DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 14-15, & 17-18 are pending on the application, of which claim 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 15, & 17 are amended and claims 5, 7, 9, 12-13, 16, & 19-20 are cancelled.
In light of the amendments to the previous art rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection present below.
The previous objection is withdrawn in light of the amendment.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn, except for those to claims 15 & 18 as their deficiencies have not been corrected.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn except for those to claims 6 & 15 as their deficiencies have not been corrected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new reference utilized to meet the new limitations. To the extent that applicant’s remarks do apply they are addressed hereafter.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Deane [0121] recites the heat exchanger cools a different sensor. This argument is not persuasive because Deane recites such a statement as an alternative to the following statement “In the illustrated embodiment, the nozzle 1517 and the heat exchanger 1542 clean and cool/heat, respectively, the same component—the sensor 1518”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 1, 11, 15, & 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. See specifically, rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) below detailing the new matter within the above cited claims that is missing from the drawings.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant utilizes the phrase “additional liquid”, such a limitation will be understood to refer to either more of a same liquid or a different liquid
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 14-15, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires “ a plurality of first spraying assemblies… onto a surface of the second sensor” However, the specification appears to be devoid of any indication where a plurality of spraying assemblies are provided for a sensor (singular). Figs.6 & 9 depict the embodiments in which a first heat exchanger communicates with a second heat exchanger as required by claim 1. As can be seen from the embodiments of Figs.6 & 9, while a plurality of spraying assemblies are present they are individually provided for each sensor such that only a single nozzle is provided for a sensor. Further, the specification (see [0087, 0089-0090, 0100, & 0103-0104]) appears to indicate that the recitation of nozzles in the plural refers to the collection of nozzles where each sensor has an associated nozzle, and not a singular sensor having multiple nozzles. Similar issue is taken with claim 11 for its recitation of “a set of first spraying assemblies… to clean the surface of the first sensor”. Thus claims 1 & 11 presents with new matter, as does their dependents by virtue of being dependent upon claims presenting with new matter.
Claim 15 recites an additional heat exchanger, however the specification is devoid of any mention of an additional heat exchanger beyond the first and second heat exchangers. Figs. 6 & 9 depicts the embodiment in which a first and second heat exchanger are provided to communicate with first and second plurality of sensors. However, at best the embodiment showcases a first and second heat exchanger and does not disclose the presence of an additional (i.e., third) heat exchanger. Thus claim 15 presents with new matter.
Claim 18 recites an additional heater in communication with the heat exchanger for heated liquid supplied to the sensor. However, Fig.9 depicts there is not an additional heater in communication with the heat exchanger for the sensor. The specification is devoid of any indication that the embodiment of Fig.9 presents with an additional heater for the liquid sprayed on the sensor. Thus claim 18 presents with new matter.
Claims 4, 6, 11, 14-15, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first sensors" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no recitation of multiple sensors previously. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as “the first sensor”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a wind shield" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if applicant is referring to a different wind shield than the wind shield in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as “the wind shield”.
Claim 11 recites “in the plurality of first sensors” in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be ignored, as it is believed that is what applicant intended since the amendment cancels the previous recitation of “a plurality of first sensors”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “fourth flow channel”, it is unclear if applicant is referring to a fourth flow channel as recited in claim 11 or applicant is attempting to cite a different flow channel. As a determination cannot be made as to which channel applicant is attempting to cite, for examination purposes the limitations will be understood to refer to either a different channel or already cited channel.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the fifth flow channel" in lines 9-10. However, the fifth channel, as recited in claim 11 allows for spraying of liquid onto the second sensor. Further, the disclosure does not appear to indicate the fifth flow channel allows for flow to both the second sensor and the windshield. Thus, it is unclear if applicant truly means to recite to “the fifth channel”. It is believed that applicant is not referring to the fifth channel of claim 1, but a different flow channel and will be interpreted as such for examination purposes.
The remaining claims are rejected for their dependence on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1).
