DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action for U.S. Patent Application No. 17/814,125 is responsive to communications filed on 08/20/2025, in reply to the Non-Final Rejection of 05/22/2025. Currently, claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 17-18, 20, 42, 46, 49, 51-53, 55, 77-79, 85, 95, 98-100 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In regard to claim 1, this claim has been amended to recite “capturing, by the image capture system, an incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create a first image; capturing, by the image capture system, an opposed incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create a second image; combining the first image and the second image to form an inspectable image with a width of at least one frame pitch; and inspecting the inspectable image by the image capture system for a set of inconsistencies.” The Applicant submits that the cited references merely describe a light source used to illuminate a target and a camera to detect diffuse reflection for the purpose of identifying defects, and that Pinter paragraph 355 notes that light beams can shine onto the object from above, at angles from one side or all around or from the opposite side. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the teachings of the cited references do not disclose “capturing, by the image capture system, an incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create a first image and capturing by the image capture system an opposed incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create a second image. As cited by the Applicant, the teachings of Pinter include illuminating a target with a light source at an incident angle, and imaging the light reflected from the target. Additionally, the teachings of Pinter (paragraph 119) note that the system can comprise first and second optical elements, and may comprise a second light, and provide power control signals to image the target with the multiple optical elements and light sources, and thus, it can be seen that there are embodiments that could include a first image and a second image that are imaged at incident angles.
Additionally, regarding claim 1, the Applicant submits that the paragraph 67 of Pinter does not teach or suggest “combining the first image and the second image to form an inspectable image with a width of at least one frame pitch.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the cited reference does not teach this limitation, and notes that Pinter paragraph 207 was also cited to reject this limitation, as paragraph 207 of Pinter discloses that multiple images can be used, and noting a multi-angle PMD system, and the creation of three-dimensional information via the multiple images, and the size of a typical frame FOV. As such, the arguments and amendments relating to claim 1 have been found to be insufficient to overcome the claim’s rejection, and thus, claim 1 shall remain rejected.
In regard to claims 49, 55, and 79, the Applicant submits similar arguments to those presented above in regard to claim 1. As such, since the arguments and amendments relating to claim 1 have been found to be insufficient to overcome the claim rejection of the claim, these claims shall also remain rejected for similar reasons to those discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claims 5, 7, 11, 18, 51-53, 71-72, 85, 95, and 98-100, the Applicant submits that these claims are dependent upon the independent claims 1, 49, 44, or 79 respectively. As such, since the arguments and amendments relating to the independent claims have been found to be insufficient to overcome their claim rejections, these claims are not in condition for allowance by virtue of their dependency upon an allowable base claim, and as such, shall also remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17, 20, 42, 46, 55, 77-79, 85, 95, and 98-100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0134773), hereinafter referred to as Pinter.
In regard to claim 1, Pinter teaches a method for inspecting a surface (Pinter paragraph 6 noting a machine vision system with light sources oriented toward an object to be inspected; and a surface of the object to be inspected) comprising:
adjusting at least one of an aperture or a shutter speed in an image capture system (Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source) to result in capturing a black image when an image of a surface is captured with the surface illuminated only by an ambient light (Pinter paragraph 109 noting the illumination source 605 may be, for example, strobed to overwhelm glare from ambient sources of light; and Pinter paragraph 309 noting processor 4422a may execute the illumination source control module 4430b to cause the processor 4422a to, for example, generate at least one illumination source control signal (block 4430d). The illumination source control signal may be representative of, for example: a desired intensity output; a desired sequence of intensity outputs; a desired color output; a desired sequence of color outputs; a desired illumination source optical element state; a desired sequence of illumination source optical element states; a desired illumination source position/orientation; a desired sequence of illumination source positions/orientations; a desired illumination source strobe cycle; a desired sequence of strobe cycles);
capturing, by the image capture system, an incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create a first image (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150);
capturing, by the image capture system, an opposed incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create a second image (Pinter paragraph 355 noting Light may incide on the test object at a certain angle of incidence 108a; light beams can shine onto the object from above, at angles from one side or all around, shallowly or from the opposite side; illumination at a shallow angle from all sides; and Pinter paragraph 119 noting that the machine vision system can comprise a first optical element, and a second optical element; and controller may provide electrical power/control signals, via the second electrical power/control connection 1416a-d, to, for example, a camera or a second light (another illuminator));
