Claims Status
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-10, 12-14, 16, 18-20, 23, 25-27, and 29 are pending and are examined on the merits.
REJECTIONS MAINTAINED
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-10, 12-13, 18-20, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. 2019 (Cell Stem Cell 25.4 (2019): 542-557.; of record), herein Zhu, in view of Rotolo et al. 2018 (Cancer Cell 34.4 (2018): 596-610.; of record), herein “Rotolo”, Ma et al. 2018 (US 2018/0162939 A1; of record), herein “Ma”, and Canté-Barrett (BMC research notes, 9(1), 312.; of record), herein “Canté-Barrett”, and as evidenced by GenBank DQ341448.1 (“J3N.5 T cell receptor alpha chain”; https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/DQ341448.1; deposited 03/17/2006; of record) and GenBank DQ341459.1 (“J3N.5 T cell receptor beta chain”; https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/DQ341459.1; deposited 03/17/2006; of record).
Zhu teaches a lentiviral construct comprising invariant TCRα and TCRβ (Figure 1) for use in the differentiation of invariant natural killer T (iNKT) cells from hematopoietic stem cells (HSC-iNKT) – which solves the problem of the relatively low numbers of naturally occurring iNKT cells (Summary).
Figure 1 demonstrates that the TCRs can be linked with a cleavable linker (F2A) and that additional components can be linked with a P2A linker (e.g., EGFP or the suicide gene sr39TK).
Zhu further proposes that this technology can be combined with CARs in the future (Discussion): “Moreover, recent studies showed promising cancer therapy potential of chimeric antigen receptor (CAR)-engineered iNKT cells; therefore, further engineering HSC-iNKT cells to express CAR to enhance their tumor-targeting effectiveness may represent another attractive approach”.
Regarding Claims 19-20, 23, and 25-27, Zhu further teaches a viral vector comprising a nucleic acid encoding for TCRα and TCRβ (Figure 1), a method of generating an engineered cell comprising transducing a cell with said viral vector (Materials and Methods; “Generation of BLT and BLT-iNKT Humanized mice”), a pharmaceutical composition comprising said engineered cell (Materials and Methods; i.v. injection of 1x107 HSC-iNKT cells in PBS vehicle), and that the engineered cells can be autologous or allogenic (Graphical Abstract).
Zhu teaches that in contrast conventional αβ T cells, mice administered iNKT cells were significantly protected from graft-versus-host disease (GvHD), whereas all control mice eventually died of GvHD (Fig. S2; Pg. 546, § Safety Study of HSC-iNKT Cell Therapy in BLT-iNKT Humanized Mice).
Nucleotide sequences encoding for invariant TCRα and TCRβ chains are 831 bp and 948 bp in length, respectively, as evidenced by GenBank DQ341448.1 and GenBank DQ341459.1, respectively.
Zhu does not teach that the constructs comprise anti-CD19 and anti-CD20 CARs linked to the TCRs nor that TCRα and TCRβ are expressed from separate vectors.
Rotolo teaches a “CAR iNKT” cell comprising both an invariant TCR and an anti-CD19 CAR (“CAR19-iNKT cells”), which resulted in enhanced cytotoxicity against CD19+ leukemia cells relative to conventional CAR19-T cells (Summary). Figure S1 demonstrates that the anti-CD19 CAR can be introduced via lentiviral vectors and can be linked to additional components with a 2A self-cleaving peptide, that the CAR is a conventional “3rd gen” CAR comprising a hinge, a CD28 transmembrane domain, and intracellular CD28 and CD3ζ costimulatory and activating domains. Rotolo further teaches that combining the CAR with iNKT cells preserves iNKT function (Pg 598-599; “Co-operative Activation of CAR19-iNKT Cells”).
Like Zhu, Rotolo teaches that the endogenous T cell receptor in CAR-modified T cells can lead to GvHD, and that unlike conventional T cells, iNKT cells protect from GvHD – suggesting a dual benefit to CAR-iNKT cells in both the added targeting of CD1d and protection from the risk of GvHD (Introduction).