As to claim 1, Deane discloses a system for cleaning a sensor (Fig.15 ref 1518, i.e., a second sensor) with a liquid (Fig.15 ref 1517) comprising: reservoir (Fig.15 ref 1502) which stores a quantity of liquid; a part of a vehicle (i.e., engine) which is understood to generate heat during operation of the vehicle [0120]; a first heat exchanger (Fig.15 ref 1512) in fluid communication with the reservoir via a first flow path (i.e., path from reservoir to ref 1512) to receive a portion of liquid from the reservoir, and in thermal communication with the part of the vehicle and the liquid [0120] to transfer heat from the part to heat the portion of the liquid; a second heat exchanger (Fig.15 ref 1542) in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger, via a second flow channel (i.e., channel from ref 1512 to ref 1542) to receive heated liquid from the first heat exchanger and in thermal communication with the second sensor (see [0121]) so as to transfer heat from the second sensor to further heat the liquid; a spraying assembly (Fig.15 ref 1517) in fluid communication with the second heat exchanger through a third flow path (e.g., see return line from ref 1542 to ref 1502 and then to ref 1517) to spray the further heated liquid from the heat exchanger onto the second sensor (see Fig.15 and [0121]).
Although not clearly shown in the cited embodiment, Deane does indicate the presence of multiple sensors (see [0121] indicates the presence of multiple parallel fluid lines each having a nozzle to spray fluid onto a corresponding perception sensor). As can also be seen from Fig.15 of Deane, ref 1528 define one of a parallel flow channel, and at least two more of said flow channels are partly shown extending from ref 1508. Thus, there is an understanding that at least three parallel flow lines are provided to extend to three perception sensors. Accordingly, one of the two non-illustrated lines/nozzles and their corresponding sensor can be interpreted as a first sensor.
However, assuming arguendo that Deane not clearly and explicitly depict the presence of a first sensors and a second sensor both provided on the vehicle, such a feature is well-known in the art, as seen by Yamauchi and Krishnan.
Deane does not explicitly disclose a plurality of first spraying assemblies such that each spraying assembly is oriented to spray liquid onto a surface of the second sensor. However, the use of multiple nozzles for cleaning of a sensor is known in the art, as seen by Sakai.
Deane also does not show the presence of second spraying assemblies in fluid communication with the reservoir via a fourth flow channel to receive a portion of fluid through the fourth flow channel and spray said fluid onto the windshield. However, Deane does indicate the desire to clean a windshield [0002, 0004, 0049, 0055, 0063] utilizing the system. Further, the usage of a flow path to provide fluid communication to nozzles for the cleaning of a windshield is also well-known in the art through Yamauchi and Krishnan.
Yamauchi discloses an art related vehicle sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is shown that a vehicle may have multiple sensors (e.g., Fig.8 refs 26/27/38/52/53/56) placed around the vehicle which will require cleaning[0003]. The multiple sensors allow for driver assistance [0002, 0005, & 0019]. Yamauchi also showcases that a windshield will also require cleaning via the use of a plurality of nozzles (Fig.8 ref 40a & [0044]). Accordingly, it is suggested that a vehicle will have at least a second sensor and a first sensor which will require cleaning.
Krishnan discloses an art related vehicle sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is seen that a vehicle may have multiple sensors (e.g., Fig.2 refs 120) placed around the vehicle which will require cleaning. The multiple sensors allow for driver assistance and maneuvering [0028-0030]. Krishnan also showcases that a windshield will also require cleaning via the use of a plurality of nozzles (Fig.2 ref 235 & [0037 & 0053]). Accordingly, it is suggested that a vehicle will have at least a second sensor and a first sensor which will require cleaning.
Sakai discloses an art related vehicle cleaner system (abstract), wherein it is shown that a sensor to be cleaned (Fig.15 ref 6f) can utilize either a single nozzle (Fig.1 ref 2103) or multiple nozzles (e.g., Fig.20 refs 2303A-2303C) in order to ensure all regions of the sensor surface are cleaned. Sakai further indicates that by utilizing multiple nozzles targeted cleaning of specific regions of the sensor face can be obtained with different degrees of strength [0236-0240], which one of ordinary skill in the art understands would reduce fluid consumption.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to provide a fourth flow channel in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir and a plurality of spraying assemblies for the spray cleaning of a windshield (Yamauchi [0044] & Krishnan [0037 & 0053]), as is known in the art and desired by Deane (see Deane [0049 & 0055]). Further, as vehicles are known to be present with multiple sensors that require cleaning (see Krishnan Fig.2 & Yamauchi Fig.8), a skilled artisan would also find it obvious to implement multiple sensors to enable driver assistance (Yamauchi [0002, 0005, 0019] & Krishnan [0028-0030]) as well as nozzles to clean the plurality of sensors. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to further modify Deane to provide multiple nozzles (i.e., plurality of first spraying assemblies) for the cleaning of each sensor to obtain targeted cleaning of the sensor with different strengths, thereby reducing fluid consumption and improving efficiency (Sakai [0236-0240]).
