DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 12/22/2025. Claims 1, 7, 15, 21, 24, and 29 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, 24, and 29 filed on 12/22/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments related solely to newly added limitations addressed in the instant Office Action with newly identified prior art, thus rendering applicant’s arguments moot.
With regard to Claim 1, Bara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200396698, hereinafter “Bala”) teaches the wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer as recited in amended claim 1. Bala is directed to systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with controlling uplink transmissions in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The WTRU may perform an uplink transmission simultaneously with one or more other WTRUs. Transmissions by the WTRUs may be performed using non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) techniques. The uplink transmission may be a grant-free transmission (e.g., the WTRU may perform the transmission without a grant from the network). The entire uplink transmission may be a NOMA transmission, or a part of the uplink transmission may be transmitted using NOMA. (see para [0003] of Bala).
Bara explicitly teaches the wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer (para [0134] of Bala: A WTRU may receive an activation indication regarding when to start applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in physical layer signaling. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in MAC layer signaling, such as in a MAC control element (MAC-CE). The activation indication may include a starting time period for applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. Upon receiving the activation indication, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset at the starting time period. In an example, the WTRU may beginning applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with an UL transmission that is at least k time periods after the time period in which the activation was received (interpreted as “wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer”). The value of k may be configurable (e.g., k may be configured to have an integer value such as 0, 1, 4, etc.). In an example, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with the UL transmission for which a grant or other physical layer signaling that includes the activation was received (The value of k is interpreted as “a timer”).
As discussed above, Bala, therefore, teaches the amended limitation “wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer” as recited in amended claim 1.
With regard to Claim 2, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 2 filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, after updating the search, based on the Applicant’s amendment, a newly identified prior art, Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230046738, hereinafter “Lee”) has been cited, see below in the final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer” is a functional statement that lacks a proper nexus with the recited operation of the “at least one processor.” While the claim recites that the processor is configured to “obtain at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) from a network node, the set of RPs being associated with grant-free non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) for side link communication” and “transmit a sidelink transmission via a sidelink channel to at least one other UE in the set of RPs associated with the grant-free NOMA based on the at least one configuration of the set of RPs using resources that are shared by a plurality of UEs including the UE,” it fails to recite any specific processor action that performs or triggers the “activation or deactivation” mentioned in the “wherein” clause. As written, the “activation or deactivation” appears as a detached result without any underlying step (such as receiving a command or detecting a condition) to effectuate said state change. Consequently, the scope of the processor’s responsibility regarding the timer remains unclear.
The phrase “associated with a timer” is vague and functional. The claim does not specify the nature of this association, for example, whether the expiration of the timer triggers deactivation, or whether the receipt of a configuration starts the timer. While the Examiner notes that dependent claim 7 (depend from claim 5) provides specific steps (e.g., “receive an instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA for the sidelink communication based on at least one of a cast type, a data priority, or a quality of service (QoS)” and “wherein the instruction to activate or deactivate the MOMA includes an indication of the timer, and the grant-free NOMA is activated or deactivated until an expiration of the timer”), these essential procedural limitation are absent from independent Claim 1, a person ordinary skilled in the art would not understand how the processor is structurally or logically “configured” to manage the “activation or deactivation” in relation to the timer.
Because Claim 1 recites a functional result (“activation … associated with a timer”) without reciting the necessary acts or instruction to achieve that result, the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. To overcome this rejection, Applicant is encourage to incorporate these specific processor actions (e.g., the “instruction” receiving step from the dependent claim) into Claim 1 to provide the necessary structural and functional framework for the “wherein” clause.
Regarding Claim 15, claim 15 recites the limitation “an instruction associated with a timer to activate or deactivate the NOMA for the sidelink communication…” As discussed above, the phrase “an instruction associated with a timer to activate or deactivate the NOMA for the sidelink communication” is vague and functional. The claim does not specify the nature of this association, for example, whether the expiration of the timer triggers deactivation, or whether the receipt of an instruction starts the timer.
Regarding claim 24, it is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, it is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 15, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claims 2-6, 8-14, 16-20, 22-23, 25-28, and 30 these claims depend from claims 1, 15, 24, or 29, respectively, thus carry the same indefiniteness issues as discussed above, and therefore are rejected on the same grounds discussed above.
