DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 06/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-15, 17, and 19 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of further search and consideration, the claims are rejected on new grounds of rejection, as necessitated by amendment. See rejection of claims below.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks stating that “As shown in the publication, the cells are captured by forcing the fluid through an orifice that is smaller than the cell. This is far different from the apparatus and operation disclosed in the pending application which does not perform any kind of cell capturing, and in fact passes the fluid (blood) with all of its components through the system (a cassette)” on page 8 of Applicant’s remarks, Examiner acknowledged the remarks, but respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recite a cassette for use in the processing of blood, which Handique discloses, i.e. Fig. 7 and Par. 88 – “The cell capture system 100 is preferably used with a cell-containing sample. The cell-containing sample is preferably a blood sample”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., After one set of chambers is filled, the flow in that chamber is stopped. The flow is then switched to the second set of chambers. While the second set of chambers is being filled, the blood in the first set of chambers is static, that is, not moving so processing can be done effectively) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Handique et al. US 2013/0190212 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Handique).
Regarding claim 6, Handique discloses a cassette 100 (Fig. 7 – cell capture system 100, and Par. 29 – “The cell capture system 100 is preferably defined on a chip, more preferably a microfluidic chip, but can alternatively be located on or defined by any suitable substrate 110”) for use in the processing of blood (Par. 87 – “the cell capture system 100 includes pre-processing a sample… The sample is preferably a peripherial whole blood sample, but can be any other suitable sample containing target cells”), comprising:
a plurality of coplanar chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’ below – there are 10 coplanar chambers) within said cassette 100 (Fig. 7), each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ below) having an input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’ below) and an output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ below), wherein each said port C-I/C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ below) comprises an opening in a wall (Fig. 16A depicts a cross-sectional view of a chamber C, wherein each cutout portion is an opening in a wall of cassette 100 that connects to the corresponding input port and output port) of a corresponding said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7 below),
said cassette 100 (Fig. 7) having an input 320 (Fig. 7 – sample inlet 320) and an output 420 (Fig. 7 – sample outlet 420),
an input line 300 (Fig. 7 – inlet manifold 300) having a linear segment 204 (Fig. 7 – main channel 204, the outermost and leftmost vertical branch) thereof extending through a first wall of said cassette 100 (Fig. 7 – main channel 204, on its right wall, branches into subsequent feeder channels 206), said input line 300 (Fig. 7) having a plurality of connecting lines 206 (Fig. 7 – subsequent feeder channels 206) coupled respectively to said chamber input ports C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’ below), and,
an output line 400 (Fig. 7 – outlet manifold 400) having a linear segment 204 (Fig. 7 – main channel 204, the outermost and rightmost vertical branch) thereof extending through said first wall of said cassette 100 (Fig. 7 – from the leftmost main channel 204 extends through the rightmost main channel 204), said output line 400 (Fig. 7) having a plurality of connecting lines 206 (Fig. 7 – subsequent horizontal feeder channels 206 following the rightmost vertical main channel 204) coupled respectively to said chamber output ports C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ below).
Annotated Fig. 7’ of Handique
Regarding claim 7, Handique suggests the invention of claim 6. Handique further discloses at least a segment of said input line 204 (Fig. 7 – channel 204, the inner vertical branch next to the leftmost main channel 204) is parallel with at least a segment of said output line 204 (Fig. 7 – channel 204, the inner vertical branch next to the rightmost main channel 204; both are vertically parallel).
Regarding claim 8, Handique suggests the invention of claim 6. Handique further discloses chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 above) has a plurality of parallel flow channels 220 (Fig. 7 – pores 220 that are parallel) extending between the chamber input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) and the chamber output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ above).
Regarding claim 9, Handique suggests the invention of claim 6. Handique further discloses including a plurality of ridges (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) in each of said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above), said ridges in each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) extending in length between the chamber input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) and the chamber output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ above – each chamber’s parallel ridges are arranged between the chamber input port C-I and the chamber output port C-O).
Regarding claim 10, Handique suggests the invention of claim 9. Handique further discloses wherein said plurality of ridges (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) in each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) extend between the input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) and the output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) of the corresponding chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) to form a plurality of parallel flow paths channels 220 (Fig. 7 – pores 220 that are parallel) in each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above).
Regarding claim 11, Handique suggests the invention of claim 6. Handique further discloses wherein said input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) and said output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) of each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) have the same cross-section configuration as that of the corresponding chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above - the vertical width of chamber input port C-I and chamber output port C-O spans across the width of a chamber, thus having the same cross-section configuration).
Regarding claim 12, Handique suggests the invention of claim 6. Handique further discloses wherein said plurality of chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’ above) are configured in a rectangular array 200 (Fig. 7 – array 200 is rectangular) and said input line liner segment 204 (Fig. 7 – channel 204 on the left) and said output line liner segment 204 (Fig. 7 – channel 204 on the right) are on a common side of said array 200 (Fig. 7 – inlet channels 204 arranged on the left side and outlet channels 204 arranged on the right side).