As to claim 3, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Deane further indicates that the part may be a battery [0081]. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize a battery as the part in place of an engine as both are components which generate heat during operation and require cooling.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Labruyere (US20230303035A1).
As to claim 2, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 1, but does not showcase or explicitly disclose the heat exchanger being affixed to the part. However, attachment of a heat exchanger directly to a part for recovery of heat is known in the art, as seen by LaBruyere.
LaBruyere discloses an art related vehicle washing system directed towards heating the washer fluid (abstract), wherein it is shown that a heat exchanger (Fig.1 ref 4) may be attached directly to an element to which heat will be recovered [0022-0023]. Thus, LaBruyere discloses a known attachment configuration for a heat exchanger to a heat source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to supply the heat exchanger attached to the heat source, as such is a known configuration in the art (LaBruyere [0022-0023]). It is in the purview for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known attachment configuration for a heat exchanger when one is not explicitly disclosed, with a reasonable expectation of success. Alternatively, a skilled artisan would also find it obvious to utilize an exhaust as the part of the vehicle from which heat is generated for transferring of heat to the heat exchanger, as such is a known part for said purposes (LaBruyere [0022-0023] & Deane [0063]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bissonnette (US20030222156A1) and Henry (US20220266801A1).
As to claim 4, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first sensors generates heat during operation while the vehicle is operating, but does not explicitly disclose the second heat exchanger in thermal communication with the first sensor. However, the usage of a single heat exchange element for two sensors is known in the art, as seen by Henry. Further, the usage of a single heating device for two different nozzles for cleaning is known in the art, as seen by Bissonnette.
Bissonnette discloses an art related vehicle cleaning system (abstract) and showcases that heating of fluid for two nozzles (Fig.1 refs 5 & 6), which clean two different targets (Fig.1 refs 8 & 9), can be performed via a single heating element (Fig.1 ref 11B).
Henry discloses a data acquisition module for an agricultural vehicle (abstract & Fig.1), wherein a singular heat exchange unit can be utilized for two sensors (see Fig.3 ref 172 & [0053-0054]). Henry and Deane are related in the cooling of sensors for vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to utilize a singular heat exchanger for both cameras, as such is known in the art for dissipating heat from multiple sensors (see Henry Fig.3 ref 172 & [0053-0054]). Further, the usage of a single heating device for the heating of fluid to two separate nozzles for cleaning two different objects is a well-known concept in the art (see Bissonnette Fig.1). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known heat exchange configuration in place of, or in addition to, another with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the modification would provide the second heat exchanger in thermal communication with the first sensor and with the capability of transferring heat from the first sensor to the liquid.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Derin (US20060243821A1) and McNaughton (US20070295825A1).
As to claim 6, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Deane desires the heating of fluid supplied to the windshield [0006]. Modified Deane does not explicitly disclose the connection of the first heat exchanger with the spraying assembly for the windshield via a fourth fluid line, however the incorporation of one of the lines of the supplying fluid to the windshield would result in a fourth flow channel (i.e., see Deane Fig.15 plurality of lines ref 1528 from ref 1506). Thus, the first heat exchanger would also be in fluid communication with the fourth flow channel through the delivery system. However, assuming arguendo that Modified Deane does not explicitly disclose the heat exchanger connection to a flow channel for spraying fluid onto a windshield, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Derin and McNaughton.
Derin discloses an art related vehicle component washing system (abstract), wherein it is known to heat washing fluid that is to be applied to a windshield in order to deice a windshield [0003 & 0015]. Derin further showcases that the manner to heat the washer fluid is through the use of a heat exchange element with a part of the vehicle which generates heat during operation [0001].