Claims 5-7, 15, 19-21, 25, and 29 recites the limitation "the NOMA." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted "the grant-free NOMA."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17-18, 22, 24, and 26-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200029270, hereinafter “Matsuda”) in view of Bara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200396698, hereinafter “Bala”), and further in view of Maaref et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200146044, hereinafter “Maaref”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Matsuda unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1, 15, 24, and 29:
Regarding Claim 1, Matsuda teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 27, smartphone 900), comprising:
memory (Fig. 27, memory 902); and
at least one processor (Fig. 27, processor 901) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) from a network node, the set of RPs being associated with grant-free non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) for sidelink communication, wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer;. (Para [0251]; When the grant-free based transmission is possible, the base station device 1 ensures the resource pool for the grant-free based transmission as necessary (step S102) and performs establishment of connection with the terminal device 2, position designation of the resource pool, and designation of NOMA pattern vector information notification resources (step S103))(Para [0252]; The base station device 1 periodically notifies of the information regarding the NOMA pattern vectors by broadcast (step S104)).
Matsuda discloses that, in the present embodiment of Matsuda, a cell is a sidelink and sidelink transmission is transmission from the terminal device 2 to another terminal device 2 and is transmission of a sidelink physical channel and/or a sidelink physical signal. See paragraphs [0050-0051]. Matsuda further discloses that the base station device 1 and the terminal device 2 can support communication in which a set of one or more cells is used in …a sidelink. (see para [0052]); and
Matsuda, however, fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer.
Bala is directed to systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with controlling uplink transmissions in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The WTRU may perform an uplink transmission simultaneously with one or more other WTRUs. Transmissions by the WTRUs may be performed using non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) techniques. The uplink transmission may be a grant-free transmission (e.g., the WTRU may perform the transmission without a grant from the network). The entire uplink transmission may be a NOMA transmission, or a part of the uplink transmission may be transmitted using NOMA. (see para [0003] of Bala).
Bara teaches the wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer (para [0134] of Bala: A WTRU may receive an activation indication regarding when to start applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in physical layer signaling. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in MAC layer signaling, such as in a MAC control element (MAC-CE). The activation indication may include a starting time period for applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. Upon receiving the activation indication, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset at the starting time period. In an example, the WTRU may beginning applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with an UL transmission that is at least k time periods after the time period in which the activation was received (interpreted as “wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer”). The value of k may be configurable (e.g., k may be configured to have an integer value such as 0, 1, 4, etc.). In an example, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with the UL transmission for which a grant or other physical layer signaling that includes the activation was received (The value of k is interpreted as “a timer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Matsuda's method by using the features (activation indication including a starting time period for applying NOMA ) of Bala in order to have more effective method such that WTRU (UE) receives an activation indication regarding when to start applying a grant-free NOMA.
Matsuda and Bala, however, fail to teach the limitation
transmit a sidelink transmission via a sidelink channel to at least one other UE in the set of RPs associated with the grant-free NOMA based on the at least one configuration of the set of RPs using resources that are shared by a plurality of UEs including the UE, wherein the resources are associated with a resource allocation indication common to the plurality of UEs.
In analogous art, Maaref teaches the above missing limitation.