Ma teaches a “compound CAR” construct comprising an anti-CD19 CAR and anti-CD20 CAR linked by a cleavable P2A element, each CAR comprising a leader peptide, an antigen-specific scFv, a hinge region, a transmembrane domain, a 4-1BB or CD28 costimulatory domain, and a CD3ζ primary signaling domain (Fig. 15, 16A).
Ma teaches that combining a CD19 CAR with a second CAR targeting CD20 safeguards against antigen escape and disease relapse in adoptive cell therapy for B-cell malignancies (¶0464).
Ma acknowledges that with longer gene constructs, expression drops significantly with each 1 kb of additional length (¶1000). Ma teaches that transduction efficiencies with compound CARs are lower than with single CARs and highlights the need to optimize transduction efficiency to achieve the desired killing activity of the CAR T cells (¶1063).
Ma teaches that a nucleotide sequence encoding a pair of CARs is just over 3kb in length (e.g. Ma SEQ ID NO: 167), which is approximately 1.5kb for each CAR.
Ma teaches that GvHD “remains the most important cause of morbidity and mortality after allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplants”, and that the cause of GvHD is the endogenous TCR expressed on the engineered T cells (¶0552).
Canté-Barrett teaches the optimization of lentiviral transduction in primary hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) and T cells (Abstract). Like Ma, Canté-Barrett teaches that vector size has a profound impact on transduction efficiency (Fig. 3), and that this problem is even more pronounced in HSCs, which required a thousand-fold more virus particles than JURKAT cells for smaller vectors but up to 104 times more for larger vectors (Pg. 4, Col. 2). Canté-Barrett teaches that even a modest reduction in vector size by 600 bp can improve HSC transduction efficiency by more than threefold (§ Discussion).
Given the suggestion by Zhu that the HSC-iNKT technology could be combined with CARs and the reduction to practice of an iNKT cell expressing a CD19 CAR by Rotolo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the invariant TCRα/TCRβ construct taught by Zhu with the dual CD19-CAR and CD20-CAR construct taught by Ma.
One would have been motivated to do so because Ma teaches that cells comprising both a CD19-CAR and CD20-CAR can mitigate antigen escape and relapse, and Rotolo teaches CAR-iNKT cells outperform conventional CAR-T cells. Further, Ma acknowledges the risk of GvHD induced by adoptive CAR-T cells, and both Zhu and Rotolo teach that iNKT cells, unlike conventional T cells, protect from GvHD with the added benefit of targeting CD1d.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Rotolo teaches the feasibility and benefits of expressing a CD19-CAR in iNKT cells, and because Zhu teaches that differentiating iNKT cells from stem cells by forced expression of invariant TCRα and TCRβ chains solves the issue of the limited supply of iNKT cells.
It further would have been obvious to rearrange the expression vectors of Zhu and Ma such that the first vector comprises the first CAR linked to the invariant TCRα chain, and the second vector comprises the second CAR linked to the invariant TCRβ chain. The skilled artisan would have been motivated make this modification to because Ma teaches that large constructs comprising two CARs present a challenge to transduction efficiency, and Canté-Barrett teaches that the impact of vector size on transduction efficiency is even more pronounced for HSCs.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Canté-Barrett teaches that even a modest 600bp difference in vector size can improve transduction efficiency in HSCs by more than threefold, and each the TCRα and TCRβ chains are ~600bp smaller than a typical CAR (831/927 bp vs 1.5kb), resulting in a pair of vectors each with a reduced size relative to the dual-CAR constructs of Ma – with the added benefit that both vectors would be closely matched in size (and thus transduction efficiency).
Claims 14, 16, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. 2019 (Cell Stem Cell 25.4 (2019): 542-557.; of record), herein Zhu, in view of Rotolo et al. 2018 (Cancer Cell 34.4 (2018): 596-610.; of record), herein “Rotolo”, Ma et al. 2018 (US 2018/0162939 A1; of record), herein “Ma”, and Canté-Barrett (BMC research notes, 9(1), 312.; of record), herein “Canté-Barrett”, as applied to claims 1, 9, and 13 above, further in view of Perez et al. 2020 (WO 2020/123691 A2; Published 06/18/2020; of record), herein “Perez”, and as evidenced by GenBank ADM64594.1 (“FMC63-28Z receptor protein”; https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/protein/ADM64594.1/; deposited 06/11/2012; of record).
