DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-15, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of in view of Ochida (US 20210163026 A1).
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/02/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hazelton does not teach a main detector “arranged centrally on a front of the vehicle” The Examiner disagrees.
As stated in the previous Office Action, Hazelton teaches a forward-looking sensor assembly positioned behind the windshield and forward of the rear-view mirror, which a person that is skilled in the art would recognizes that as the vehicle centerline location Hazelton [0162] “the assembly 20A is located behind the windshield and forward of a rearview mirror 14A so is well suited to detect an object forward of the vehicle 10A.” and Hazelton [0175] “The radar module 30A may emit a fan-shaped radar beam so that objects generally in front of the vehicle reflect the emitted radar back to the sensor.” See also ( Hazelton Fig. 1A) of the rear-view mirror 20 that is mounted at the center of the windshield, thus, placing the assembly “arranged centrally forward of the vehicle” the mirror teaches a central, front mounting. Hazelton’s figures further illustrate the module on the centerline for symmetric forward coverage. Accordingly, Hazelton teaches the full claim limitation.
Applicant also argues that Hazelton in view of Srinivasan fails to teach "a secondary detector configured to adjust a threshold value in response to an object being detected and send an indication signal that the threshold was adjusted." The Examiner disagrees.
The limitation is taught and rendered obvious by the combination of Hazelton with Srinivasan for adaptive thresholding and data transmission. Adaptive threshold adjustment and indication signal is taught in Srinivasan [Col. 34, ll. 14–21] “the event detection model 1006 can adjust the threshold number if the event corresponds to a false positive event, the event detection model 1006 can increase the threshold (e.g., from 80% to 82%).” These adjustments occur in response to detected events/objects, satisfying the “adjust the threshold value” requirement. See also Srinivasan [Col. 13, ll. 26–30] the in-vehicle device includes “one or more microprocessors and communication circuitry configured to transmit data to the event analysis system 120.” This teaches sending device/model state, including updated thresholds. Thus, the limitation is taught and rendered obvious by the combination of Hazelton with Srinivasan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazelton (US 20160231746 A1), in view of Srinivasan (US 11352013 B1), and further in view of Ochida (US 20210163026 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system for a vehicle, the adaptive cruise control system comprising (See Fig.2A):
a main detector arranged centrally on a front of the vehicle, the main detector being pointed in a forward direction of the vehicle so as to have a field of view that encompasses a forward direction of the vehicle and configured to detect an object located ahead of the vehicle (See Fig. 1A) [Hazelton 0175] “The radar module 30A may emit a fan-shaped radar beam so that objects generally in front of the vehicle reflect the emitted radar back to the sensor”, the radar module corresponds to the main detector. [0162] “the assembly 20A is located behind the windshield and forward of a rearview mirror 14A so is well suited to detect an object 16A in an area 18A forward of the vehicle 10A.” The radar is located centrally on the vehicle. It is known to a person that is skilled in the art that rear-view mirrors are located at the center of the windshield which aligns with the center of the vehicle.
a threshold value of a system property characterizing a driving environment being set and the main detector being configured to determine an actual value of the system property [Hazelton 0181] “Accordingly, the controller 120A may be configured to classify the object 16A as small when a magnitude of the reflection signal 112A associated with the object 16A is less than a signal-threshold. The system may also be configured to ignore an object classified as small if the object is well away from the roadway”; The control unit uses the radar signal results to classify and characterize environment around the vehicle such as “small objects.”
a secondary detector configured to detect objects located at an angle ahead of the vehicle, the secondary detector … of the vehicle and arranged at an angle of about 45° outwards in relation to the forward direction of the vehicle, the secondary detector being pointed in a different direction than the main detector such so as to have a field of view that is at an angle in relation to a forward direction of the vehicle and in relation to the field of view of the main detector, the field of view of the secondary detector and overlapping with a boundary of a field of view of the main detector [Hazelton 0293] “The camera-radar fusion unit 30F is capable of providing and “fusing” the data from both a camera and a radar unit, providing obstacle recognition, distance and motion data, and to cover a large portion of the 360 degree perimeter.” A person that is skilled in the art would understand that if a system can detect objects at 360 degrees radius around a vehicle, it includes the capability to detect objects at 45 degree angle. [Hazelton 0165] “A camera module 22A for capturing images through the window 12A in a camera field of view defined by dashed line 160A. The camera module 22A outputs an image signal 116A indicative of an image of the object 16A in the area about a vehicle.” [0166] “Furthermore, placing the radar module 30A and the camera module 22A in the same housing simplifies aligning these two parts so a location of the object 16A relative to the vehicle 10A base on a combination of radar and image data (i.e.—radar-camera data fusion) is more readily determined” [0166] “Furthermore, placing the radar module 30A and the camera module 22A in the same housing simplifies aligning these two parts so a location of the object 16A relative to the vehicle 10A base on a combination of radar and image data (i.e.—radar-camera data fusion) is more readily determined. “The camera module detects objects in front and around the vehicle on different angles and corresponds to the secondary detector. The system houses both detectors in the same housing to allow overlapping in the field of view.