transmit a sidelink transmission via a sidelink channel to at least one other UE in the set of RPs associated with the grant-free NOMA based on the at least one configuration of the set of RPs using resources that are shared by a plurality of UEs including the UE (para [0053] of Maaref; selecting a SL transmission resource (“SideLink transmission via a sidelink channel”) for use in making a SL transmission to a target UE …; and transmitting, by the UE, an SL data communication according to the transmitted SL control information using the selected SL transmission resource (from resource pool (RP), see paragraph [0353-0354] of Maaref). Maaref discloses “at 630 UE1 selects a transmission pattern from a transmission pattern pool”(see para [0201] of Maaref). Maaref further discloses “In transmission 628 from the BS or network 600 to UE1, RRC signaling configures SL data communication resources and SL control resources. A transmission pattern pool is included in the configuration of SL data communication resources in this example” (see para [0202] of Maaref). Here, the transmission pattern from transmission pattern pool discussed in Maaref is, therefore, interpreted as the limitation “at least one configuration of the set of RPs using resources that are shared by a plurality of UEs.” Maaref discloses “At 630, UE1 selects a transmission pattern for SL data transmission from the transmission pattern pool included in transmission 628”(see Fig. 6B and para [0204] of Maaref). Maaref further discloses “The transmission pattern selected by UE1 is used in transmissions 612 (transmission 612 to UE2 is interpreted as “transmit a sidelink transmission via a sidelink channel to at least”, see FIG 6B of Maaref), 616 (see Fig. 6B and para [0204] of Maaref)(Examiner’s note: Maaref discloses that the sidelink transmissions may use non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA). See para [0124] of Maaref), wherein the resources are associated with a resource allocation indication common to the plurality of UEs (para [0187]: a BS may broadcast system information to all the UEs in a cell. The system information (e.g. SIB) may optionally contain some parameters of the resource configuration for SL transmission that is common for all the UEs in the cell (the resource configuration discussed in Maaref is interpreted as the limitation “resource allocation indication”))(Examiner’s note: Figs. 1A-1K of Maaref are block diagrams illustrating examples of two-dimensional resource configurations for grant-free SL transmission)
As discussed above, Maaref, therefore, teaches the amended limitation “transmit a sidelink transmission via a sidelink channel to at least one other UE in the set of RPs associated with the grant-free NOMA based on the at least one configuration of the set of RPs using resources that are shared by a plurality of UEs including the UE, wherein the resources are associated with a resource allocation indication common to the plurality of UEs” as recited in amended claim 1..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda and Bala by using the features (Methods and apparatus for sidelink communications and resource allocation) of Maaref in order to have more effective method such that UE transmits a sidelink transmission via a sidelink channel to other UE in the set of RPs associated with the grant-free NOMA based on the at least one configuration of the set of RPs using resources that are shared by a plurality of UEs including the UE.
Regarding Claim 15, Matsuda teaches An apparatus (Fig. 25, eNB 800), for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
memory (Fig. 25, memory 822); and
at least one processor (Fig. 25, controller 821) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) for a plurality of UEs, the set of RPs being associated with grant-free non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) for sidelink communication performed by the plurality of UEs (Para [0251]; When the grant-free based transmission is possible, the base station device 1 ensures the resource pool for the grant-free based transmission as necessary (step S102) and performs establishment of connection with the terminal device 2, position designation of the resource pool, and designation of NOMA pattern vector information notification resources (step S103))(Para [0252]; The base station device 1 periodically notifies of the information regarding the NOMA pattern vectors by broadcast (step S104)). Matsuda discloses that a cell is a sidelink and sidelink transmission is transmission from the terminal device 2 to another terminal device 2 and is transmission of a sidelink physical channel and/or a sidelink physical signal (see paragraphs [0050-0051]). Matsuda further discloses that the base station device 1 and the terminal device 2 can support communication in which a set of one or more cells is used in …a sidelink. (see para [0052]) (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Maaref.); and
transmit an instruction (Para [0155]; The terminal device 2 monitors a set of PDCCH candidates and/or a set of EPDCCH candidates of one or more activated serving cells set by RRC signaling.)(para [0214]; the base station device 1 … notify the terminal device 2 of the applied NOMA pattern vectors (interpreted as “the instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA”) by RRC signaling, a system information block (SIB), a DCI, or the like.).
As noted above, Matsuda fails to explicitly teach the missing limitation an instruction associated with a timer to activate or deactivate the NOMA.
Bala, in analogous art, teaches the an instruction associated with a timer to activate or deactivate the NOMA (para [0134] of Bala: A WTRU may receive an activation indication regarding when to start applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in physical layer signaling. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in MAC layer signaling, such as in a MAC control element (MAC-CE). The activation indication may include a starting time period for applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. Upon receiving the activation indication, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset at the starting time period. In an example, the WTRU may beginning applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with an UL transmission that is at least k time periods after the time period in which the activation was received (interpreted as “wherein activation or deactivation of the grant-free NOMA is associated with a timer”). The value of k may be configurable (e.g., k may be configured to have an integer value such as 0, 1, 4, etc.). In an example, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with the UL transmission for which a grant or other physical layer signaling that includes the activation was received (The value of k is interpreted as “a timer”) (para [0003] of Bala: The uplink transmission may be a grant-free transmission (e.g., the WTRU may perform the transmission without a grant from the network). The entire uplink transmission may be a NOMA transmission, or a part of the uplink transmission may be transmitted using NOMA.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Matsuda's method by using the features (activation indication including a starting time period for applying NOMA ) of Bala in order to have more effective method such that WTRU (UE) receives an activation indication regarding when to start applying a grant-free NOMA.