combining the first image and the second image to form an inspectable image (Pinter paragraph 67 noting taking images of a part to be inspected while trying different light sources at different positions, different orientations; and Pinter paragraph 282 noting this allows users to capture multiple images for post processing to combine the various lighting configurations into one image) with a width of at least one frame pitch (Pinter paragraph 207 noting two-dimensional and three-dimensional qualitative image captures may be performed. A processor may, for example, use multiple images to detect various defects and/or to recreate a three-dimensional model of the inspected object. Alternatively, a multi-angle PMD system may include an x-axis and y-axis camera/light combo, with a processor that analyzes a combination of x-axes and y-axes images, to generate three-dimensional information without having to shift an associated pattern orientation; and Pinter paragraph 66 noting a field of view (FOV) and pixels may be based on an axis of travel of associated photons. For example, assuming a typical 1-inch FOV and a 640-pixel frame, and a part speed of 500 inches per second, a strobe pulse width of 3.1 μs may be used); and
inspecting the inspectable image (Pinter paragraph 67 noting taking images of a part to be inspected while trying different light sources at different positions, different orientations; and Pinter paragraph 282 noting this allows users to capture multiple images for post processing to combine the various lighting configurations into one image; and Pinter paragraph 2 noting high quality images enable the system to accurately interpret the information extracted from an object under inspection) by the image capture system for a set of inconsistencies (Pinter paragraph 350-351 noting determining pixel intensity values and associated incident angle data for the series of taken images, and determine the presence of a defect on the object being inspected based on difference comparisons in the pixel intensity of the images; and Pinter paragraph 80 noting the machine vision system 100 may detect target defects by, for example, distinguishing diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target defect from diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target that does not include a defect; and Pinter paragraph 63 noting lighting solution may facilitate detection of inconsistencies where color or shade variation is expected and should not affect inspection).
In regard to claim 2, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein adjusting at least one of the aperture or the shutter speed in the image capture system to result in capturing the black image when the image of the surface is captured with the surface illuminated only by the ambient light (Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source) comprises:
adjusting an image capture system to have of the aperture that is a sufficiently small to result in capturing the black image when the image of the surface is captured with the surface illuminated only by the ambient light (Pinter paragraph 309 noting processor 4422a may execute the illumination source control module 4430b to cause the processor 4422a to, for example, generate at least one illumination source control signal (block 4430d). The illumination source control signal may be representative of, for example: a desired intensity output; a desired sequence of intensity outputs; a desired color output; a desired sequence of color outputs; a desired illumination source optical element state; a desired sequence of illumination source optical element states; a desired illumination source position/orientation; a desired sequence of illumination source positions/orientations; a desired illumination source strobe cycle; a desired sequence of strobe cycles; and Pinter paragraph 10 noting a machine vision system may be configured with a multi-line illuminator, a multi-function illuminator, and/or a gradient illuminator, and to analyze images acquired from a camera that is synchronized with a given illuminator or illuminators).
In regard to claim 3, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein adjusting at least one of the aperture or the shutter speed in the image capture system to result in capturing the black image when the image of the surface is captured with the surface illuminated only by the ambient light (Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source) comprises:
adjusting an image capture system to have the shutter speed that is sufficiently high to result in capturing the black image when the image of the surface is captured with the surface illuminated only by an ambient light (Pinter paragraph 309 noting processor 4422a may execute the illumination source control module 4430b to cause the processor 4422a to, for example, generate at least one illumination source control signal (block 4430d). The illumination source control signal may be representative of, for example: a desired intensity output; a desired sequence of intensity outputs; a desired color output; a desired sequence of color outputs; a desired illumination source optical element state; a desired sequence of illumination source optical element states; a desired illumination source position/orientation; a desired sequence of illumination source positions/orientations; a desired illumination source strobe cycle; a desired sequence of strobe cycles; and Pinter paragraph 10 noting a machine vision system may be configured with a multi-line illuminator, a multi-function illuminator, and/or a gradient illuminator, and to analyze images acquired from a camera that is synchronized with a given illuminator or illuminators).