a controller configured to determine, depending on the actual value of the system property and the threshold value of the system property, whether control of the vehicle is required [Hazelton 0168] “The radar module 30A and camera module 22A both communicate with the radar-camera processing unit 50A to process the received radar signals and camera generated images so that the sensed radar and camera signals are useful for various radar and vision functions. The vehicle control unit 72A may execute any of a number of known applications that utilize the processed radar and camera signals including, but not limited to autonomous vehicle control, ACC, FCW, and LDW.” The vehicle control unit uses information from radar and camera signals to control the vehicle if needed.
at least one actuator configured to control the vehicle in accordance with an instruction of the controller, wherein main detector, the secondary detector, the controller, and at least one actuator is interconnected in a communicative manner [Hazelton 0168] “The controller 120A may also incorporate or combine the radar module 30A, the camera module 22A, the radar-camera processing unit 50A, and a vehicle control unit 72A. The radar module 30A and camera module 22A both communicate with the radar-camera processing unit 50A to process the received radar signals and camera generated images so that the sensed radar and camera signals are useful for various radar and vision functions. The vehicle control unit 72A may be integrated within the radar-camera processing unit or may be separate therefrom.”
Hazelton does not teach “the secondary detector being configured to in response to an object being detected, adjust the threshold value of the system property and to send an indication signal to indicate that the threshold value of the system property has been adjusted.”
However, Srinivasan teaches equivalent teachings wherein the secondary detector being configured in response to an object being detected, adjust the threshold value of the system property and to send an indication signal to indicate that the threshold value of the system property has been adjusted (Col. 13 II. 26-30) “The sensors 112 may include, for example, one or more inward-facing camera and one or more outward-facing camera. The vehicle device 114 further includes one or more microprocessors and communication circuitry configured to transmit data to the event analysis system 120” (Col. 34 II. 14-21) “Further, the event detection model 1006 can adjust the threshold number. The event detection model 1006 may identify that the probability identifies an event based on the event exceeding and/or matching a threshold number. If the event corresponds to a false positive event, the event detection model 1006 can increase the threshold number (e.g., from 80% to 82%) such that the event detection model 1006 identifies less events.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton and Srinivasan teachings to make the system to send an indication signal to adjust the threshold value of the system property in response to an object being detected.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Hazelton and Srinivasan teachings to improve operational effectiveness and safety (Col. 6 II. 57-63) “An improved artificial intelligence dash cam provides real-time alerts of detected safety events, such as driver assistance (e.g., ADAS or “Advanced Driver Assistance Systems”), harsh events, and/or other events of interest. The dash cam is installable into existing vehicles and provides real-time alerts based on processing of video data from one or more cameras of the dash cam.”
Hazelton and Srinivasan do not appear to teach the claim limitation regarding wherein “the secondary detector being formed on a headlight of the vehicle”
However, Ochida teaches equivalent teachings the secondary detector being formed on a headlight of the vehicle [0099] “The radar 204 radiates radio waves such as millimeter waves to the vicinity of the host vehicle M, and detects radio waves (reflected waves) reflected from an object to detect at least the position (distance to and orientation of) of the object. The radar 204 is installed on, for example, a vehicle front end side such as a front grill, a front bumper, or the inside of a headlight, a vehicle rear end side such as a trunk lid, or a vehicle lateral end side such as the vicinity of a side mirror or a side light. The radar 204 may detect the position and speed of an object with a frequency modulated continuous wave (FM-CW) system. The radar 204 is another example of the “detector.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system have a secondary detector configured to detect objects located at an angle ahead of the vehicle, the secondary detector being formed on a headlight of the vehicle and arranged at an angle of about 45° outwards in relation to the forward direction of the vehicle, the secondary detector being pointed in a different direction than the main detector such so as to have a field of view that is at an angle in relation to a forward direction of the vehicle and in relation to the field of view of the main detector, the field of view of the secondary detector and overlapping with a boundary of a field of view of the main detector.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to improve operational effectiveness and stability [0016] “According to any of (1) to (9), in a case where it is determined that the operating state of the first actuator satisfies the predetermined condition, the first controller is configured to limit control of the first actuator as compared to a case where it is determined that the predetermined condition is not satisfied, and transmits the predetermined signal to the second controller through the communication line, and the second controller controls the second actuator in a case where the predetermined signal is received from first controller through the communication line, whereby a redundant configuration is taken so as to perform traveling control of the host vehicle in place of at least a portion of a function of the first controller, and thus it is possible to continue the traveling control stably.”