Regarding claim 13, Handique suggests the invention of claim 6. Handique further discloses wherein said cassette 100 (Fig. 7) has a planar rectangular configuration (Fig. 7 – system 100 is rectangular) and said first wall of said cassette is planar (Fig. 7 and Fig. 16A – planar walls).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handique.
Regarding claim 1, Handique discloses a cassette 100 (Fig. 7 – cell capture system 100, and Par. 29 – “The cell capture system 100 is preferably defined on a chip, more preferably a microfluidic chip, but can alternatively be located on or defined by any suitable substrate 110”) for use in the processing of blood (Par. 87 – “the cell capture system 100 includes pre-processing a sample… The sample is preferably a peripherial whole blood sample, but can be any other suitable samdple containing target cells”), comprising:
said cassette 100 (Fig. 7) having therein a plurality of chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 below – there are 10 chambers),
said cassette 100 (Fig. 7) having a fluid input 320 (Fig. 7 – sample inlet 320) and a fluid output 420 (Fig. 7 – sample outlet 420),
each of said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 below) having an input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7 below) and an output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7 below), wherein each said port C-I/C-O (see annotated Fig. 7 below) comprises an opening in a wall (Fig. 16A depicts a cross-sectional view of a chamber C, wherein each cutout portion is an opening in a wall of cassette 100 that connects to the corresponding input port and output port) of a corresponding said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7 below),
a plurality of parallel ridges (see annotated Fig. 7 below) in each of said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 below), said ridges (see annotated Fig. 7 below) in each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7 below) forming a plurality of parallel flow channels 220 (Fig. 7 – pores 220 that are parallel) extending between each said chamber input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7 below) and output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7 below),
an input distribution line 300 (Fig. 7 – inlet manifold 300) having an input 204 (Fig. 7 – main channel 204, the outermost and leftmost vertical branch) coupled to said cassette fluid input 320 (Fig. 7) and a plurality of outputs 206 (Fig. 7 – a plurality of feeder channels 206) coupled respectively to the input ports C-I (see annotated Fig. 7 below) of said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 below), and
an output distribution collection line 400 (Fig. 7 – outlet manifold 400) having a plurality of inputs coupled 206 (Fig. 7, and Par. 49 – “Each outlet sub-manifold 402 preferably includes a main channel 204 and a plurality of feeder channels 206”) respectively to said output ports C-O (see annotated Fig. 7 below) of said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 below) and said output collection line 400 (Fig. 7) having an output (Fig. 7 – the right side of manifold 400) coupled to said fluid cassette output port 420 (Fig. 7).
Annotated Fig. 7 of Handique
However, Handique does not disclose said ridges in each said chamber extending from the corresponding chamber input port to the corresponding chamber output port.
Handique, in another embodiment, teaches said ridges 220 (Fig. 2) in each said chamber (Fig. 2 depicts a three-row chamber) extending from the corresponding chamber input port 240 (Fig. 2) to the corresponding chamber output port 260 (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ridges of Handique to have them extend from the chamber input port to the corresponding chamber output port, also as taught by Handique, in order to provide a sample flow through the system (Par. 31 of Handique). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ridges of Handique to have the arrangement as claimed, as Handique teaches both embodiments. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
Regarding claim 2, Handique suggests the invention of claim 1. Handique further discloses wherein each of said channels 220 (Fig. 7) has a rectangular cross section configuration (Fig. 3B – channels 220 have a rectangular cross-section, and Par. 37 – “In one variation, as shown in FIG. 3B, the chamber 222 has a rectangular cross-section”).
Regarding claim 3, Handique suggests the invention of claim 1. Handique further discloses wherein said plurality of chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 above) are positioned in a rectangular coplanar array 200 (Fig. 7 – array 200 is rectangular).
Regarding claim 4, Handique suggests the invention of claim 1. Handique further discloses wherein said input ports (see annotated Fig. 7 above), said output ports (see annotated Fig. 7 above), and said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7 above) each have a rectangular cross-section configuration (Fig. 3B, Fig. 11D, and Par. 37).
Regarding claim 5, Handique suggests the invention of claim 1. Handique further discloses wherein the input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7 above) of each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7 above) has a width that corresponds to the width of the corresponding chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7 above – the vertical width of chamber input port C-I spans across the width of a chamber C).