In regard to claim 17, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein capturing, by the image capture system, the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create the first image (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150) and capturing, by the image capture system, the opposed incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create the second image (Pinter paragraph 355 noting Light may incide on the test object at a certain angle of incidence 108a; light beams can shine onto the object from above, at angles from one side or all around, shallowly or from the opposite side; illumination at a shallow angle from all sides; and Pinter paragraph 119 noting that the machine vision system can comprise a first optical element, and a second optical element; and controller may provide electrical power/control signals, via the second electrical power/control connection 1416a-d, to, for example, a camera or a second light (another illuminator)) comprises:
capturing, by the image capture system, the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create the first image (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150) and capturing, by the image capture system, the opposed incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface to create the second image (Pinter paragraph 355 noting Light may incide on the test object at a certain angle of incidence 108a; light beams can shine onto the object from above, at angles from one side or all around, shallowly or from the opposite side; illumination at a shallow angle from all sides; and Pinter paragraph 119 noting that the machine vision system can comprise a first optical element, and a second optical element; and controller may provide electrical power/control signals, via the second electrical power/control connection 1416a-d, to, for example, a camera or a second light (another illuminator)), wherein the first image and the second image each have a width that is one of a multiple of the frame pitch and a fraction of the frame pitch (Pinter paragraph 207 noting two-dimensional and three-dimensional qualitative image captures may be performed. A processor may, for example, use multiple images to detect various defects and/or to recreate a three-dimensional model of the inspected object. Alternatively, a multi-angle PMD system may include an x-axis and y-axis camera/light combo, with a processor that analyzes a combination of x-axes and y-axes images, to generate three-dimensional information without having to shift an associated pattern orientation; and Pinter paragraph 66 noting a field of view (FOV) and pixels may be based on an axis of travel of associated photons. For example, assuming a typical 1-inch FOV and a 640-pixel frame, and a part speed of 500 inches per second, a strobe pulse width of 3.1 μs may be used).
In regard to claim 20, Pinter teaches a method for inspecting a surface of an object (Pinter paragraph 6 noting a machine vision system with light sources oriented toward an object to be inspected; and a surface of the object to be inspected), the method comprising:
aligning a set (Pinter claim 20 noting including at least two digital cameras and at least two patterned area light sources) of strobe lights (Pinter paragraph 109 noting the illumination source 605 may be, for example, strobed to overwhelm glare from ambient sources of light) to emit a set of flashes at a set of angles of incidence relative to the surface to be inspected (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150); setting an image capture system to capture flash only illuminated images of an area on the surface illuminated by a set of synchronized flashes emitted at the area on the surface with the set angles of incidence by the set of strobe lights (Pinter paragraph 10 noting a machine vision system may be configured with a multi-line illuminator, a multi-function illuminator, and/or a gradient illuminator, and to analyze images acquired from a camera that is synchronized with a given illuminator or illuminators);
capturing, by the image capture system, a set of flash only illuminated images of the surface illuminated by the set of flashes (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150; and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
combining a first image of the illuminated images and a second image of the illuminated images into an inspectable image; and inspecting the inspectable image for inconsistencies that are out of tolerance (Pinter paragraph 350-351 noting determining pixel intensity values and associated incident angle data for the series of taken images, and determine the presence of a defect on the object being inspected based on difference comparisons in the pixel intensity of the images; and Pinter paragraph 80 noting the machine vision system 100 may detect target defects by, for example, distinguishing diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target defect from diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target that does not include a defect; and Pinter paragraph 63 noting lighting solution may facilitate detection of inconsistencies where color or shade variation is expected and should not affect inspection).
In regard to claim 42, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 20 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein the set of strobe lights and the image capture system form a surface inspection system and further comprising: moving the surface inspection system parallel to a line of inflection relative to the surface to be inspected (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source).
In regard to claim 46, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 20 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches emitting groups of synchronized flashes from the set of strobe lights one group at a time (Pinter paragraph 109 noting the illumination source 605 may be, for example, strobed to overwhelm glare from ambient sources of light; and Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source), wherein the image capture system captures an image each time a group of synchronized flashes is emitted (Pinter paragraph 10 noting a machine vision system may be configured with a multi-line illuminator, a multi-function illuminator, and/or a gradient illuminator, and to analyze images acquired from a camera that is synchronized with a given illuminator or illuminators).
