a second user device … ). Skirpa at paras. 0130, 0166.
Kephart, Wolfram and Skirpa are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of allowing a user to manipulate a webpage presentation.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart in view of Wolfram by adding the features of transmit, to a second user device, modification data including structured data element identifiers that identify the structured data elements satisfying the criterion and a modification to be applied to a structured data elements corresponding to the structured data element identifiers on a web page running on a browser of the second user device, as disclosed by Skirpa.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow emphasis of a particular part of the webpage that, when shared, brings attention to the portion of the web page the user wishes to emphasize. Skirpa at paras. 0129-30.
In regards to claim 25, Kephart in view of Wolfram discloses the electronic apparatus as in claim 20, but does not expressly disclose wherein the processing circuitry configured to modify the structured data elements satisfying the criterion is further configured to: deemphasize a structured data element of the structured data elements that does not satisfy the criterion.
Skirpa discloses a system and method for capturing a web page to allow a user to manipulate the webpage. Capturing the webpage includes loading a data structure that represents the webpage (i.e., plurality of structural data elements). These elements are modified and manipulated as desired by the user through the provided user interface. Skirpa at paras. 0130, 145, 0150. For example, a user may select an area of the webpage to be highlighted, or visually altered, to visually contrast the captured area with the rest of the presented page. This includes shading or shadowing over the remainder of the page (i.e., de-emphasize a structured data element of the structured data elements that does not satisfy the criterion). Skirpa at para. 0145.
Kephart, Wolfram and Skirpa are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of allowing a user to manipulate a webpage presentation.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kephart in view of Wolfram by adding the feature of wherein the processing circuitry configured to modify the structured data elements satisfying the criterion is further configured to: deemphasize a structured data element of the structured data elements that does not satisfy the criterion, as disclosed by Skirpa.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow emphasis of a particular part of the webpage that, when shared, brings attention to the portion of the web page the user wishes to emphasize. Skirpa at paras. 0129-30.
Response to Arguments
Rejection of claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-20, and 22-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments in regards to the rejections to claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-20, and 22-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 presented in the pre-appeal brief filed 9/16/2025 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Additional Prior Art
Additional relevant prior art are listed on the attached PTO-892 form. Some examples are:
Silberstein et al. (US Patent 7,383,320) discloses a system and method for automatically updating website content.
Weng et al. (US Patent Pub 2004/0019849) discloses a system and method for online web page editing.
Al-Sallami et al. (US Patent 10,402,064) discloses a system and method for intelligent recommendations for web page editing.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163
1 A web browsing user makes a request to perform an operation on the presented web page (i.e., receiving natural language query to modify a presentation of a web page…). The request includes information that allows the system to identify an element to be changed (i.e., request identifying a criterion). The webpage has an HTML structure and a corresponding DOM generated for it (i.e., webpage including structured data elements).
2 The webpage is analyzed to identify semantic metadata, which associated structured data elements with human friendly terms. The semantic metadata is analyzed to find elements that match the query (i.e., analyze and identify an element that satisfies the criterion)
3 The received command is executed on the webpage to produce a modified webpage (i.e., apply a modification … produce a modified presentation of the web page …). Injected code is tailored for DOM elements of interest and are inserted into the original executable code to generate an augmented file. This is done without the user going into the internal structure of the webpage to perform the modification (i.e., applying, without using a browser extension specialized for an internal structure and the structured data elements of the web page and without user input beyond the natural language query, a modification to the structured data element … satisfying the criterion …).
4 Commands received in natural language are parsed to map terms used in the command to semantic metadata of the webpage (i.e., determining term in the natural language query corresponds to the semantic markup information).
5 A received request is classified to infer a command type for an operation to be performed (i.e., analyzing the request to determine a modification identifier).
6 The identified command type (i.e., modification ID) determines what steps are performed and what parameters are required to perform the operation (i.e., determining instructions…).
7 The command contains an extracted operation, which is extracted to determine the command type. One of these commands is to sort.
8 Rows of a table can be sorted by a column (i.e., rearranging table rows …).
9 Kephart provides emphasis modifications, such as highlighting. Wolfram also provides Bold, shadow fonts, stylized buttons, etc, which are a plurality of emphasis operations.
10 External information can be obtained from an external system via an API (i.e., different from the server transmitting the web page).
11 Table elements or semantic elements are identified in response to the user command.
12 Semantic mappings are assessed in view of the parameters of the received user command.
13 Kephart provides emphasis modifications, such as highlighting. Wolfram also provides Bold, shadow fonts, stylized buttons, etc, which are a plurality of emphasis operations. One or more of these operations can be applied to content satisfying the request criteria, where “make it simpler” will apply operations to the contextual meaning of “it” as determined by the system.
14 A command containing phrases or commands (i.e., natural language query) is processed to identify its mapping to a particular theme or operation (i.e., classification operation … to identify the emphasis operation from a plurality of predefined emphasis operations).
15 The webpage can contain a table/table tag (i.e., table elements). The system uses the command to find a region of the table matching the command parameter. For example, columns meeting the specified condition (i.e., satisfying the criterion) can be deleted, rows can be sorted, etc. Such changes would change the appearance of the table region.
16 A web browsing user makes a request to perform an operation on the presented web page (i.e., receiving natural language query to modify a presentation of a web page…). The request includes information that allows the system to identify an element to be changed (i.e., request identifying a criterion). The webpage has an HTML structure and a corresponding DOM generated for it (i.e., webpage including structured data elements).
17 The webpage is analyzed to identify semantic metadata, which associated structured data elements with human friendly terms. The semantic metadata is analyzed to find elements that match the query (i.e., analyze and identify an element that satisfies the criterion)
18 The received command is executed on the webpage to produce a modified webpage (i.e., apply a modification … produce a modified presentation of the web page …). Injected code is tailored for DOM elements of interest and are inserted into the original executable code to generate an augmented file. This is done without the user going into the internal structure of the webpage to perform the modification (i.e., applying, without using a browser extension specialized for an internal structure and the structured data elements of the web page and without user input beyond the natural language query, a modification to the structured data element … satisfying the criterion …).
19 The location object contains the current URL for the webpage. It is used to access the web page data (i.e., access the data at a web resource).
20 The system provides a user interface that allows the user to select from modifications such as filter, sort, or deletion (i.e., two or more modifications).
21 A modification is selected through the command request.
22 The webpage is modified as requested.
23 Modifications are associated with command terms and perform actions on markup tags of the webpage.
24 Kephart discloses identifying a structured data element satisfying a criterion and applying a modification to it. Such modifications make changes to the markup tags of the webpage and in some cases, includes adding new tags, such as when a new table row is added or creating a new table. Frye discloses the modification rules database contains rules for modifying webpage content (i.e., instructions for applying the modifications …).
25 The request includes information that allows the system to identify an element to be changed (i.e., request identifying a criterion). The webpage has an HTML structure and a corresponding DOM generated for it (i.e., webpage including structured data elements).
26 The search results page is used as a dataset for identifying entities.