The teachings of Zhu, Rotolo, Ma, and Canté-Barrett are described above.
Regarding claims 14, 16, and 29, Rotolo further teaches that the CD19-CAR comprises the FMC63 scFv (Figure S1A). The sequence of FMC63 (as evidenced by GenBank: ADM64594.1) comprises 100% of both VH and VL of instant SEQ ID NOs: 221 and 232, including the CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 224, 227, 230, 235, 238, and 241. See alignment below, CDRs are highlighted:
Although the combined teachings of Zhu, Rotolo, Ma, and Canté-Barrett teach combining anti-CD19 CARs with anti-CD20 CARs, they do not teach the specific CD20 CAR of Claims 14, 16, and 29. This deficiency is cured by Perez.
Perez teaches an anti-CD20 binding domain comprising a VH and VL comprising 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 12, respectively – including the CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 4, 7, 10, 15, 18, and 21 (Perez claims 1, 3, and 6). See alignment below, CDRs are highlighted:
Additionally, Perez teaches a CAR comprising the aforementioned CD20 binding domain (Perez claims 16-17) and further teaches a second polypeptide comprising a CD19-CAR (Perez claims 18, 20) with a CD19-binding domain which comprises the same heavy and light chain CDRs as the instant claims and FMC63 (Perez SEQ ID NOs: 224, 227, 230, 235, 238, and 241 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 224, 227, 230, 235, 238, and 241; see alignment below as well as previously presented FMC63 alignment). Perez teaches that the CD20 and CD19 CARs can be expressed in a bi-cistronic vector and cells expressing these CARs together possess cytotoxicity to Raji cells (Table 21).
It therefore would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make an antigen binding system comprising a first construct comprising TCRα linked to CD19-CAR by a 2A peptide and a second construct comprising TCRβ linked to CD20-CAR by a 2A peptide wherein the CD19-CAR comprised the CD19 binding domain of FMC63 as taught by the combination of Zhu, Rotolo, Ma, and Canté-Barrett and the CD20-CAR comprised the CD20 binding domain of SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 12 as taught by Perez. One would be motivated to do so because FMC63 is well-proven CD19 binding domain common in the art and Perez teaches that the CD20 binding domains of SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 12 binds cells expressing CD20 (Table 15). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Perez teaches the combination of these two CD19 and CD20 CARs in a bi-cistronic vector and demonstrates cytotoxicity against cancer cell lines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has made no amendments to the claims in response to the previous office action.
Applicant submits: None of the cited references teach or suggest the specific structural configuration required by claim 1: a single construct in which a CAR is directly linked via a cleavable linker to an invariant TCR chain. The Examiner has not identified any prior art reference that discloses this arrangement.
In Response: This is not a 102 rejection wherein a single prior art must disclose all limitations of the instant claims. The rejection is formatted as an obvious type rejection with clear motivation to combine the prior art and reasonable expectation for success (included below).
Further while no one reference teaches the structural configuration as recited in instant claim 1, prior art teaches all elements of the structure: Given the suggestion by Zhu that the HSC-iNKT technology could be combined with CARs and the reduction to practice of an iNKT cell expressing a CD19 CAR by Rotolo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the invariant TCRα/TCRβ construct taught by Zhu with the dual CD19-CAR and CD20-CAR construct taught by Ma.
One would have been motivated to do so because Ma teaches that cells comprising both a CD19-CAR and CD20-CAR can mitigate antigen escape and relapse, and Rotolo teaches CAR-iNKT cells outperform conventional CAR-T cells. Further, Ma acknowledges the risk of GvHD induced by adoptive CAR-T cells, and both Zhu and Rotolo teach that iNKT cells, unlike conventional T cells, protect from GvHD with the added benefit of targeting CD1d.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Rotolo teaches the feasibility and benefits of expressing a CD19-CAR in iNKT cells, and because Zhu teaches that differentiating iNKT cells from stem cells by forced expression of invariant TCRα and TCRβ chains solves the issue of the limited supply of iNKT cells.