Regarding claim 14, Handique discloses a cassette 100 (Fig. 7 – cell capture system 100, and Par. 29 – “The cell capture system 100 is preferably defined on a chip, more preferably a microfluidic chip, but can alternatively be located on or defined by any suitable substrate 110”) for use in the processing of blood (Par. 87 – “the cell capture system 100 includes pre-processing a sample… The sample is preferably a peripherial whole blood sample, but can be any other suitable sample containing target cells”), comprising:
a first plurality of chambers (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) within said cassette 100 (Fig. 7), each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) in said first plurality of chambers (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) having an input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) and an output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below),
a second plurality of chambers (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) within said cassette 100 (Fig. 7), each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) in said second plurality of chambers (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) having an input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) and an output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below),
said cassette 100 (Fig. 7) having a first input 320 (Fig. 7 – sample inlet 320), and an output 420 (Fig. 7 – sample outlet 420),
a first distribution manifold 300 (Fig. 7 – inlet manifold 300) having an input 204 (Fig. 7 – main channel 204, the outermost and leftmost vertical branch) thereof coupled to said cassette first input 320 (Fig. 7) and a plurality of outputs 206 (Fig. 7 – a plurality of feeder channels 206) thereof coupled respectively to said input ports C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) of said first plurality of chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below),
a collection manifold 400 (Fig. 7 – outlet manifold 400) having a plurality of inputs 206 (Fig. 7, and Par. 49 – “Each outlet sub-manifold 402 preferably includes a main channel 204 and a plurality of feeder channels 206”; the discussion of Par. 49 indicates that there is symmetry between the inlet and outlet end of the system; thus, line channels 206 are also referred to for the outlet side) thereof coupled respectively to the output ports C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below) of said first and second plurality of chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ below), said collection manifold 400 (Fig. 7) having an output (Fig. 7 – the right side of manifold 400) coupled to said cassette output 420 (Fig. 7).
However, Handique does not currently disclose a second input, a second distribution manifold having an input thereof coupled to said cassette second input port and a plurality of outputs thereof coupled respectively to said input ports of said second plurality of chambers.
Annotated Fig. 7’ of Handique
Handique, in another embodiment, teaches a second input (see annotated Fig. 9 below), a second distribution manifold 300 (Fig. 9 – left inlet manifold 300, Par. 66 – “include two inlet manifolds 300”) having an input thereof coupled to said cassette second input port (see annotated Fig. 9 below) and a plurality of outputs (Fig. 9 – branched network from the left inlet manifold 300) thereof coupled respectively to said input ports of said second plurality of chambers 202 (Fig. 9 – branched network from the left inlet manifold 300 are fluidly coupled to the left array set 202).
Annotated Fig. 9 of Handique
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Handique to further include a second input and a second distribution manifold such that they deliver fluid to the second plurality of chambers, also as taught by Handique, in order to process more sample fluid within the device. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Handique to further include a second input and a second distribution, as Handique teaches both embodiments. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
Regarding claim 16, Handique suggests the invention of claim 14. Handique further discloses wherein said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) are configured in a rectangular array 200 (Fig. 7 of Handique – array 200 is rectangular).
Regarding claim 17, Handique suggests the invention of claim 14. Handique further discloses including a plurality of parallel ridges (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) in each of said chambers C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above), said ridges (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) in each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) extending in length between the corresponding chamber input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) and the corresponding chamber output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above – each chamber’s parallel ridges are arranged between the chamber input port C-I and the chamber output port C-O).
Regarding claim 18, Handique suggests the invention of claim 14. Handique further discloses wherein said input port C-I (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) and said output port C-O (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) of each said chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) and the corresponding chamber C (see annotated Fig. 7’’ of Handique above) have a rectangular cross section (Fig. 3B of Handique, Fig. 11D of Handique, and Par. 37 of Handique).
Regarding claim 19, Handique suggests the invention of claim 14. Handique further discloses wherein at least portions of said first distribution manifold 300 (Fig. 7 of Handique – inlet manifold 300), said second distribution manifold (Fig. 9 of Handique) and said collection manifold 400 (Fig. 7 – outlet manifold 400) are configured in parallel (Fig 7 of Handique and Fig. 9 of Handique – horizontal orientation).
Regarding claim 20, Handique suggests the invention of claim 14. Handique further discloses wherein said first distribution manifold 300 (Fig. 7 of Handique – inlet manifold 300), said second distribution manifold (Fig. 9 of Handique) and said collection manifold 400 (Fig. 7 – outlet manifold 400) are coplanar (Fig. 7 of Handique and Fig. 9 of Handique – three manifolds are on the same plane).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handique in view of Mochizuki US 2017/0182238 A1 (newly cited, hereinafter Mochizuki).
Regarding claim 15, Handique discloses the invention of claim 14. However, Handique does not disclose including a two state valve having an input for receiving said blood and two outputs, said valve outputs connected respectively to said first distribution manifold and said second distribution manifold.
Mochizuki, in the same field of endeavor of blood processing device (Title), teaches including a two state valve 3 (Fig. 4-5 – valve means 3) having an input (Fig. 4 – line from B1, leftward arrow at P2) for receiving said blood (Fig. 4 – input is capable of receiving blood) and two outputs 3b, 3c (Fig. 5), said valve outputs 3b, 3c (Fig. 5) connected respectively to said first distribution manifold L3 (Fig. 5) and said second distribution manifold L1 (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Handique to further include a two state valve as taught by Mochizuki, in order to close and open the desired line in any manner (Abstract). This allow treatment to be selective (Par. 9 of Mochizuki).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUYNH DAO LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781