Matsuda and Bala fail to explicitly teach the missing limitation “using resources that are shared by more than one UE of the plurality of UEs, wherein the resources are associated with a resource allocation indication common to the plurality of UEs”.
However, in analogous art, Maaref teaches the missing limitation as following:
using resources that are shared by more than one UE of the plurality of UEs, wherein the resources are associated with a resource allocation indication common to the plurality of UEs (Maaref discloses “a BS may broadcast system information to all the UEs in a cell. The system information (e.g. SIB) may optionally contain some parameters of the resource configuration for SL transmission that is common for all the UEs in the cell” (see para [0187] of Maaref). That is, the resource configuration broadcast from the BS is shared with all UEs within the cell. Here, the resource configuration discussed in Maaref is interpreted as the limitation “resource allocation indication” of claim 1. Figs. 1A-1K of Maaref are block diagrams illustrating examples of two-dimensional resource configurations for grant-free SL transmission.)
Maaref discloses “at 630 UE1 selects a transmission pattern from a transmission pattern pool”(see para [0201] of Maaref). Maaref further discloses “In transmission 628 from the BS or network 600 to UE1, RRC signaling configures SL data communication resources and SL control resources. A transmission pattern pool is included in the configuration of SL data communication resources in this example” (see para [0202] of Maaref). Here, the transmission pattern from transmission pattern pool discussed in Maaref is, therefore, interpreted as the limitation “at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) for a plurality of UEs.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda and Bala by using the features (Methods and apparatus for sidelink communications and resource allocation) of Maaref in order to have more effective method such that a network node transmits at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) being associated with grant-free NOMA for sidelink communication performed by the plurality of UEs using resources that are shared by more than one UE of the plurality of UEs.
Regarding claim 24, it is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, it is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 15, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 15.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 3, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, Maaref further teaches wherein the at least one configuration of the set of RPs indicates at least one sub-RP (Para [0359] of Maaref; a first grant-free SL configuration) assigned for the grant-free NOMA for the sidelink communication (Para [0354] of Maaref; A UE may be configured to use one or more specified resource pools. Then, the SL resource configuration takes place within the resource pool(s) configured for the UE.). Maaref further that the sidelink transmissions may use non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA). See para [0124] of Maaref.
Claim 17, has similar limitation as of Claim 3, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, Maaref further teaches wherein the at least one configuration of the set of RPs includes dedicated configured grants (Para [0359] of Maaref; a first grant-free SL configuration) shared by the plurality of UEs including the UE to perform grant-free sidelink communication (Para [0354] of Maaref; A UE may be configured to use one or more specified resource pools. Then, the SL resource configuration takes place within the resource pool(s) configured for the UE.).
Claim 18, has similar limitation as of Claim 4, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 8, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Maaref further teaches select a power configuration associated with one or more of at least one physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on the set of RPs, wherein the power configuration is selected from a set of applicable power configurations (Para [0346] of Maaref; the sidelink control information also includes: a power level for the sidelink transmission, … This is included so that other UEs can observe the power level, and factor this in when selecting a transmission resource for their own SL transmissions.)(Para [0019] of Maaref; physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resources indicated or reserved for transmission by a sidelink control information transmitted by the another UE).
Claim 26, has similar limitation as of Claim 8, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Maaref further teaches select a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration associated with one or more or at least one physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on the set of RPs, wherein the DMRS configuration is selected from a set of applicable DMRS configurations (Para [0164] of Maaref; the time domain configurations could include time domain resource configuration of physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and/or physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), frequency domain resource configuration of PSSCH and PSCCH, the transmission pattern, repetition related parameters (e.g. repetition number K, length of the transmission pattern, RV sequence for repetition), code domain resource configuration, waveform configuration, resource configuration for DMRS etc. The time-domain resource configuration may also include … PSSCH/DMRS mapping type (interpreted as “applicable DMRS configurations”)).