The rationale to apply a technique taught by the prior art as improving the therapeutic and production characteristics of a similar construct is to predictably obtain an improvement to the second construct and is consistent with the exemplary rationales provided by the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) and discussed in M.P.E.P. § 2143. For these reasons, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Applicant submits: Applicant submits that this rationale represents impermissible hindsight reconstruction. See MPEP § 2142. The desire to reduce vector size does not logically lead to the specific claimed arrangement. If the goal were simply to reduce vector size, a skilled artisan could distribute the components in many different ways-for example, placing both TCR chains on one vector and both CARs on another, or placing all four components on separate vectors, or any number of other permutations. The Examiner has not explained why a skilled artisan would specifically choose to
In Response: In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's
conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be
recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction
based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge
which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made,
and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a
reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA
1971).
While the specific arrangement of the constructs is not taught by the prior art, all of the elements contained therein are taught by the prior art; including the concept to link a CAR to additional elements with a cleavable 2A linker (Rotolo; supra). Previous arguments also addressed the rationale as to why a person of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the instantly claimed configuration (OA 02/05/2026) in that there were known challenges in the art regarding vector size and transduction efficiency. The action asserts that 1) it would have been obvious to combine the HSC-iNKT differentiation technology of Zhu with CARs such as the “compound CAR” taught by Ma owing to the proof of concept CAR iNKT cells taught by Rotolo and the express suggestions by Zhu that addition of CARs to the HSC-iNKT cells would be an “attractive approach” to increasing tumor targeting; and 2) the particular arrangement of the required components across two vectors as described in the instant claims would have been obvious because it minimizes vector size – following the rationale taught by Ma and Canté‑Barrett.
Applicant submits: The Examiner has further alleged that "2A linkers are extraordinarily common in the art" and that "their utility in constructing expression cassettes comprising multiple discrete protein products would have been well understood." Office Action, page 9. While Applicant does not dispute that 2A linkers are well-known, the issue is not whether 2A linkers can be used, but rather what specific components a skilled artisan would be motivated to link together using such linkers. In Zhu, 2A linkers connect TCR chains to each other (or to reporter genes). In Ma, 2A linkers connect two CARs to each other. The claimed constructs use 2A linkers for a fundamentally different pairing-connecting a CAR to an invariant TCR chain. This is a structurally distinct arrangement that is not taught or suggested by the prior art.
In Response: Rotolo specifically teaches that the anti-CD19 CAR can be introduced via lentiviral vectors and can be linked to additional components with a 2A self-cleaving peptide as detailed in the rejection above. As a well-studied and commonly used element in the art that is specifically cited in the prior art as being useful to connect CAR constructs to additional elements, utilizing a 2A linker is prima facie obvious.
Applicant submits: The Examiner dismissed Applicant's arguments regarding the double-positive cell selection mechanism by citing Ex parte Obiaya, stating that "the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability." Office Action, page 9. However, this reasoning presupposes that the prior art actually suggests the claimed construct architecture-which, as argued above, it does not.
In response: These arguments were addressed at length in the OA mailed 02/05/2026.
The arguments addressing whether the prior art teaches the claimed construct have been addressed above and as the obviousness rejection is maintained the response to this argument is also maintained.
Further, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., double positive cell selection mechanism) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-10, 12-14, 16, 18-20, 23, 25-27, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,834 in view of Zhu et al. 2019 (Cell Stem Cell 25.4 (2019): 542-55I 7.; of record), herein Zhu, Rotolo et al. 2018 (Cancer Cell 34.4 (2018): 596-610.; of record), herein “Rotolo”, Ma et al. 2018 (US 2018/0162939 A1; of record), herein “Ma”, and Canté-Barrett (BMC research notes, 9(1), 312.; of record), herein “Canté-Barrett”, and as evidenced by GenBank DQ341448.1 (“J3N.5 T cell receptor alpha chain”; https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/DQ341448.1; deposited 03/17/2006; of record) and GenBank DQ341459.1 (“J3N.5 T cell receptor beta chain”; https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/DQ341459.1; deposited 03/17/2006; of record).
