DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 12/30/25. The applicant has overcome the objection, the 35 USC 112 rejection and the rejection under Section 102 as set forth in the previous office action. Refer to the aforementioned amendment for specific details on applicant's rebuttal arguments and/or remarks. However, the present claims are now finally rejected over a new ground of rejection as formulated hereinbelow and for the reasons of record:
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-6, 8, 13-14 and 16-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/02/25 and 07/21/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication “Effects of metal foam properties on flow and water distribution in polymer electrolyte fuel cells (PEFCs)” by Jo et al (hereinafter referred to as Jo et al) in view of Cho et al 2014/0004441.
As to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9, 11-12 and 15:
In the same field of applicant’s endeavor, Jo et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a polymer electrolyte fuel cell comprising a membrane electrode assembly, a bipolar plate/body and a gas diffusion layer interposed therebetween wherein a component of the bipolar plate/body-gas diffusion layer arrangement is a made of a porous metal foam including a fluid flow field/passageways including microchannels embedded therein having varying 2D-3D geometrical shapes/lengths (see Abstract; see Introduction; See Numerical Model; See Results and Discussion; see FIGURES 1 & 5). In this case, since the present claims fail to define the specific structure of each the fuel cell assembly, the gas diffusion layer and bipolar plate as well as their specific structural arrangement, it is deemed that the teachings of Jo et al sufficient to satisfy applicant’s broadly claimed and structurally undefined fuel cell assembly. Figures 1 and 5, infra, illustrate the structure of the polymer electrolyte fuel cell comprising the porous metal foam component related to the bipolar plate/body-gas diffusion layer arrangement:
As to claims 2 and 10:
Jo et al disclose porous metal foams made of Cu-based and Ni-based metals (see Introduction).
Jo et al disclose a polymer electrolyte fuel cell assembly according to the foregoing aspects. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific gas diffusion layer composed of a microporous metal foam.
As to claims 1, 3-4 and 11-12:
In this respect, in the same field of applicant’s endeavor, Cho et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a fuel cell assembly including a fuel cell comprising a membrane electrode assembly including a polymer electrolyte membrane interposed between respective anode and cathode layers, and gas diffusion layers made of microporous metal foam (Abstract; 0012; 0016-0018; 0032; 0044; 0047-0049; Figures 1B & 2). Figure 2, infra, depicts structural and geometrical aspects of the microporous metal foam channels:
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific gas diffusion layer of Cho et al made of a microporous metal foam as the gas diffusion layer of Jo et al as Cho et al teach that the specifically disclosed metal foam improves efficiency and lifetime of the gas diffusion layer and enables consistent maintenance of the suitable structure and even distribution of pores during the operation, and due to the combination of mechanical and physical properties of metallic foam, the fuel cell is not deformed by external physical strain; and provides well aligned and long channel pores which improve gas and water flow during fuel cell operation; and also metal foam is also cheap, easy to process for mass production.
Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to foregoing claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection, and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In addition, in view of the teachings of both Jo et al and Cho et al, applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Further, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752