Claim 27, has similar limitation as of Claim 10, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Maaref further teaches receive a power configuration or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration associated with at least one physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on the set of RPs (Para [0164] of Maaref; The time-domain resource configuration may also include … PSSCH/DMRS mapping type (interpreted as “a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration associated with … at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on the set of RPs”)).
Claim 28, has similar limitation as of Claim 13, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 13.
Claim 30, has similar limitation as of Claim 13, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 22, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 15, further comprising at least one of a transceiver (Fig. 25, a wireless communication interface 825) or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Matsuda further teaches transmit a power configuration (Para [0331]; the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiplexing includes information regarding a power level.) … .
Claims 2, 9, 11, 12, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda, in view of Bala, in view of Maaref, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230046738, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 2, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref fails to teach wherein the at least one configuration of the set of RPs includes a set of frequency domain orthogonal cover codes (FD-OCCs) and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration identifiers (IDs) associated with at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), wherein the sidelink channel includes at least one of the PSCCH or the PSSCH.
Lee, in analogous art, teaches the wherein the at least one configuration of the set of RPs includes a set of frequency domain orthogonal cover codes (FD-OCCs) and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration identifiers (IDs) associated with at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), wherein the sidelink channel includes at least one of the PSCCH or the PSSCH.
Lee is directed to Sidelink (SL) communication in which a direct link is established between User Equipment’s (UEs) and the UEs exchange voice and data directly with each other without intervention of an evolved Node B (eNB) (see para [0002] of Lee).
Lee teaches the wherein the at least one configuration of the set of RPs (Para [0108] of Lee; For example, the UE 1 may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource in a resource pool which implies a set of series of resources. In addition, the UE 1 may transmit a SL signal by using the resource unit. For example, a resource pool in which the UE 1 is capable of transmitting a signal may be configured to the UE 2 which is a receiving UE, and the signal of the UE 1 may be detected in the resource pool.)(para [0109] of Lee: Herein, if the UE 1 is within a connectivity range of the BS, the BS may inform the UE 1 of the resource pool (interpreted as “obtain at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) from a network node”).) (para [0116] of Lee: in the LTE transmission mode 2, the LTE transmission mode 4, or the NR resource allocation mode 2, the UE may determine a SL transmission resource within a SL resource configured by a BS/network or a pre-configured SL resource. For example, the configured SL resource or the pre-configured SL resource may be a resource pool (interpreted as “obtain at least one configuration of a set of resource pools (RPs) from a network node”).) includes a set of frequency domain orthogonal cover codes (FD-OCCs) and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration identifiers (IDs) associated with at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (para [0229] of Lee: In the above-mentioned case, for example, in order to minimize the interference effect on channel estimation (of the RX UE), the TX UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences(interpreted as “a set of frequency domain orthogonal cover codes (FD-OCCs) and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration identifiers (IDs) associated with at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)”).) (para [0230]: Hereinafter, based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, a method for a TX UE to transmit a PSCCH DMRS and an apparatus supporting the same will be described. For example, based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, CANDI_VAL may be configured or defined for the TX UE. For example, different CANDI_VAL may be mutually orthogonal or pseudo-orthogonal. For example, the OCC may include OCC in the frequency domain (hereinafter, FD-OCC) and/or OCC in the time domain (hereinafter, TD-OCC).) (para [0240] of Lee: In this case, for example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE. For example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool. For example, the TX UE may generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value (interpreted as “the at least one configuration of the set of RPs includes a set of frequency domain orthogonal cover codes (FD-OCCs) and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration identifiers (IDs) associated with at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)”).), wherein the sidelink channel includes at least one of the PSCCH or the PSSCH (para [0115] of Lee: a BS may schedule a SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource scheduling to a UE 1 through a PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)), and the UE 1 may perform V2X or SL communication with respect to a UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (interpreted as “the sidelink channel includes at least one of the PSCCH or the PSSCH”).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref by using the features (one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool) of Lee in order to have more effective method such that UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences and generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value.
