DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on October 10, 2025. In that response, claims 1, 5, and 10 were amended. Claims 1-21 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Stasko (WO 2013/063354; see 11/15/2022 IDS).
Stasko teaches nitric oxide (NO) releasing soak and/or bath and nitric oxide releasing bath compositions for therapeutic effects, such as “wound healing, decreas[ing] inflammation and/or exert[ing] an antimicrobial effect” (para.0063; see title; abstract; paras.0005-06, 0043-48, 0063-67, 0081-82, 0088, 0091-94, 0101-02; claims 1-46; Figs.1, 2). Various suitable NO-releasing compounds include acidified nitrite (para.0046) which is both a nitrite component and an acidic component. “The NO-releasing compound may be a small molecule, … and may be in any suitable physical form, including, but not limited to, particles, … liquids, solutions and the like” (para.0046). Stasko teaches, “the nitric oxide releasing bath may effervesce… release of a gas, such as carbon dioxide, in an aqueous solution and produces bubbles, fizz, and/or foaming in an aqueous solution” (para.0068). “[E]ffervescence increases the half-life of the nitric oxide in the aqueous solution” (id.). Suitable effervescent couple includes those in instant claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 (paras.0069-71). The skilled person would understand that an effervescent couple is a combination of an acid and base that produces effervescence. “Properties of the NO-releasing compound may be controlled to affect the release rate of nitric oxide…” (para.0061; see para.0079), including over time (paras.0080, 0090; see paras.0045, 0055, 0061). In other words Stasko teaches an “extended time release…composition” in instant claims 7 and 17.
Figures 1 and 2 show open-top container, i.e., a vented housing. Stasko teaches aromatherapy agents in the bath (para.0072; claim 9).
The bath composition may be in the form of “a bead, …a tablet, a film, …a film-coated tablet, and/or a polymer sheet” in which the polymer may “dissolve or break down in water” (paras.0081-82; claim 23). Applicant explains with “the shape of the tablet (e.g., disc versus sphere) ...a sphere dissolves more slowly, thereby extending the release of NO” (Remarks, p.7-8, October 10, 2025). A bead is a sphere.
Stasko teaches using a surfactant (paras.0075, 0101) and an effervescent component, i.e., a foaming agent (para.0068). Gas bubbles rise up in an aqueous solution and therefore would form a layer on the bath medium. As noted above, Stasko notes, “effervescence increases the half-life of the nitric oxide in the aqueous solution” (id.) which would increase the transdermal absorption of NO.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stasko (WO 2013/063354) in view of Miller (US 2017/0209485).
Stasko does not specifically teach potassium or sodium nitrite in claims 3 and 13.
Miller is drawn to topical application of nitric oxide and teaches both nitrites as suitable for combining with an acid, such as those Stasko teaches, to generate NO (title; abstract; paras.0025, 0058; claims 26, 32, 37). Like Stasko, Miller teaches using sodium bicarbonate and surfactants in a liquid to generate a foamy topical preparation (paras.0011, 0014-19, 0059, 0066, 0077).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Stasko and Miller and use potassium or sodium nitrite in Stasko’s NO-releasing bath as recited in the instant claims. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to generating nitric oxide in a liquid medium for topical absorption, Stasko teaches various NO-releasing compounds may be used, along with acids, and Miller teaches potassium or sodium nitrite in combination with the acids that Stasko teaches. Furthermore substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the instant claims “recite generating therapeutic NO in situ in the aqueous bath via the solution phase reaction between the dissolved nitrite salt and an acid, and can further…” whereas Stasko, “by contrast, is about nitric oxide releasing compounds, principally diazediumdiolate functionalized donor macromolecules, that release NO upon contact with water”. (Remarks, 9 second para. (emphasis added), October 10, 2025.) “Indeed, nothing in Stasko describes providing a discrete nitrite component and a discrete acidic component that dissolve in bath water and react together to generate NO gas;…” (Id. third para. (emphasis added)). Applicant further states, “in Stasko, acidified nitrite is not a stand alone 'compound' that both supplies nitrite and separately supplies acid in the manner the Applicant’s claims require; the claims call for distinct components that dissolve and then react in the bath to form NO”. (Id. at 9, first para. (emphasis added); see also p.10 under “Claim Rejections: 35 U.S.C. §103”.)
In response it is noted that “[t]hough understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim”. MPEP § 2111.01.II (citations omitted). Here Applicant’s argument does not reflect the claim language in claims 1 and 11. These claims recite, “wherein when combined in the bath, the nitrite component, the acidic component, and the bath medium are adapted to safely generate a therapeutically effective treatment dose of nitric oxide gas…”. Thus the claims do require generation of NO gas, but there is no mention of generating NO “via the solution phase reaction between the dissolved nitrite salt and an acid” as Applicant argues. In other words nothing in the claims require a chemical reaction between the nitrite component and the acidic component for the NO generation; but merely that “the nitrite component, the acidic component, and the bath medium are adapted to…generate” NO.
Applicant also argues that Miler does not rectify the alleged shortcomings of Stasko because it “discloses nitrite + acid chemistries for topical NO generation and discusses foamy preparations”, not “a bath system”. (Remarks, 10-11, October 10, 2025.)
In response it is again noted that the alleged shortcomings of Stasko, to wit, that it does not teaching generating NO via a chemical reaction between a separate nitrite component and an acidic component, is not recited in the claims, and therefore Applicant’s argument regarding Miller in relation to the alleged shortcomings is not pertinent to the present claims.
Applicant lastly argues that several claim elements remain missing from Stasko, including a bath container, a nitrite and/or acid component comprising “a solid portion”, and “’adapted and configured to control…extended release gas generation period,’ where control is achieved through the physical configuration of the separate media (shape, coating, compression), not donor chemistry”. (Remarks, 11-12.)
In response Stasko’s Figure 1 is noted for showing the recited “bath container” with a foot therein. According to Stasko, the “NO-releasing compound may be a small molecule, … and may be in any suitable physical form, including, but not limited to, particles,” (para.0046), i.e., a solid. Furthermore “control is achieved through the physical configuration of the separate media (shape, coating, compression)” are not concepts recited in the present claims. Claims 7 and 17 recite the nitrite and/or the acidic component, formed specifically as a tablet, with “extended time release shape, configuration, composition, and/or coating”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/758691 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to methods of delivering nitric oxide to a subject, comprising contacting the site with a foam formulation comprising NO, water, and a surfactant. The ‘691 application’s claims further recite the surfactant concentration, and therefore anticipate the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/101820 (reference application) in view of Stasko (WO 2013/063354).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to methods of delivering nitric oxide to a subject, comprising contacting the site with an aqueous solution comprising NO generated from a nitrite and an acid, water, and a surfactant. The ‘820 application’s claims further recite providing the NO-releasing components in a pod; however Stasko teaches providing NO-releasing compounds in a tablet. The skilled person would have recognized convenience in packaging a correct amount in a tablet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant “maintains that the claimed subject matter…is non-obvious” from those in the referenced applications, and furthermore requests the rejections be held in abeyance. (Remarks, 12, October 10, 2025.)
The provisional double patenting rejection are maintained for the reasons discussed herein. They will be maintained until Applicant submits properly executed terminal disclaimer or amendments or arguments that effectively overcome the rejections.
CONCLUSION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614