In regard to claim 55, Pinter teaches a method for inspecting a surface of an object, the method (Pinter paragraph 6 noting a machine vision system with light sources oriented toward an object to be inspected; and a surface of the object to be inspected) comprising:
emitting a set of synchronized flashes (Pinter paragraph 109 noting the illumination source 605 may be, for example, strobed to overwhelm glare from ambient sources of light; and Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source) at an area on the surface at an angle of incidence relative to the surface (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150);
capturing, by an image capture system, a set of flash only illuminated images of the area on the surface illuminated only by the set of synchronized flashes emitted at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence (Pinter paragraph 10 noting a machine vision system may be configured with a multi-line illuminator, a multi-function illuminator, and/or a gradient illuminator, and to analyze images acquired from a camera that is synchronized with a given illuminator or illuminators); and
inspecting the set of flash only illuminated images of the area on the surface captured by the image capture system to determine whether an inconsistency is present in the area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 80 noting the machine vision system 100 may detect target defects by, for example, distinguishing diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target defect from diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target that does not include a defect; and Pinter paragraph 63 noting lighting solution may facilitate detection of inconsistencies where color or shade variation is expected and should not affect inspection);
wherein capturing, by the image capture system, set of images of the area on the surface that is only illuminated by the set of synchronized flashes emitted at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150; and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source) comprises:
capturing a first image in the set of flash only illuminated images from a first number of synchronized flashes in the set of synchronized flashes emitted from a strobe light system at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface from a first location (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150); and
capturing a second image in the set of flash only illuminated images from a second number of synchronized flashes in the set of synchronized flashes emitted from the strobe light system at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface from a second location (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
wherein inspecting the set of flash only illuminated images of the area on the surface captured by the image capture system to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source) comprises:
determining a different between corresponding pixels in the first image and the second image such that an inspectable image is formed (Pinter paragraph 350-351 noting determining pixel intensity values and associated incident angle data for the series of taken images, and determine the presence of a defect on the object being inspected based on difference comparisons in the pixel intensity of the images);
and inspecting the inspectable image to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 80 noting the machine vision system 100 may detect target defects by, for example, distinguishing diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target defect from diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target that does not include a defect; and Pinter paragraph 63 noting lighting solution may facilitate detection of inconsistencies where color or shade variation is expected and should not affect inspection).
In regard to claim 77, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein a strobe light system and the image capture system are connected to a platform (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform)) and further comprising:
moving the platform, wherein the strobe light system is positioned to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at a second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface and wherein the image capture system is positioned to capture additional flash only illuminated images of the second area (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
emitting the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface, wherein the angle of incidence is selected based on a type of inconsistency to be detected (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
capturing, by the image capture system, the additional flash only illuminated images of the second area on the surface that is only illuminated by the set of synchronized flashes emitted at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150; and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source); and
inspecting the additional flash only illuminated images of the second area on the surface captured by the image capture system to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the second area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source).
In regard to claim 78, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches moving the object, wherein a strobe light system is positioned to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at a second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface and wherein the image capture system is positioned to capture additional flash only illuminated images of the second area (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
emitting the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface, wherein the angle of incidence is selected based on a type of inconsistency to be detected (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
capturing, by the image capture system, the additional flash only illuminated images of the second area on the surface that is only illuminated by the set of synchronized flashes emitted at the angle of incidence (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150; and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source); and
inspecting the flash only illuminated additional images of the second area on the surface captured by the image capture system to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the second area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source).
In regard to claim 79, Pinter teaches a surface inspection system (Pinter paragraph 6 noting a machine vision system with light sources oriented toward an object to be inspected; and a surface of the object to be inspected) comprising:
a strobe light system (Pinter paragraph 109 noting the illumination source 605 may be, for example, strobed to overwhelm glare from ambient sources of light);
an image capture system (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150); and
a controller (Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source) configured to:
control the strobe light system to emit a first number of the synchronized flashes in the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface from a first location (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150), wherein the image capture system captures a first image in the set of images of the area illuminated by the first number of synchronized flashes (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source); and
control the strobe light system to emit a second number of synchronized flashes in the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface from a second location, wherein the image capture system captures a second image in the set of images of the area illuminated by the first number of synchronized flashes (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
combine the first image and the second image to form an inspectable image (Pinter paragraph 67 noting taking images of a part to be inspected while trying different light sources at different positions, different orientations; and Pinter paragraph 282 noting this allows users to capture multiple images for post processing to combine the various lighting configurations into one image); and
inspect the inspectable image for inconsistencies (Pinter paragraph 67 noting taking images of a part to be inspected while trying different light sources at different positions, different orientations; and Pinter paragraph 282 noting this allows users to capture multiple images for post processing to combine the various lighting configurations into one image; and Pinter paragraph 2 noting high quality images enable the system to accurately interpret the information extracted from an object under inspection; and Pinter paragraph 350-351 noting determining pixel intensity values and associated incident angle data for the series of taken images, and determine the presence of a defect on the object being inspected based on difference comparisons in the pixel intensity of the images; and Pinter paragraph 80 noting the machine vision system 100 may detect target defects by, for example, distinguishing diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target defect from diffuse reflections 152 associated with a target that does not include a defect; and Pinter paragraph 63 noting lighting solution may facilitate detection of inconsistencies where color or shade variation is expected and should not affect inspection).