Regarding Claim 2, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the main detectors and the secondary detector is one of a radar and camera [Hazelton 0177] “The assembly 20A has the camera module 22A generally shown mounted near an upper end and the radar module 30A is mounted below. However, the camera module 22A and radar module 30A may be located at other locations relative to each other.” The radar is the main detector and the camera is the secondary detector.
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system include at least one of the main detectors and the secondary detector is one of a radar and camera.
Regarding Claim 3, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 2, wherein the main detector and the secondary detector are millimeter wave radars [Hazelton 0171] “One example of a suitable radar sensor operates at a frequency of 76.5 gigahertz. It should be appreciated that the automotive radar may operate in one of several other available frequency bands, including 24 GHz ISM, 24 GHz UWB, 76.5 GHz, and 79 GHz.” A person that is skilled in the art would understand that millimeter waves range from 30 GHz to 300 GHz.
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system wherein the main detector and the secondary detector are millimeter wave radars.
Regarding Claim 4, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: the secondary detector is formed on a … and is arranged at an angle of 45° outwards in relation to the forward direction of the vehicle [Hazelton 0293] “The camera-radar fusion unit 30F is capable of providing and “fusing” the data from both a camera and a radar unit, providing obstacle recognition, distance and motion data, and to cover a large portion of the 360 degree perimeter.” A person that is skilled in the art would understand that if a system can detect objects 360 degrees radius around a vehicle, it includes the capability to detect objects at 45 angles.
and the main detector is located centrally on a front of the vehicle [Hazelton 0175] “The radar module 30A may emit a fan-shaped radar beam so that objects generally in front of the vehicle reflect the emitted radar back to the sensor”. [Hazelton 0162] “The assembly 20A is located behind the windshield and forward of a rearview mirror 14A so is well suited to detect an object 16A in an area 18A forward of the vehicle 10A.” The radar is located centrally on the vehicle. It is known that rear-view mirror is located at the center of the windshield which aligns with the center of the vehicle.
Hazelton and Srinivasan do not appear to teach the claim limitation regarding wherein “the secondary detector being formed on a headlight of the vehicle”
However, Ochida teaches equivalent teachings wherein the secondary detector being formed on a headlight of the vehicle [0099] “The radar 204 radiates radio waves such as millimeter waves to the vicinity of the host vehicle M, and detects radio waves (reflected waves) reflected from an object to detect at least the position (distance to and orientation of) of the object. The radar 204 is installed on, for example, a vehicle front end side such as a front grill, a front bumper, or the inside of a headlight, a vehicle rear end side such as a trunk lid, or a vehicle lateral end side such as the vicinity of a side mirror or a side light. The radar 204 may detect the position and speed of an object with a frequency modulated continuous wave (FM-CW) system. The radar 204 is another example of the “detector.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system wherein at least one of the secondary detector being formed on a headlight of the vehicle and is arranged at an angle of 45° outwards in relation to the forward direction of the vehicle and the main detector being located centrally on a front of the vehicle.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to improve operational effectiveness and stability [0016] “According to any of (1) to (9), in a case where it is determined that the operating state of the first actuator satisfies the predetermined condition, the first controller is configured to limit control of the first actuator as compared to a case where it is determined that the predetermined condition is not satisfied, and transmits the predetermined signal to the second controller through the communication line, and the second controller controls the second actuator in a case where the predetermined signal is received from first controller through the communication line, whereby a redundant configuration is taken so as to perform traveling control of the host vehicle in place of at least a portion of a function of the first controller, and thus it is possible to continue the traveling control stably.”