Claim 16, has similar limitation as of Claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 9, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 8,
It is noted that while disclosing the ‘sidelink control information also includes: a power level for the sidelink transmission’ (see para [0346] of Maaref), the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref fails to explicitly teach about wherein the power configuration is selected based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a PSCCH cyclic redundancy check (CRC), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type.
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Lee ((para [0229] of Lee: In the above-mentioned case, for example, in order to minimize the interference effect on channel estimation (of the RX UE), the TX UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences(interpreted as “select a power configuration associated with one or more of at least one physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on the set of RPs,” as recited in claim 8).)
Lee discloses configuration is selected based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a PSCCH cyclic redundancy check (CRC), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type. (para [0229] of Lee: In the above-mentioned case, for example, in order to minimize the interference effect on channel estimation (of the RX UE), the TX UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences (interpreted as “configuration is selected”).) (para [0230]: Hereinafter, based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, a method for a TX UE to transmit a PSCCH DMRS and an apparatus supporting the same will be described. For example, based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, CANDI_VAL may be configured or defined for the TX UE. For example, different CANDI_VAL may be mutually orthogonal or pseudo-orthogonal. For example, the OCC may include OCC in the frequency domain (hereinafter, FD-OCC) and/or OCC in the time domain (hereinafter, TD-OCC).) (para [0240] of Lee: In this case, for example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE. For example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool. For example, the TX UE may generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value (interpreted as “the DMRS configuration is selected based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of sidelink control information (SCI) type 1 (SCI-1), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type”).) (para [0242] of Lee: the TX UE may randomly select one from among (pre-configured) M ID values used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization (on PSCCH symbols).) (para [0276] of Lee: For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each resource pool. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each service type. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each service priority. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each cast type. For example, the cast type may include at least one of unicast, groupcast, and/or broadcast. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each destination UE. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (L1 or L2) destination ID. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (L1 or L2) source ID. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (service) QoS parameter. For example, the (service) QoS parameter may include at least one of a reliability related parameter, a latency related parameter, and/or a (target) block error rate (BLER) related parameter. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (resource pool) congestion level. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each SL mode type. For example, the SL mode type may include SL mode 1 and/or SL mode 2. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each grant type. For example, the grant type may include CG and/or DG. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each packet/message (e.g., TB) size. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of subchannels used by the UE to transmit a PSSCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of RBs used by the UE to transmit a PSCCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of RBs included in (one) subchannel. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of subchannels included in a resource pool and/or for each number of RBs included in the resource pool. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether the (one) subchannel size and the PSCCH (frequency) resource size are the same. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a (semi) static codebook is configured for the UE. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on (SL communication-related) numerology. For example, the numerology may include subcarrier spacing and/or CP length. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a SL CSI reporting operation is configured for the UE on a sub-band (with a pre-configured size). For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether the SL CSI reporting operation is configured for the UE on a wide-band (based on a PSSCH frequency resource). For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a precoding application operation is configured for the UE on a sub-band (with a pre-configured size) on a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a precoding application operation is configured for the UE on a wide-band (based on PSCCH and/or PSSCH frequency resources).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref by using the features (one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool) of Lee in order to have more effective method such that UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences and generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value.
Regarding Claim 11, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 10, the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref fails to teach wherein the DMRS configuration is selected based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of sidelink control information (SCI) type 1 (SCI-1), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type.
In analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the DMRS configuration is selected based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of sidelink control information (SCI) type 1 (SCI-1), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type (para [0229] of Lee: In the above-mentioned case, for example, in order to minimize the interference effect on channel estimation (of the RX UE), the TX UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences (interpreted as “the DMRS configuration is selected”).) (para [0230]: Hereinafter, based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, a method for a TX UE to transmit a PSCCH DMRS and an apparatus supporting the same will be described. For example, based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, CANDI_VAL may be configured or defined for the TX UE. For example, different CANDI_VAL may be mutually orthogonal or pseudo-orthogonal. For example, the OCC may include OCC in the frequency domain (hereinafter, FD-OCC) and/or OCC in the time domain (hereinafter, TD-OCC).) (para [0240] of Lee: In this case, for example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE. For example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool. For example, the TX UE may generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value (interpreted as “the DMRS configuration is selected based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of sidelink control information (SCI) type 1 (SCI-1), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type”).) (para [0242] of Lee: the TX UE may randomly select one from among (pre-configured) M ID values used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization (on PSCCH symbols).) (para [0276] of Lee: For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each resource pool. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each service type. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each service priority. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each cast type. For example, the cast type may include at least one of unicast, groupcast, and/or broadcast. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each destination UE. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (L1 or L2) destination ID. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (L1 or L2) source ID. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (service) QoS parameter. For example, the (service) QoS parameter may include at least one of a reliability related parameter, a latency related parameter, and/or a (target) block error rate (BLER) related parameter. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (resource pool) congestion level. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each SL mode type. For example, the SL mode type may include SL mode 1 and/or SL mode 2. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each grant type. For example, the grant type may include CG and/or DG. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each packet/message (e.g., TB) size. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of subchannels used by the UE to transmit a PSSCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of RBs used by the UE to transmit a PSCCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of RBs included in (one) subchannel. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of subchannels included in a resource pool and/or for each number of RBs included in the resource pool. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether the (one) subchannel size and the PSCCH (frequency) resource size are the same. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a (semi) static codebook is configured for the UE. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on (SL communication-related) numerology. For example, the numerology may include subcarrier spacing and/or CP length. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a SL CSI reporting operation is configured for the UE on a sub-band (with a pre-configured size). For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether the SL CSI reporting operation is configured for the UE on a wide-band (based on a PSSCH frequency resource). For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a precoding application operation is configured for the UE on a sub-band (with a pre-configured size) on a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a precoding application operation is configured for the UE on a wide-band (based on PSCCH and/or PSSCH frequency resources).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref by using the features (one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool) of Lee in order to have more effective method such that UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences and generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value.
Regarding Claim 12, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 10, the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref fails to teach wherein the DMRS configuration includes a DMRS scrambling ID determined based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of sidelink control information (SCI) type 1 (SCI-1), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type.
In analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the DMRS configuration includes a DMRS scrambling ID (para [0240] of Lee: In this case, for example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE. For example, one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool. For example, the TX UE may generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value (interpreted as “the DMRS configuration includes a DMRS scrambling ID”).) determined based on at least one of a source identifier (ID), a destination ID, a zone ID, a data priority, a quality of service (QoS), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of sidelink control information (SCI) type 1 (SCI-1), one or more configured IDs for randomization, or a cast type. ((para [0242] of Lee: the TX UE may randomly select one from among (pre-configured) M ID values used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization (on PSCCH symbols).) (para [0276] of Lee: For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each resource pool. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each service type. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each service priority. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each cast type. For example, the cast type may include at least one of unicast, groupcast, and/or broadcast. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each destination UE. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (L1 or L2) destination ID. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (L1 or L2) source ID. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (service) QoS parameter. For example, the (service) QoS parameter may include at least one of a reliability related parameter, a latency related parameter, and/or a (target) block error rate (BLER) related parameter. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each (resource pool) congestion level. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each SL mode type. For example, the SL mode type may include SL mode 1 and/or SL mode 2. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each grant type. For example, the grant type may include CG and/or DG. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each packet/message (e.g., TB) size. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of subchannels used by the UE to transmit a PSSCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of RBs used by the UE to transmit a PSCCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of RBs included in (one) subchannel. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE for each number of subchannels included in a resource pool and/or for each number of RBs included in the resource pool. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether the (one) subchannel size and the PSCCH (frequency) resource size are the same. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a (semi) static codebook is configured for the UE. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on (SL communication-related) numerology. For example, the numerology may include subcarrier spacing and/or CP length. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a SL CSI reporting operation is configured for the UE on a sub-band (with a pre-configured size). For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether the SL CSI reporting operation is configured for the UE on a wide-band (based on a PSSCH frequency resource). For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a precoding application operation is configured for the UE on a sub-band (with a pre-configured size) on a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH. For example, whether the UE applies at least one rule among rules proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured differently or limitedly for the UE based on whether a precoding application operation is configured for the UE on a wide-band (based on PSCCH and/or PSSCH frequency resources).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda, Bala and Maaref by using the features (one ID value used for PSCCH DMRS sequence generation and/or initialization may be configured for the TX UE specifically for a resource pool) of Lee in order to have more effective method such that UE may select one from a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCCs) and/or a plurality of pre-configured PSCCH DMRS sequences and generate and/or initialize a PSCCH DMRS sequence by using the one ID value.