McNaughton discloses an art related vehicle component washing system (abstract), wherein it is known to heat washing fluid that is to be applied to a windshield in order to deice a windshield [0006]. McNaughton further showcases that the manner to heat the washer fluid is through the use of a heat exchange element with a part of the vehicle which generates heat during operation (see Figs.1-2 & [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to provide the second spraying assemblies is in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger in order to deice a windshield (Derin [0003 & 0015] & McNaughton [0006]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kikuta (US20130255023A1).
As to claim 8, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Modified Deane desires the fluid provided to the windshield nozzles to be heated (Deane [0006]). Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the fourth flow channel in communication with at least one of the heat exchangers in order to obtain the heated fluid. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find the fluid communication of the fourth flow channel downstream of either of the first and second heat exchangers to be an obvious modification to obtain the heated fluid. The connection of the fourth flow channel to the second flow channel merely amounts to a manner of branching of the fluid paths. Beyond Deane merely showcasing the possibility of branching fluid paths in a different embodiment (see Fig.3), the branching of fluid piping is known in the art, as seen by Kikuta.
Kikuta discloses an art related sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is known to branch piping leading to different nozzles in order to reduce cost associated with the routing and piping material [0036 & 0219].
Thus, in the instance where the first and second sensor are defined via sensors located at a top and rear of the vehicle (see Krishnan Fig.2), a skilled artisan would find it beneficial to branch the fourth and second flow channels together to reduce cost (Kikuta [0036 & 0219]). As it is understood that the reservoir can be provided in the engine compartment (Kikuta [0064]), the first heat exchanger would be located closer to the front windshield nozzles than the second heat exchanger, which is located at the area of the sensor (e.g., near the rear of the vehicle. The branching downstream of the first heat exchanger is merely one of two possible options, either the branching occurs after the first exchanger or the second heat exchanger. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize either configuration in view of the limited possibilities (see MPEP 2144).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakai (US20210179030A1, hereafter S1) and Takeguchi (US20200254981A1).
As to claim 10, Deane or Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 1, wherein it is disclosed that sensors are part of a vehicle exterior (Deane [0049] & Fig.1 ref 108/109). Thus, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the sensor is affixed to an exterior surface of the vehicle (see also Krishnan Fig.2 and Yamauchi Figs.1 & 8, which appear to showcase the sensors being affixed to an exterior surface of the vehicle). However, assuming arguendo that such a feature is not explicitly and clearly shown by Deane or Modified Deane, such a feature is known in the art as seen by Sakai and Takeguchi.
Both S1 and Takeguchi disclose art related vehicle sensor cleaning systems (abstract), wherein it is shown that sensor are fixed to an exterior of the vehicle (S1 Fig.1 & Takeguchi Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to provide fix the sensor to the exterior surface of the vehicle, as desired by Deane, and as is well known in the art (S1 Fig.1 & Takeguchi Fig.2). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to fix a sensor to an exterior of the vehicle, when such is desired, especially since such a feature is well known and common in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1).
As to claim 11, Deane discloses a system for cleaning a first sensor (Fig.15 ref 1518) with a liquid (Fig.15 ref 1517) comprising: a first sensor (Fig.15 ref 1518), a reservoir (Fig.15 ref 1502) configured to store a quantity of liquid; a heater (Fig.15 ref 1512) in fluid communication with the reservoir via a first flow path (i.e., path from reservoir to ref 1512) to receive liquid from the reservoir, and in thermal communication with the liquid [0120] to heat the liquid; a first heat exchanger (Fig.15 ref 1542) in fluid communication with the heater, via a second flow channel (i.e., channel from ref 1512 to ref 1542) to receive heated liquid from the heater and in thermal communication with the first sensor and the liquid so as to transfer heat from the first sensor to further heat the liquid; and a spraying assembly (Fig.15 ref 1517) in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger through a third flow path (e.g., see return line from ref 1542 to ref 1502 and then to ref 1517) to spray heated liquid onto the first sensor to clean said first sensor (see Fig.15 and [0121]).