Regarding Claim 5, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 1, wherein the system property includes at least one of (i) a probability of an obstacle, (ii) a probability of presence, (iii) a probability of movement, (iv) distances in a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction, (v) speeds in the longitudinal direction and the lateral directions, (vi) a variance of the speeds in the lateral direction, (vii) a lane, and (viii) a lateral distance between a target and a trajectory of the vehicle [Hazelton 0165] “Additionally, the controller 120A may have further capabilities to estimate the parameters of the detected object(s) including, for example, the object position and velocity vectors, target size, and classification, e.g., vehicle verses pedestrian.” The system can detect an obstacle which corresponds to detecting the probability of an obstacle, movement, position, velocity vectors which are direction of motion in longitudinal and lateral directions including probability of movement, and classification of the object if it is for example a vehicle or a pedestrian. A person that is skilled in the art would understand that adaptive cruise control systems use probability data collected from radars and cameras to make decisions about vehicle control. If the system can detect an obstacle, the probability is 100% and if the system does not detect an obstacle, then the probability is 0%.
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system property includes at least one of the above.
Regarding Claim 6, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 1, wherein the main detector includes a front central radar and a camera, the front central radar being arranged on a front of the vehicle and the camera being arranged on an interior rear-view mirror [Hazelton 0162] “The vehicle 10A is equipped with a sensor assembly, hereafter the assembly 20A, which is shown in this example located in an interior compartment of the vehicle 10A behind a window 12A of the vehicle 10A. While an automobile is illustrated, it will be evident that the assembly 20A may also be suitable for use on other vehicles such as heavy duty on-road vehicles like semi-tractor-trailers, and off-road vehicles such as construction equipment. In this non-limiting example, the assembly 20A is located behind the windshield and forward of a rearview mirror 14A so is well suited to detect an object 16A in an area 18A forward of the vehicle 10A.” “or the assembly may be integrated into a portion of the vehicle body in an unobtrusive manner.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system wherein the main detector includes a front central radar and a camera, the front central radar being arranged on a front of the vehicle and the camera being arranged on an interior rear-view mirror.
Regarding Claim 7, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 1, wherein communication of the adaptive cruise control system is carried out by a CAN bus of the vehicle [Hazelton 0173] “The vehicle control unit 72A is shown communicating with the video microcontroller 52A by way of a controller area network (CAN) bus. Further, the vehicle control unit 72A includes a private CAN interface 88A and a vehicle CAN interface 90A, both shown connected to an electronic control unit (ECU) that is connected to an ECU connector 92A.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system wherein communication of the adaptive cruise control system is carried out by a CAN bus of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 8, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim1, further comprising a secondary detector arranged at least one of in a central part of the vehicle and at a rear of the vehicle [Hazelton 0162] “Alternatively, the assembly 20A may be positioned to ‘look’ through a side or rear window of the vehicle 10A to observe other areas about the vehicle 10A, or the assembly may be integrated into a portion of the vehicle body in an unobtrusive manner.” More sensors can be mounted on other locations of the exterior of vehicle.
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system further comprising a secondary detector arranged at least one of in a central part of the vehicle and at a rear of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 9, Hazelton discloses an adaptive cruise control system according to claim 1, wherein the control of the vehicle by at least one actuator includes at least one of acceleration, braking, and deflection [Hazelton 0165] “the assembly 20A may be employed onboard the vehicle 10A for automotive safety applications including adaptive cruise control (ACC), forward collision warning (FCW), and collision mitigation or avoidance via autonomous braking and lane departure warning (LDW).” A person that is skilled in the art would understand that ACC, FCW, autonomous braking, and LDW can perform acceleration, braking, steering, and deflection commands when controlling the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art prior to the effective filling date to combine Hazelton, Srinivasan, and Ochida teachings to make the system wherein the control of the vehicle by at least one actuator includes at least one of acceleration, braking, and deflection.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites a vehicle to include the parallel limitations in parent claim 1, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim recites a method for performing the steps executed by the system of parent claim 1. The method comprises computer software components for performing the various functions of the system and the method for avoiding a collision with an object while driving a vehicle. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim recites a method for performing the steps executed by the system of parent claim 1. The method comprises computer software components for performing the various functions of the system and the method for avoiding a collision with an object while driving a vehicle. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Conclusion
/HUSSAM ALDEEN ALZATEEMEH/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662