‘834 claims 8-13 are drawn to a cell comprising a first anti-CD20 CAR comprising an anti-CD20 binding domain with a HCDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 4, 7, and 10, respectively, and LCDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 15, 18, and 21, respectively, and a second CAR comprising a CD19 comprising a VH and VL comprising SEQ ID NOs: 221 and 232, respectively, wherein the second CAR comprises a transmembrane domain, a hinge (CD8α), activating domain (CD3ζ), and costimulatory domain (CD28). Claim 13 is further drawn to a CD19-CAR further comprising “an alpha chain of a T cell receptor” and “a beta chain of a T cell receptor”. The anti-CD20 HCDRs/LCDRs and anti-CD19 VH/VL are identical to those of the instant claims (Instant SEQ ID NOs: 4, 7, 10, 15, 18, 21, 221, 224, 227, 230, 232, 235, 238, and 241; see alignments presented in the previous U.S.C. 103 rejections above).
‘834 claims 14-17 are drawn to a nucleic acid encoding the CD20 antigen binding domain, a vector comprising said nucleic acid, and a method of generating an engineered cell comprising transducing a cell with said nucleic acid. Although claims 14-17 do not require the CD19 CAR taught by claims 8-13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the nucleic acids, vectors, and method of generating an engineered cell of claims 14-17 could further comprise the CD19 CAR required by other embodiments of the invention.
The claims of ‘834 are not drawn to the CD20-CAR further comprising an TCRα or TCRβ chain nor are the claims drawn to constructs wherein the CD19- or CD20-CAR is linked to a TCRα or TCRβ by cleavable T2A linkers. The claims of ‘834 are further silent on whether the cells are autologous or allogenic or of the cells are comprised in a pharmaceutical composition. These deficiencies are cured by Zhu, Rotolo, Ma, and Canté-Barrett.
Zhu teaches a lentiviral construct comprising invariant TCRα and TCRβ (Figure 1) for use in the differentiation of invariant natural killer T (iNKT) cells from hematopoietic stem cells (HSC-iNKT) – which solves the problem of the relatively low numbers of naturally occurring iNKT cells (Summary).
Figure 1 demonstrates that the TCRs can be linked with a cleavable linker (F2A) and that additional components can be linked with a P2A linker (e.g., EGFP or the suicide gene sr39TK).
Zhu further proposes that this technology can be combined with CARs in the future (Discussion): “Moreover, recent studies showed promising cancer therapy potential of chimeric antigen receptor (CAR)-engineered iNKT cells; therefore, further engineering HSC-iNKT cells to express CAR to enhance their tumor-targeting effectiveness may represent another attractive approach”.
Regarding Claims 19-20, 23, and 25-27, Zhu further teaches a viral vector comprising a nucleic acid encoding for TCRα and TCRβ (Figure 1), a method of generating an engineered cell comprising transducing a cell with said viral vector (Materials and Methods; “Generation of BLT and BLT-iNKT Humanized mice”), a pharmaceutical composition comprising said engineered cell (Materials and Methods; i.v. injection of 1x107 HSC-iNKT cells in PBS vehicle), and that the engineered cells can be autologous or allogenic (Graphical Abstract).
Zhu teaches that in contrast conventional αβ T cells, mice administered iNKT cells were significantly protected from graft-versus-host disease (GvHD), whereas all control mice eventually died of GvHD (Fig. S2; Pg. 546, § Safety Study of HSC-iNKT Cell Therapy in BLT-iNKT Humanized Mice).
Nucleotide sequences encoding for invariant TCRα and TCRβ chains are 831 bp and 948 bp in length, respectively, as evidenced by GenBank DQ341448.1 and GenBank DQ341459.1, respectively.
Rotolo teaches a “CAR iNKT” cell comprising both an invariant TCR and an anti-CD19 CAR (“CAR19-iNKT cells”), which resulted in enhanced cytotoxicity against CD19+ leukemia cells relative to conventional CAR19-T cells (Summary). Figure S1 demonstrates that the anti-CD19 CAR can be introduced via lentiviral vectors and can be linked to additional components with a 2A self-cleaving peptide, that the CAR is a conventional “3rd gen” CAR comprising a hinge, a CD28 transmembrane domain, and intracellular CD28 and CD3ζ costimulatory and activating domains. Rotolo further teaches that combining the CAR with iNKT cells preserves iNKT function (Pg 598-599; “Co-operative Activation of CAR19-iNKT Cells”).