Claims 5-7, 19-21, and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda, in view of Bala, in view of Maaref, and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190254018, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 5, Matsuda, Bala and Maaref teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Matsuda teaches receive an instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA for the sidelink communication (para [0214]; the base station device 1 … notify the terminal device 2 of the applied NOMA pattern vectors (interpreted as “an instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA for the sidelink communication”) by RRC signaling, a system information block (SIB), a DCI, or the like.)(para [0215]: On the other hand, in a case in which uplink transmission or sidelink transmission is assumed, the terminal device 2 needs a technique for knowing or deciding currently usable NOMA pattern vectors before transmission(interpreted as “an instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA for the sidelink communication”). For example, there is no problem when the terminal device 2 can receive resource allocation information or a NOMA pattern vector information notification in a DCI or the like.).
Bala explicitly teaches the an instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA (para [0134] of Bala: A WTRU may receive an activation indication regarding when to start applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in physical layer signaling.)
Matsuda, Bala and Maaref fail to explicitly teach based on at least one of a cast type, a data priority, or a quality of service (QoS).
Li discloses that, in paragraph [0010] of Li, in response to the coverage of the terminal device exceeding a coverage threshold and/or the system traffic exceeding a traffic threshold and/or the required QoS being lower than a predetermined QoS threshold, determining the NOMA mode as the access mode of the terminal device. Li is directed to a network device configuring, based on an access mode of a terminal device, an information transmission pattern for the terminal device from a first resource set associated with a MOMA mode and a second resource set associated with a NOMA mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Matsuda and Maaref by using the features (determining the NOMA mode based on QoS, see para [0010] of Li) of Li in order to have more effective method such that UE receive an instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA mode for the sidelink communication based on a quality of service (QoS).
Claim 19, has similar limitation as of Claim 5, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 5.
Claim 25, has similar limitation as of Claim 5, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, Matsuda, Bala, Maaref, and Li teach The apparatus of claim 5, Matsuda further teaches wherein to receive the instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA, the at least one processor is configured to receive the instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA is received via at least one of a physical layer (L1) signal, a media access control (MAC) layer (L2) signal, or a radio resource control (RRC) layer (L3) signal (Para [0155]; The terminal device 2 monitors a set of PDCCH candidates and/or a set of EPDCCH candidates of one or more activated serving cells set by RRC signaling.)(para [0214]; the base station device 1 … notify the terminal device 2 of the applied NOMA pattern vectors (interpreted as “the instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA”) by RRC signaling, a system information block (SIB), a DCI, or the like.).
Claim 20, has similar limitation as of Claim 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, Matsuda, Bala, Maaref, and Li teach The apparatus of claim 5, Bala explicitly teaches wherein the instruction to activate or deactivate the NOMA includes an indication of the timer, and the grant-free NOMA is activated or deactivated until an expiration of the timer (para [0134] of Bala: A WTRU may receive an activation indication regarding when to start applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in physical layer signaling. The WTRU may receive the activation indication in MAC layer signaling, such as in a MAC control element (MAC-CE). The activation indication may include a starting time period for applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset. Upon receiving the activation indication, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset at the starting time period. In an example, the WTRU may beginning applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with an UL transmission that is at least k time periods after the time period in which the activation was received (interpreted as “an indication of the timer, and the grant-free NOMA is activated or deactivated until an expiration of the timer”). The value of k may be configurable (e.g., k may be configured to have an integer value such as 0, 1, 4, etc.). In an example, the WTRU may begin applying NOMA, a NOMA type, and/or a power offset with the UL transmission for which a grant or other physical layer signaling that includes the activation was received (The value of k is interpreted as “timer”)).
Claim 21, has similar limitation as of Claim 7, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 23 appear to contain allowable subject matters underlined below pending on satisfactory of overcoming above 112 rejection and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 14 and 23,
“the at least one configuration of the set of RPs includes a set of frequency domain orthogonal cover codes (FD-OCC) associated with a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and an oversampling factor is applied to the set of FD-OCC.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411