In regard to claim 85, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 79 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein in controlling the strobe light system to emit the set of synchronized flashes (Pinter paragraph 276 noting a controller configured to control shutter control, aperture control, on/off control, pattern control, etc. in a camera, camera optical element, or illumination source) from the strobe light system (Pinter paragraph 109 noting the illumination source 605 may be, for example, strobed to overwhelm glare from ambient sources of light), the controller is configured to:
control the strobe light system to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150), wherein the angle of incidence selected decreases as a size of the inconsistency to be detected increases (Pinter paragraph 83 noting the angle of incidence 108a, and similarly project what the angle of reflection of the light function diagrams, dark field is produced. For example, with the BF ring light, if we project the amount of light reflected from the mirror that actually returns back into the lens, it may be quite large; in fact, most of the light may be reflected into the camera. This effect may produce an image, typically referred to as a specular hot spot. Comparing a projected amount of light from a low angle DF ring light, most of the light may reflect away from an associated camera 160, and thus may not be collected, hence a “dark field” may result. Consider the above-mentioned corollary: It is the individual surface details that may reflect differently from an overall mirrored surface, and some of the light may reflected off surface imperfections and may reach the camera. In this fashion, a surface of a mirror may be inspected for scratches).
In regard to claim 95, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 79 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
determine a difference between corresponding pixels in the first image and the second image such that an inspectable image is formed; and inspect the inspectable image to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 350-351 noting determining pixel intensity values and associated incident angle data for the series of taken images, and determine the presence of a defect on the object being inspected based on difference comparisons in the pixel intensity of the images).
In regard to claim 98, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 79 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein the strobe light system and image capture system are connected to a platform (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform)) and wherein the controller is configured to:
move the platform, wherein the strobe light system is positioned to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at a second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface and wherein the image capture system is positioned to capture additional flash only illuminated images of the second area (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
control the strobe light system to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface, wherein the angle of incidence is selected based on a type of inconsistency to be detected (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
control the image capture system to capture the additional flash only illuminated images of the second area on the surface that is only illuminated by the set of synchronized flashes emitted at the area on the surface at the angle of incidence (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150; and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source); and
inspect the additional flash only illuminated images of the second area on the surface captured by the image capture system to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the second area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source).
In regard to claim 99, Pinter teaches all of the limitations of claim 79 as discussed above. In addition, Pinter teaches wherein the controller is configured (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform)) to:
move an object, wherein the strobe light system is positioned to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at a second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface and wherein the image capture system is positioned to capture additional flash only illuminated images of the second area (Pinter paragraph 78 noting a machine vision system 100 may incorporate an indirect illumination source 105 that may be configured to at least partially illuminate a target 150 via photons 108 emitted by light source(s) 106 at an angle 108a with respect to the target 150, for example, traveling on a target transport 101 (platform); and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
control the strobe light system to emit the set of synchronized flashes from the strobe light system at the second area on the surface at the angle of incidence relative to the surface, wherein the angle of incidence is selected based on a type of inconsistency to be detected (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source);
control the image capture system to capture, the additional flash only illuminated images of the second area on the surface that is only illuminated by the set of synchronized flashes emitted at the angle of incidence (Pinter paragraphs 78-80 noting an illumination source at an angle incident to the object surface, as shown in Fig. 1, and camera 160 which captures the incident angled flash illuminated image of the surface of the object 150; and Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to acquire a series of images as, for example, the target moves relative the illumination source, and the processor 4422a may process image data, that is representative of the series of images, and improve defect detection when compared to taking a single image with a target illuminated using a uniform (e.g., non-gradient) illumination source); and
inspect the flash only illuminated additional images of the second area on the surface captured by the image capture system to determine whether the inconsistency is present in the second area on the surface (Pinter paragraph 350 noting the processor 4422a may cause a camera to a