Although not clearly shown in the cited embodiment, Deane does indicate the presence of multiple sensors (see [0121] indicates the presence of multiple parallel fluid lines each having a nozzle to spray fluid onto a corresponding perception sensor). As can also be seen from Fig.15 of Deane, ref 1528 define one of a parallel flow channel, and at least two more of said flow channels are partly shown extending from ref 1508. Thus, there is an understanding that at least three parallel flow lines are provided to extend to at least three perception sensors, where one of the unillustrated lines and sensors reads on a second sensor. Even more embodiments showcase that multiple sensors are intended to be cleaned (Figs.6-7 & 14). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Deane envisages the presence of multiple sensors to be cleaned including a first and second sensor with each sensor having a fluid path and nozzle for cleaning said sensor. Similarly, since the heat exchanger supplied to the sensor is utilized to clean/cool/heat the sensor [0121], a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that each sensor would be present with such a heat exchanger. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that Deane also envisages the presence of a second heat exchanger in fluid communication with the heater via a fourth flow path (i.e., path from heater to one of the unillustrated sensors) which receives heated liquid from the heater, the second heat exchanger being in thermal communication with the second sensor and the liquid, the second heat exchanger transferring heat from the second sensor to the liquid to further heat the liquid; a second spraying assembly in fluid communication with the second heat exchanger via a fifth flow path and oriented to spray the liquid output from the second heat exchanger onto a surface of the second sensor to clean the surface of the second sensor (i.e., the unillustrated second sensor would have lines, a nozzle, and a heat exchanger associated with the sensor similar to that of the illustrated sensor seen in Fig.1; for exemplary purposes the following citations are provided to illustrated components with the understanding that such components are provided for the unillustrated parallel lines as well: a second heat exchanger - ref 1542, fourth flow path - channel from ref 1512 to ref 1542, second spray assembly – ref 1517, a fifth flow channel - return line from ref 1542 to ref 1502 and then to ref 1517). Alternatively, such a feature would merely represent as an obvious duplication of parts, where one of ordinary skill in the art would duplicate the lines, nozzle, and heat exchanger setup for the inclusion of another sensor to be cleaned (see MPEP 2144.04).
However, assuming arguendo that Deane not clearly and explicitly depict the presence of a first sensors and a second sensor both provided on the vehicle, such a feature is well-known in the art, as seen by Yamauchi and Krishnan.
Deane does not explicitly disclose multiple first spraying assemblies such that each spraying assembly is oriented to spray liquid onto a surface of the first sensor. However, the use of multiple nozzles for cleaning of a sensor is known in the art, as seen by Sakai.
Yamauchi discloses an art related vehicle sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is shown that a vehicle may have multiple sensors (e.g., Fig.8 refs 26/27/38/52/53/56) placed around the vehicle which will require cleaning [0003]. The multiple sensors allow for driver assistance [0002, 0005, & 0019]. Thus, a vehicle is known to be provided with at least a first and second sensor.
Krishnan discloses an art related vehicle sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is seen that a vehicle may have multiple sensors (e.g., Fig.2 refs 120) placed around the vehicle which will require cleaning. The multiple sensors allow for driver assistance and maneuvering [0028-0030]. Thus, a vehicle is known to be provided with at least a first and second sensor.
Sakai discloses an art related vehicle cleaner system (abstract), wherein it is shown that a sensor to be cleaned (Fig.15 ref 6f) can utilize either a single nozzle (Fig.1 ref 2103) or multiple nozzles (e.g., Fig.20 refs 2303A-2303C) in order to ensure all regions of the sensor surface are cleaned. Sakai further indicates that by utilizing multiple nozzles targeted cleaning of specific regions of the sensor face can be obtained with different degrees of strength [0236-0240], which one of ordinary skill in the art understands would reduce fluid consumption.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to implement multiple sensors to enable driver assistance (Yamauchi [0002, 0005, 0019] & Krishnan [0028-0030]) as well as nozzles to clean the plurality of sensors. Accordingly, such a modification would provide a first and second sensor on the vehicle. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to further modify Deane to provide multiple nozzles (i.e., plurality of first spraying assemblies) for the cleaning of each sensor to obtain targeted cleaning of the sensor with different strengths, thereby reducing fluid consumption and improving efficiency (Sakai [0236-0240]). Thus, such a modification would provide a set of first spraying assemblies.