Like Zhu, Rotolo teaches that the endogenous T cell receptor in CAR-modified T cells can lead to GvHD, and that unlike conventional T cells, iNKT cells protect from GvHD – suggesting a dual benefit to CAR-iNKT cells in both the added targeting of CD1d and protection from the risk of GvHD (Introduction).
Ma teaches a “compound CAR” construct comprising an anti-CD19 CAR and anti-CD20 CAR linked by a cleavable P2A element, each CAR comprising a leader peptide, an antigen-specific scFv, a hinge region, a transmembrane domain, a 4-1BB or CD28 costimulatory domain, and a CD3ζ primary signaling domain (Fig. 15, 16A).
Ma teaches that combining a CD19 CAR with a second CAR targeting CD20 safeguards against antigen escape and disease relapse in adoptive cell therapy for B-cell malignancies (¶0464).
Ma acknowledges teaches that with longer gene constructs, expression drops significantly with each 1 kb of additional length (¶1000). Ma teaches that transduction efficiencies with compound CARs are lower than with single CARs and highlights the need to optimize transduction efficiency to achieve the desired killing activity of the CAR T cells (¶1063).
Ma teaches that a nucleotide sequence encoding a pair of CARs is just over 3kb in length (e.g. Ma SEQ ID NO: 167), which is approximately 1.5kb for each CAR.
Ma teaches that GvHD “remains the most important cause of morbidity and mortality after allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplants”, and that the cause of GvHD is the endogenous TCR expressed on the engineered T cells (¶0552).
Canté-Barrett teaches the optimization of lentiviral transduction in primary hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) and T cells (Abstract). Like Ma, Canté-Barrett teaches that vector size has a profound impact on transduction efficiency (Fig. 3), and that this problem is even more pronounced in HSCs, which required a thousand-fold more virus particles than JURKAT cells for smaller vectors but up to 104 times more for larger vectors (Pg. 4, Col. 2). Canté-Barrett teaches that even a modest reduction in vector size by 600 bp can improve HSC transduction efficiency by more than threefold (§ Discussion).
Given the suggestion by Zhu that the HSC-iNKT technology could be combined with CARs and the reduction to practice of an iNKT cell expressing a CD19 CAR by Rotolo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the invariant TCRα/TCRβ construct taught by Zhu with the CD19-CAR and CD20-CAR of patent ‘834.
One would have been motivated to do so because and Rotolo teaches CAR-iNKT cells outperform conventional CAR-T cells. Further, Ma acknowledges the risk of GvHD induced by adoptive CAR-T cells, and both Zhu and Rotolo teach that iNKT cells, unlike conventional T cells, protect from GvHD with the added benefit of targeting CD1d.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Rotolo teaches the feasibility and benefits of expressing a CD19-CAR in iNKT cells, and because Zhu teaches that differentiating iNKT cells from stem cells by forced expression of invariant TCRα and TCRβ chains solves the issue of the limited supply of iNKT cells.
It further would have been obvious to distribute the TCR chains and CARs across two separate expression vectors such that the first vector comprises the first CAR linked to the invariant TCRα chain by a 2A element, and the second vector comprises the second CAR linked to the invariant TCRβ chain by a 2A element. The skilled artisan would have been motivated arrange the vectors in this way because Ma teaches that large constructs comprising two CARs present a challenge to transduction efficiency, and Canté-Barrett teaches that the impact of vector size on transduction efficiency is even more pronounced for HSCs.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Zhu and Ma teach the use of self-cleaving 2A peptides to express multiple proteins (including TCRs or CARs) from a single construct, Canté-Barrett teaches that even a modest 600bp difference in vector size can improve transduction efficiency in HSCs by more than threefold, and each the TCRα and TCRβ chains are ~600bp smaller than a typical CAR (831/927 bp vs 1.5kb), resulting in a pair of vectors each with a reduced size relative to the dual-CAR constructs of Ma – with the added benefit that both vectors would be closely matched in size (and thus transduction efficiency).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant does not present separate arguments, but instead refers to the arguments made against the 35 USC § 103 obviousness rejections. Accordingly, the response is the same as stated above. Briefly, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMBER K FAUST/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643