Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II (claims 10-18) in the reply filed on 06/25/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montoy (US 2023/0392995) in view of Tixier et al. (US 2021/0262776), further in view of Macecek et al. (US 5,095,744).
Regarding claims 10, 11, Montoy discloses that, as illustrated Figs. 1, 2, an apparatus for measuring a depth of each tread layer (item 101 in Fig. 1) of a tire tread having at least two tread layers (items 11, 12 as shown in Figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a bridge table (item 102 in Fig. 1 ([0050], line 1-3)) having an upper surface for conveying the tire tread thereon and a plurality of support legs (as shown in Fig. 1) to support the bridge table,
a first sensor (item 103 in Fig. 1 ([0050], lines 5-6)) and a second sensor (i.e., a frame comprising at least one terahertz sensor ([0014])).
It is noticed that, in the teachings of Montoy, at least the thicknesses of the layer 11 and 12 (of the product 101 ([0050])) are determined by measuring the time lags among peak 1, peak 2, and peak 3 ([0056], lines 8-12).
It is also noticed that, in the teachings of Montoy, the multiple layers product may comprise metal or textile reinforcing elements ([0032], lines 1-2 from bottom).
However, Montoy does not explicitly disclose that, the first sensor is connected being mounted to an upper rail located above the upper surface of the bridge table for translating the first sensor across a width of the upper surface of the bridge table, wherein the first sensor is rigidly connected to the second sensor by a translating support frame, and wherein the translating support frame and the second sensor being located below the upper surface of the bridge table translate with the first sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, non-contacting thickness measurement, Tixier discloses that, Fig. 3 illustrates a scanning sensor system 60 wherein upper and lower scanner heads 64 and 66 (related to claim 11) are mounted on the elongated supper 63 and lower 65 arms or members, respectively, of a C-frame 62. The rigid members are parallel to each other. The frame 62 is equipped with a translation mechanism 69 which is configured as a linear slide to which the C-frame is movably secured. The upper head 64 incorporates the first optical displacement sensor 10 and coil 18 and lower head 66 incorporates the second optical displacement sensor 14 and dual magnetic sensors 20, 22 as shown in Fig. 1. The measurement channel between the heads accommodates the sheet of material being. The heads move back and forth along the cross direction (C) as the sheet is monitored ([0047]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Montoy to incorporate the teachings of Tixier to provide that, the first sensor is connected being mounted to an upper rail located above the upper surface of the bridge table for translating the first sensor across a width of the upper surface of the bridge table, wherein the first sensor is rigidly connected to the second sensor by a translating support frame, and wherein the translating support frame and the second sensor being located below the upper surface of the bridge table translate with the first sensor. Doing so would be possible to provide an accurate and repeatable technique for measuring the thickness and related coatings and films that are formed on continuous, traveling non-uniform webs made of metal containing materials, as recognized by Tixier ([0003], [0004]).
However, both Montoy and Tixier do not disclose that the driving mechanism for the movement of sensors is a step motor.
In the same field of endeavor, tire testing method and apparatus, Macecek discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, a stepper motor 108, included in the mechanical diver 106, energizes it for extending the receiver array 102 toward the inner surface 72 of the tire 34 and for retracting the array 102 away from the inner surface 72 (col. 7, lines 14-18).
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of both Montoy and Tixier to have measuring system for the tire as Macecek teaches that it is known to have the step motor to control the movements of the sensors. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, in the teachings of Montoy, the multiple layers product may comprise metal or textile reinforcing elements ([0032], lines 1-2 from bottom). Thus, at least Montoy discloses that, the tire tread has a first tread layer formed of a conductive compound (i.e., metal component) and a second treat layer formed of a non-conductive compound ([0032], lines 1-3 (e.g., rubber material)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to select the first tread layer formed of a conductive compound and the second treat layer formed of a non-conductive compound.
Regarding claim 13, Montoy does not explicitly disclose that, the first and second sensors are separated by a fixed distance D by the translating support frame. As illustrated in Fig. 3 or 4 in the teachings of Tixier, Fig. 3 illustrates a scanning sensor system 60 wherein upper and lower scanner heads 64 and 66 are mounted on the elongated supper 63 and lower 65 arms or members, respectively, of a C-frame 62. The rigid members are parallel to each other ([0047], lines 1-4). Thus, Tixier discloses that, the first and second sensors are separated by a fixed distance D by the translating support frame.
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of Montoy to have the measuring system for the tire as Tixier teaches that it is known to have the first and second sensors are separated by a fixed distance D by the translating support frame. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 14, Montoy discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 3, at least the first sensor 103 is a frequency modulated (or boxed) continuous wave terahertz sensor ([0014], [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 15, Montoy discloses that, under a frame, at least there is one terahertz sensor. Thus, these sensors can be a same one or a different one.
Regarding claim 16, Montoy discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, when the incident THz pulse 14 passes through an interface, a fraction of the pulse is reflected. Thus, when the THz pulse propagates in the multilayer product, a series of pulses 15 is reflected. Thus, at least the first sensor can be considered as a pulsed terahertz sensor.
Regarding claim 17, Montoy discloses that, in one advantageous embodiment, the acquisition rate of the terahertz sensor is greater than 100 Hz ([0036]) (overlapping the claimed range of 50 to 200 Hz).
For one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Montoy overlaps the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Montoy (US 2023/0392995), Tixier et al. (US 2021/0262776), and Macecek et al. (US 5,095,744) as applied to claim 14 above, further in view of Huber (US 2016/0047753).
Regarding claim 18, the combination does not disclose that, the second sensor is pulsed frequency sensor having a frequency range of one of 50 GHz to 2.2 THz and 50 GHz to 400 GHz.
In the same field of endeavor, testing a tire, Huber discloses, as illustrated in Figs. 6, 7, a radiation source for electromagnetic radiation in the THz frequency range and with a receiving device for receiving the radiation that has passed through a tire ([0033], [0034]). Huber discloses that, the frequency of the radiation may be, for example, between 0.1 to 2.0 THz ([0009], lines 1-2) (at least overlapping the claimed range of 50 GHz to 2.2 THz).
For one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Huber overlaps the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of the combination to have the measuring system for the tire as Huber teaches that it is known to have the second sensor is pulsed frequency sensor having a frequency range of 50 GHz to 2.2 THz. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741