As to claim 15, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 11, wherein an additional heat exchanger is provided (Deane [0120], stating ref 1512 can include a heat exchanger and heater) which receives liquid from the reservoir, transfers heat from a part of the vehicle to the liquid to heat the liquid, where said heat is generated by the part during operation of the vehicle (Deane [0120]). Accordingly, fluid from the reservoir can be transferred to the heater and the heat exchanger via the first flow channel. Deane further indicates the desire for the cleaning of a windshield [0049, 0055, & 0062] utilizing a heated fluid [0006], while Yamauchi and Krishnan also showcase that a windshield will also require cleaning via the use of an additional spraying assembly (Yamauchi Fig.8 ref 40a & [0044] & Krishnan Fig.2 ref 235 & [0037 & 0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to provide an additional spraying assemblies for the spray cleaning of a windshield (Yamauchi [0044] & Krishnan [0037 & 0053]) with heated liquid, as is known in the art and desired by Deane (see Deane [0049 & 0055]). Since heated liquid is intended to be dispensed to the additional spray assembly, a skilled artisan would find it routine and ordinary to route fluid from the reservoir to the heater/heat exchanger and then to the spraying assembly in order to allow for heated fluid to be delivered to the spraying assembly for the windshield, thereby defining flow channels between the reservoir and the heater/heat exchanger and from the heater/heat exchanger to the windshield nozzles. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the sensors are capable of generating heat during their operation while a vehicle operates.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sakai (US20210179030A1, hereafter S1) and Takeguchi (US20200254981A1).
As to claim 14, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 11, wherein it is disclosed that sensors are part of a vehicle exterior (Deane [0049] & Fig.1 ref 108/109). Thus, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the sensor is affixed to an exterior surface of the vehicle. However, assuming arguendo that such a feature is not explicitly shown by Deane or Modified Deane, such a feature is known in the art as seen by Sakai and Takeguchi.
Both S1 and Takeguchi disclose art related vehicle sensor cleaning systems (abstract), wherein it is shown that sensor are fixed to an exterior of the vehicle (S1 Fig.1 & Takeguchi Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to provide fix the sensor to the exterior surface of the vehicle, as desired by Deane, and as is well known in the art (S1 Fig.1 & Takeguchi Fig.2). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to fix a sensor to an exterior of the vehicle, when such is desired, especially since such a feature is well known and common in the art.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kikuta (US20130255023A1).
As to claim 17, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the reservoir can store additional liquid and send additional liquid to the heater from the reservoir through the first flow channel (see Deane Fig.15). Deane further indicates the desire for the cleaning of a windshield [0049, 0055, & 0062] utilizing a heated fluid [0006], while Yamauchi and Krishnan also showcase that a windshield will also require cleaning via the use of an additional spraying assembly (Yamauchi Fig.8 ref 40a & [0044] & Krishnan Fig.2 ref 235 & [0037 & 0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to provide an additional spraying assemblies for the spray cleaning of a windshield (Yamauchi [0044] & Krishnan [0037 & 0053]) with heated liquid, as is known in the art and desired by Deane (see Deane [0049 & 0055]). Since heated liquid is intended to be dispensed to the additional spray assembly, a skilled artisan would find it routine and ordinary to route fluid from the reservoir to the heater/heat exchanger and then to the spraying assembly in order to allow for heated fluid to be delivered to the spraying assembly for the windshield, thereby defining flow channels between the reservoir and the heater/heat exchanger and from the heater/heat exchanger to the windshield nozzles. However, assuming arguendo that the modification does not explicitly indicate the windshield spraying assembly receives fluid through the fourth flow channel, such a feature would be obvious in view of Kikuta, as such a limitation merely amounts to branching of a fluid conduit.
Kikuta discloses an art related sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is known to branch piping leading to different nozzles in order to reduce cost associated with the routing and piping material [0036 & 0219].
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious branch fluid flow the fourth flow channel after the heater to the windshield spraying assembly in order to reduce cost (Kikuta [0036 & 0219]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deane (US20200001832A1) in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Krishnan (US20190118776A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1), and Kikuta (US20130255023A1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Scorsiroli (US5927608A1) and Ghannam (US20180334140A1).
As to claim 18, Modified Deane teaches the system of claim 17, wherein although the specific embodiment of Modified Deane does not disclose presence of multiple heaters, Deane discloses a different embodiment which does (Fig.8). Specifically, Deane showcases that heaters are placed proximate the nozzle and a reduction in energy consumption is obtained to mitigate temperature drop between the heater and the nozzle [0079]. Modified Deane does not disclose the distance of the additional heater with respect to the reservoir or the sensor. However, such a configuration is dependent on the position of a reservoir, windshield, and sensor location on a vehicle. Further, such a configuration is known in the art as seen by Ghannam, and different heating configuration can be utilized depending on different requirements, as taught by Scorsiroli.
Ghannam discloses an art related washer cleaning system for a vehicle (abstract), and showcases a configuration of perception/visibility elements on a vehicle (see Fig.1),wherein it is seen that a sensor to be cleaned (Fig.1 ref 112) may be located distant from a reservoir (Fig.1 ref 120), while a windshield (Fig.1 ref 108) is located closer to the reservoir than the sensor being cleaned.
Scorsiroli discloses an art related washing system for a vehicle (abstract), wherein the use of heating devices in series can be used to reduce heating time (Col.2 lines 55-65). Scorsiroli further indicates that the arrangement and number of heating devices is varied depending upon specific requirements desired (Col.2 lines 55-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Deane to implement the reservoir at a front of a vehicle, near a front windshield as such is a known configuration and placement for a reservoir (see Ghannam Fig.1). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reservoir at a known location, when the exact location is not explicitly disclosed, with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, as Deane is also concerned with the cleaning of backup cameras and windshield [0062], the location of such targets, and supplying them with fluid would be similar to Ghannam (i.e., a first sensor of the plurality of first sensor includes the backup camera). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to implement additional heaters proximate the nozzle of the first sensor (e.g., backup camera) to reduce energy usage (Deane [0079]). Furthermore, a skilled artisan would find the implementation of further heaters in series to be beneficial for reducing heating time (Scorsiroli Col.2 lines 55-65). Since the heater/heat exchanger is provided obtain heat from the engine (Deane [0120]) a skilled artisan would place the heater near the engine compartment at the front of the vehicle which is close to the front windshield (see Ghannam Fig.1). Accordingly, the modification would provide the heater located closer to the windshield than the first sensor and the additional heater closer to the first sensor than the windshield.
Conclusion
The pieces of prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows:
Krause (US20040046518A1) discloses that the use of a single heat exchanger or multiple heat exchangers is a design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art [0021].
Shank (US20060124761A) discloses rationales as to why a heater should be located close to a reservoir and distant to a reservoir [0071].
Bulgajewski (US20170355352A1) discloses placing a heater close to a nozzle [0005].
Baldovino (US20190077376A1) showcases a vehicle with windshield and sensor cleaners (see Fig.1). Romack (US20190116296A1; see Figs.7-8), Krishnan (US20180354469A1; see Fig.4), and Salter (US20190161035A1; see Fig.1) all disclose similar.
Sato (US20190111894A1) discloses the presence of a heater located in a washer tank (Fig.1 ref 16) with a flow channel to feed fluid to the heater from the reservoir (Fig.1 ref 12b)
Gschwind (US20070157602A1) showcases different heater configurations both located within and outside of a washer tank (see all figures).
Wildegger (US20090183778A1) showcases different electrical heater configurations for a washer tank (see all figures).
Vranjes (US20220185241A1) discloses an art related sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is shown that a fluid line which is heated using the waste heat from the sensor can be utilized for supplying said heated liquid to the sensor for more effective cleaning (see Figs.1-4 & [0005]).
Iida (US20220258697A1) showcases that multiple lines can be utilized for feeding fluid from a reservoir to different cleaning nozzles (Figs.2 & 5-7).
Jansson (US20200139941A1) showcases that different nozzles can have different lines from the same reservoir (Fig.1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711